Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Aberbran Fach Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Aberbran Fach Farm
Aberbran Fach
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 9NG
Tel: 01874 622929
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CrochetDiva 8 reviews from this member

Just back from our 3rd visit to this great site on a working farm. This time, I went for a couple of nights, just me with the 2 children. We'll be back again this summer at some point - this site is nigh on perfect, and great for children!

We've camped on the fields with hook-up, and have now camped on the tent field, down by the river, and it's fantastic!

We love:

- the owners. They are helpful, yet not intrusive. If there's a problem, they're really helpful.

- the layout of the site. You can choose to be on the manicured hook-up pitches, or can pitch where you want on the tent field down by the river. There are 2 swings (only 1 working at the moment) and no other play facilities, but there is so much open space that nothing more is needed. If you want on-site shops, or clubhouses, go elsewhere, as there's nothing like that here (which we like!)

- the fact you can have campfires! There are lots of fire pits dotted around the site, and the owners will move one nearer to you if you need one - and will also deliver a bag of logs (at a small cost) to your tent.

- the river. Obviously parents need to supervise children (mine are still small, so needed extra supervision), but the river is fairly shallow with a pebbly beach - perfect for paddling and throwing stones.

- the facilities. 2 showers - 1 costs 50p and the other costs 1 - the 1 shower lasts ages - I took the children in with me and we all had plenty of time to wash - thoroughly! 2 cubicles in the ladies (and I think the same in the gents), and a small separate toilet. A washing up area with hot water. All kept well cleaned and stocked with loo roll and soap.

- the location. Just outside Brecon, about 1/2 mile off the A40.

We don't love:

- um, nothing actually - yes, you can hear the A40 at night when you camp up on the hook-up pitches, but if you're camping by the river (which is actually closer to the road), you can't hear it at all.

Love, love, love this site!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Amphsa 1 review from this member

Great site handy for Brecon and surrounding district. When we arrived was met by owner who couldn't be more helpful. As a working farm it was a clean site, a couple of friendly farm dogs running around the camping fields but gave no bother made friends with our yorkie. Is a bus stop near by but didn't use. Motorhomes can be parked in the car park in Brecon next to the one that has the recycling centre next to it. Just a short walk from canal basin

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Noble Bull 2 reviews from this member

Site consists of a number of fields surrounding a working farm set in beautiful Usk valley approx 3 miles west of Brecon.

Big plus is one camping field next to the river Usk which has a pebble beach providing easy and safe access to the water.

For those seeking total seclusion it should be noted that the A40 is approx 0. 5 miles away and can be heard at night.

No pubs etc. In immediate vicinity but Brecon has range of supermarkets, pubs, restaurants, cinema et al.

Owners very and friendly, helpful and relaxed to the extent that you actively have to search them out when you want to pay.

Fields and facilities have all been clean and very well maintained during our visits and special mention should go to the luxury quilted toilet paper in both the ladies' and gents' loos.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Welshcamper100 12 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a two night stay at this lovely site. I can only repeat what has been said in previous reviews. Friendly owners, lovely facilities and a beautiful riverside location. We stayed in the lower meadow next to the river in a lovely flat private spot where the children enjoyed playing on the rope swing. No pubs or shops within walking distance but who needs those when you have peace, tranquility, a glass of red and a blazing firepit to keep off the chill. Cannot wait to go back.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 39 reviews from this member

What a great little campsite - beautiful location beside a river, good pitching area, clean facilities, campfires allowed, dogs welcome and a friendly ambience. What more could one ask for?

Aberbran Fach Farm is a small camping and caravan site on a working farm. It nestles beside the River Usk about four miles west of Brecon.

Access is down a small lane that leads north off the A40 road. The lane and the farm entrance look easy for towed caravans. The location is easy to get to and makes an excellent base for exploring the northeast area of the Brecon Beacons National Park.

But be aware that this the second site down the lane from the A40 - pass the other campsite and carry on across the bridge over the River Usk to Aberbran Fach.

There were three camping fields open when I spent two nights camping at Aberbran Fach. The largest field borders the River Usk while two smaller fields with electric hook up (EHU) are nearer the farmhouse. There are a few small areas of hardstanding for caravans and motorhomes in the upper field.

There are no marked-out pitches and campers can park their car right next to their pitch. Although there is plenty of space the owners keep numbers down to avoid overcrowding.

The two smaller fields are level but the large riverside field slopes quite a bit at its top end. During my stay, the grass was in good condition and mown fairly short. The ground is soft and takes pegs easily.

The campsite is sheltered from wind to the west and south by trees but a bit more exposed to the north.

There's a small play area for children in the upper field. There are also picnic tables and benches, a feature I always appreciate. I also love a nice campfire on a chilly evening so I was pleased to find plenty of firepits dotted about and logs for sale at the farm.

As other reviewers have noted, the facilities are fine when the site is not too crowded but they are possibly a bit crowded when it's full. That said, all the facilities - toilets, showers, washing-up room, etc - are in good repair, well-decorated and very clean. There is a small charge for the showers. There is no on-site shop (but Brecon is only ten minute's drive away).

The owners live on site and are friendly and helpful without being intrusive in any way. At the time of my visit, the pitch fee for a small tent was 7 per person per night without EHU (electric hook up).

All in all, I found this to be a very well-cared-for and delightful basic campsite. I recommend it without hesitation. The only reason I don't rate it ten out of ten is the slightly limited facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: E M Oram 1 review from this member

Used this site as a base camp for adults supervising/assessing DofE participants walking in the Brecon Beacons. Brilliant campsite that is very well kept on a family run farm, that offers friendly service. Facilities are checked twice daily with the evening visit also being used to chat to customers and ensure everything is up to standard.

Easy links to the Beacons and Brecon itself is 10 minutes away with good shopping facilities and outdoor shops, also DofE Offices.

Participants used it on their first night before commencing their expedition, enjoying the use of a fire barrel and bag of wood from the farm, to form the basis of a relaxing evening.

Will definitely be using the site again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alahol2 22 reviews from this member

This has now become our Brecon Beacons site of choice.

The site is rather larger than suggested with a total of four possible fields to choose from. The lower, largest. Field borders onto the river and seems to be the most popular. The small field close to the house is mainly used for those requiring EHU and hardstanding.

The next field is half EHU and the final field is only opened when the others are getting filled. The grass in all the fields is kept near immaculate, better than the lawn at home. Very few of the pitches are marked and all are near flat. If you don't need EHU you can be as near or far from other tents as you wish. Water is from several standpipes dotted around.

The facilities are in the house/barn complex and consist of a washing up area plus loos and showers. For the men, a loo, urinal and washbasin; for the women, loos and washbasins. The shower room is family sized and the 1 meter gives a good 5-10+ minutes of hot water, so why not share it (preferably with someone you know)!

There are wall mounted fan heaters in all rooms. There is also a separate, older, single loo & washbasin and a separate, older, shower room (50p). Hot water is available in all the facilities. We were on site over the August Bank holiday and the facilities were under a heavy strain so there were sometimes queues. Other than the bank holiday the facilities were more than adequate.

This is a working farm and campers are welcome to view the cows, calves, horses and sheep in the barns and fields, children loved it. There are a couple of swings for the kids and, of course, plenty of room to play both by/in the shallow river and in the fields. Firepits are available and the farmer will sell (and deliver) a sack of logs. Barbecues are OK if off the grass.

Brecon is about 10 minutes drive and has numerous shops. The largest supermarket is Morrisons which has its own carpark (1 for 2 hours refundable on a spend of over 3). There are also several Fish & chip shops, Chinese takeaways etc.

Of course the area is great for walking but there are plenty of other places to visit within an hour's drive including castles, gardens, vistor centres, kite feeding stations, mountain railway, adventure centres, caves etc etc.

The general ambience on the site seems to be 'get on with it, but if you need assistance we are here to help'. The owners are very genial and happy to chat but also very busy farmers so don't expect them to be sitting in an office waiting for you.

In other words, it's our kind of site, peaceful, relaxed and sensible pricing (6 pppn). Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Triage 1 review from this member

Amazing little campsite I have been visiting over the last 3 years. I was introduced to it by my friends and have never stopped going back. There are two smallish fields with ehu and one massive field without ehu. Plenty of room for children to play.

If you want the razmatazz and glitz of arcades and shows this is not for you. It is a working farm with a shower and a toilet block. There is a bosh for washing whatever in the adjacent block. Charges are per person in a tent and there are not double charges for larger tents (I have an amazon 800) like on some sites.

Would recommend to anyone who wants a quiet no hassle break.

The only downside is that there is no on site shop. But with brecon being only a very small jaunt down the road with a large morrisons available it is only a very small inconvenience.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davies gang 1 review from this member

Very happy with the site. Everyone very friendly here. The children loved the freedom&the plus side is that there is no shop so the children cannot keep running in to spend their money.

Unfortunately you had to stock up every day because there was no shop for the small things like milk but Brecon was not far with a Morrisons.

We travelled as a family both myself, my husband&our two children eldest was our son who was at the time 8 nearly 9years old and our daughter who was 15months old.

They absolutely loved the holiday&loved the swing hence the swing was the only park but fields were for playing in. The stream was very nice too

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Newbie-campers 4 reviews from this member

Enjoyed a lovely 2 night stay here, great spot with the river running at the bottom of the site.Ideal for kids to paddle or play. Lovley friendly atmosphere.

The only thing that lets this site down is there is only one shower which is 1. The toilet/shower block was always muddy/grassy but this wasn't enough to put us off going again.

Just take flipflops to wear in the shower.

This site is on a working farm,and the owners seem to be farmers first and campsite owners second,which for us is how we would like it to be.The cows and sheep were lovely to just sit and watch early morning.

If you want a relaxed peaceful site and are more impressed by animals and the river than clean floors in the toilet this is the place to go. We would definitely go back

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1996 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019