Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Comrie Croft

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Crieff > Comrie Croft Reviews

Comrie Croft
Braincroft
Crieff
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH7 4JZ
Tel: 01764 670140
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 34
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ronniethepict 2 reviews from this member

 This review is submitted purely from the perspective of my visit as a cyclist/camper. Although I have used and would use the campsite again, I will not bring the bike. The only suitable place to pitch the tent is in the lower field - I had booked a woodland pitch but on arrival found that the access road/paths to any of the woodland pitches (and High Meadow for that matter) are not suited to any cyclist arriving fully loaded as the bike has to be pushed up the steep slopes. The return journey back down is equally daunting.

Pitching in the lower field would not be a problem if you want to share your camping experience with families.

The facilities are adequate and although their website urges you to buy foodstuffs from their shop, there is little choice.

One basic campsite rule was often ignored during my stay - don't walk through other people's pitches! Actually it was kids running through my pitch, but this was probably due to the fact that they probably didn't realise they shouldn't do it and lack of signs directing them to the woodland path.

Comrie village is always a joy to visit and not too far from the campsite, although I would not advise walking as there is no footpath along the busy A85 for most of way. There is a bus stop outside the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lineky 5 reviews from this member

 While many seem to love this site it was not for us. Billed as an Eco site I came away feeling that this was a convenient label to cover up a lot of failings and inconveniences ie rustic/ill conceived constructions (bridges etc), focus on quantity of tents in lower field rather than quality of stay. Many groups and great for those who like to buy their breakfast and pop in and out of a tea room. Toilet, shower block clean but quite dark, need head torch at night, and many people had to wait.

We camped in the Lower Field and were immediately wary due to the sheer volume of tents there, 3 within 10ft of ours, but as we were meeting friends for a birthday (they were staying in a Kata which was lovely but the plot was not good for kids, all 3 ending up with minor injuries) we stayed. We only stayed one night instead of two due to the noise, nothing too raucous but constant till 2am.

Cars can't access the field which is a tad inconvenient but their website bills this as a 'wild camping' experience. Not really, more like a festival field!

Only one fresh water point and I had to queue for the loo several times, not great with a toddler and there were a LOT of kids. Kids seemed to rule the roost. My daughter loved it and had a fab time but mum and dad, not so impressed. The shop was fine if a little pricey.

There are many sites around which are cheaper, quieter and have better views.

We bailed out after one night, maybe we are too into genuine peace and quiet but I don't like camping practically in someone else's tent. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JimCall 12 reviews from this member

 Just back from a great weekend at Comrie Croft. The site is a jewel in the heart of Perthshire. There are no rugged mountains here, instead, gentle rolling hills.

I was with a few other members of the forum and we all had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. On site facilities are good and include a small shop at reception, a coffee shop which sells the most excellent home made cakes! For those that don't camp, there is hostel type accommodation and a large meeting room.

The staff, especially George 'the camp man' were extremely helpful and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

The site, as George puts it, is 'an on going project' and you can see examples of his work all over the place. His latest project being the replacement of all the permanent katas with new ones built to his specification.

There is wildlife about and we were lucky to spot red kite. There is an osprey nest nearby but it suffered badly during the winter storms. There are chickens in a pen but they tend to wander around the campsite and eat anything they can find!

Children have a ball here and the staff take the time to encourage them to do all sorts of activities from cycling on the custom made course to feeding the chickens!

I will be back to this campsite soon, that is for certain! 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krazykamper 37 reviews from this member

 This site has something for every kind of camper. There are three areas to choose from to pitch your tent. We stayed in the lower meadow which was close to reception and shower block. The lower meadow was a fairly flattish area with some fire pits scattered around. The feature of this field is the parachute tarp which hangs from a tree. This is a great communal area to gather together and socialise with fellow campers. This field was next to the new toilet block. This was was kept clean at all times. A word of warning if this may bother you, the showers and toilets are unisex. It did not bother us at all but just thought I would point that out. There are two further toilets which can be used in the reception area and these are also kept open overnight.

Comrie Croft is an Eco site and they are very eager that you recycle your rubbish or take it home. There are lockers for hire which have a socket inside so you can charge up any electrical item that have ran out of juice. There is also a fridge freezer and microwave for campers use.

In the middle woodland area of the site, you will find twelve individual pitches that are all very different. Some have grassy spots and others are dirt pitches. Just come prepared with a decent groundsheet and footwear and it won't be a problem. We had a walk around all the woodland pitches and they were all very nice in their own way. There were no leaves on the trees during our stay but I would imagine it would be fairly dark during the summer months. You can hire a Swedish Kata with wood burning stove and its in the woodland that you will find these. We had a little look inside one. They are very nice and have just been revamped. There is a raised platform for the sleeping area. All kata pitches come with fire pit and hammock!

The upper meadow is the place to be should you want stunning views and don't mind pitching on a bit of a slope. There is a little walk to the toilet block though.

You cannot keep your car next to your tent at this site so be prepared to carry your gear. Again not a problem for us but may be for others. Just make sure you don't pack everything but the kitchen sink and you should be ok!

One final thing I would like to add is the freedom kids can have. There are lots of rope swings for them to play on. Many little streams to paddle in and lots of areas for den building! There is also a great cycle dirt track that adults and children can use. Don't forget to visit the fantastic on site coffee shop for some yummy home baking. We can't wait to return to Comrie Croft, especially as its only an hours drive away. 


Date of Visit: January 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Armchaircamper 22 reviews from this member

 This is a site with lots of character and interest, taking tents only. There are also five katas (Tentipis) permanently set up on wooden platforms and available for hire, complete with stove.

Near the entrance is a flat camping field suitable for any size of tent. A large parachute hangs from a tree and forms a cover for a communal campfire area with logs and rustic looking benches surrounding the fire. Behind this area the woods rise uphill and there are twelve pitches in clearings amongst the trees, mainly for smaller tents, and secluded enough to see only one or two other pitches. A stream runs through the woods and is crossed by the occasional small bridge or stone slabs. Up at the top of the site is an open camping field with beautiful views over the valley beneath.

There are campfire spots at each wooded pitch and several scattered in the upper and lower fields. Firewood can be bought on site but not gathered from the woods.

Cars can be driven to the nearest point on the steep uphill track for unloading and packing up, but must then be taken back down to the car park at the entrance. This means there is always a bit of carrying involved, even in the Low Meadow which overlooks the parking area. There are a few wheelbarrows available to help with this. The woodland pitches above the track (5 to 9) have the furthest walking distance. Pitches 5, 6 and 7 are accessible on the level, with a narrow board walk for some of the way. For most of the other pitches it is necessary to follow little winding uphill or downhill tracks which can be challenging if itís muddy. (A map of the pitch locations is available on the website. )

Which brings me to the mud! Iíve been to Comrie Croft three times and each time the woodland areas have been quite muddy. The rain runs down the hillside and it can be difficult to distinguish paths from streams. The pitches can quickly become churned up and muddy. Donít let it put you off Ė just bring suitable footwear for slithering up and down a muddy hillside. The grassy camping areas donít suffer to the same extent.

At the front of the reception block is a shop with all the essentials and a gift section. Any staff Iíve met have been very friendly and helpful. A couple of toilets, a computer with internet access, and tourist information leaflets are also here. Around the back of the block are toilets and showers (two of each, I think), a drinking water tap, dish washing area, bins and recycling. The lighting is very dull so itís worth taking a torch. Showers are large, clean and hot, with proper taps, not the push-button type. Lockers are available for hire around the side of the building and each contains an electric socket which can be used for phone charging, hairdryers, etc.

A tea room opened in 2012 beside reception, with tables and chairs on a covered decking area. Lots of lovely cakes to choose from!

Comrie Croft is in a beautiful valley with wooded hills around, just a couple of miles from the village of Comrie where there are a few shops. Itís a few miles to Crieff and about 30 minutes to the outskirts of Perth.

Comrie Croft also has a hostel, mountain biking and bike hire, and walks up the hill behind the site. There are hens near the entrance and the shop sells bags of food for them as well as selling their eggs. Save your food scraps too Ė apparently theyíll eat anything. If you pitch in the Low Meadow you may well find that they follow you for food. There is plenty of wildlife around too, and itís lovely to hear an owl hooting in the woods as you settle down in your sleeping bag! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alwaysalittlfurther 1 review from this member

 We camped here in the April holidays, the site is fantastic for kids with many highlights two of which were the woods to adventure in and the chickens to feed!

We pitched up to find the site relatively busy, we changed our original plans of camping opposite the main reception building for convenience to the high meadow which was no problem as space had became available and the super friendly staff being very accommodating.

The track up to the high meadow to drop off the gear was tricky in an estate car but manageable if you went slow. We have two small kids which seemed a gamble being a short 'uphill' walk from the toilets, however it was we felt the better of the two options to aid with the 'wild camp' experience.

Our choice of camp spot was a little on the slopey side, so choose wisely when you visit, this of course became a standing joke throughout the trip once the kids realised they could slide things off the table at feeding time!

The shower block seemed a little small for the amount of people that could be accommodated although it is kept clean and I only had to wait the once for a shower, however apparently a new one is to be added soon which would dramatically improve the situation.

Being able to have a campfire and the views from the upper field being fantastic coupled with the general eco friendly recyclable set-up made for a special time for us all and if I were the type to return to the same place twice I would undoubtedly go back to Comrie Croft!

A real breath of fresh camping air in our opinion! 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markphelan 19 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from spending 5 days here. We chose Comrie Croft as it was in quite a central location. Dunblane is 30 minutes away, Perth about 40 minutes, and the west coast (Oban) was about 1h45mins.

Arriving on the weekend, the campsite was busy - and the 'lower meadow' was nearly full. This field is right next to the main reception block housing the toilets, showers, shop and a room where they hold meetings and events. There was a music group in the room when we arrived and a disco of some sort was going on in to the night.

We decided to pitch up on the 'high meadow' which was a 2-3 minute walk, but offered stunning views and was far quieter - after the weekend we were the only tent pitched up there.

Cars can be driven up a track to the field, though it's quite rough and requires a bit of careful driving. It had been quite wet and the entrance through the gate to the field was a bit muddy but the higher parts of the field drained well and we had no problems.

The showers were excellent - plenty of hot water and good water pressure, though did get a bit muddy over the busy weekend. A mop and bucket was available for people to clean up as they go, but few seemed to bother. The facilities were closed for an hour each day around lunchtime for deep cleaning but I don't think they were periodically cleaned throughout the rest of the day.

3 sinks were available for washing up in a covered area - though if you plan to do the dishes after dark then take a torch - the lighting isn't overly bright.

Overall, a good campsite though does get busy so if you want a quiet getaway during peak times then this probably isn't the place for you.

Plenty for kids to do and places to explore so an ideal place for families. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karenturner 8 reviews from this member

 I'm just back form here and I loved it. It was very quiet, I pitched at the far end of the the High Meadow and the views are spectacular.

Campfires - ah the smell of woodsmoke and bacon to waken you in the morning - bliss

Facilities were clean

Staff all very friendly

'eco' message very clear but in a friendly way.

Wash up facilities were great with lots of very hot water.

Recycling area was so good I only throw out a sandwich size bag of rubbish the rest got recycled - including eaten by chickens!

I imagine in high season the site might get very busy but now it's just lovely.

If you are looking for somewhere which feels like camping in the middle of nowhere but with the luxury of Toilets, showers, wash up facilities, internet access and a small shop - try this for size 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tcheuki 5 reviews from this member

 The way campsites should be! Stayed here for 3 days, with a large group(around 40 in total). Hard to find fault with the site. We were all pitched in the lower field next the a large fire pit covered by an old parachute,which served as a good focal point for the group. The facilities on site, although limited in number, were very good and clean. The was a strong emphasis on recycling and many items were left by previous campers which could be re-used.

The owners were extremely friendly and never seem to lose their patience despite us having a horde of children with us. The site is located in a nice part of Scotland, which isn't too remote, but remote enough to feel as if you are away from it all (only an hour from the central belt). The site seems to be split into three areas; an upper field, a wooded area and a lower field near the shop and toilet facilities.

There is also a hostel on-site and meeting/function area. The shop seems to sell a strange collection of goods, you can also purchase free range eggs laid by the on-site chickens. The eggs I bought were still warm! The chickens also provided a lot of entertainment for the children and also added income for the owners as they sell the feed in the shop.

Overall all we had an excellent weekend and would not hesitate to return to this site or recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Visitscotland 2 reviews from this member

 We were at this site for one night it was a short but lovely visit.

Lovely place, lovely people so friendly shop was great. Showers and toilets were extremely clean and beautiful. Surroundings so amazing. Will defo return.

It is one of the most relaxing and best places I have ever been too. My two year old nephew loved it as well and had fun feeding the chickens. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Comrie Croft child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Comrie Croft?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Comrie Croft dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crieff      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6138 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement