Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highlands Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth > Highlands Campsite Reviews

Highlands Campsite
Newmills
Whitebrook
Monmouth
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP25 4TY
Tel: 07531 187791  or  01600 860737
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 35 Reviews
                10/10 from 35 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: RussNiki 1 review from this member

 Great campsite in wonderful surroundings.

Back to basics, simple camping with adequate facilities.

Miles upon miles of woodland & hill walks.

Louise & Rob are great hosts and are always on hand to make your stay the best😃 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gelfling13 1 review from this member

 We have visited Highlands twice this year and will definitely be back! This is a beautiful spot with incredible views and in a great location to many interesting places nearby.

The campsite itself is ideal for young children and is also pet friendly. My little boys were delighted by the free roaming chickens and we enjoyed going to the smallholding to make friends with the goats, sheep and ducks.

Louise and Rob are lovely and welcoming and their apple juice is delicious!

During our first visit we didn't even go anywhere in the car as we were too busy enjoying the campsite, animals and local walks.

On our most recent visit we did venture a bit further and it was lovely to explore the area. As I said it was it a very convenient location and base from which to explore.

Thanks to Louise and Rob for a lovely stay both times. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: MattHyslop 1 review from this member

 Had an amazing time camping at Highlands.

Perfect for a group of young families looking for some wholesome free range outdoor living.

Rob and Louise were fantastic, whole heartedly recommend.

No doubt we’ll be back. And lush homemade cider! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Jerryandkim 1 review from this member

 For our first time camping with our 6 dogs, we were very welcome by Rob & Louise.

We had such fun there and made new friends for life.

It was so relaxing and safe.

We shall definitely go back to their site and recommend it to our friends and family back here.

Jerry and Kim 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Samjys 1 review from this member

 We came to the fantastic Highlands Holidays Campsite with a group of friends and families to celebrate my 40th birthday (We hired out the entire campsite).

It was a perfect setting, and we absolutely loved the atmosphere, the beautiful views, the kind and helpful owners, the farm animals, the orchards, and the nearby woods for walks and exploring.

It is a simple, back to basics camping experience, which is what we love, and we were able to have a roaring campfire, and both kids and grown ups were in their element.

We will definitely return, and have been recommending the campsite to others since our stay. A really excellent place! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tombrydonsmith 1 review from this member

 What a fabulous place to camp. Set in a beautiful valley we felt immediate decompression from the stresses of city life. Louise and Rob are so accommodating and easy going.

The children were at peace with chickens and us adults could unwind further with some of Robs home made cider around a lovely stone camp fire.

Blessed to have found this campsite! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jo Soddy 1 review from this member

 We had the pleasure of staying at Louise and Rob's fabulous campsite for the early May bank holiday. Set amongst the forested hills of the Wye valley, this bijou campsite gives you access by foot to the most glorious walks and thrilling mountain biking trails, you don't need to touch your car for the whole weekend!

Camping in early May brings with it risks of cold nights, which indeed they were, however it was so worth it for the heavenly sight of thousands of sweet smelling bluebells carpeting the surrounding woods.

Our children absolutely loved the campsite, not only for the roaming chickens and the freedom to wander the grounds with no worry of cars or traffic, however they even had the opportunity to feed the baby lambs and goats. Louise made sure that each child had the chance to bottle feed at least one lamb, so no-one was left out. This was really an unexpected bonus!

The cold evenings were made more comfortable by the super fire pits scattered around the site and Louise and Rob's warming cider!

The toilets were always clean and despite the very rustic washing up facilities (no hot water)it was totally sufficient for the long weekend.

We'll definitely be coming back this summer. Totally recommend this place if you like to get off the beaten track, explore stunning countryside and build memories with your friends and families. Thank you! 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ellie Farmahan 1 review from this member

 We absolutely loved the campsite, it was small and friendly with minimal facilities but clean toilets, hot water and a hot shower. The kids loved the rope swing and woodland to the rear of the site.

Being able to have an open fire was amazing and the benches around the fire pits were a nice touch. The owners were really helpful and friendly and the kids even got to feed baby goats and lambs which really made the holiday special for them.

It is in a great location only a 5 minute drive to Monmouth (if you forget things like us then that's really handy) but in total tranquil surroundings so you do feel like you're in the wild.

We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Raysto 2 reviews from this member

 Great site with a lovely round camping field and amazing views across the valley in this beautiful corner of the world. Owners Rob and Louise, were very helpful regarding info about the area and walks through the woods (they lent us a map). Really nice, considerate and interesting people. We tried the apple juice from their orchard - a good kick-start to the day before breakfast!

Nice to see their characterful chickens, ducks and sheep picking about the field from time to time and the buzzards circling over the valley.

We were two adults with a tent and car so didn't need hook-up but there were a few hook-up pitches available. A larger group of families arrived on the Saturday with trailers and caravans and we all fitted in nicely. They were very considerate to the other campers, inviting us to share their fire, sharing cake, stopping for chats, etc so it is quite a sociable set-up although there are a few quiet corners and an overspill for one or two tents in the orchard if necessary, plus a shepherd hut on the way (and the cottage looked very inviting!).

The toilet and wash-up area is suitably rustic; we found them perfectly adequate and they were kept clean. No mobile phone coverage to speak of from the main field although it comes and goes in the surrounding area. Not that we were too bothered about that - adds to the relaxation and laid-back atmosphere of the site.

Lots of walks to do in the area. We did two walks in opposite directions to both the nearest pubs. The one to The Boat in Penallt, was really special: up through mature, mixed woods, then down to a path alongside the River Wye. We saw numerous leaping salmon in the River (just after the wooden Salmon sculpture on the path at the foot of the forested hill) and paused to soak our feet in the water.

I guess that if you didn't stop and walked straight it might take about 40 mins. The Boat has one of the most beautiful pub gardens you're ever likely to see (I was gobsmacked), steeply terraced from the roadside up a hill to a sandstone cliff, barely visible through the lush greenery.

The cliff oozes water from the hill and feeds the pool and flowers at the top terrace. Nice views over the river and footbridge from every terraced table/bench area. Didn't want to leave!

The walk to the Lion pub in Trelleck is shorter and less spectacular but still great and with some expansive views over distant hills once you emerge from the woods. Small roadside garden with shaded tables. We found the staff friendly in both pubs. Didn't try the food. Local beers were cheap (compared to Brighton at least), varied and tasty.

Nearest shop about a 7 min drive (Londis at Llandogo) and supermarkets are at Monmouth (also worth a visit in itself). We visited nearby Tintern Abbey ruins but the coast is really not that far away and maybe we would do that on our next visit.

All in all Highlands Holidays was a lucky find for us and ticked all our boxes. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoBarrell 1 review from this member

 Love this campsite! Went recently with a group of friends and everyone had such a good time. The kids were off adventuring in the little woodland and playing on the rope swing so the parents could relax and enjoy a beer in the glorious sunshine.

Campfire, swing, woodland clearing, animals, lovely views, pub walks, orchard (with homemade cider and apple juice) plus very lovely and accommodating hosts. They plan to build a shower next year too (site currently has a portaloo and sinks for washing up) which will be great for slightly longer stays.

Would highly recommend this little gem! 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highlands Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highlands Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Highlands Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Monmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2280 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement