Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Minehead > Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hopcott Road
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA24 6DJ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 49
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wendy77 11 reviews from this member

 This site is located towards the edge of town in a fairly quiet location. The facilities are good although they could probably do with 1 more shower each and another washing-up sink. There are no facilities for children to play so they were using the steeply sloping site roads as a scooter and skateboard track which was a bit worrying.

Minehead is an easy walk as are Morrisons and Tescos. The town is very attractive beyond the seafront which has the usual amusements. Try the harbour and a walk through the linear park.

There are lovely walks direct from the site - to Dunster in one direction and Porlock in the other. You can also use the steam railway as a basis for walks - and for visiting the Bakelite Museum!

Overall a very pleasant site to visit. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jayarbee 31 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site as we usually go to Dulverton in this area.

The site is on the edge of town, in a residential area next to the fire station but once inside it was lovely with a fair bit of planting.

When we arrived the warden's office was shut but a notice on the door made everything clear. The relevant information we needed was available.

Because all the roads are dead ends they advise you walk the site, pick you pitch then tow up to it.

There are, I think, three levels. The site looked fairly full but there were spaces on the top site so up we went.

We thought this was the best part of the site but it is up a steep, short hill and furtherest from the toilet/shower block so not the best if you are not too good on you pins.

As stated this is a C.C. Site so no surprises. Up to the usual high standard, very clean generally with clean toilets/showers.

It appeared to be all hardstanding with hook-ups but slightly sloped so blocks were handy.

There is no play area on this site.

If you turn right out of the gate there is a parade of shops about five minutes walk away.

A 15 minute walk gets you into Minehead, a usual sort of seaside town. 'The Wheelhouse' cafe is good.

Places to visit are Lynton and Lynmouth, Dunster Castle, Porlock and Porlock Weir. There is a very enjoyable steam train journey from Minehead. Well worth a go.

All in all a pretty good site, the wardens here make a big effort to attract wild life, you might even find deer on the site. You can even hear the sea-lions at night. 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AlanEag 10 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first visit to Minehead and this is a first class site. Caravan Club sites are more or less of the same quality regarding facilities and they can only be bettered by things like layout, and more importantly, the wardens. We were welcomed by Darrol, the warden, and he really was enthusiastic about the area and the site. The pitches were very large, able to pitch the caravan with room to place the aquaroll on the hardstanding, erect the awning AND park the car alongside. The site is on the A39 but with the hill between the site and the road there was absolutely no noise, just birdsong. The dog walk is through a wooded area with a badger sett, bats and owls. The absence of a children's play area obviously discourages family groups and as a result when we were there there were no children about despite being the start a half term. A site we will return to without a doubt. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kevinsheldon 34 reviews from this member

 Rang the site at short notice and managed to get a 4 night stay at the end of May. We were told to push our CC membership card through the reception door and choose a pitch as the wardens would be cleaning the loos. No problem here as a site map could be picked up on arrival.

There were three levels to the site the upper level being one large hardstanding area. We took a middle tier pitch with grass strips either side and perfectly level. TV reception was excellent.

Picked up a key to use the showers/toilets. Nice touch was that when the loos were being cleaned a single toilet for men and women was opened up.

Showers were enormous and the hand basins were all individually enclosed. Both were kept spotlessly clean.

There is Co-op and Spar about 5 or 10 minutes walk away along with a Chinese take away and a fantastic fish and chip shop. It takes about 15 minutes to walk into Minehead town centre which consists of two halves the sea front with gift shops / amusement arcades and the upper town where there are some decent shops and cafes.

We caught a No: 300 open top bus to Lynmouth (5.30 return or free with bus pass) passing through Porlock (1in4 hills!) where we spent a pleasant couple of hours. Watch out for the branches on the top deck they can be really painful! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Teetime 15 reviews from this member

 Well situated site, close to Minehead. For motorhomes, go to Dunster Beach for easy access, plenty of open parking spaces with no barrier or size restrictions.

Site is lovely -mostly. Wonderfully clean facilities, only 3 showers but not too busy. Not really a site for children, think it would suit couples better. Some areas are quite uphill from the toilet block but there are pitches dedicated for the less able.

Main complaint is that, whilst the majority of the site is hardstanding pitches with grass alongside, one area is purely gravelled and looked much less comfortable or attractive than the others. Would recommend you try to avoid these pitches if you can. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lainey boy 1 review from this member

 A fantastic site, easy walking and cycling into minehead town which is great for breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner ohhh and drinks in the evening.

The site wardens were lovely and helpful, we had probs with our car on the way down to minehead and the wardens offered advice on local garages and were very concerned, we felt truly mothered!

I would visit the site again and recommend it highly, I lost my husband to North hill cycle riding most evenings the peace and quite was much appreciated.

I can recommend the Indian in Alcombe, it was not cheap but a really nice meal.

All in all a fab time had by my husband, self and dogs murphy (cocker) and wallace (lurcher) who had great fun on both minehead and dunster beach! The running would have been great if only I had not sprained my ankle on the first day! 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pepe63 19 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first visit to this site. A lovely little site and great a location in that it manages to feel very rural, whilst only being 15-20min walk from Minehead centre / seafront (whilst sitting outside the 'van one evening, we even managed to catch sight of several deer walking along the top hedgerow).

The site itself is on several levels and groups of pitches are set out in a 'cul-de-sac' style. On arrival, we found the office was closed and as it was early afternoon I initially thought this was a bit poor but after having taken a moment to read the notices, it was clear that all the relevant information was left out for us. Including a very handy little town map,tucked into the site leaflet(.A very thoughtful and useful touch).

The loos & showers are up to the usual high CC standards.

Also the wardens were very helpful and pleasant. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Handsome devil 10 reviews from this member

 Fantastic little site, our first CC site and a great first choice. Good sized pitches, everything close to hand and easy to get to. Friendly, helpful wardens who work tirelessly to maintain the site. Very clean shower block where there is plenty of hot water and showers where you can adjust the flow rate and temperature! Not many of these around! All in all a wonderful little site which is very well run, easy to access and handy for lots of North Somerset attractions. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 This certainly is a lovely little site. Approximately 50 pitches all in small'ish 'cul-de-sac' areas so it really does feel small and cosy. Good size hardstanding pitches.
Refuse and water points all close by. Lovely, helpful, happy wardens. If the office is closed on your arrival there are clearly marked instructions of what to do.
Central toilet/shower blocked accessed by key - always spotless and lovely warm showers. Great dog walk on site - small but very well used.

A van comes to the site each morning around 9am to sell newspapers, bread, milk, eggs, etc.

Alcombe is just a 5/10 min walk from the site and has a Spar, Co-op, Newsagent, and numerous take-aways including Indian, Chinese, fish & chips and pizza!

Minehead itself is 20/25 mins walk from the site - the wardens will give you directions if you ask. Full of pound shops and and very 'kiss me quick' / gifty shops. Not our favourite seaside town but I'm sure a lot of people love it?

We wish we could pick this site up and relocate it somewhere really special! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DARKLORD 9 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from this site, highly recommended. Easy walk to minehead 15mins, local shops close by. Good sized pitch`s, although some sheltered from sun,
Wardens and toilet`s first class. Not a lot on site if you have small children, no play area, great dog walk watch out for badgers. Will use again 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3355 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement