Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bedgebury Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Goudhurst > Bedgebury Camping Reviews

Bedgebury Camping
Pattenden Farm
Goudhurst
Kent   (Browse area)
TN17 2QX
Tel: 01580 213487
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: August Only

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suffolk Trev 5 reviews from this member

This is a great site, yes it is big as there are five fields but you can camp anywhere in the field you want and although our field was pretty full up, you did not feel cramped in. As previous reviews have said there was a fish and chip van on Saturday and it was great. We had a fire each night, cooked on our grill over it and then built it up again for warmth later in the night. No issues at all with 'rule breakers', all dogs were controlled, there was no music at all that I heard, even during the day. The hot showers were great but I think they could do with installing another two blocks for when the site is busy. The compost toilets were fine, again could do with a top up of loo roll and sawdust during maximum occupancy. Area is nice, Bedgebury Pinetum is lovely. Would recommend this site

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dave42 3 reviews from this member

Arrived on a Sunday to a very warm friendly welcome. The guy explained very well where to go what do to and where the facilities was and gave us a map of the site which was a nice touch! we were sent the the family field where there was loads of room with compost toilets either end. Large fire pits was available on the field to use. Fire wood was available to buy and bags of kindle and a guy came around at 5. 30 to provide more wood. Toilets clean not smelly and cleaned twice a day! water on hand all over the site plus fresh clean showers near by, freezer room, kids bath room, and proper toilets plus a large tent used to entertain. Every one was friendly we didn't experience any loud noise of music. The site is clean. The only problem is its not open long enough. 28 days over the august. Mostly week ends and only one week in the 28day period. I work week ends so that's a huge problem for me and wont be able to re visit again this year! what a shame. Enjoyed our stay though. Overall score 6 out of 10 only because its only open for one full week and the rest is week ends other wise 9 out of 10

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Interstella87 1 review from this member

Just got back from a one night stay here. I had bought a new tent in prep for our bigger summer holiday so took it out for a test drive at Bedgebury (only an hours drive from South East London).

Staff were incredibly nice and helpful and we loved the fact you could have a fire.

They also provided us with a little booklet of local things to do. We went to the Pinetum which was beautiful - they have decent bikes to rent and nice trails (although we did not have time to do this).

We also went to the Hush Heath Winery which had a free tour where you can walk around the vineyards and orchards, and they also have a nice Oak forest which was great for shelter in the rain!

Anyway, back to the campsite. We had the Fish & Chips which comes from a van that turns up on a saturday night - very nice!

My only qualm would be that we were in the quiet field. And boy was it NOT quiet! Big groups of friends and family played loud music until about 2am (meant to be no loud music past 10. 30).

There was also some live music that could he heard really loudly until about 11. 30. Not even sure where this was coming through!

I think they need to be a bit stricter on the noise as there is nothing worse than a bad nights kip!

Overall, we may go again if we could be further away from the groups and there is loads to do around the local area so would recommend it for that.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nix1234 1 review from this member

We stayed over a concert weekend at nearby Bedgebury Pinetum.

The camping fields are very large but given names to make it easier to locate your allotted field/pitch. There are designated areas for families, those looking for peace and quiet, groups etc. We chose a 'quiet break' so were allotted Top Pear which is probably the largest of the fields on a gradual slope so I would advise that if you wanted to be near facilities such as showers then this may not be the camping field for you. When we first arrived there were mainly just couples in this area but we did end up with quite a noisy group near us which was a bit disappointing as we did think it would be a quiet area it didn't ruin our break but did make us think that the various areas may be a bit hard to enforce. There are composting toilets dotted throughout the site and flushing toilets nearer shower blocks.

The campsite laid on a much appreciated shuttle service for getting to and from Bedgebury for the concert and I would point out that Bedgebury Pinetum although close is a good 2. 5 miles along country roads so please bear this in mind if you are choosing this site for easy access to Bedgebury Pinetum and the activities there.

Upon arrival we were greeted at the reception which was great as meant we could ask any questions plus order logs etc. We booked online which made it easier to plan. Next to reception is the camp shop which sell basics (no gas) but a handy stop for picking up those small things that can be forgotten.

We would stay again but possibly look at the camp field Quince as this seemed quite a flat field nearer the shower block facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campingcarter 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from two nights at Bedgebury Campsite. It was not at all what we expected. It was ENORMOUS!

Several huge fields and no where to really tuck your self away.

The facilities were composting loos dotted around the site. These were fine, however they did get a bit stinky as the sawdust ran out so quickly. Could do with being replaced more regularly through the day.

We used the shower units on one of the upper fields as we camped on Apricot (great view from the top of this field!).

These were 'portaloo' style showers, they were clean but very claustrophobic.

There is a small shop for basics, ice, milk, kids treats.

Would I return - no.

Its too big and impersonal. No magic here.

Management response: We appreciate that everyone has different expectations from their camping trip. Our large campsite allows us to try and meet those expectations. We allocate groups consisting of just adults to a different area from groups with children. For those wishing to have a more secluded experience, subject to availability, we are able to offer woodland camping and a tree-lined meadow.

We are sorry that this group were not happy with their trip and we will ensure information regarding our more secluded pitches is on our website.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cn150 14 reviews from this member

This is a really nice 'back to basics' site best described as being in the 'cool camping' style. There are no hook-ups or caravans, and there are compost sawdust toilets. There is a communal 'teepee' tent which has live music on Saturdays in August. There are bushcraft classes offered for kids, such as shelter making. There are 6 large camping fields available. My family camped in 'Apple' field, which was nice. Firewood is on sale and is also brought to pitches by a tractor and trailer. Old steel wheels are available to use as fire bowls and hay bales can be bought to sit round the campsite. The children can just run feral around the site with other kids. Most of the campers seemed to be aged around 30-50 with young children. You can bring camper vans, event shelters or gazebos in addition to tents. Recycling is offered. Showers and flush toilets are also available.

So overall this is a nice site which is quite different from many other sites.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cooldudetiger 3 reviews from this member

We recently went to this site. It was okay but not what we expected. Its a massive site and we were expecting something a bit more rural and quirky with places to hide away a bit. Some of the fields have really good views but others are overlooked by houses. The basics are there, a small shop, fire wood, some showers and some flushing loos. There are fire pits available and bales of hay to sit round which is a nice touch. I agree with other reviews though that the worst thing is getting in to the site itself. There are loads of cars, bikes and walkers going in and out of a tiny track, right onto a fast and busy road. Not great for safety.

Management response: The campsite offers a variety of different locations in which to pitch. These are allocated depending on the type of group and availability at the time of booking. We would encourage anyone not entirely happy with their field allocation to speak to us on site as soon as possible upon arrival. Subject to availability and the composition of the group in question, we can move them to a different field that more closely meets their expectations or needs.

We are sorry that this group were not happy with the field to which they were allocated. We will look to make the option of alternative pitches clearer on the Bedgebury Camping website.

The site itself is around 300m away from the main road, with access into the site along a single concrete road. To improve safety and congestion, a one-way system is in place which exits onto the main road at a different point, providing excellent visibility of on-coming traffic. Maps of the campsite and entry/exit points are also provided on arrival.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sburford 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two days recently. I know other reviews say how big it is, but it really is massive. There are, I think, 7 different fields, we stayed in apricot and it could have fit 150 tents easily but only had 20ish. This means you can really spread out, no defined spaces just setup where you like which was not what I've been used to and was great. We were near a small wood which was lovely to look at but some other groups did allow their children to run in and out of the woods right next to and a few times around our tent (and some times the parents joining in too), despite loads of space either side they could play. They didn't really care so long as they were not playing near them. This isn't the fault of site really more inconsiderate parents, but some guidelines when arriving might help.

There are basic compost toilets which work ok, but did smell a bit and personally for me, I couldn't really get on with them so walked further to the traditional type. Showers were ok, the first time they were freezing cold (i think they had run out of gas) but after that fine. The shop had basic supplies but on the weekend we went they could not serve alcohol so had to venture to the nearest village a few miles away for more wine.

Our little one is two and prob. Too young to get the most out of a site like this with no play park or safe play area, older children would love the space to run about (just not running around others tents whilst they are trying to relax please) :)

It was well placed to visit Bedgebury pinetum, but I don't think I would stay again, this is really due to my personal tastes than much wrong with the site though.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jennyadams 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here when we went to a concert in the area. It was just what we wanted, a 'back to basics' site in the countryside. There is tons of room and the countryside is great. The facilities were adequate and the little shop had all we needed. We didn't have any problem with the loos. Previous reviewers had said they smelt bad so we prepared for the worst. We were there on their first weekend of opening though, so what they are like later in the year might be different of course. But the eco side of things works well here. Do be careful getting into the site itself, you go from a fast busy road into a small track which is also a public footpath. The owner and staff were very helpful and friendly though, always had time to chat, and we really enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Loomyer 1 review from this member

This is an old hop farm that is open for camping in large spacious fields, but due to planning laws it is only for 28 days a year. We stayed a week and the midweek period was idyllic as there were only a handful of tents on the whole spacious site. Friday and Saturday night was busier but the site is so big that it is still empty by most campsite standards. Dogs are welcome and they provide hearths for campfires. The compost toilets are the best designed and cleanest I've come across. Former 'Hopper huts ' provide some washing and fridge facilities and there is a tipi for larger groups to meet in. This is a gem.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3378 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019