Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Modbury Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Ivybridge > Modbury Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Modbury Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Higher East Leigh
Modbury
Ivybridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL21 0SH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 114
Open: 16/03/2024 to 01/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CorkyBrit 11 reviews from this member

 This is a quiet peaceful site in lovely surroundings right in the middle of the countryside. The grass pitches were closed due to heavy rains that had luckily stopped a couple of days before we travelled there, so we had a hard standing level pitch with a great view over the valley.

The pitch backed on to the road which had just occasional vehicles. Nothing could be heard nearer to the toilet block.

The only criticism we had was the narrow lanes leading to the site, and all over this part of Devon, but after going out every day in the car, we got used to them and didn't bother us too much by the time we towed the caravan home.

The weather was dry but cold for the first couple of days, which developed into warm then hot sunshine.

The toilet block was very clean, but several coat hooks were broken or missing in the cubicles. There was a nice playground for kids tucked away from most pitches, although as it was off-season, there were no children on site. There was a filling station and a small Spar shop along the lane at California Cross.

We had a great holiday as there are numerous places of interest you can visit from this site which I think is ideally located.

The wardens were very friendly, and it's definitely on our list for a return visit. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MGBUD 1 review from this member

 Fabulous site, fab wardens and a fab area of beauty. The site is so quiet and peaceful. The facilities are spotless although in need of a face lift but very clean and adequate. Nothing was too much trouble for the wardens although they have to be strict on pitching as I learnt due to fire regs so that's ok, but what a great time and cant wait to return. Would highly recommend this site. There is also a beach about 6 miles away called Bigbry-on-Sea and its so great especially for the dogs and children. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chelsea girl 56 reviews from this member

 Booked last minute and this CC site was surprisingly quiet compared to other sites in Devon. We live locally (within 1 hour's drive) and decided on a short weekend break.

Site well signposted and easy to find from the A38. Road does narrow in places but if you are a confident driver/tower and take it steady you should not have any problems.

Warm welcome from warden and told to pitch where we liked. Satellite reception is poor in places so it did take us several attempts to 'pitch up' before we could get a tv signal and no aerial hook up on the pitches as on some other CC sites.

We really liked the layout of this site. Unlike most other CC sites, this site has been thoughtfully planned - lots of spacious cul-de-sacs and planting of trees to give privacy instead of looking at rows and rows of caravans. I would say the site wasn't the most immaculate CC site we have been on, for example the exterior of the toilet block needed a lick of paint here and there and it just looked like it needed a bit of TLC. This wasn't to say that it was not clean on the inside - as always clean showers and loos.

Lovely dog walk, which is a main criteria we look for. Such a shame that the huge recreational field next to it stood empty, would be nice if the park would allow dogs to be walked around this also when the site is quiet (as Hillhead CC site does) as we never saw one child on our stay and the dogs would have loved walking around there after their circuit of the smaller dog area.

Out and about - we did venture into Kingsbridge (Morrisons and Tesco easy to find on outskirts of town) and then decided to go onto Slapton Sands. Again to advise drivers of motorhomes to be cautious on roads as very narrow in places but my husband (the driver) was not worried his motto is 'if the public bus can get through than so can we!'

To sum up - very quiet site, ideal for those looking for peace and quiet in rural countryside but within easy drive of the South Hams coast. You would definitely require a car to enjoy the area to it's full potential (especially some of the lovely coves reached via narrow roads) so ideally would suit caravanners, confident motorhome drivers or motorhomers towing a car. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gailk 18 reviews from this member

 A really nice site, well maintained with very clean facilities. There was a dish wash and laundry facility.

We found the wardens helpful and chatty, they were very good at suggesting trips etc.

Access is up a rather narrow Devon lane, so take care, and the site is rather secluded, but very peaceful There was a good dog walk. A spar shop, garage and pub were around a mile away.

The village of Modbury was a couple of miles away - the White Hart Hotel did a lovely dinner and breakfast, dogs allowed!

The pitches were a mix of hard standing and grass, and well spaced. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Purplebonnie 10 reviews from this member

 We arrived here on a very wet Fri afternoon closely followed by 2 other caravans. The wardens were very friendly and helpful and we were told we could select our own pitch (available pitches were marked out for us on the map). Having studied the map for a few moments we selected a hardstanding pitch and feel we had a great location for the week as it was close to the utilities (which initially we hadn't realised) and dog walk.

The site was very clean and well maintained. We were only booked on the site for 4 days, we asked if there had been any cancellations and were told there hadn't but we would be put on a list and considered should there be any. Within 20 mins the warden came to notify us that there was space on the site and we extended our stay. We were glad that we did as we had a great pitch and site that we didn't want to move and we still had lots to explore in the area.

We easily filled each day with visiting the local area, We bought a short pub walk book from the on site shop and selected a 7 mile walk over Dartmoor, we visited Paignton (which I wouldn't recommend unless you like places like Blackpool), Torquey and Babbacombe (English Riviera) were lovely especially as we went on a gorgeous sunny day. Other great places to see are Burgh Island, Berry Head, Salcombe and surrounding areas, the list is endless!

Just be aware that the lanes leading to the site are tight for caravans. We choose to leave at 6am on the Sun morning in order to miss traffic on the motorway and avoid any close encounters with other caravans on the lanes!

A great site, clean, well kept and quiet with a great dog walk. Only downside for us was that the lanes were so narrow you had to drive to the 1 local pub that there was! There were some nice public footpaths accessible from the site but everything else had to be accessed via car.

There was also a co-op and Spar close by for the essentails, the shop on site stocked a small selection of essentials but didn't do newspapers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jenny17 5 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, well kept with friendly helpful wardens.

The surrounding area is beautiful with many interesting places to visit; Plymouth, Dartmouth, Kingsbridge etc.

The only downside we found was access, the approach road is narrow in places and difficult for 2 caravans to pass. I wouldn't like this to put people off visiting this site but would suggest that arrival after midday would be wise allowing departing vehicles to leave first. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nipperkins 3 reviews from this member

 Peaceful site overall with clean and neat facilities. If without children, best not to get a pitch near the playground as it is quite active early evenings. Also there is no chance of walking to pub or shop from site as roads are narrow and no way to escape traffic for pedestrians. Great places to visit nearby but again, for motorhomers, roads to lots of beaches etc very narrow and quite stressful at times (passing places etc). 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Twinspired 11 reviews from this member

 A lovely site in a nice spot. We really liked this little site, the wardens were fabulous, friendly and very helpful and the site was everything you expect from the caravan club, clean, well maintained with warm shower blocks, immaculate as usual.

The main site was very sympathetic with its layout, it didn't feel as though the pitches were overlooked and all seemed to be a good size. We actually parked ourselves right next to the little play area so our children could play out whilst we watched over them. They made lots of lovely little friends, all of whom went to bed at a reasonable hour so noise wasn't a problem at all. There was also a separate children's play field for ball games etc and a dog walking field.

As for out and about, Modbury is a lovely little village with all the essentials one could wish for, co-op, post office, bakers (who do fabulous pasties!), butchers, indian & chinese take aways and some lovely little individual shops. For a lovely sandy beach I would recommend Bigbury on Sea as most other places we tried were shingle.

All in all a lovely site, a lovely spot and would return. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colinplym 1 review from this member

 This was my first attempt at caravanning, and what a site to visit for a novice like me.

From the moment I entered the site I could not ask for more. The warden immediately helped me set up and gave me lots of helpful hints without being a nuisance.

The park was very clean and well cared for. There was a fish and chip van on our first night, but be warned the portions are huge. The park is one for the families with dogs, there is a great dog walk that again was spotless.

The only drawback were the roads to the park, these are quite narrow but had lots of passing points.All in all a great park, friendly staff and lovely part of Devon close to Plymouth, Exeter and some great beaches.

I will definitely be going back 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Christopher 8 reviews from this member

 The facilities are Caravan Club and are exactly what you would expect. They also have recycling bins for paper; glass bottles; tins and plastic bottles.

The Wardens were friendly; helpful, and in the back-ground until asked.

The Site location is mid-way between the South Devon (South Hams) Coast-line and Dartmoor, and is a quiet site (when we went), being surrounded by fields of sheep and cattle. There is a small play-area, which I would say is just suitable for under 10's.

There is a large 'Extra' Tesco off the A38 (Plymouth direction)near Lee Mill, although this is better reached via the Bittaford / Ivybridge back-road (B3213 - just follow the B3196 road via California Cross - the reverse of the journey into the site). Morrison's is on the out-skirts of Plymouth via the A379 Modbury - Plymouth road, and Sainsbury's is on the out-skirts of Dartmouth.

A car is a must at this site to get anywhere, although there is a fairly easy walk into Modbury from the site; be warned though that it is harder on the return as most of it is uphill coming back (when you reach the road into Modbury note how steep it is going down, and think 'return').

Dartmouth is a 'must', and if you can, take the A379 out of Dartmouth heading for Torcross / Kingsbridge - the views are fantastic. Before Torcross, Slapton Sands is great for a 3 1/4 mile walk with the dogs (shingle), with parking available at both ends and in the middle.

Another great walk is on the Coastal Path from NT Wembury to Heybrook Bay - Bovis Sands, or Warren Point in the other direction. Unless members, there is a 4 parking charge (all day - cheaper than the towns / villages), and the Pub at Heybrook serves great food at reasonable prices (dogs welcome).

All in all, a lovely place to stay for peace and quiet with most places easily reachable by car. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Modbury Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Modbury Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ivybridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3520 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement