Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Folly Gardens

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Folly Gardens > Reviews

Folly Gardens
Green Lane
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4EN
Tel: 01947 601364
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 27 Reviews
                7/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynne F 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this site on our motrobike with a small tent. It is a little expensive but this is due to the fact it is just a walk into Whitby, you don't need your car. This is a bonus. Be warned! It is a very steep walk back to your tent at night!

Pitches are level and tiered. Very few campers when we visited as it was early in the year. Toilet/shower block is new. Roomy and clean with hooks for your clothes and shelves. Sounds simple but some sites seem to think this is a luxury. However, showers are in the same room as the toilet and as there are only 4 I could envisage some waiting for the toilet if you were sharing the site with people who enjoyed a long shower!

Quiet but this was early in the year.

Lovley countryside around Whitby. As steam enthusiasts we were please to see steam trains running on the North Yorkshire Moors. Took a trip from Whitby to Pickering. You could stop off anywhere along the line so opted for Goathland (where Heartbeat was filmed). Dont miss Robin Hoods Bay, 4 miles away. This was where I stayed as a child and it hasnt changed much in sixty years!

We go to Whitby for the fish and chips. A bit sad as we live in Essex but the southerners have not yet mastered the art! Went to two fish emporiums and they didn't disappoint.

Thank you Whitby! We will return but may choose a different site next time. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cfurn 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed 3 nights over a busy weekend, and they certainly knew how to pack you in! We were a bit concerned about the safety of the terraced pitches, most of which were not fenced off, but just fell away to the pitches on the terrace below. The toilets and showers were clean, but the 2 cubicles that are toilets only had little room for washing in, and more facilities are needed if they are going to cram so many people onto the site. There were notices around the campsite asking guests to be quiet after 10pm, but this was not respected by everyone and not enforced by the owners. There was one group in particular that was singing and making noise until after midnight on the Friday and Saturday nights when we were there. Although this site is run by friendly people and is very convenient for visiting Whitby, we will not be in a hurry to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grey geyser 2 reviews from this member

 Just back after one nights stay. Its a small site ideally located right in the heart of Whitby only a few minutes walk from the town centre. The pitches are well kept and flat. Yes its basic but its clean and that is the way I like it. I can see why its popular with bikers having travelled over from Morecambe on mine. The fish and chip shop on the quay with melt in your mouth batter that the owner told us about was brilliant. As with other reviewers I will use this site again and would recommend it to friends. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Scoggy423 1 review from this member

 This site is in a great location, you will not get any nearer to Whitby than this on your camping trip.

Facilities were great toilet block showers ect very clean. Electric hook up is available for a small fee, well worth the money.

Head out of the site and bear left down the hill and your at the harbour and a few minutes walk later you are in town. Would highly recommend, for hassle free camping.

The site does cater for small campervans.

Cant wait to go again!. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moather 3 reviews from this member

 I did not book a place; I just turned up on the day and paid £20 per night, each night. The site was clean and the terraces were clear and level.

Very quiet nights and relaxing days with easy access to Whitby and a 'North Yorkshire' walk

DETAILS:

Negatives:

Needs clearer signs for the 4 toilets (2 with showers)

Toilets: some locks not working, some lights not working either.

No lighting on the steps to toilets area from the terraces.

Positives:

Toilets were clean with loo paper and running hot water and working hot showers.

Lit ‘cold water’ points around the site on different levels.

Friendly family managing the site.

I will return in future, as I am satisfied with my holiday there. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Missteree 28 reviews from this member

 We were quoted £19 a night for 2 adults including hookup but when I went to pay it had mysteriously risen to £24 a night. When questioned about the increase I was told it was because we had a big tent. At no point was this discussed or mentioned prior to then, we have used this tent at over 20 sites(including camping and caravanning club sites) and have never had to pay a premium for it before. (It's a Caplan 5 470cm X 290cm) If we had been told it was £24 a night before we had pitched we would never have went.

As has been covered before in other reviews the site and it's facilities are rough and ready at the original quoted price you could forgive some of that.

Uuneven pitches, paths with loose stones that spray mud on you as you walk on them, toilets with no soap or hand drying facilities, one of which has an incomplete roof.

The location is ok, but opposite an estate that had a lot of shouting coming from it on a Saturday night, it's close-ish to the town, but up a very steep hill.

Whitby itself was very picturesque and we will be back, just not to this site.  


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kazerella 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site over the weekend and loved the place.

I had previously read some of the reviews on here and was a little worried by some of the comments of previous visitors, but didn't find any problems with this site at all.

The toilets were a little basic, but they were clean, and not any better or any worse than most campsites.

The people were friendly & helpful and the site was well maintained.

The best thing though was the location, which is walking distance to Whitby centre. It was great to leave the car by the tent and not have to worry about parking charges.

I am definitely going to go back next time I stay over in Whitby. Great site! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Little Miss Loiner 1 review from this member

 Cracking little site, about 5 - 10 mins walk from the main area of Whitby.

Site small, but clean and tidy with flat terracing to park the bikes. 4 loos and 2 showers with outside washing up area. We went mid week so the site was quiet.

Fantastic views down towards Whitby with loads of sunshine (well, during our 2 days there). £15 for the 2 of us and 2 motorbikes for 1 night stay (apparently it's popular for bikers).

Would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hamgel 2 reviews from this member

 We visit this campsite very often and are always made very welcome.

Five minutes walk to whitby, pubs, restaurants, local attractions on the doorstep.

Toilets are basic but clean and there is an area for washing pots. Owners are nice and friendly and are always there for any assistance you may need.

We cant wait to go in august for folk week, but we will be there before then for the odd weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MDEHSDG8 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights on an August weekend. The site was busy and tents were squeezed in a bit but the people near us were friendly so that wasn't a problem. The best feature of the site is it's location it's only a five minute walk in to Whitby. The estate that other reviewers mentioned in about 300 meters away across a heavily vegetated valley so was not a problem. There are only four toilets, two of which have showers in them so there was often a queue. Staff were quite unhelpful, we wanted to leave our car on the sight on the Sunday, next to my brothers tent who was staying till Monday but was told in no uncertain terms that we could not do that as the site was full! Returning to my brothers tent later that afternoon there was loads of space on the site! Having said this I would go back to this site just because of its location. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Folly Gardens child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Folly Gardens?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Folly Gardens dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4204 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement