Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Aberbran Fach Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Aberbran Fach Farm
Aberbran Fach
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 9NG
Tel: 01874 622929
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lezerley 2 reviews from this member

We stay at this site whenever we are visiting family in Brecon. It has good, clean facilities but remains a simple, small natural site.

The site is run by family who are really friendly. It is a working farm so be prepared for animals and machinery, we love this.

We walk our dog in the meadow, which runs down to the river where he can paddle.

It is lovely for families who prefer the quieter more natural sites. With Brecon just three miles away and then mountains and hills all around, it is ideal for walkers.

They are now selling homemade cakes which I would wholly recommend! We'll be back in the Summer.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jennifer Thomas 1 review from this member

We have just spent 2 nights at this campsite, we had a very relaxing weekend, Nicola & David was very welcoming & helpful, we would definitely recommend this site to anyone, the toilets & showers was very clean, lovely few days away,

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hucknall 4 reviews from this member

Just back from 7 nights at this great site toilet and showers kept very clean

Site owner Nicola very pleasant and could not do enough to help cakes available at the farm house

I had a grass pitch with electric the grass was kept short and all cuttings collected

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Classic Hymer 1 review from this member

Wow ! I have just held an event here for 20 Classic Hymer motorhomes this weekend. Everyone who came (from Scotland to Sussex) was bowled over by the location next to the river in a stunning meadow, surrounded by beautiful trees. Peaceful, wonderful dark, starry skies.

Fires to gather round at dark. A refreshing lack of rules and regulations. Just able to enjoy together, relax and unwind. Great walks from the site. Not sure how many used the facilities as we have our own on board.

Brecon is only a few miles away but we stayed on site for the whole weekend. We didn't want to leave. A friendly welcome from the farming owners but overall we were left to enjoy. And we did.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tomleyp 2 reviews from this member

Recently visited for 3 nights and enjoyed the use of a large pitch and electric hook up.

The site is quiet and has pleasant views. The river runs through the farm and the children loved playing in it. Our dog enjoyed the field to walk on and the site is large enough to enjoy a walk before bed time.

The toilets are clean and as the site was quiet, the 2 showers are ample and we did not have to wait. There is a charge for their use which is a bit of a pain. I would rather be charged a pound or 2 more per night than pay for showers.

We had scones from Sophie, the farmers daughter, and they were lovely,

This site is ideal for walking in the beacons and Pen y Fan is only 15 mins drive.

We paid 25 per night for 2 adults and 2 children with an electric hook up which is not what was advertised on the website.

We would go again to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bashirhunt 1 review from this member

The most relaxed and welcoming campsite I've ever had the pleasure of gracing. Set in serene surroundings and hosted by The Jones, this working farm with the River Usk running through it was perfect.

The added bonus of it being dog friendly and the allowance of raised fire pits and electric hook-ups coupled with their outstanding customer service has made me want to visit again before the Summer is over. Thank You.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hilary C 30 reviews from this member

My Husband had booked by email and we were to pay on arrival and it was all rather strange. First we couldn't find where to book in, then the farmer came over after first ignoring us and my husband showed him the email and was told we wanted the caravan club site next door so my Husband said no and showed him the email again and said to him 'Mr Jones'? look 1 night, Aberbran Fach Farm so the farmer then went into the house came back and said that there was nothing written down, he established that we wanted electric hook up and told us to go through and park up anywhere on the left and walked off which left us very confused about payment.

Well we hooked up and went off to explore, we found 1 outside toilet and then the proper men's and ladies which were not very warm and gloomy and only 2 toilets in each and I doubt that this would be adequate when busy. We tried to find dishwashing facilities and if I did find them then it was very strange as there was a none to clean kitchen sink and a shower next to it.

The next morning my husband went off to the house where he met a very pleasant lady and was able to pay. We wouldn't stay again but that said my husband spoke to a couple who go there a couple of times a year and love it. Each to their own I guess but I speak as I found.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cliff melhuish 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from this campsite. We had not been camping for quite a while and were a little apprehensive, what with having just updated our equipment. It was Bank Holiday and very busy and we only booked a week before. The owners fitted us in easily and supplied an extension, so that we could use our newly acquired hook up.

The site has 2 showers and 3 loos, but they were kept very clean and there were no big queues, which was a surprise, given how full it was.

The location is quite simply 'Stunning'. Right next to the Usk river. Great value at 18 per night for 2 Adults with electric. We will definitely go there again.

I almost forgot to say, this is on a working farm but you would hardly know it.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CrochetDiva 8 reviews from this member

Just back from our 3rd visit to this great site on a working farm. This time, I went for a couple of nights, just me with the 2 children. We'll be back again this summer at some point - this site is nigh on perfect, and great for children!

We've camped on the fields with hook-up, and have now camped on the tent field, down by the river, and it's fantastic!

We love:

- the owners. They are helpful, yet not intrusive. If there's a problem, they're really helpful.

- the layout of the site. You can choose to be on the manicured hook-up pitches, or can pitch where you want on the tent field down by the river. There are 2 swings (only 1 working at the moment) and no other play facilities, but there is so much open space that nothing more is needed. If you want on-site shops, or clubhouses, go elsewhere, as there's nothing like that here (which we like!)

- the fact you can have campfires! There are lots of fire pits dotted around the site, and the owners will move one nearer to you if you need one - and will also deliver a bag of logs (at a small cost) to your tent.

- the river. Obviously parents need to supervise children (mine are still small, so needed extra supervision), but the river is fairly shallow with a pebbly beach - perfect for paddling and throwing stones.

- the facilities. 2 showers - 1 costs 50p and the other costs 1 - the 1 shower lasts ages - I took the children in with me and we all had plenty of time to wash - thoroughly! 2 cubicles in the ladies (and I think the same in the gents), and a small separate toilet. A washing up area with hot water. All kept well cleaned and stocked with loo roll and soap.

- the location. Just outside Brecon, about 1/2 mile off the A40.

We don't love:

- um, nothing actually - yes, you can hear the A40 at night when you camp up on the hook-up pitches, but if you're camping by the river (which is actually closer to the road), you can't hear it at all.

Love, love, love this site!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Amphsa 1 review from this member

Great site handy for Brecon and surrounding district. When we arrived was met by owner who couldn't be more helpful. As a working farm it was a clean site, a couple of friendly farm dogs running around the camping fields but gave no bother made friends with our yorkie. Is a bus stop near by but didn't use. Motorhomes can be parked in the car park in Brecon next to the one that has the recycling centre next to it. Just a short walk from canal basin

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1618 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!