Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Monstay Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Monstay Farm Camp Site
Monstay Farm
Ludlow
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY8 2HE
Tel: 01584 318007  or  07913805981
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pook1973 1 review from this member

A great site in a lovely location, although a bit of a walk to Ludlow, however, plenty of taxi numbers available. The views from the bottom field were amazing. We had a lovely flat pitch which was a good size to accommodate our large tent. Toilet and shower facilities were nice and clean and newly finished and the bonus if being able to hire the fire pitfor 5 was great! Will definitely return to Monstay Farm.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: L3ogroll 2 reviews from this member

Stayed recently for a week, my family and my sisters family and had a great time. There was not many campers or caravans on the site when we stayed (i did think this was odd as its the school holidays but this did not bother us). There was loads of space and the kids really had run of all the fields. I cant really say anything about the owners as when we got there a young lad showed us where to go and if we did see anyone in passing over the week they did not introduce themselves as the owners so I would not really know who they were. The people that we did speak to did have a lot of good things to say about them so that's all good. Ludlow is 2. 8 miles away and I would say the road way would be a little risky for the kids to walk it with a lot of blind bends on 70mph road. The drive up to the site is half tarmacked and then turns into a very uneven gravel lane, just bear this in mind if you do not have a 4x4 as your suspension can take a battering even at 5mph. The site is super clean and the shower and toilets are spotless and so warm even at 3am lol. The fire pits are well worth a purchase as our portable one was not going to cut it, they had plenty of room and a good 5 bag of wood on site will last a good 6 hours if stacked right. The views are amazing from the far field as you can see for miles.

All in all it was a fabulous little place to visit and myself and my family will be back

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Macn1 1 review from this member

Lovely laid back relaxing site! Great facilities, peaceful surroundings and easy access to mortimers forest! Surrounded by cows, sheep and horses and a fun area of natural tree swings for the children.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hobbits 18 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a couple of nights during half-term. Apparently the site had been full over the Bank Holiday weekend but when we arrived on the Wednesday there were just 6 tents and a couple of caravans.

The location of this site is stunning. It's only a couple of miles from Ludlow but you are in the middle of the wonderful Mortimer Forest, with trees and views all around. The only sounds you will hear are from the farm animals (horses, cows and sheep) and the local wildlife (owls at night were a particular favourite). There are 3 camping fields to choose from with plenty of room to pitch and a good number of of EHUs. The furthest field is quite a long trek from the toilets so worth thinking carefully about your choice of pitch particularly if you have small children with you who might need to get up in the night!

The facilities are limited (but fine for our needs). The showers and toilets are excellent, a nice clean block, lots of room in the showers and plenty of hot water from the biomass boiler. Other than that there is just one fridge freezer for the whole site and no washing machine that I was aware of. There is a washing up station on the side of the shower block.

There are a couple of rope swings from the amazing oak tree in the middle of the one field, and that's as close to a playground as you get - which is fantastic as children definitely have to make their own entertainment!

There is plenty to do in the local area (Acton Scott working farm, Castles etc) but we just spent our time chilling out and reading. Ludlow has a great castle too, plus a market and loads of great places to eat. Mortimer forest itself has loads of walking trails. A bit further afield there is a lovely little cheese-making dairy at Monkland (near Leominster) where you can watch cheese being made and get a lovely lunch or tea.

We loved this site as we enjoy the solitude and peace (even with 2 kids of 11 and 8). The grass could do with cutting a bit more as it was very wet (wellies are a must for this site) and it would be good if there was a washing machine (the kids did get muddy) but that apart it's great. We will definitely be returning!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cabravieja 16 reviews from this member

It's not a manicured site, the camping fields are a bit lumpy and the grass was long but there is so much space just stamp around a bit until you find a good spot. There are no set pitches which suits us as we like to spread out. Toilets and showers are fine. The views are wonderful.

A short walk to Mortimer forest for great trails and free days out. Ludlow is a short drive and plenty of castles in the area.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kirstsw 31 reviews from this member

An amazing site surrounded by beautiful countryside. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity. There are many walks from the site in Mortimers forest as well as mountain bike trails. There was also a Park Run on the Saturday morning at the nearby Vinnells car park. The lady owner was friendly and welcoming and had a wealth of information about the site. Great for bird watching, as well as listening to the owls and the cuckoo. The facilities are clean and adequate. We stayed one hardstanding pitch with EHU for 20 p/n. A gem of a site and would definitely visit again. You need to ensure you are stocked up with supplies as there is nothing in walking distance. Just perfect.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Man in a tent 3 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site.

I just had a few very enjoyable days there.

Beautiful quiet peaceful site just what I was looking for.

No traffic noise, no light polution from streetlights just a gloriously peaceful spot.

This site has everything I want, helpful friendly owners, clean tidy showers, peace and quiet.

As I was on my own this didn't affect me but the main camping field seemed to be a perfect playground for the children who were on site. Plenty of room to run round and have fun without disturbing anyone, whilst mum and dad could put their feet up and watch the fun.

This is also one of the few sites that allow you to have a fire, they will hire you a firepit and sell you firewood. What better way to spend the evening than sat around the fire?

I noticed that a lot of the people I spoke to had been before and enjoyed it so much they came back again. I can certainly understand this and I expect I shall be another one who comes back again.

P. S. Ignore the fact that I posted as 'man in a tent', I got older and graduated to a caravan.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobb 9 reviews from this member

We've just had four very enjoyable nights here.

Access is straightforward and directions to the site very clear.

Nice toilet block and showers, great views and the owners are very friendly and helpful.

It's possible to walk into Ludlow if you're reasonably fit, it's about an hour and a half and can be done almost all off road and a very quiet lane but there is one fairly steep hill for about 1/2 mile. You walk about 200 yards on the road you arrived on but we had no problems.

The owners ask that you're careful with water as it's from their own bore hole but water saving is common sense anyway. I'm sure it would sell well bottled, very high quality.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Godking 7 reviews from this member

Been here before, and was impressed then, as now. Angela was away when we arrived, so didn't pay until Saturday evening, but it wasn't a concern, unlike the weather, which was really wet and windy. Facilities were clean and well presented, despite the muddy conditions, and the field was well grassed; not manicured, but even. There aren't set plots, fire pits are available for hire, and wood to burn in them. The driveway is a bit harum scarum, but that just adds to the charm for me. All this at the most reasonable price of 7 per person per night. Close enough to Ludlow for the sights, far enough into the sticks to be quiet, and plenty of forest walking for my dog. This is a jewel of a site, so please avoid it at all costs, mainly because I'm selfish and like quiet sites in the middle of nowhere.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RosyCarr 1 review from this member

Really helpful, genuine people. We rocked up at near 10pm and not a clue what to co-op all the gear & no idea as they say! Angela and Les were fab. Helped and willing. A super site, not pretentious or pompus just clean and well organised. Not cramped. All the things you need. I'd go again and not hesitate to recommend.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Shropshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3071 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019