Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Greenacres Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Coleford > Greenacres Campsite Reviews

Greenacres Campsite
Scowles Road
Coleford
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL16 8QS
Tel: 01594 837753
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 26/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
                8/10 from 45 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suzan111 19 reviews from this member

Choose this site over Rushmere since the advertised price on website was cheaper, however on paying found it was 1 per person more, my only gripe. The camping fields are split into two, first one for electric hook ups and those that don't want camp fires and the second field which allows campfires, they have little stone circles on the ground into which to put your fire, field is slightly sloping but enough flat bits so you are not rolling around your tent at night. Toilet and shower block at start of first field, one shower and two toilets in female, one toilet and show in mens, we arrived just after a bank holiday weekend and it looks like they had an extra two portaloos for the weekend. Large area in camping field for games etc, Location is nice and quiet though it is near a quarry which starts blasting early, don't think its everyday though as didn't here it our first morning, handy for the Forest Of Dean.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Diana Raubenheimer 1 review from this member

This is a real get-away-from-it-all site. The owners are very laid back; there is no long list of rules, no time by which you must leave, no being told exactly where you must put your tent. And you can have a fire on the ground, with nets of wood and an honesty box to pay for them. The site is very pretty, surrounded by trees for that in-the-forest feel, and much effort has recently gone into hedge planting which will be beautiful when mature. The facilities are basic but have everything necessary and are always clean. There is an outdoor washing up sink with hot water, a couple of basins and flush loos, and a shower. These are currently in a porta-cabin, but the owners are waiting for planning permission for a permanent block. During our visit there was a cub/scout camp in the adjoining field - compliments to their leaders as they were very quite and all behaved impecably, and kept us entertained in the morning with a mass tea towel flicking match involving about 40 cubs and scouts. The surrounding area has much to offer, including walks in the beautiful Forest of Dean, Symonds Yat Rock, the enchanting Puzzlewood, and slightly further but well worth a visit is the stunningly beautiful Dewstow Gardens and Grottoes. If you want peace and tranquility, but are not looking for rows of gleaming toilet blocks and a whole bunch of rules, I cannot recommend Greenacres enough.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jhenderson 4 reviews from this member

Nice site out of the way, due to the time of year we were the only people on site, showers and washing facility's very basic for men only one shower and one toilet combined. 12 for 2 people per night without hook up. Would recommend if you wanted to be out of the way, for one night only was fine for us.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Matt Hill 1 review from this member

Once again at Short notice we were able to arrive with ease.

Four families, Dads and little ones and we had the bliss and tranquillity of the beautiful Wye Valley countryside.

The children all enjoy having an open fire (is it camping otherwise?) and the adults maybe more so.

Perfect hosts, unobtrusive and friendly when you need them.

We will be back next year for sure.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Teamsqueak 4 reviews from this member

We just stayed here for 2 nights as we only had time for a short break and had never visited the Forest of Dean area before.

There were just two of us and a dog (which was FOC). The price of 16 seemed about right for the motorhome plus EHU despite the basic toilet/shower block which is in a Portakabin. There is one shower in the ladies and two toilets - DH said the male side had one shower and one toilet but the way it was set up, if the shower was in use then you couldn't use the toilet as the whole side was locked.

Not much fun if you need the toilet!

The washing-up facility is outside in the open, joined onto the side of the shower/toilet block and as others have commented the 'hot' water isn't but hey it's free and no harm done in washing up in cold water occasionally.

The campsite is accessed from the main road up a single track road which is quite steep but fairly flat once you get up the top. You pass the owners' bungalow at the bottom when you come in and if there is no-one home they will come up and check you are settling in ok.

There is no dedicated play area but as the site is set to grass there is plenty of room for kids to be kids and not to be on top of each other as sometimes happens in busy periods.

The site is quiet and laid to grass once you get off the hardcore entrance. The first field has EHUs and a drinking water tap and then on through a fenced area for tents where several fire-pits are arranged for their use. Bags of kindling are available at the site entrance with an honesty box to pay for them.

While we were there several carloads of teenagers were dropped off by their parents (oh dear we thought. ) who set up 8 tents in the camping field behind us but the owner came over to us and said the teenagers had promised to behave and if we had any problems to let her know immediately and they would be told to go home. They were fine but it was good to know that the owner was prepared to do something if they weren't.

This is another site where there are several 'weekend' caravans on the site but we were the only people there on this occasion.

We visited several Forestry Commission sites in the area which were free to park in and access which can be a problem for a motorhome at times. We especially liked the New Fancy viewpoint (nr Parkends) and the Cyril Hart Aboretum (nr Coleford). Monmouth isn't too far away and neither is Abergavenny.

Again the road into Coleford from the campsite doesn't have pavements so probably safest to use in daytime and if you like a long walk! Coleford was a lovely little town which had a good mix of shops and parking was no problem.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RuthA 1 review from this member

A lovely little campsite, Very peaceful, the only noise we heard were the lambs from the field next door! Even though it was the Easter weekend and busy, not that it felt it. It is close to many of the local attractions; Clearwell caves, Puzzlewood to name but 2 and it less than a 5 min drive or 15 min walk away from Coleford for takeways, pubs and shops for stocking up.

The facilities are basic but kept clean, and the shower you were able to control the temperature, which meant showering the kids was easy no 'it is too hot mummy'. Oh and the kids loved the rope swing and the marshmallows from the campfires.

A fantastic find.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beckyw 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a long weekend at Greenacres to test out our new trailer tent.

There is a large sign on the road locating the campsite. We had read that if there was no answer at the bungalow then to carry on driving up to the field and pitch up, which is what we did. There are no marked pitches so we located a spare EHU point & pitched in front of that. The field is slightly sloping although there are some flatter pitches and another field without EHU.

The facilities as we expected are very basic, but they were clean. There are 2 portaloos & a portacabin with separate M & F facilities. The female side had 2 toilets, 1 sink, 1 shower with a bench for clothes & a couple of hooks on the back of the door. There was also an area with a large shelf & mirror. The shelf would be big enough to change a baby. There was paper towel for drying hands. The shower was hot. The men's side only had one room with a toilet, sink & shower.

Outside there was a sink for washing up but it wasn't under cover and the water was never even warm let alone hot. In fact we filled our washing up bowl from the shower one night as that was the only hot water and took it back to our tent to wash up in the warm & dry.

There is plenty of room for children to run around & a swing up in the trees to play on. Across the fields, a couple of minutes walk away is a recreation field with goal posts for a kick around.

The owners are very friendly and we saw them around the campsite a few times.

Coleford is a short drive & has a couple of supermarkets & a small DIY shop that sells small gas bottles for camping lights. Christchurch has a garage that sells camping gas bottles for cookers.

We visited the Dean Heritage Centre and did The Room On The Broom Trail which is superb for small children. The museum has some interesting local historical information, a few animals, and during the summer months charcoal making demonstrations. Out in the car park you can see & talk to the guys who made the chainsaw sculptures for the trail. We also visited Symonds Yat and followed the suggested Woodland Walk. We had 6 yr & 8 yr olds with us & it took us the 3 hours that it said, including a short stop at the view point, taking time to pick up the usual 300+ sticks & pine cones, playing a few games & stopping for drinks & snacks on the way. The walk down to the bottom is steep but the children enjoyed watching the rope ferry across the river.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fowlerjonk 13 reviews from this member

This was our 4th visit to this site and as always we had a great time. My ten year old son says this is his favourite site as he can run around playing football and there are a couple of tree swings to play on! Although the facilities are basic they are always spotlessly clean and there is always plenty of loo roll, liquid soap and paper towels. The owners of the site are very helpful and friendly. It's a lovely walk through the fields into Coleford where there are plenty of pubs, a couple of supermarkets, a health food shop, a tapas bar, a cinema and plenty of takeaways. We are already planning our next break here.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Agc128 1 review from this member

Just spent a couple of nights here, 2 adults and 2 dogs. Peaceful small site tucked away. Basic facilities (which we expected)but clean and tidy. Friendly owners. Recycle bins provided. Access to public footpath so you can walk to Coleford where there are a few shops and takeaways etc. Forest walks are superb, but as mentioned, take a map! We used the phone GPS. Walked to Symonds Yat Rock, then down to the river for a pub stop. We returned along the river and made our way to Staunton, where unfortunately the White Horse, which serves good food, was shut on a Monday! We then made our way back to the site. We came across wild boar and deer, and during the evening we had bats flying around us. The owners sell tubs of logs for camp fires (money in an honesty box) All in all a lovely relaxing stay in touch with nature little site.

We didn't have children with us but lovely area for running around etc and close to many attractions.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anglo Dutchie 2 reviews from this member

We booked for a weekend here with 2 family tents as we wanted to try somewhere in a different location and this site seemed to tick all of the boxes.

We sent emails and left messages prior to our stay to ensure the pitch was booked.

On the Bank Holiday weekend the weather was very cold but as it was dry and we had booked for electric hookup we proceeded and drove from Swansea to stay at this site.

When we arrived there was no-one at the house but we took some numbers as instructed on the notes left on the door and we set up our tents.

One of the kids went to the shower block and came back stating it was locked.

We called 3 mobile numbers but no immediate reply so we left messages.

About half an hour later we had a visit from someone who had been asked to keep an eye on the site as its owners had gone on Holiday to Florida??

This was early evening and we had to stay over at that point, it was too late to pack back up and return home. The guy managed to unlock the mens toilet and isolated cold water only and a bucket to flush the toilet.

The following morning other residents on the site were busy trying to fix the plumbing issue which was due to frozen pipes a few days prior so we decided to see if this was resolved before deciding if we should head home.

As they managed to get the water back on and there was hot water, we decided to stay and were there 2 more nights. We realised if we had at that point packed up and gone home our weekend would have been well and truly ruined.

Facilities were basic but fair and comfortable, we left payment for what we felt was fair (we stayed 3 night but paid for two due to the first nights inconvenience) and left the monies with one of the permanent residents with a note for the owners however we have not since heard from the site owners so we are disappointed with the lack of communication.

We felt it was a little presumptuous that we would not attend due to the weather that week and that the owners had left to go on Holiday themselves days before this without leaving instructions and notifying the carer that we were booked in.

All in all we simply felt a bit abandoned and it's left a bad taste I'm sorry to say.

I do not like leaving bad feedback but UK campsites insisted I leave a second site review and this was the only other site I have visited this year.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Greenacres Campsite?   There is a shop within 1 mile    View all facilities

Is Greenacres Campsite dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Coleford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3792 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020