Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bedgebury Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Goudhurst > Bedgebury Camping Reviews

Bedgebury Camping
Pattenden Farm
Goudhurst
Kent   (Browse area)
TN17 2QX
Tel: 01580 213487
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: August Only

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loomyer 1 review from this member

 This is an old hop farm that is open for camping in large spacious fields, but due to planning laws it is only for 28 days a year. We stayed a week and the midweek period was idyllic as there were only a handful of tents on the whole spacious site. Friday and Saturday night was busier but the site is so big that it is still empty by most campsite standards. Dogs are welcome and they provide hearths for campfires. The compost toilets are the best designed and cleanest I've come across. Former 'Hopper huts ' provide some washing and fridge facilities and there is a tipi for larger groups to meet in. This is a gem. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cotty 5 reviews from this member

 Great, no frills site with plenty of space. It is well located to explore the surrounding area. Facilities are basic but more than adequate, kids panicked about having no hookup but managed to survive and had a good time.

Composting toilets were what they are, basic but OK & worth putting up with a few summer flies to be eco friendly. A bonus that they allowed campfires as the evenings were beginning to draw in & get chilly. Nice atmosphere on the whole, relaxed & informal, Saturday nights were a bit noisy but hey ho it was the summer holidays I guess.

Site shop is useful, as its a bit of a trek to the nearest off site shop. Showers are in mobile units, basic but OK. All in all a great, informal & un-commercial site – recommended! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rpoynter 1 review from this member

 We have just spent three nights and four days at this farm camp site near Bedgebury Pinetum. We chose it for many reasons – it was our first camping trip with our own tent and equipment so we didn’t think we should venture too far from home,

Bedgebury has loads to offer as a family and is near other fantastic stuff, and this farm looked like it shared our values on sustainability and simplicity.

We also just wanted a few days were our children did something other than focus on electronic screens of one sort or another!

What did we want from our experience?

Somewhere with no electricity! Somewhere the children could explore and investigate. Somewhere that would encourage recycling and nature. Somewhere we could light a campfire and relax as a family.

Bedgebury Camping was perfect on all these levels and with some extras thrown in.

It was well signposted as we drove towards Bedgebury Pinetum – always a positive start! The reception area and small shop were tidy and very pretty. The shop stocked lots of bits and pieces – some necessary and some just lovely. They got in local bread and meat each day, along with pastries and fruit.

There are a number of fields to choose from and we were allocated Apple. We explored the farm on another day and can see that different fields offered different positives. Apple was perfect for our children, there was lots of clover and soft grass to run around on and it had a stream running along one side of it. Other fields gave fantastic views over the surrounding countryside, or proximity to woodland etc.

We read some comments about the grass being too long and it being too pricey but the long grass would definitely be a plus in heavy rain (we saw the mud at Silverstone this year!) and camping is mainly crocs and wellies anyway. As for price, we felt we were paying for the investment in infrastructure like the toilet blocks and we haven’t seen anywhere cheaper for a family of 5 in August.

You could pitch your tent where you liked within reason. How you site it and in which direction is entirely down to you. You can also camp with friends in large groups and bring extras shelters and gazebos to share. People had strung up bunting and lights and some group areas looked so pretty.

The fire pits provided and encouraged were fantastic. They ranged in size but we got a massive one. You could pre-order wood and kindling and they sold it in the shop but each day the tractor came round with supplies and checked that each tent had what they needed. If you wanted any extra you just paid there and then and it was offloaded for you. Our children loved the fires and a portion of each day was spent rigging up a better fire than the night before. Toasting marshmallows never seems to lose its appeal and the stars that could be seen late at night were amazing.

There were a number of blocks of portable showers around the site and the ones nearest to us were absolutely fine. They weren’t luxurious but they were fairly clean and worked. What more do you need?

The washing up areas were more than acceptable and there was plenty of hot water.

There were toilets in every field but they were all composting toilets. There were other ones available but the composting ones were much nearer and more convenient. They all look very attractive, being little wood cabins and when we went to investigate (with much trepidation) we were very pleasantly surprised! I am completely paranoid about public toilets and hate being in them. On camp sites there are times when I would rather make myself ill than use the toilets.

These really were different. Wood makes everything seem warmer, they mainly smelt ‘woody’ or ‘earthy’ but never ‘toiletty’. There was always enough toilet roll and the sawdust you put down after use was filled daily. As long as you remembered to close the lid before you left (to stop flies) and parents supervised children (or drunk husbands) to ensure there wasn’t wee sprayed up and around the seat then the whole experience was positively brilliant.

On the Saturday evening we had the opportunity to meet at the central communal teepee’s to listen to some up and coming local musical talent, buy drinks from a small bar and grab fish and chips from a mobile van. It was a pleasant and chatty time and once a week was more than enough to cover the entertainment need.

The children partook in one of the new junior bushcraft courses and came back raving about the many different ways they could light fires without matches. Another family did campfire cooking and knife safety whilst there was also the offer of a foraging course.

We had fantastic weather and I know that makes a huge difference to a camping experience but as a site it was all we needed and the owners were never anything other than friendly, helpful and really accommodating.

You had Bewl Water, Bedgebury, Scotney Castle, Goudhurst and more all on your doorstep but if you just wanted to chill out and read then the kids had plenty of areas to play in and lots of would be friends just waiting to be made.

We will be going back next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ianladd 4 reviews from this member

 Spent Friday and Saturday night here recently with a large group of friends. 15 of us plus three little ones!

I have to say that the whole site is huge! This is a good thing. We were given the far end of the 'Plum' field way away from most other campers and with masses of space for a series of 'family' tents. Yes the tents we all brought were huge but there was absolutely no shortage of space for all the tents and our cars.

The facilities at this site really impressed me. Composting toilets dotted around the site within easy reach. Well maintained and clean. Fish and chips and live music available in the evening on the Saturday night (Granted the live music broke down on the motorway, but this was remedied by my friends who had brought guitars and the odd ukulele! Actually really added to the experience!)

Altogether an amazing weekend on a very special site. Would completely recommend to others whether in large family groups or not. I think this site achieves that really difficult balance between being large enough for everyone to be accommodated, whilst feeling small enough that you leave with a really special and individual experience.

Can't wait until our next visit! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Monkey0994 2 reviews from this member

 We took our son and nephew down to Bedgebury as it was the closest site to Go Ape (a birthday treat for our sons 13th Birthday), and we were not disappointed. What a wonderful site.

We are very new to camping, having only taken it up this year, and this is only the 3rd site we have visited, so we don't have a great deal to compare it to, but it has been our favourite so far.

We arrived and booked in with the very friendly lady in the site office, which doubles as a small shop, so picked up some milk for that essential cup of tea. We were told we were in Apple field and could pitch where we liked. We chose a pitch near the entrance and set up. We had a huge empty wheel for our campfire and 2 barrels of hay.

We had a short walk to the nearest compost toilet, which were great, and wasn't that far from the showers and washing up facilities. We always had hot water for washing up. After swapping showering results with my hubby, it would appear the cubicle showers were better then the womans shower trailer. I had to keep pushing the button, but my hubbys was a turn handle which stayed on until you turned it off.

The camp fires were brilliant, a wonderful way to spend the evening, however I can't understand why my son didn't want to join in with the ghost stories

Bedgebury Pineum is a must, what a beautiful place, don't miss it, it's mother nature at it's best.

Hope to go back at the end of the month. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markfranklin 1 review from this member

 I had not been camping since I was a child, probably some 25 years ago now, so I figured that after a long period of staying in fancy hotels we should relax with a good old camping weekend.

I wanted to introduce my daughter (age 5) to this experience and picked Bedgebury, having decided on Kent as a destination. The Bedgebury webpage is really modern looking and easy to use if you want to find out about facilities, prices, etc. It has a section where you can find out what to do in the local area and even has this online store so you can buy giant sized games like chess to keep the family amused during your stay, which I thought was pretty cool.

Not having the experience of camping in so many years, I can’t really offer a comparison of Bedgebury to other sites, but what I can do is say that we had the time of our lives over that fabulous weekend at the end of July. I guess we were pretty lucky with the weather, it having been poor for so long.

The area itself is very pretty, and we did a fair amount of driving around just looking at the scenery. We stopped by at a place called Bewl Water where there was quite a lot to keep kids amused, we had a bite to eat and had a boat ride there.

So on to the Bedgebury camp site. Well, not having been camping in so long, I was stunned that you could buy the kit and light up your own campfire! I was expecting the Health & Safety brigade to have curtailed this sort of thing, but it was amazing. On a warmish night just as it was getting a bit cooler and darker, we lit up and watched the fire, listening to the crackling of the wood. This was just the experience I wanted for my daughter and she loved it.

The place, I think, strikes a decent balance between offering you freedom and flexibility in ‘back to basics’ camping – which we certainly wanted – and also the more modern luxuries of a nearby shower block, clean toilets and a decent washing up point for example. But these facilities don’t intrude on the experience and you can quite easily lose yourself in thought at night time.

Cost-wise I thought at £10 a night on a weekend was excellent value. I could have spent over 10 times that on an OK hotel room, and would not have had anything like this experience.

Whilst on site, we were lucky to meet the chap who owns the whole place, and he gave up quite a bit of his time to talk about the locality and suggested things for us to do. You could tell that he loved the place and spoke with great enthusiasm about all the things he had been doing with the site earlier in the year along with his plans for future ideas. I think that came out in our experience – a fabulous weekend in a gorgeous part of the country, made perfect by this super campsite.

An easy 10/10 score for me, and we will be going back there next year for sure. We spoke to some friends with kids of the same age, and are even thinking about a group holiday there. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pidge100 1 review from this member

 Well signposted site and easy to find. Warm welcome at the shop and then left to our own devices. We stayed in Apple field on Friday 31/8 and Sat 1/9 and although Apple field was busy it was not noisy.

Lots of composting toilets which we are very used to but these are by far the best ones with sweet touches like bunches of dried lavender. Keeping the toilet lids down really seems to keep the flies at bay. There was plenty of loo paper and for us pure luxury, hand washing facilities next to the toilets.

Good quality firewood is sold at a reasonable price and the fire pits work really well.

Great washing up facilities.

Our boys enjoyed exploring and cycling around but spent a huge amount of time at the tyre swing.

We visited Bedgebury Pinetum which is a great place and Goudhurst which is lovely with a great village shop.

We purchased some pastries from the site shop which very were nice.

My one not so nice moment was finding slugs on the shower curtain in one of the showers. We were unfortunate as they certainly were not in all of the showers. There were not any hooks on the door of the shower we used which was a bit of a pain but this is my only moan.

We all loved our weekend away and we will definitely go back. It was not the cheapest place for a family of four with two dogs to stay but I think many campsite owners could learn a lot from this facility. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happyfeet81 1 review from this member

 Just returned with my hubby, son (7 years old) and labrador from Bedgebury after a 2 night stay. We were able to choose our own pitch (kindly advised by the pleasant lady upon check-in) and had sheep and goats in the field behind us and braying horse which couldn't see but which made our son laugh especially at 10pm at night. The site was peaceful and relaxed and we checked in just after 12pm.

The Positives & Improvements:

Beautiful scenery, especially watching the sunset in the evening. The atmosphere was welcoming and friendly but lent itself well for seclusion as well.

Real back to nature camping with a warm camp fire every night. Great how to build a campfire on their website for the novices. Logs and kindling bought from small shop or can be bought from the friendly guy on his tractor that comes round each night.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Good proximity to Goudhurst village (newsagents etc)

Near to Bedgebury Pinetum which is an excellent day out for walkers, kids, big kids, mountain bikers, dogs, families, groups and such like. £8.50 parking for the day (can use money or card to pay) and can stay all day easily. No entry fee and is the best £8. 50 ever spent. Cafe on site or plenty of picnic areas.

Stayed in pear field (adult field but were advised where families could go) which was large and had ample space (though camp was no where near full capacity)

Nothing on site as such to keep the kids occupied but we knew this before we went. We took swing ball, boules and little mans scooter (though nowhere on site to use scooter) and he helped us with the campfire- little guy loved it! Bring bikes and scooters to the pinetum though as excellent for these.

Other field was maxed out it seemed and loud on Saturday night which didn't bother us as was nice to hear everyone enjoying themselves- though understand not to everyone's tastes. Sunday pretty much everyone left so very quiet in the evening.

Personally not keen on use of radios at campsites even before 10:30pm but each to their own.

Long grass on field which made for a bit of a nightmare trudging over to the toilet facilities. Long grass also not great for rainfall or dewy mornings. Really and truly grass needs to be cut if offering it out as a campsite.

Son and I used the eco loos when we didn't fancy the walk to the portable cabin flushable loos. Eco loos were clean and stocked well with saw dust and toilet roll. Could do with a few more down the bottom end of pear field (near entry road) but well dotted around in the top part.

Very basic site with very basic facilities. Hubby said shower cabins were good. Kids bathroom shed/barn was great for washing hair, brushing teeth and staying together getting ready. Not sure on a busy bank holiday how accessible this would be. No other personal washing facilities available to wash teeth etc. Could do with more and being kept a bit cleaner. Fully understand camping is only available for 28 days but with limited facilities the price should reflect that a bit more.

Flushable loos had no lights working, not overly clean and could do with sanitary disposable unit in the womens as none on site at all and not pleasant seeing others use the very small bins in each toilet cubicle to dispose of their items.

Washing up area in the shed/barn type area good sized sinks and ample hot water- again could be cleaner.

Over all however it was a nice but very basic back to nature campsite with room for improvement we felt. Price wise a little overpriced for the amenities in comparison to others we've looked at or been to.

We enjoyed our stay and now home we feel exhausted, tired but very content so thank you Bedgebury. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shazzam 3 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a fantastic weekend at this lovely campsite. This is it's second year of operation, and they seem keen to learn from last year, and from comments they've received. We went with 2 other families, and it was great being able to choose your pitch in order to be together.

Fields appeared to have ample space, and we never felt particularly crowded, even though the site appeared busy with it being the bank holiday weekend. We were with families, but our field had space up one end which was reserved for adults only.

Facilities were good, although the morning after the band had been playing in the communal teepee, the toilets could have been cleaner, and toilet roll replaced!

Pleasantly surprised by the eco toilets dotted around the camp fields - no smell, and easy to use. And a novelty for the kids! There's mobile showers, although one block had no hot water, and a nice touch. A bath area for kids!

Plenty of hot water for washing up, with 3 sinks available. 2 fridges, and 1 freezer available for free use - came in really handy as there are no electric hook ups on site.

Little touches make this site really nice - wheel inners make great fire rings, and camp fires are encouraged (you can buy kindling and wood, and the wood is delivered directly to your tent!). Recycling is actively encouraged, and there were ample bins.

The staff are really friendly and helpful, and the little reception area stocks a few basics such as milk, fresh bread and firelighters, as well as a few luxuries including marshmallows (delicious on the camp fire), wine and freshly baked cake slices!

I'd had great plans of exploring the area, which I know to be nice from growing up around there, but we were so content and chilled, the furthest we got was to take the kids to the little wooded area at the back of the site, where they had great fun becoming explorers for a few hours! Guess we'll just have to visit again! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lovecat 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from a weekend break at this lovely campsite. We stayed in the Apple field, as it was designated as being for families (we had 2 6 yr olds with us), but as it was quite busy when we arrived we were offered the other field as an alternative - we managed to find a space in Apple, but had we wanted to go to the other field (Cherry?) there was loads of room. The clientèle did seem to mainly be families when we were there.

The eco toilets were fine, although the children declared them 'disgusting' (they weren't, but the fact you could see who/what had been before them was enough to freak our two out!) and we had to take them to the flush ones in the portable cabin - which had become very dirty and run out of loo paper by Sunday.

We didn't use the showers (went swimming on the way home - can heartily recommend Larkfield Leisure pool if you have kids!) but on investigation (unless we missed them somehow) there weren't any hand basins to wash in apart from 1 at each loo block, which was a pain when trying to organise teeth-cleaning etc.

3 washing up sinks in a brick outbuilding, loads of hot water and the push button taps stayed on a good while. There were a further 2 outbuildings in this block, one with a bathroom and one with fridges / freezers which were free to use.

On Saturday night there were some local musicians playing in the big tepee tents on the hill, also the Globe and Rainbow pub in nearby Kilndown provided a bar and chef to cook fish and chips or a chicken curry - we took advantage of this service and it was lovely, a really chilled-out evening.

The site was very relaxed, campfires allowed, haybales to sit on (at a price), a very nice atmosphere. Dogs allowed, and all of those that we met were very well behaved.

Close to Bedgebury Pinetum, which was a brilliant place, we wished we'd been there longer so we could have gone back again, there was so much to do. The Play Trail kept the girls occupied from 10am til 5pm! There were some lovely looking pubs in Goudhurst, but again, we didn't stay long enough to try them out, the campsite was so relaxing and the girls had so much fun playing in the fields, we didn't stray too far!

A shame it's only open in August, we will definitely be back next year! 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bedgebury Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bedgebury Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bedgebury Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Goudhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6528 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement