Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Folly Gardens

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Folly Gardens > Reviews

Folly Gardens
Green Lane
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4EN
Tel: 01947 601364
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 27 Reviews
                7/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: J264mc 1 review from this member

 This campsite is in a great position, short walk into town.

Facilities were very clean and plentiful.

The pitch we were put on was ok but reversing back up the hill to get out of it was another story, pitches are on a few different levels and although there are plenty of pitches it is a smallish campsite.

We enjoyed our stay (our first in the area). 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul Hockney 7 reviews from this member

 Site was well laid out and plenty of space, owners were helpful.

Toilets and showers were excellent and always clean, waste disposal on site.

Big plus for the site is the close proximity to the town but far enough away to have a nice relaxed country feel.

Will certainly book again. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dayzone 4 reviews from this member

 The main reason you would stay at this site is for the convenience of being able to walk into Whitby but be aware it is quite a steep walk. Cost was £30 a night

Beware, you are asked to pay in cash which we weren't made aware of before hand (who has £180 in cash in their wallet these days)

I've never been to a site where the units are as close together as this one.

I feel I ought to mention the shower facilities as some of the comments on Google seem to suggest they are wonderful.

There are 4 shower cubicles with wash basin and toilet and a further two toilets with wash basins.

One of the toilet seats in one of the shower rooms was missing the whole 6 nights we were there and the lock on one of the separate toilets did not work. Also one of the showers the water pressure was pathetic and another dripped constantly making the whole room quite wet.

You could never be sure there was any toilet paper so best to check first!

The chemical disposal point is not easy to use due to it's inaccessible position.

I am not trying to be negative but just telling it as we found it 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Caralou 1 review from this member

 We went as part of two families young kids. Campsite itself was fine and did the job.

A little packed in so not much space for kids to play but we tried to get out as much as possible to Whitby itself.

Few minutes walk and pretty steep hill but worth it to be so close ! Found everything okay on site taps all around.

All amenities in one place chemical disposal washing up point, toilets and showers all kept clean and modern.

Owner was polite showed us to spot and left us to it 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Donnanne 7 reviews from this member

 Needed a few nights away after lockdown and camping in Whitby seemed the perfect getaway. This campsite was exactly what we needed, basic, clean and quiet.

Well located for exploring Whitby while out of town enough to feel away from the bustle.

The facilities were all clean and well kept.

Only downside I could mention is the tents did feel packed in a bit, not unsafe but it would have felt nicer to have a bit more space about us. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maz9999 33 reviews from this member

 Great location for Whitby is where the plus comments end, never seen a campsite so packed in, I mean itís got to break fire regs with motorhomes literally less than 2 feet from the next one, £25 per night and were charged an extra £25 when the daughter and two kids visited for one night, came to empty the toilet and couldnít find the dump point. No one in reception so ended up emptying down the toilet, then finding on trying to clean around that the toilet paper had run out, everyone waiting for toilets as only 3 on a packed site, so people complaining about the prices and facilities, lucky we have a fully equipped van but felt very sorry for people in tents, would not go again 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Union John 5 reviews from this member

 The previous review from Tichymichy is accurate and fair. The big plus is the location which is in Whitby. The downside: at £25 per night in October it is expensive; pricing is not transparent on the web-site. Some of the facilities need some more attention. The washing-up area is two sinks with no protection from the rain. When we there only one of the showers produced hot water. Finally, I agree with the reviewer who mentioned the rather cool welcome. In the end running a camp-site is about making your customers feel welcome. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rocketman30 1 review from this member

 Being a biker my family and friends visit Whitby numerous times throughout the year. Having used this site for over fifteen years I cannot praise it enough. The owners are friendly and very helpful. Yes the facility's are basic but ongoing improvements are going on. What you pay for is the proximity to the heart of Whitby. Five minutes walk and you are at the harbour with all the bars and the best fish & chips in England. Cant understand people complaining about noise. Always found the site quiet at all times through the year even in peak times goth folk regatta. Site fees on par with anywhere else in Whitby without the extra cliff top walks or expensive taxis 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Titchymichy 1 review from this member

 Just returned from tent camping at Folly Gardens. Ideally situated to sample the delights of Whitby. A short walk into The town or along to the abbey. You couldn't be closer to Whitby if you tried. The site is about 100 yards up Green Lane, a short but steep hill taking you down to the riverside or you can walk along the street opposite the site entrance and find yourself at the abbey in less than 10 minutes.

The site itself caters for both tent and van camping over several grass tiers. We found there was a good mix of walking/biking solo campers, right up to family groups of tents, small Camper vans and caravans. Plenty of pitches with electric hook up too. You can find steps up to each tier or use the gravel road (very steep) you can park next your pitch which was great.

There is a toilet block with 4 rooms. 3 of which were wet rooms housing over head shower, toilet and wash hand basin with mirrors, shelves and plenty door hooks. The 4th room is a toilet & wash basin. All had plenty hot water. There is also an outdoor double sink washing up station. Plenty drinking water taps and recycling points across the site. You can use BBQs as long as they are not directly on the grass (ours has legs) and there are a few bricks provided so you an use your own. We paid £10 pppn for a family sized tent and porch. My first time camping in over 30 years and I was well impressed with the site. A great little spot and well worth the visit.

If you park on the bottom tier don't park too close to the fence as there is a friendly goat (Rosie) who can climb the fence and bump and rub her head against your vehicle. 😀 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hj15 2 reviews from this member

 The location of this campsite is excellent for Whitby - no more than a 10 minute walk. The condition of the campsite was not great - lots of stones and the quality of the grassland is poor. The owners are obviously developing this site annually so it does have the air of a construction site about it. The site is also tiered which ensures most pitches are level but perhaps not ideal for young children.

There are a limited number of washrooms available - there is not a separate toilet block so be prepared to queue in the mornings. But the washrooms are kept clean and are very modern.

The biggest issue I had when staying at Folly Gardens was the complete lack of customer service - everything was a chore for them - from enquiring about ice packs to booking in at arrival - at no point did I feel welcomed as a customer.

I possibly would stay here again - but only due to its location and it would be for a few nights maximum. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Folly Gardens child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Folly Gardens?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Folly Gardens dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3258 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement