Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Aberbran Fach Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Aberbran Fach Farm
Aberbran Fach
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 9NG
Tel: 01874 622929
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 21 to 28                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zinzan74 13 reviews from this member

Stayed in the meddow, a large group of us had a great time playing down by the river and had a large camp fire in the evening.

The owners were great hosts and very accommodating, letting us leave our tents and van till late in the day on the Monday.

A quiet and peaceful location on the out skirts of Brecon, definitely recommend for a visit to brecon.

The only downside was the fact of the limited shower facilities, although spotless the fact there is only one, this is a major downside factor.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Martindale 1 review from this member

We had 5 days here in April and the campsite is in a beautiful area. There were several fields & we chose to camp in the far field next to the river. The field is level & we had camp fires and watched the sheep being driven through every morning. Its a working farm and the farmer and his wife were lovely, the animals were nice, the showers spotless and 1 for as long as you want. Electricity in the shower block for driers etc. So you can be as rustic as you like in the back field or camp nearer the farm. We walked up Pen y fan which is well worth the effort. Originally booked to stay at a campsite nearby but changed our minds when we saw the road and looked round. This was a good decision as here all we heard was the river & sheep, the wood was free if you foraged around and the owners were brilliant. If you fish you can get a permit from Penpont house, Cant recommend enough, if I go back to Wales again would definitely stay here. Thanks to the owners, we had a great time.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ustwo125 13 reviews from this member

Great campsite, the kids really enjoyed it! A couple of small swing parks, the farm animals, flat fields for ball games, and of course the river!

Like the below reviewer we went over the bridge and into the 2nd campsite, not really sure if there are both the same!

We camped on the field by the river which was a bit of a trek to the toilets etc and the below reviewer was spot on, as the facilities were at bursting point!

The road is very quiet.

Would we go again? Yes!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Redfibees 2 reviews from this member

A superb site.

It is found by going from Brecon on the A40 towards Sennybridge, and turning right to Aberbran. It is then the second campsite that you come to - go over the bridge and turn left. There is another campsite on the other side of the river, and I can imagine that people confuse the two.

There are far more than 14 pitches this year - they have opened another field for camping, right by the river. If the campsite gets busy, the toilet facilities will probably be inadequate. As it is, they are very good, although the floors need a good clean. There is a separate sheltered area for washing up, and a kettle too.

Our children played safely in the river, and on the rope swing nearby. There are also 2 swings by the farmhouse. It is a quiet site. It took about 10 mins to drive into Brecon and park up.

The grass is short, and there are plenty of flat, drained areas to pitch tents. Fires are allowed.

We paid 6 per adult and 1 per child over the age of 5. We are certain to go there again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lunar10 13 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend here and this campsite is a little gem. Very friendly and helpful owners who also run a busy working farm. One adult, three teenagers and two smaller kids all camping for ten pounds per night! is very reasonable indeed. We pitched in the large field right by the river which the kids loved, the river was low due to a lack of rain recently which made it safer for the little ones playing on the pebble beach. The owners allow open fires and even gave us a saw to cut logs from a fallen tree. There was loads of space this weekend and the owners say this field is often quiet unless they have a caravan rally booked in so best phone ahead. Toilets and showers very modern and more than adequate for a site of this size. Brecon is only ten mins away with a Saturday farmers market and of course the usual supermarkets etc. Just watch out for the very friendly farmers dogs - they wander into tents and pinch your biscuits! We would definitely come for a weekend again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hall68 9 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 5 nights and really enjoyed it. The owners are very friendly. They have 3 fields for camping. The largest one is nearest the river and is non EHU. There are then 2 further smaller fields with EHU. We chose the back field which had just 6 hook ups but had the best views towards the countryside and hills. The grass was very well kept and flat. The EHU was 10amp.

There is a new toilet block which houses male/female toilets - The ladies had 2 sinks and 2 toilets and 2 plugs for hairdryers etc. The mens had 1 sink and 1 toilet plus a urinal. There is one unisex shower which is very large and costs 1 on a timer (apx 15mins). In another block there is also a sink for washing up but unfortunately only cold water is supplied.

The only downside to this lovely site was the muddy floors in the toilet block which never seemed to be cleaned very well. We had fantastic weather whilst staying here so there shouldn't really of been a problem.

However, this site is a hidden gem in the Brecon Beacons and the toilets were not bad enough to put us off returning. In fact I am surprised it doesn't have more reviews.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sennen63 5 reviews from this member

This was a lovely site - we camped in the top field which was very flat with lovely views.Just a couple of miles away from Brecon.

It has EHU and recycling areas and water taps around the field.

I am surprised that there is only one review.

It has two womens toilets with two hand basins and gents have separate loos and basins.It has one big shower area which is for men and women - plenty of room to change etc. It is a pound for a timed shower you get plenty of time in the shower I never ran out of time.

My only criticism is that the shower/loo area be kept a little cleaner especially the floors which always seem to be muddy - we had exceptionally hot weather so there was no rain to make things muddy. Just a little gripe as they do charge 1 for the shower so it would be good to keep them a little cleaner.

We did have to queue for the shower at the weekend when the site got a lot busier. It seems to be a fairly new toilet block so its a shame they didn't put in an extra shower (you can use the old shower for 50p but its pretty grim).

Would we use the site again if we were in the area - yes we would.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dewes134 6 reviews from this member

This is a delightful traditional working sheep and cattle farm with a large field with 14 electric points in three boxes spread around the perimeter of the field,there is three nicely sized hard standing pitches for caravans or moterhomes,there is drinking water taps in the three corners of the field and a toilet waste point in the forth. The field has been levelled in to the hill side so to make life easier.
The site is easy to find after leaving the A40 Brecon to Senney Bridge road turning right for Abber bran.The site is on the left after crossing over the river usk on a lovely old stone arched bridge,enter through the farm yard.The Family who own and run the site gave us a very warm welcome and let us choose our own pitch.The electric was all in with the price and there was no extra charge for the awning.
There is a new modern shower and toilet rooms in one of the old stone barns at the farm,these are charged at 1 timed meter on the wall.The site is well sheltered from the wind by hedges and trees.There is a second field adjacent to this one with just one 4 way electric point.The ampage from the point was very adequate as we where able to put the kettle and the toaster on at the same time without it tripping the box.
There is very good views of the surrounding hill's and an abundance of bird's and other wildlife plus the live stock that reside in the surrounding fields.
The farm is quiet,tidy and does not smell unpleasant.There is two swings for the children,one pub style wooden picnic bench and a bench in the corner of the field.The farm also has safe stony beach access to the inner bend of the river just upstream of the old stone bridge for canoeing.The children loved this site.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 28     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1057 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019