Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Folly Gardens

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Folly Gardens Reviews

Folly Gardens
Green Lane
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4EN
Tel: 01947 601364
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 22 Reviews
                7/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maz9999 31 reviews from this member

 Great location for Whitby is where the plus comments end, never seen a campsite so packed in, I mean it’s got to break fire regs with motorhomes literally less than 2 feet from the next one, £25 per night and were charged an extra £25 when the daughter and two kids visited for one night, came to empty the toilet and couldn’t find the dump point. No one in reception so ended up emptying down the toilet, then finding on trying to clean around that the toilet paper had run out, everyone waiting for toilets as only 3 on a packed site, so people complaining about the prices and facilities, lucky we have a fully equipped van but felt very sorry for people in tents, would not go again 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Union John 5 reviews from this member

 The previous review from Tichymichy is accurate and fair. The big plus is the location which is in Whitby. The downside: at £25 per night in October it is expensive; pricing is not transparent on the web-site. Some of the facilities need some more attention. The washing-up area is two sinks with no protection from the rain. When we there only one of the showers produced hot water. Finally, I agree with the reviewer who mentioned the rather cool welcome. In the end running a camp-site is about making your customers feel welcome. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rocketman30 1 review from this member

 Being a biker my family and friends visit Whitby numerous times throughout the year. Having used this site for over fifteen years I cannot praise it enough. The owners are friendly and very helpful. Yes the facility's are basic but ongoing improvements are going on. What you pay for is the proximity to the heart of Whitby. Five minutes walk and you are at the harbour with all the bars and the best fish & chips in England. Cant understand people complaining about noise. Always found the site quiet at all times through the year even in peak times goth folk regatta. Site fees on par with anywhere else in Whitby without the extra cliff top walks or expensive taxis 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Titchymichy 1 review from this member

 Just returned from tent camping at Folly Gardens. Ideally situated to sample the delights of Whitby. A short walk into The town or along to the abbey. You couldn't be closer to Whitby if you tried. The site is about 100 yards up Green Lane, a short but steep hill taking you down to the riverside or you can walk along the street opposite the site entrance and find yourself at the abbey in less than 10 minutes.

The site itself caters for both tent and van camping over several grass tiers. We found there was a good mix of walking/biking solo campers, right up to family groups of tents, small Camper vans and caravans. Plenty of pitches with electric hook up too. You can find steps up to each tier or use the gravel road (very steep) you can park next your pitch which was great.

There is a toilet block with 4 rooms. 3 of which were wet rooms housing over head shower, toilet and wash hand basin with mirrors, shelves and plenty door hooks. The 4th room is a toilet & wash basin. All had plenty hot water. There is also an outdoor double sink washing up station. Plenty drinking water taps and recycling points across the site. You can use BBQs as long as they are not directly on the grass (ours has legs) and there are a few bricks provided so you an use your own. We paid £10 pppn for a family sized tent and porch. My first time camping in over 30 years and I was well impressed with the site. A great little spot and well worth the visit.

If you park on the bottom tier don't park too close to the fence as there is a friendly goat (Rosie) who can climb the fence and bump and rub her head against your vehicle. 😀 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hj15 2 reviews from this member

 The location of this campsite is excellent for Whitby - no more than a 10 minute walk. The condition of the campsite was not great - lots of stones and the quality of the grassland is poor. The owners are obviously developing this site annually so it does have the air of a construction site about it. The site is also tiered which ensures most pitches are level but perhaps not ideal for young children.

There are a limited number of washrooms available - there is not a separate toilet block so be prepared to queue in the mornings. But the washrooms are kept clean and are very modern.

The biggest issue I had when staying at Folly Gardens was the complete lack of customer service - everything was a chore for them - from enquiring about ice packs to booking in at arrival - at no point did I feel welcomed as a customer.

I possibly would stay here again - but only due to its location and it would be for a few nights maximum. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynne F 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this site on our motrobike with a small tent. It is a little expensive but this is due to the fact it is just a walk into Whitby, you don't need your car. This is a bonus. Be warned! It is a very steep walk back to your tent at night!

Pitches are level and tiered. Very few campers when we visited as it was early in the year. Toilet/shower block is new. Roomy and clean with hooks for your clothes and shelves. Sounds simple but some sites seem to think this is a luxury. However, showers are in the same room as the toilet and as there are only 4 I could envisage some waiting for the toilet if you were sharing the site with people who enjoyed a long shower!

Quiet but this was early in the year.

Lovley countryside around Whitby. As steam enthusiasts we were please to see steam trains running on the North Yorkshire Moors. Took a trip from Whitby to Pickering. You could stop off anywhere along the line so opted for Goathland (where Heartbeat was filmed). Dont miss Robin Hoods Bay, 4 miles away. This was where I stayed as a child and it hasnt changed much in sixty years!

We go to Whitby for the fish and chips. A bit sad as we live in Essex but the southerners have not yet mastered the art! Went to two fish emporiums and they didn't disappoint.

Thank you Whitby! We will return but may choose a different site next time. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cfurn 13 reviews from this member

 We stayed 3 nights over a busy weekend, and they certainly knew how to pack you in! We were a bit concerned about the safety of the terraced pitches, most of which were not fenced off, but just fell away to the pitches on the terrace below. The toilets and showers were clean, but the 2 cubicles that are toilets only had little room for washing in, and more facilities are needed if they are going to cram so many people onto the site. There were notices around the campsite asking guests to be quiet after 10pm, but this was not respected by everyone and not enforced by the owners. There was one group in particular that was singing and making noise until after midnight on the Friday and Saturday nights when we were there. Although this site is run by friendly people and is very convenient for visiting Whitby, we will not be in a hurry to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grey geyser 2 reviews from this member

 Just back after one nights stay. Its a small site ideally located right in the heart of Whitby only a few minutes walk from the town centre. The pitches are well kept and flat. Yes its basic but its clean and that is the way I like it. I can see why its popular with bikers having travelled over from Morecambe on mine. The fish and chip shop on the quay with melt in your mouth batter that the owner told us about was brilliant. As with other reviewers I will use this site again and would recommend it to friends. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Scoggy423 1 review from this member

 This site is in a great location, you will not get any nearer to Whitby than this on your camping trip.

Facilities were great toilet block showers ect very clean. Electric hook up is available for a small fee, well worth the money.

Head out of the site and bear left down the hill and your at the harbour and a few minutes walk later you are in town. Would highly recommend, for hassle free camping.

The site does cater for small campervans.

Cant wait to go again!. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moather 3 reviews from this member

 I did not book a place; I just turned up on the day and paid £20 per night, each night. The site was clean and the terraces were clear and level.

Very quiet nights and relaxing days with easy access to Whitby and a 'North Yorkshire' walk

DETAILS:

Negatives:

Needs clearer signs for the 4 toilets (2 with showers)

Toilets: some locks not working, some lights not working either.

No lighting on the steps to toilets area from the terraces.

Positives:

Toilets were clean with loo paper and running hot water and working hot showers.

Lit ‘cold water’ points around the site on different levels.

Friendly family managing the site.

I will return in future, as I am satisfied with my holiday there. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Folly Gardens child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Folly Gardens?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Folly Gardens dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4013 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement