Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Folly Gardens

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Folly Gardens > Reviews

Folly Gardens
Green Lane
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4EN
Tel: 01947 601364
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 27 Reviews
                7/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 21 to 27                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pammy Su 2 reviews from this member

 A great site for proper campers. If you kids aren't able to keep themselves entertained, and you expect for 4* luxury then jog on.

The site had everything a camper needs, and we loved washing up at the sinks outside, much better than the dark dingy building you normally get on campsites. The four toilets and two showers were ample for the site and always clean, and we really liked the toilet with the slight open roof and old wall, because there was never any left over odours from the previous user.

Perfect site for exploring Whitby.

We will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jensoir 1 review from this member

 I can understand why people have given poor reviews of this campsite. However, I would like to offer a more positive opinion.

The site is perfectly located to explore whitby, no driving required. The owner was very friendly and even lent us some tent pegs as ours had somehow gone missing since our last camping trip. The site is small but wasnt over crowded, we had an empty pitch next to us which was great.

Yes, the site is rough and ready. The toilets and showers seem thrown together in a very DIY fashion and the ground is uneven. I didn't find these points a problem at all though as I am used to camping at festivals using porter loos and no showers at all.

I would definitely return here in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Revitup 6 reviews from this member

 For 15 quid a night this was exactly what we expected of this site. As weathered bikers this site was ideal (as motorcycles are permitted,which is more than I can say for some sites). In fact it is a proper camp site so if you are looking for the luxury of your own home,then give it a miss.

We stayed for two nights but would have liked to have stayed longer. 5 minute easy stroll into whitby. Fish&chip shops very close by as well as pubs,but pub prices are very expensive,so I recommend you do what we did and get your cans of carling and ice bags from the supermarket nearby.Haa.

The field itself is tiered which makes it a more interesting site,and we found it to be very quiet at night (eg:no road noise).I would recommend that you pre-book as this site was quick to fill up we noticed. We would definitely come here again. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rosawoodbugs 2 reviews from this member

 I was charged 27 per night for a family of four in a tent, which was far too expensive considering the lack of facilities. There were two toilets and two wet rooms. Both these had open sewers and the smell was dreadful. One of the toilets was open to the elements, the roof did not meet the wall. There was no shaver point, or place to plug in a hairdryer. Facilities for washing up consisted of a double sink and drainer with hot and cold water, which was adequate. Pity about the smell.

The site is a field, stepped with a partial road. There is barely room to manoeuvre a car - once in there is no room to turn round. The road into the site is very steep and narrow, making access difficult. The grass was mown, but not rolled, so the ground was very lumpy. I asked for an invoice, but was refused, the proprietor being unavailable. The road was very noisy in the night. I called at the tourist office, where I was advised they did not recommend this site. I agree. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Minionherder 2 reviews from this member

 Although other reviews have been a bit scathing I think this site is amazing and will be back probably many times.

Kids loved the goat!

I liked the convenience and price.

True the site is a bit rough and ready but it looks to me like it is still being built and the owner just opened what he could to avoid missing the season.

Thank you for a good holiday we will be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve.shaz 3 reviews from this member

 15 mins walk into whitby, 10 mins walk down back road to the abbey. This is a noisy site from road traffic, large wagons using this road. The amount of facility's for this site was poor, two toilets with sink, you were nearly sat down when trying to wash, there were 2 wet rooms with ample room, we found it easier to bunk up in the shower, always a queue.
The site is layerd. Was lucky to have got on this site because of size of tent, only allows small to medium size tents. For 15 per night for two adults was high to say what facility are available. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kalahari 2 reviews from this member

 This site has good and bad points, overall I'd lean on the good verdict.

Toilets and showers seemed very DIY like the owners had put them together with building site leftovers. My littlun kept getting stuck in a dodgy toilet with a broken lock.

The ground is grass but a sublayer of rocks making putting in tent pegs without bending them an interesting puzzle.

The only views are a glimpse of the moors and the back of a housing estate.

No playground for the kids and no sign of the owner other than at the money changing hands.

All this though is outweighed by it's location, it is almost inside the harbour in Whitby and if, (like us) you spend the day off site a lot it makes a very good base for visiting Whitby and the areas around.

Prices were cheap enough roughly 15 a pitch for two people with extra people 3 each (but don't quote me on that).

It was also one of the only sites within a 5 mile radius of Whitby that had space during the steam festival.

It also had no wasps thank god!

If the owners spent a few quid on the showers in addition to the holiday cottage they were building on site it would be a massive improvement. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 27     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Folly Gardens child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Folly Gardens?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Folly Gardens dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3725 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement