Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highlands Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth > Highlands Campsite Reviews

Highlands Campsite
Newmills
Whitebrook
Monmouth
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP25 4TY
Tel: 07531 187791  or  01600 860737
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 35 Reviews
                10/10 from 35 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping stani 2 reviews from this member

 We have been visiting this campsite for 3 years now and it really does get better each time. This year we came with a group of 6 families and they all had a wonderful time. It's a great site for families with easy local walks you can do - a stream for paddling, and a forest 5 minutes away. Our daughter loves coming here. There are rope swings, trees to climb and animals, she was completely overjoyed to be able to bottle feed the lambs!

The site is just great if you want to get away from it all and relax around a campfire in the tranquillity of the Monmouthshire countryside.

Louise and Rob are the perfect hosts - nothing is too much trouble. The homemade Apple Juice and Cider is delicious and they are always on hand for recommendations about the local area.

We just can't stay away and will be back again next year, if not before! 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jarnold53902 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet relaxing campsite. Stayed here a few times now and it's always great. Great area for walks and pubs.

Rob and Louise are great hosts and are very friendly and welcoming.

One of our favourite campsites 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sarahlou999 1 review from this member

 'Better than St Lucia'

What an amazing campsite - Louise and Rob (the owners) and their children Aaron, Guya and baby Xavier all gave us a very warm welcome. They offered us a map and cider tasting within an hour of arriving!

Great views, wonderful walks, bird song and rabbits all around - what more could you want for a few days 'get away' in the country.

We will be back! Give it a try - you won't be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KC73 2 reviews from this member

 Had a wonderful holiday at Highlands Cottage. We hired the cottage for the in-laws and took our caravan, which worked perfectly. Amazing location and fantastic facilities at the cottage - Rob even brought us fresh scones on the day we departed. Delicious!

Highly recommend for both the cottage and the camp site.

Would need shower facilities on the camping field to come back on our own though. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alexd 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful campsite with wonderful bird song and relaxing walks in surrounding woodlands.

Very friendly owners who will happily sell you firewood and some of the cider which they produce on site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Manderson100 1 review from this member

 Great outdoors campsite, big fire pit, benches and and fresh cider on site! The site has several local walks leading to nearby villages through stunning thick forest.

There is also a very picturesque Water Mill ruin to visit at the end of the road. Rob (site owner) and his family are extremely accommodating and friendly. For tent camping it should be known that there is no shower block, having a wash in the open air with a bucket adds to the experience!

Will likely be returning in the future to further explore the Forest of Dean area. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Greenpants 1 review from this member

 A fantastic little site with stunning views across the valley. If you are after peace and an escape from the busy world, then this fits the bill. The owners are warm and friendly and will assist you where they can.

They sell firewood for 5, which is often delivered in a wheelbarrow by their delightful son. They also sell eggs - which were scrummy - and apple juice. We managed to walk to a pub for some food with our young children without any fuss.

The children loved the site as much as the adults. We will most definitely, be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campfire smore 2 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful little campsite! Small, peaceful and friendly.

We had a fantastic August Bank Holiday with our family. The site is simple and facilities very basic but this didn't matter.

We enjoyed chatting to our fellow campers over marshmallow roasting around the communal campfire (there are two). The children enjoyed the rope swing.

There was a really nice mix of camper vans, caravans and tents. Families and couples.

The views over the forest are beautiful and the only sound is birdsong.

Louise was very welcoming and helpful. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Holdouts 1 review from this member

 A small sweet and beautiful piece of heaven with views of the hills, an apple orchard and plump happy chickens. The rope swing a wonderful magnet for the children. Very natural place where you feel in the country (not in a mock up of a suburban estate - if you want gravel pitches go elsewhere.

The is au natural! the only concession is a chemo-loo, lovely and clean and a washing up place where you look through the trees at the hills. Oh and the wonderful fire pits with little benches, thoughtful perfect. Oh and the hook ups for those who need.

And yes I forgot the rustic bar which could be used for parties etc ut we just stood our beers on. More than meets the eye then, discreet. The hosts Rob and Louise are amazing people. So helpful, fun and kind. Saw them in action as they called an ambulance and tended to an injured person, as they lent us pesto and maps and stock cube! etc so enjoyed this special lovely campsite.

Thank you so much. Highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Allium 1 review from this member

 This campsite is a gem, tucked away in idyllic countryside with beautiful views across an unspoilt hillside.

The site itself is intimate, protected by high hedges and with a great south-facing view of fields and woodland. It is a very peaceful spot, and a great location for getting away from it all, but only a short drive from Monmouth.

There are lovely woodland walks nearby and a stream for children to splash around in. Our children also enjoyed playing on the rope swing, exploring the orchard and helping feed the chickens.

The facilities are simple but clean. A portaloo and cold water sinks and washing up area in the corner of the field. There are fire pits and wood can be bought from the owners.

We loved staying here and will definitely be back! 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highlands Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highlands Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Highlands Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Monmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2199 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement