Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Monstay Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Monstay Farm Camp Site
Monstay Farm
Burrington
Ludlow
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY8 2HE
Tel: 01584 318007  or  07387564141
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KBeaumont5 1 review from this member

We just spent 4 nights camping and thoroughly enjoyed it. Lovely plain natural site. No fuss, very relaxed. Clean facilities with warm/hot showers, cleaned daily. Very laid back. Amazing setting in the middle of the forest. We were in the middle of the lambing for the farmer who obviously works extremely hard. She was lovely and allowed our two children to go into the lambing shed to see the lambs born that night. A very peaceful site. We were a family of four with two dogs and a large tent - the site was just perfect for us all. It was Easter weekend and not overly busy. Will hopefully return in the future. 3/4 minute drive into Ludlow town. Thank you to Angela for a lovely stay at the farm. The Beaumont family xxxx

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bogey567 5 reviews from this member

Went to this site because it was near Ludlow and Mortimers Forest. Both of which were perfect. Mind you Ludlow may not be everybodys cup of tea these days. Red trouser alert. The site itself is very good with some hard standings which we had. The views over towards west Shropshire, Herefordshire and East Wales are really very good and the sunsets are really something else. The toilets and showers, appear to be really good and modern. The owners are active farmers and there are sheep and cattle in many fields. Plus horses from the farm livery. We loved walking down the drive to Mortimers Forest. But there are walks from the site up the hill. All in all an excellent visit. It is a very dark site at night which is good.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nickwhiteley 14 reviews from this member

One of the few sites we have stayed in with really good views. My wife says this is her favourite campsite. Being on a hill I guess it could be blowy but it was lovely sitting out admiring the views. It's on a farm and they are hand rearing a lamb which was fun for our animal mad 3 year old. We stayed once mid week and it was very, very peaceful. At the weekend it seems to attract quite a lot of 3 or 4 family groups so gets a bit noisier. There aren't really enough facilities for when it's busy, not helped by some toilet locks missing. There is no campsite sign at the road, which is daft, and you need to look out for the farm name 1/4 mile from where our sat-nav said the farm is. There is no play area but a rope swing and lots of space to run around meant it's fun for kids. There looked like there were 4 hard standing pitches but most were just in fields. It felt like there was lots of space and it was far from full on the first weekend of the summer holidays. 18. 50 for a motorhome with 2 adults, 2 young kids and electric is decent value. Overall a lovely farm site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nick56 8 reviews from this member

We booked this as a change from Caravan club sites, which seem a little bit sterile. What a great choice. A lovely camp site on a farm in one of the most beautiful areas we have stayed on. In a forest on a re-entrant overlooking Shropshire and into Wales. Stunning views and plenty of walks without having to drive anywhere. Nice clean and updated toilet shower block. Selection of pitches with and without EHU, hard standing and grass. Ludlow is 5 minutes by car. A little hidden gem.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: The Cozens Family 2 reviews from this member

Super campsite, beautiful setting, lovely, clean, brand new loos and shower block. Apparently washing up facilities are on their way, although this wasn't an issue for us. There was a generous bag of wood for a fiver and loved the large fire bowls. After a night of rain we awoke to truly magical views. It is a hike to Ludlow, but through the woods that's gorgeous too. We loved it and definitely plan to go again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tony + Marg 43 reviews from this member

WOW! What a great site. We stayed on one of the few hardstanding and level pitches with our 9M motorhome which fitted on without a problem. The site is on the site of a hill so it gives tremendous views, it is in the middle of nowhere so is very quiet, no phone signal, and at night pitch black, (So take a torch). The toilet facilities are modern, almost new and spotless. Despite the site being quite busy with visitors, to the very popular food festival the facilities where still clean. The shower cubicles are enormous and the biggest I have ever seen. Plenty of hot water on a push button system. The owners are very friendly, helpful and busy as it is a working farm so there is not always someone there to greet you. Definitely recommend if you want somewhere quiet with great facilities. Get a way

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sibeer 1 review from this member

What a lovely site. We called up on the day we came and were told that they had space which was a pleasant surprise in August. As such I wasn't really expecting much, but it was fantastic.

The location is about ten minutes outside Ludlow into a forest area. The area is great for walks with dogs which were happily accepted on the site provided kept under control. The site itself in large and very well spaced out with plenty of electric hookups. Given the size of the site the toilet block by the farm could be quite a distance so bear this in mind when choosing a pitch. Given the site size we were able to chat quietly into the night as a group without disturbing anyone which was nice, if we went again we would have done so round one of the kindly provided fire pits.

The site itself had fantastic views across the forest and surrounding area. The location and the site in general were very peaceful. It was a working farm which seemed a really interesting place to the kids that were with some of the other campers. The prices were reasonable too. The on site facilities were spotless and plentiful the couple of times I used them on a one night visit.

Bare in mind that this site is well away from any shops, pubs or other facilities. The fantastic views and peace come as a result, but I would be lying if I said it wouldn't be handy to have a more local shop. As a group with three cars we were able to drive to Ludlow, park up then get a taxi back (six seater with two dogs for 20). However you won't be walking to grab a morning paper or back from your day out. Ludlow itself is really nice and well worth a visit.

Overall very pleased and will definitely be back again, recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ginster-pies 9 reviews from this member

Absolutely loved this hidden gem of a campsite - in the forest above ludlow. The campsite is about 10 mins drive from the centre of the town - so not walkable for a meal - but why you would want to is completely beyond me anyway! Its a working farm, so you have to drive up through a field of sheep - ( we had a minor incident with one escaping whilst we had the gate open - but it was good fun to do my sheepdog impression to return her to the fold!).

There are a number of fields - some slightly slopey - but plenty of room to find a flat pitch, and plenty of hookups available. Firebowls are available to hire - and its lovely to look across the campsite at lots of little campfires. The views are spectacular - down the valley towards Hay on Wye, or across to the forest - its not an Area of outstanding natural beauty for nothing!

The washrooms have recently been done, and are fab - clean and modern with plenty of free, unlimited hot showers. The washing up area needs a bit of TLC, but there is a sign saying that this is being planned so should be even better soon.

Ludlow is a lovely little town, if you do want to get out and about, and the forest has walking and MTB trails. A great base for a weekend break or a full week. WE'll definitely be back

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iggyg 5 reviews from this member

Firstly this is a brilliant campsite. Large fields so no need to be next to anyone. Fire pits are a really nice touch I think and plenty of electric hook-ups for those that want them (we don't but thought I should mention it). Views on a night were amazing and the only sound is the sheep and cows.

New toilet/shower facilities are very nice. The only criticism would be the water pressure is not great at times - there were very few people at the site when we were there so this may need to be looked at for when the campsite is full.

I would certainly stay at this campsite over and again it is a wonderful spot - peaceful and relaxing. The owners did come around and speak to us one of the nights and were very nice. A really great site.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ERJones 1 review from this member

Fantastically peaceful, beautifully located campsite. We stayed here for a week; the only sound was sheep and birds. Surrounded by Mortimer forest, it was away from the main road so no traffic noise at all. 3 Large fields (so no crowding issues) with hook ups if needed.

Brand new toilet and shower block - 4 toilets and two showers in each, which were free and hot and spotlessly clean.

Owners very pleasant with offers of help if needed.

Excellent value for money, 12. 00 a night for two of us (We didn't need hook up).

Would definitely recommend for those wanting to get away from it all and who love the peace and quiet.

Having read the previous comments about the washing facilities, this issue certainly has now been addressed.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2825 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019