Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bedgebury Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Goudhurst > Bedgebury Camping Reviews

Bedgebury Camping
Pattenden Farm
Goudhurst
Kent   (Browse area)
TN17 2QX
Tel: 01580 213487
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: August Only

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 21 to 29                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsspikes 3 reviews from this member

 A good campsite but not good enough to justify the prices.

We had a lovely weekend camping in a small group, it's a great location that offers a lot of space and potential for exploring. I liked the eco-toilets but agree with the previous reviewer that they needed to be maintained more frequently given how busy the site gets.

The showers weren't up to much, washing up facilities were limited and by the end of the weekend the flush toilets were out of order. None of this would particularly bother me except at 35 per night for a non-electric pitch for 2 adults and a 4yr old camping this is an expensive site.

On the plus side campfires are encouraged and there seemed to be plenty of firepits. The owners sell firewood directly to you at your pitch each evening, prices were ok, not bargainous. The local village offers a good butchers, general store, pharmacy, newsagents etc.

There was also entertainment in the communal tee-pees on Saturday night which we could hear but chose not to attend so don't know the details - could be worth finding out about if you like the idea of on-site entertainment being available when selecting a site. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smiffinch 24 reviews from this member

 This campsite is on a farm and has several large fields. There is plenty of room and you can pitch where you like (tents only) and light campfires.

It is 2 miles from Bedgebury Pinetum but there are woods at the back of the site.

It is only open in August and we went right at the start of their season. I was a bit disappointed with the facilities - I have used compost toilets before and they have been fine, but these ones are not very well designed.

The seat is too far back and children cannot get on and off by themselves and are likely to make a mess. Also there was very little sawdust provided and the toilet paper was not on a holder so difficult to get hold of. (I realise these are very minor details but perhaps the owners would like to take note for the future).

However if you fancy a trek across the fields you can use the flush loos (and showers) which are in portable cabins. They are surrounded by mud though (well, it had rained all day). There are washing up sinks too, plenty of hot water.

The site also has a small shop and local villages are very picturesque and have amenities.

I don't want to sound too negative as we had a lovely couple of days here, but I think for 33 a night for a family it could have been a bit better. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maple 1 review from this member

 Our priority when booking a site is to be able to choose a good pitch for us and our friends, be children friendly, light a fire and allow dogs.

Bedgebury appeared to tick all of these boxes and in many ways it does as it is a lovely site in a beautiful situation. Other positives included the Waffle man who came on the Saturday night and the local bands who played in the teepee which our older children thoroughly enjoyed. But we do have some gripes.

We were booked for the Augusst Bank Holiday Weeekned, so obviously it was going to be busy. On arrival we were allocated Apple field. We found a decent pitch - but Apple Field ended up being twice as crowded than any of the other fields available, and there didn't appear to be any rhyme or reason to this as there were children in all the other fields.

The facilities are very basic. The site is only open in August so our expectations were not unreasonably high, but the showers were appalling. They did not work particularly well, were not cleaned out often, some were not draining properly and all of the shower curtains were falling off the rails and served no purpose. All of this could have been sorted out with a little attention to detail.

Composting loos are never a favourite but were ok once they were regularly cleaned and sawdust and toilet roll regularly replaced.

There is no hot water anywhere except up at the main block where there are only 3 washing up places. There are also some flushing toilets there but these were pretty unpleasent after a while.

On the other hand there is a bath which useful for hosing down younger muddy children at the end of the day.

We really don't expect luxury and enjoy back to basics, but this is a relatively expensive site and it does not give value. Sadly we won't be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blakey75 2 reviews from this member

 We went over the August Bank Holiday for three nights and had a great time. The people who run the site are friendly and helpful.

The situation is good as it is close to lots of places of interest.

There is a huge field to camp in and we were able to pick our own spot by a brook and under some trees. There are old innards of wheels for your camp fires which we found better than just a pit.

There was a clean shower block to use and washing up facilities.

The only downside was that it was quite cramped at one stage and eco loos are not for everyone! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smudgeymum 2 reviews from this member

 This was my first ever camping experience and I loved it! I spent 1 night here at the beginning of August with 3 girlfriends to get away for a night of gossip and wine. I couldn't recommend it highly enough. We were warmly welcomed and we could choose any spot we wanted.

The field is huge, and we were far enough away from other campers that we didn't feel like we had 'neighbours'. The toilets were very clean (ecoloos) with toilet paper and soap and water, the shower block was fine as were the ample washing up facilities. We were right next to a tap, which was very handy as were the several large recycling and rubbish bins in the middle of the field. We bought a large bag of logs for 5 (which we didn't finish) from the reception, but later on in the afternoon a man came round on a tractor asking us if everything was ok and you buy logs from him. Around the edge of the field are plenty of car and tractor wheels to build your fire in - great idea!

There is huge yurt that is set up like a rustic tea room which is open in the afternoon for tea and cakes! There were children running around, (didn't see any dogs) but it was so big they didn't bother us at all, it was just lovely to watch them having so much fun - a great safe place for kids. It was just a really perfect 24 hours! I'm just disappointed that they aren't open in September so that I can go back with my family! Can't really comment on the location as we didn't go anywhere once we'd arrived, but the situation was beautiful and I imagine that you could walk to Goudhurst if you wanted to. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: P Capon 4 reviews from this member

 An absolutely lovely site. Everything you could ever want.

In our party were 4 adults and a 12 year old boy. Unfortunately we went in the wettest week in August but we still had a fabulous time.

There was a huge tipi with log furniture and open fire for everyone to use which was a godsend in the appalling weather. Lovely showers and compost toilets. Only downside was that I think there should have been a couple of normal toilets but that is the ONLY gripe. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Nearby Goudhurst is a lovely village. We visted The Vines pub. Very, very friendly staff. We also had a meal in La Zia Maria Italian restaurant. Divine food and take out pizzas.

Don't want to say too much more or everyone will want to go! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Feekofamily 2 reviews from this member

 This site is open only during August, which is a shame. The camping field is away from the not-too-busy Flimwell to Goudhurst road down a concrete driveway enclosed by trees with fields beyond. The field is level, but the grass is long which is not so good if it rains.

The facilities consisted of two mobile shower blocks just off the edge of the site no more than 3-mins walk from the furthest end of the site up and over a slight hill. These were clean although the water was only luke warm. In a small adjacent farm shed are three stone sinks for washing up with loads of hot water, although the sinks are large so take some tme to fill up using a push-and-hold tap.

Eco-toilets are earth closets dotted about the site. They are timber sheds raised off the ground and reached by four steps. Be aware that there is no lighting in the toilets so torches are essential after dark. Basins were fitted to the outside walls in the open. These are in four convenient locations about the site, with two cubicles in each. These caused some trepidation amoungst our party, but once you got used to them they were surprisingly ok and hardly smelly at all, being cleaned regularly. There are guidelines to be followed including men having to sit not stand and involving sprinkling sawdust on 'solid deposits'.

One of the big draws of this site was being able to have camp fires. Old car and lorry wheel inners are provided on which to have a fire, although some people had them directly on the grass. There was no restriction as to where you could have a fire and they are very popular, so check the wind direction of your neighbours fire! A bag of logs costs 4.00, which is enough for a small fire for one evening. The logs are dry and burn well and are delivered to your pitch.

There is a large double teepee open to all in which cakes and snacks are sold during the day and for serving breakfasts in the mornings, including bacon rolls and hot drinks. In the evenings this is a gathering place for people to meet, chat and for music. You can also light a fire inside. They have a singer perform at weekends, but not when we were there due to a sore throat.

Goudhurst is 25mins walk along a road with no pavements and fast cars, so a footpath across fields is a much better option. Goudhurst has two pubs, a convenience store, post office, and a tea shop, but not too much else. Bedgebury Forest is about 1.5 miles away with great cycle tracks and Go Ape.

This is the first year of opening, but the organisation of the owners is first class. Booking is encouraged on-line which is easy to use and works well, and allows you to pay the deposit with PayPal. Be warned that payment on site is only by cash or cheque, not credit cards.

This is a site for 'real camping', the trendy camping that's all the rage. No caravans, just tents which gives a good atmosphere. It's not cheap, but comparable with other local real camping site in reach of London and its suburbs. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anonamous 7 reviews from this member

 Me and my partner visited this camp site and I have to say, it was a really nice place to stay. The owners were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble to them. This is their first year running a camp site and they were very organised and seem to know how to run a camp site. There is only one problem I found with the camp site and that is the toilets, they are ecco friendly composting toilets and although they were cleaned everyday they weren't very nice as you can see everything everybody has done if you look down them. Not my desired taste in toilets and because they were composting toilets they smelt which wasn't the owners fault because they are only doing their bit to the environment.

The camp site is a field on a working farm. They have a very nice large tipi from which they run a cafe between 4:00 and 5:30 in the evening and you can use it to have a campfire when the weather was bad. If your a pub goer then you have to be very fit to walk to the pubs as it is up a steep dark country lane. The views of the weald are superb.

The showers are in a porta cabin very clean but the water tends to run hot and cold but we used them every night despite this. Logs are brought round at 5:30pm for people to buy for the campfire and on our first night, snacks were also brought round to buy.

It is a very family friendly site with loads of space for children to run around. I think they should open for longer then just august as this seemed a very popular campsite, we brought the starter pack and it was so comfortable sitting on a hale bale in front of the fire and the fire pits are tractor wheels which was a very good idea.

There is a shop,tea room, butchers, newsagents and two pubs in goudhurst village which is just a walk or drive up the valley although the nearest supermarket is in cranbrook which we didn't visit. Up the road you have pinetum which is a nature a huge nature reserve which was beautiful, it had cycle tracks and pedestrian walks and you can hire bikes there as well. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and the only thing that would stop me going back is the toilets but apart from that I had a fantastic stay at this campsite 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bolto2010 5 reviews from this member

 Bedgebury Forest is a lovely place but I found this site to be very noisy at night. The fires were also very dangerous, a spark fell on my tent and left a hole.

The Eco aspect is very commendable, but I don't really feel comfortable with the smell. Don't pitch near the toilets.

I had an excellent day in the Forest, well worth a visit for cycling and walking. Had a go at Go Ape, very exhilarating. Also close by is Bewl Water, also good for walking and cycling.  


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 29     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bedgebury Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bedgebury Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bedgebury Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Goudhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1365 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement