Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crabbs Bluntshay Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Bridport > Crabbs Bluntshay Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Crabbs Bluntshay Farm Certificated Site
Whitchurch Canonicorum
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6RN
Tel: 01297 489064
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Craftie2004 19 reviews from this member

 Visited this site on the strength of it being recommended by CC&C as a place to visit for the half term. Went with teenager and a dog as well as ourselves in a caravan.

Firstly, as mentioned by other posters, this site is tricky to get to in terms of windy narrow lanes, more so with unannounced roadworks about a mile outside the site. The campsite does tell you NOT to approach from a particular direction, so I wonder how that was in comparison to what we experienced.

The site itself is quiet, with 5 gravel hard standing pitches and area for camping - all with EHU. The owner was not there when we arrived, but she turned up within the hour.

Pitches are level, with a tree line to the rear, which shelters the noise of cars. To the front was a field which was empty by day, but a few deer visited at night :-)

Facilities wise, there was a shower/toilet portacabin but this was closed, and also a shower/toilet (70p tokens which are sold to you by the owner) at the back of the farm house (it is actually part of the farm house with access from the inside by the owner - this could be a little embarrassing if you are sat on the loo. ). Not the best floor (bare concrete) to step onto after a nice shower.

Located close to Lyme Regis/Bridport, the site served our purpose of exploring, but the approaches to the site will probably put us off visiting again which is a shame as it is a nice cosy little site. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Topwelt 6 reviews from this member

 Spent three nights on this sites it is a real bad place to get to Sharpe bends narrow lanes which we were not told about when we got there the pitches was water logged we arrived after a 7 hour journey waited a round for the owner who was not home when we got there she arrived later for her money we explained the pitches are badly water logged she just said it because there a lot of clay around yet we were at the highest point on the farm the ports cabin for toilets was shut and we had to use the toilet attached to house which you had to buy tokens for 70 p but we warned if you need a number 2 they can come through to your toilet through there house the site got a lot of old farm stuf around did not enjoy stay felt dirty with all the mud also the day after we arrived the road was closed for road works which was shut for three weeks again was not informed made it very hard getting the van out down the narrow roads I don't feel this site should have people staying on until drainage is sorted plus the site is not clean 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NickandLorna 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site with family; we were in a touring caravan and they were in a tent.

Firstly, I do think there should be a mention of the very narrow lanes to get to this site. The lanes had few passing places and a less experienced tower would struggle to gain access to the site.

The facilities, unisex, were basic but relatively clean. Showers were run by tokens (£0. 70 per 5 minutes). Unfortunately some of this time was taken with the time it took the water to get to temperature. The token meter is on the opposite wall to the showers, which could also impact on your allotted 5 minutes. You can, however, use as many tokens as you want for your shower.

The site, apart from the first few pitches, was fairly level. The pitches were a decent size and Mrs Crabb was more than happy to let us choose which pitch we wanted. The site was lovely and quiet, with no road noise.

Although we didn't use the local pubs, I certainly wouldn't want to walk to them in the dark, as the lanes are very narrow.

I felt the cost of £16. 00 per night was a little high for the facilities on offer.

Enjoyable 3 nights as close to areas of interest. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PollyDoe 1 review from this member

 Basic campsite situated in a partitioned field. Toilet and shower blocks are unisex and there's not much space in the shower cubicle to undress etc. As mentioned by prior reviewers the showers are metered and require tokens at 70p for about 5 mins. Unfortunately the meter's for the showers are outside the cubicles requiring a bit of a dash.

There's no lighting on the site, which means a torch to visit the toilets after dark, on the plus side if it's a clear night you have a good view of the night sky.

The Shave Cross Inn is about 1/3 rd of a mile away and does nice food and drink.

The lanes to the farm from both directions are narrow and I'm glad I didn't have to tow a caravan there.

The campsite owners sell some home made produce including honey, chutneys and cider. We purchased some of all of these items and the chutney and honey are lovely, unfortunately although we tasted cider from the barrel, which we enjoyed, the 3 bottles we purchased were sour and ended up being poured down the drain. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tedshaw 1 review from this member

 Just returned home from a stay at Bluntshay a little disappointed to tell the truth. The toilets/showers were unisex and not very private. They were adequate however they seemed not to be attended to through out our weeks stay. There was insufficient lighting on site, so using the toilets/showers at night was not an option, as the walk to the block was in total darkness. The road to the site was very narrow/tight no matter which way you chose to travel, we would NOT recommend anyone with a medium to large caravan consider using this site as the roads in/out are bordering on the ridiculous, even to travel without your unit is very tight. The entrance to the site is narrow and having a large van proved difficult to get in without catching the hedges(scratches). There were not enough signage to show the way to the site. All said the remoteness and quiet was nice, the pitches were adequate and the owner is a nice lady (although we did not see much of her) We will not be using this site again only because of it location and narrow roads 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Touchwoodtaffy 4 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed our recent visit, such a delightfully simple site. Situated on a working farm and on high ground it was the perfect retreat for those not looking for club houses, arcades and noisy neighbours (except the geese, rams and cows haha). If you have a noisy/lively family you're better off on another site to be honest.

Gravelled/grass pitches and plenty of grass camping along with a few hook-ups were all that's needed. The mature trees lining along one edge provides shelter from the wind/weather (except the Easterly while we were there).

The shower/toilet/kitchen block was more than adequate, two of everything except the single kitchen sink which had lashings of hot water. Tokens for the shower at 50p for 5 mins was very reasonable. Drinking water available. Mrs C is friendly and welcoming. A walk around the farm is nice - mind the Rams though! Access to the surrounding area was good and a pub serving good food (Carribean and English) & real ale is a 10 min walk up the lane - dogs welcome, stay late.

So if you're seeking a simple, quiet, good value site which has good facilities then this is for you - I'd happily recommend this site to friends. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hot55 2 reviews from this member

 A little disappointed with the site to be honest. Didn't care for the unisex toilet and shower units. Had not been told that the showers were on a pay to use scheme, this would have been ok if the box to put the token in had been inside the shower unit not outside. We didn't see the owner apart from when she collected our fees. The walk to and from pitches in the dark to use the toilets is not great and the application of lighting would be much appreciated. A timer switch in the shower/toilet would also be helpful. Overall the site was not quite up to the standard I had expected from the previous reviews. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sparkymik 14 reviews from this member

 Wonderful little site we had a great time, a lot of work put into making this a very enjoyable and informative site friendly, tidy, homely and cannot recommend highly enough

We will be back to see the lambing. The walk around the farm is very good lots of information. We are C&CC members but there is room for other people to enjoy this cracking site. There are plans for new shower blocks, so it can only get better 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Sianebee 2 reviews from this member

 What a great site, we have just returned from a week in our folding camper at this lovely site, facilities were very clean, toilets were checked regularly, showers use tokens 50p each, they give you about 6 minutes.

Washing up area is also houses tourist information, including a conservation walk around the farm, wet weather activities locally, dog walking info and enough days out information to keep you busy for months!

We arrived at ten o’clock at night after been held up on the M5, we were warmly greeted by Sylvia, who was very pleased to see us and concerned as to what had happened to us.

The site is situated along miles of narrow lanes, all I can say is if you are towing the best route is via Bridport then take the B3162, this has by far the widest approach road, and the route we took home which was much easier than going through Crewkerne!

We pitched our folding camper in the tenting field backed up against the hedge and south facing (hoping for some sun) we had electric hook up and there were only a few tents there. We didn’t have much sun, but lots of high wind and rain and had to invest in an awning tie down kit from a great little camping shop in Bridport. Thankfully nothing was damaged (we have camped in our folding camper for years and have never had blustery wind quite like it)

The camping field is not very free draining and we were worried we might get stuck trying to tow off the site, but Malcolm had treated the muddiest parts for extra traction, and we had no difficulties.

Its worth making use of the local farm shops, one even has its own café/restaurant, where we bought some lovely local grown produce and there are some great independent butchers, bakers and small shops in Bridport

We will definitely return to this site, even towing along the narrow roads, it was quite, very clean and in beautiful countryside, what more could you want, oh, maybe some sunshine. I did ask our teenagers who came with us and they said wi fi, but that’s just teenagers for you, we came to get away from all that! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaspergucci 27 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a bank holiday weekend at Bluntshay. The approach to the site (from both directions) is very narrow and you have to hope you don't meet anyone on the single track road! The entrance to the site is also tight but manageable.

The actual area for caravans is on a strip of land running alongside the fields partitioned off by a wire fence. This made it quite awkward to reverse your van into the desired spot, however the owner came out and helped us reverse.

Once in the site is very quiet and has outstanding views. There is a porta cabin with toilets and showers and a separate area in the cabin for washing pots. You had to buy a 50p token for a 5 minute shower, which we only used once as it didn't seem to last 5 minutes and there wasn't a lot of space to change (as unisex).

But facilities were spotless and all you needed for a weekend. In the cabin was a very informative stand with lots of leaflets and info for visiting and exploring the surrounding area.

There is a lovely walk around the stunning farm and the owners (Sylvia and Malcolm) are very helpful and friendly. Dogs are aloud on site but when we were there there were some running around off the lead which wasn't so good as we found dog mess by our van one morning!

There are fields in front of the strip for vans which you are able to walk through and would make a useful play area for kids.

All in all a lovely rural farm site with basic facilities and very clean facilities and very friendly owners. Would return if in area. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crabbs Bluntshay Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crabbs Bluntshay Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Crabbs Bluntshay Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2572 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement