Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Modbury Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Ivybridge > Modbury Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Modbury Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Higher East Leigh
Modbury
Ivybridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL21 0SH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 114
Open: 16/03 To 01/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Bluemoondevon 4 reviews from this member

Martyn and Gerri give a lovely welcome as site wardens and cannot do enough for you. The site is quiet and well laid out with lots of space and mature trees The bathroom block is heated and with radio piped in which was a lovely touch.

Its become a favourite for us with just 1 visit!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alahol2 22 reviews from this member

Managed to book 3 camping pitches the night before arrival during peak holiday in gorgeous weather so this is not a busy site.

The managers are extremely friendly and helpful. The site itself is very well laid out in several areas linked by tarmac roads. The pitches themselves are very spacious. Most of the site is set up for caravans and campervans of course. The camping area has several (20+?) grass pitches of varying size but all mostly flat(ish) and the grass is very well tended. Every pitch has access to electricity. Mature trees and hedges provide very good shelter from winds.

The site is dog friendly.

Water is from standpipes.

Loos are meticulously clean and provide all the necessaries in a nice environment. Showers are hot and powerful with no silly push buttons. They can get a bit busy during the 0830 rush.

BBQs are OK as long as they are up off the grass. It's not really a campfire kind of place.

Calor gas, milk, eggs, cakes, icecreams, cream teas etc are available from reception. While we were there, Monday night was fish and chip night, Tuesday was Pizza night, provided by outside caterers cooking on site.

There is virtually no light pollution in the area so the stars, Milky way etc are stunning. Rabbits roam at night. Birds are everywhere. Midges appear to have been banished from the site.

Roads to/from the site can be narrow but we never had a single problem. I think other reviews put people off which is why the site is so quietly pleasant.

There are loads of places well within an hour's drive, Dartmoor, Cliff walks, beaches, NT properties, Plymouth etc. We easily filled ten days and could have filled another 10.

This has become our go to site for Devon south.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wigtowner 19 reviews from this member

We are absolutely delighted with this caravan site. Our first time here. The toilet blocks are spotless. Shower cubicles are very good and it's nice that the shower area is curtained off so that you can keep clothes dry in the other section of the cubicle when changing. There are plenty of curtained off washing cubicles too. There are two hair dryers in the ladies block and they are pretty good to allow you to blow dry your hair and they are free to use. They have a large washing machine and a tumble drier and two large sinks in the laundry room.

The grass pitches are good but a few of them need ramps to get you levelled up. Hard standings are nice smooth gravel which is good for your tootsies when standing in your awning. There's loads of grass around the pitches and you are not crowded in either. Just wonderful!

The wardens are on the go grass cutting almost on a daily basis and there's no grass cuttings left behind to walk into your caravan. The dog walk is an enormous field with a picnic table to sit and watch your pooches enjoy themselves off their leads. Above the dog area is an enormous play area.

Everything about this campsite is pristine. It's so quiet.

Wifi is very intermittent and I would expect this to be improved for users sooner rather than later. The toilet block is good but dated. Perhaps this will be on the agenda at some point.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Follyview 13 reviews from this member

We stay in Modbury when visiting South Devon and this is the third site we've used. Broad Park is well laid out in small areas rather than in long rows and this makes for an open and attractive site. The wardens are very friendly and there is a good sized dog walk together with a large open field and playground for children. The showers are hot and the toilet block is clean, although it is a bit outdated.

All the southern beaches and towns are accessible from the area and there is a local, dog friendly pub about a mile away but it has to be a car ride due to the lack of pavements. The road leading to the site is narrow in places but it just needs care and there are several passing places where needed. This is a very pleasant site and we would definitely come back to it when in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisz 6 reviews from this member

This site is located in a very quiet rural area only 5 miles from the A38, but due to the narrow roads and frequent stopping to squeeze past oncoming lorries took us 20 minutes. Just make sure you follow the signs or you could easily end up on a single track road.

On arrival you will find a very neat, well looked after and well laid out site with plenty of grass and hard standing pitches, all of which are of a good size. This is a quiet site that features a dog walking area, children’s play area and information kiosk as well as the usual laundry and washing up facilities. It also has good disabled facilities.

The toilet block was always immaculately clean and features showers (free), toilets and wash basins in their own individual cubicles, with plenty of space and hooks, for all your stuff. There are also shaver points, hand driers, soap dispensers and hair driers. During our stay everything was in good working order although in the mornings there were occasional queues for the showers and the site was only about half full.

Locally there are shops, pubs and restaurants within a short drive and Dartmoor, Torbay and Plymouth are within easy reach.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay with no problems and would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 88 reviews from this member

Access to this site is not straight forward, the site being some 5 miles through winding and narrowing country roads off the A38. That said, it should not present too many problems for the experienced or confident tower.

This is a superb site setr amongst teh South Hams countryside and is well cared for by the on site team.

The wardens are probably the most friendly and helpful that I have met in the club network. A tin of sweets is produced on checking in and the whole process was efficient and friendly.

The site is quite big, but is set out in such a way that it does not appear to be so.

Ignore any previous comments about the toilet block. Yes the decor is a little dated, but it is very clean and in very good condition. Some people really do have to adjust their expectations when going onto sites! Even though the club are planning a refurb of the building, in it's current state it is still better than over 95% of private sites I have stayed on.

You can also ignore comments relating to electricity cable passing over the site. This only affects a very small part of the site near to the childrens playground.

There is a very large field for kite flying and ball games as well as an excellent dog walk.

Reception sells a few odds and ends, there is a Spar 1 mile from site at California Cross and a Coop in Modbury 2 miles from site. Morrisons have stores in Kingsbridge and Totnes.

You will need a car to get anywhere from here. Plymouth and Torbay are not too far, nor is Dartmouth of the South Hams coastline.

Slapton Beach is dog friendly and there is miles of space if you are prepared to walk a few hundred yards from the car park.

The site is miles from anywhere, so light pollution at night is non existent.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+judy 101 reviews from this member

All reports about Broad Park CC site near Modbury south Devon mention the very narrow approach road. The reports are true, but they shouldn’t be a deterrent, as it just needs a bit of extra care. Mind you, local drivers seem not to have a reverse gear on their cars!

The site advises that you shouldn’t approach via Modbury - this is probably wise, not just because the roads are narrow, but the amount of parking on both sides of the road in the town.

The site itself is a very prettily laid out mix of grass and hard-standings on several levels. Overall, the site is much greener and more spacious than many CC sites so we didn’t find that the lack of open views, as others have reported, was a negative point at all.

We were only there three days, so didn’t see as much of the area as we would have liked, but highlights for us were coastal walks around Salcombe, and the ‘Round Robin’ bus/steam train/boat trip from Totnes- Paignton - Greenways (Agatha Christie’s holiday house) - Kingswear - Dartmouth - Totnes. An excellent day out on a rare sunny day in June!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CorkyBrit 9 reviews from this member

This is a quiet peaceful site in lovely surroundings right in the middle of the countryside. The grass pitches were closed due to heavy rains that had luckily stopped a couple of days before we travelled there, so we had a hard standing level pitch with a great view over the valley.

The pitch backed on to the road which had just occasional vehicles. Nothing could be heard nearer to the toilet block.

The only criticism we had was the narrow lanes leading to the site, and all over this part of Devon, but after going out every day in the car, we got used to them and didn't bother us too much by the time we towed the caravan home.

The weather was dry but cold for the first couple of days, which developed into warm then hot sunshine.

The toilet block was very clean, but several coat hooks were broken or missing in the cubicles. There was a nice playground for kids tucked away from most pitches, although as it was off-season, there were no children on site. There was a filling station and a small Spar shop along the lane at California Cross.

We had a great holiday as there are numerous places of interest you can visit from this site which I think is ideally located.

The wardens were very friendly, and it's definitely on our list for a return visit.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MGBUD 1 review from this member

Fabulous site, fab wardens and a fab area of beauty. The site is so quiet and peaceful. The facilities are spotless although in need of a face lift but very clean and adequate. Nothing was too much trouble for the wardens although they have to be strict on pitching as I learnt due to fire regs so that's ok, but what a great time and cant wait to return. Would highly recommend this site. There is also a beach about 6 miles away called Bigbry-on-Sea and its so great especially for the dogs and children.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chelsea girl 56 reviews from this member

Booked last minute and this CC site was surprisingly quiet compared to other sites in Devon. We live locally (within 1 hour's drive) and decided on a short weekend break.

Site well signposted and easy to find from the A38. Road does narrow in places but if you are a confident driver/tower and take it steady you should not have any problems.

Warm welcome from warden and told to pitch where we liked. Satellite reception is poor in places so it did take us several attempts to 'pitch up' before we could get a tv signal and no aerial hook up on the pitches as on some other CC sites.

We really liked the layout of this site. Unlike most other CC sites, this site has been thoughtfully planned - lots of spacious cul-de-sacs and planting of trees to give privacy instead of looking at rows and rows of caravans. I would say the site wasn't the most immaculate CC site we have been on, for example the exterior of the toilet block needed a lick of paint here and there and it just looked like it needed a bit of TLC. This wasn't to say that it was not clean on the inside - as always clean showers and loos.

Lovely dog walk, which is a main criteria we look for. Such a shame that the huge recreational field next to it stood empty, would be nice if the park would allow dogs to be walked around this also when the site is quiet (as Hillhead CC site does) as we never saw one child on our stay and the dogs would have loved walking around there after their circuit of the smaller dog area.

Out and about - we did venture into Kingsbridge (Morrisons and Tesco easy to find on outskirts of town) and then decided to go onto Slapton Sands. Again to advise drivers of motorhomes to be cautious on roads as very narrow in places but my husband (the driver) was not worried his motto is 'if the public bus can get through than so can we!'

To sum up - very quiet site, ideal for those looking for peace and quiet in rural countryside but within easy drive of the South Hams coast. You would definitely require a car to enjoy the area to it's full potential (especially some of the lovely coves reached via narrow roads) so ideally would suit caravanners, confident motorhome drivers or motorhomers towing a car.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5571 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019