Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crabbs Bluntshay Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Bridport > Crabbs Bluntshay Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Crabbs Bluntshay Farm Certificated Site
Whitchurch Canonicorum
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6RN
Tel: 01297 489064
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Peakes 1 review from this member

 Site was excellent.

Small and friendly with all the requirements you need for a hideaway venue.

Only negative was the narrow lane to get there. Luckily not busy so even with a caravan we were fine. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Judas_hill 41 reviews from this member

 The site is fine with every thing you need.

The down side is the very long narrow road to get to the site not many passing places if you met a tractor coming the other way. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rhunt 1 review from this member

 Sylvia is doing an amazing job running this beautiful campsite through Covid-19 and with a broken arm to add to everything.

The farm animals were a joy for my 5 year old daughter and the babbling brook and forest provided a "Swallows and Amazons" backdrop for the boys to get into an imaginary world (ages 9, 9 and 12).

I think its a great idea to keep the old-school token-for-a-shower strategy - it limits you to a 5 minute shower which is perfectly adequate and gets the boys back in time for a BBQ as it limits faffing-about time!

Thankyou for your generosity sharing this beautiful place, Sylvia! We had a wonderful time and will certainly be back. Probably the best campsite I can remember ever visiting! 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Juzz21 1 review from this member

 Our first experience at Camping. Very quiet and peaceful site. Owner very nice.

Could do with being sign posted better, site was hard to find and we took a wrong turning twice

Shower/Toilet block could do with some updating but nothing major.

All in all a good stay! 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Doddin 1 review from this member

 Liked Sylvia, very pleasant & approachable, & liked the amenities, basic but everything you needed for a holiday at a great price. Very friendly people. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Schooner jay 1 review from this member

 Just spent a week at this site and had a wonderful time. Very clean and tidy site and made very welcome by Sylvia and Malcolm the owners. Very quiet location but close to the beautiful town of Bridport. Also nice and close to all the great local beaches such as Lyme Regis, West Bay and Beer.

Although others fairly comment on the tight access and narrow lanes, I'm hauling a 27ft twin axle outfit, and with sensible steady driving, and fingers crossed that you will only meet traffic near passing places, it's well worth the effort.

Our only recommendation would be for the local council to repair and / or replace some of the road signs and footpath signs within the immediate vicinity.

Will certainly visit again, we are thinking a winter break may be nice. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SusannahHand 1 review from this member

 My children and I have just spent 2 nights at this wonderful campsite along with another family. The site is quite, clean and the owners are very welcoming. The children ran free, just having fun. Plenty of space for everyone. Would definitely recommend a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Notfussyjusthonest 1 review from this member

 We've just got back from a very pleasant 3 nights camping in a family tent here. Our children loved running about amongst the buttercups in a big field opposite. The owner is lovely and unobtrusive. The site is quiet and peaceful. It's very rural and surrounded by beautiful Dorset narrow lanes (which, I imagine, would take an experienced tow-er to navigate). The pitches are next to the lane and I heard 2 vehicles during our stay. The lane is not even remotely busy! The electric hookup pitches were nice and flat and it's an easy drive to the coast. The pub up the road was nice for a drink though their loos were horrendously filthy so probably wouldn't have eaten there.

We will definitely return again for another break here. I think I would find a longer stay difficult due to the shower facilities. They are clean but definitely need a little modernisation. The tokens are a nuisance really - the water switches off at the timer and it means you can't swish the shower tray out after you've used it ready for the next person. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KandDP 6 reviews from this member

 We arrived later than planned, and finding the entrance from the very narrow lane was tricky. However it was worth it. A beautifully tranquil spot overlooking the Dorset fields and hills, with calves just over the fence. We had the site to ourselves, which was lovely. The shower block is great, with a large washing up room too. No-one came to meet us, so needed to go to find the owners before we left in order to pay. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Super Dragpack 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely little working farm campsite. Peaceful, quiet, beautiful. Ideal for a quiet break.

Extremely friendly owner who is always happy to help and show you the workings of the farm and surrounding area. Camping area is the edge of a large empty field, although this main field is also opened during August for tents.

It has 6 electric hook up points, and plenty of additional space for those not requiring electric. During summer the site uses a porta-cabin which includes 2 showers (via tokens), 2 WC's and a kitchen area. It's showing it's age - but this is a working farm, not the Hilton - and you get what you pay for. But it was functional and adequate. We normally use the facilities in our caravan, so none of this worried us much.

During our stay it was extremely quiet with only 2 other caravans and a tent for a night. Perfect! Just what we love The owner happily offered to show us (my wife and I, and our 3 year old daughter) around the workings of the farm and we even 'helped' put some of the animals to bed. My little girl still raves about this experience. It made a huge impression on her - memories we will treasure. It was perfect and such a lovely experience offered by the gracious and friendly site owners. Thank you!

The roads to the site are narrow, but come from the A35 and you'll be fine. The website gives suggestions which I advise you adhere too. Try and avoid busy periods. We never came across any cars coming the other way as the roads were very very quiet.

The campsite pitches are adjacent to the road, but a car/tractor only passes about once an hour - so certainly not an issue!

Camping price was extremely cheap at around 13 a night for a caravan (can't remember exactly, sorry).

I genuinely wish to say THANK YOU to Sylvia.

In my opinion, this is a perfect site to explore the area and relax. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crabbs Bluntshay Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crabbs Bluntshay Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Crabbs Bluntshay Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3692 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement