Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Monstay Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Monstay Farm Camp Site
Monstay Farm
Ludlow
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY8 2HE
Tel: 01584 318007  or  07913805981
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juma14 1 review from this member

A wonderful visit again to monstay with our young family and friends. The site is high in the Shropshire hills, stunning views and the opportunity for our boys to have some freedom. Great woods to explore, campfires and family fun. The site is on a working farm and the owners welcome you warmly. New shower block and toilets coming in 2015 will make what is already a fantastic site even better.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DaveyMole 3 reviews from this member

This site is spectacularly situated above a wooded valley in the Mortimer Forest. There are walks/rides/runs from the door and fantastic views into Wales.

There are now 4 hard standings with hook-ups and another 10 hookups across the field, which is approached by a gravel track. The hard standings are level and have good views. The rest of the site is fairly sloping.

The facilities are pretty basic, but the shower was hot and had good pressure when I used it. There are plans to update the facilities and move them into one of the barns at some point in the future.

Owners are lovely and have eggs for sale. Ludlow is a short drive away, but otherwise you're in splendid isolation.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Martinlea 1 review from this member

Very friendly welcome, didn't pitch my tent at first as I know from experience how pedantic some campsite owners are-but these aren't! I camped out for one night with my two children and they loved it. There was loads of space for them to play in the fields. The pitches were flat and the setting simply amazing. You can do forest walks from across the road from the campsite entrance. The facilities were basic but very clean. The best bits were the peace and quiet, space, fresh farm eggs and, of course, the campfire! Will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Risin888 1 review from this member

We stayed here recently and I have to say I was disappointed with the condition of the site. We went with friends who had stayed before around two years ago and to find that the toilet and shower facilities had not improved in that time was sad to say the least. The toilets are typical of the wooden stand-alone huts you see in western films with an old sink stuck to a post outside but without any hot water to wash your hands. The shower? well that defies description. Cold, slow and basic is about as close as I can get to being accurate. The most frustrating part is this site has tons of potential if only it had a little money spent and someone who was interested in improving it. The views are spectacular and location is suited to walkers and bikers with forest tracks aplenty. The track into the field was akin to a building site, muddy, potted and wet. Our friends said that when they last visited they were told the contractors were due that day to resurface the track. Needless to say it hasn't been done. One word of warning, if you are thinking of booking a taxi into Ludlow then beware as we were given waiting times of between two and a half and five hours for a taxi. I can offer no reason for this as it was a quiet weekend. Taking everything into account I will not be staying here again.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Essexhebridean 9 reviews from this member

Our third visit to Ludlow and third time staying at this lovely friendly site. As always there was a friendly welcome from them and as we didn't want an electric hook-up we were turned loose to choose our own spot. We settled for the middle field, which is gently sloping but so long as you choose your space carefully it's possible to set up on level ground.

Facilities are basic - 2 toilets, 1 shower, and as the site was busy there was also the use of the additional shower-room in the farmhouse. We know from previous visits that showering at night is the answer to beating the queues in the morning! The only hot water is in the shower itself - so for washing up you need to boil a kettle which is no great hardship. There is also a freezer available for your icepacks. They sell freshly laid eggs at the farmhouse too ready for delicious breakfasts!

Prices are incredibly reasonable - £6 per adult per night for tents without electric.

Even though they were busy, there was plenty of space and it didn't feel at all cramped - and as others have said the views are just stunning!

This is a site which is a true pleasure to return to, and we undoubtedly shall.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Colin Keenan 2 reviews from this member

Singularly unimpressed by the extent and condition of the facilities - hot water only from shower - toilet 'block' rustic verging on primitive and the few hook ups were hard to find in the undergrowth.

The site is spectacularly situated with gorgeous views, but finding a part of the field that was level enough [even with the use of wedges] for comfort and still gave a bonnie view defeated us.

I note the favourable views, almost all from campers, but clearly see this site in a different light. Have nothing against 'simple' sites and hope to be fair in what I write, but we were so disappointed here, that despite having paid up front, we sat around an hour or so and eventually just left - the only time we have ever done so. For us this was Nonstay rather than Monstay farm.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thorntop 9 reviews from this member

Beautiful isolated location with fantastic views on a working farm. £6 for adults and £2 for children. We arrived in the rain but site appears well drained except the gateways which got a bit slippery. The farmer was happy to tow out any vehicles that got stuck with his tractor.

The farmer hires out fire baskets and sells firewood. Due to the wet weather he opened the end of his barn for somewhere to sit and cook in the dry. The facilities are basic but clean. Only 2 toilets and one shower I could see, so I suspect these might get busy if the camp was full.

The owner is very friendly and relaxed which creates a very peaceful atmosphere on the site. If all you need is a space to pitch a tent in some beautiful countryside with a toilet and water then this site can't be faulted. The children enjoyed the horses, lambs, chickens, turkey and dogs in the farm yard.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stevenwilliam 5 reviews from this member

We had a six-night stay in September 2011.

The site lies a few miles to the west of the lovely market town of Ludlow and is a perfect spot for exploring the Shropshire hills and the Welsh Marches. A section of Offa’s Dyke is within easy reach. You really could not fault the location. As to the site itself, there are woods to the south and north and great views out to the west. There are three fairly large fields that can be used for tents. There are a few EHUs for caravan users in the middle field; we chose that field when we arrived because it looked the most level and it was completely empty, as was the north field. The south field had a couple of tents but at least 100-200 yards from us. On our fourth night, we had the entire site to ourselves. The site is sufficiently far from the road for it to be neither seen nor heard. At night, there was there were the sounds of nature only.

There are two loos, one without a light, and a shower with good hot water, which was free. There is an outdoors stand-alone sink and draining board next to the loos, but no hot water or light, where you can do the washing up. The loos were clean enough, as was the shower, although the rubber mat on which to stand after the shower could have done with a good clean or just needed replacing. There needs to some shelving put up around the sink. However, nothing looks finished – the walls of the loos being bare plasterboard and there’s not much of an excuse for a loo with no light given that it stands next to one that has. If the owners could improve these facilities, then this would be really good site. On our 5th day, the water, which is drawn from a deep bore hole, stopped. This coincided with the first day of the Ludlow food festival when I believe the site was “full” (there was still loads of free space), so the demand on the water was probably at a maximum, but the owners should ensure that water does not run dry again as apart from a piece of earth on which to stand your tent, water is the second-most essential in a campsite (it had been restored by the next morning).

I got the sense the owners are fairly laid-back, no one hassled us for money and we were half way in to the stay before I bumped into Angela who was lovely and friendly.

We really enjoyed our stay in Shrophsire and this lovely piece of the landscape is a great place from which to explore it. Hopefully, the owners will get the facilities up to scratch in the next year or so and then this would be a campsite to recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Achy 14 reviews from this member

Excellent campsite. The driveway has now tarmac 3/4 of the way up, so no problem gaining access. The website directions are spot on. The site has some wonderful views, whilst still providing 3 fields with mainly level pitches.

The owners were not particularly visible whilst we were there, as they had a family gathering. This certainly didn't cause a problem & we even had to go & find them to pay at the end of the weekend! The rates were exceedingly reasonable.

No awful rules & you can have a fire if you use a fire basket.

Two toilets & 1 shower were adequate, especially when you take into account that I was advised they were really busy & any other campsite would declare that 1/2 empty-great for us!

If you want a rural campsite, with basic but clean facilities, close to Ludlow (castle is excellent) then Monstay is for you.

One last thing-the water needs to be boiled before drinking, so might be easier to take your own??

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caspian 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a couple of nights at this site. Overall it was very good - the location is great, close enough to Ludlow for easy visits but far enough out that you feel like you're properly in the countryside. Facilities were basic (the toilet doors have a few gaps in where the draught whistles through!) but that's part of the charm of a site like this. The fire pits are definitely a good idea, but it's worth reserving them when you book to make sure you get one.

Even though we were camping on the August bank holiday the site felt uncrowded and we never had to wait for loo or shower. Lots of space between tents and a big area in the centre of the main field for children to play in.

The only downpoint to our stay was the amount of noise on the site. One field close to the loo block had a big group of campers (5-8 families I guess) who had car radios playing most of the day, and another group were playing theirs later on in the evening (10pm).

As well as the radios a couple of caravans near us had brought a petrol generator with them, as they couldn't get an EHC pitch. This meant that from 5pm to 9. 30pm we had to listen to the generator chugging away, which was a real disappointment. To be fair to the caravanners they had mentioned they were bringing the generator, and the site owners had agreed, but I think it's a mistake on a rural site like this. Even a quiet generator seems loud when you're on an open field in the middle of the forest. Another couple did ask the site owners to check the noise, but as they'd given permission there's not a lot they could do.

We cut our trip short by a night as a result which was a shame, but we were looking for real peace and quiet and it wasn't really that type of site. The sound of voices round a campfire or children playing is one thing, but generators and stereos is rather different.

I would recommend this site for large groups and families with lots of children, but if you are looking for a quiet site you may be better off elsewhere. At very least it'd be worth checking with the site owners what their policy is regarding noise on site (radios especially) before you book. We were partly unlucky that we were pitched next to noisy caravans. On another day it might have been perfect, but not this time around.

In terms of constructive criticism (because this has potential to be a fantastic site), it would be good if the owners did a quick tour morning and evening to check on things. The owners are working farmers so understandably have other priorities, but it would have been a good chance to check on noise levels (as it was not obvious from the farmhouse given its distance from the main field).

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3657 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!