Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenacres Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Gloucestershire > Coleford > Greenacres Campsite > Reviews

Greenacres Campsite
Scowles Road
Coleford
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL16 8QS
Tel: 01594 837753
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: 22/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 70 Reviews
                9/10 from 70 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Garychr 4 reviews from this member

 Well run site with plenty of space for each pitch.

Clean toilets and showers.

Easy walk into Coleford, where there is a good range of shops, pubs and restaurants.

Walks at nearby RSPB Nagshead good also. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Willie03 2 reviews from this member

 Another stay here and can not fault how clean and tidy all the facilities are.

WiFi not to bad.

Lovely little walks for your furry companion/s. Coleford not far.

Will be looking to book again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 48 reviews from this member

 I stayed 6 nights at this campsite and would definitely return.

The facilities were very clean and the site was well-kept and maintained. The only niggle, and it was a very small niggle, in that the lights in the ladies toilets/showers block did not stay on very long during the day, and slightly longer at night. I had mentioned it to the staff during my stay.

The lady owner was very helpful when I asked for a pitch with good Wi-Fi as back-up in case I did not get a good mobile phone signal for work purposes, and was directed to pitch behind the Reception which was normally reserved for emergency purposes. In the end I did not need to use their Wi-Fi which was 1. 00 GBP per day as the mobile signal for EE and 3/Smarty was very good.

THANK YOU for letting me stay on that pitch as it was close to the facilities block. I shall request for a hard-standing pitch close to the Reception in future as they were flatter.

The staff at the Reception were very helpful, and it was well-stocked with provisions and basic camping equipment. They also sold snacks such as freshly baked croissants, stuffed crust pizzas, paninis, hot and cold drinks.

Symonds Yat Rock was only a short drive away. It cost me 8 GBP for 2h's minimum parking in the afternoon for a motorhome, slightly cheaper for a car. Bring cash and plenty of coins in case one cannot get a mobile phone signal to use the parking app (RingGo, I managed to use the app).

On the way back from Symonds Yat Rock, I stopped at Coleford which was the nearest town for a bite to eat and went to the Aslan's the Turkish Restaurant. It was OK, perhaps a tad too expensive for what I had, and I thought I could make the two cold meze dishes better myself. I would probably opt for a kebab from one of a few kebab joints in future.

There were walks from the campsite including one into town down the hill that allegedly would take about 15-20min.

The approach to the campsite from the owners' house was quite steep (single track) IMHO, however, I found it manageable in my van.

All in all, a nice site at a good location, and I would recommend it. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sfwd70 1 review from this member

 A very pleasant three night stay on this lovely site close to the vibrant town of Coleford.

As mentioned elsewhere, you can easily walk there via footpaths with a playground and outdoor fitness park on the way.

Please try and support the Merlin Cinema in the town if you get the chance - a charming old fashioned picture house showing the latest blockbusters.

One small point - there did seem to be a rather long way between tent pitches and their hook up points -a 15m cable didn't reach in our case.

Apart from that I would recommend Greenacres as a fantastic base for exploring the Forest of Dean and participating in the many activities it has to offer all ages. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karlandledley 9 reviews from this member

 Probably our 4th visit here and it never fails to impress.

Free showers with plunge type activation in a very clean block that includes a laundry, family bathroom and dish washing area.

The shop/office has hot food and drink for sale, as well as essentials and ice cream.

The pitches are a good size and the owners are not snobs when it comes to units and converted vans etc.

Direct access to fields for walking the dog or just to explore.

You can walk into Coleford from the site as it's around 1 mile.

The town itself has everything you need for food, drink and leisure. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Brianappleby 3 reviews from this member

 Fabulous location,

Secure field for children to play,

Lovely dog walk adjacent to site,

Easy stroll into Coleford,

Modern clean facilities,

What's not to like,

Will certainly visit again if in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Edwards18 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, staff really helpful and friendly,

Would recommend and will return.

Good time had by all of us.

Simmonds yat not far away with lovely wood walks.

Town centre not far away with large coop 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sidrat 16 reviews from this member

 So after reading the reviews on here we decided to go back to the Forest of Dean, we haven't been for 10 years. We only tend to stay in sites with a 9 or 10 star review, so this fitted the bill.

The site was almost full during our stay but still plenty of space. We ended up in a corner site under a tree which means we now have to give the tent a clean, but it does make the site secluded with plenty of trees and hedges.

Site amenities were nice and reasonably new, there is a little shop on site, they sell coffee, cake and ice cream too which is a nice touch.

The owners and reception are great, it was a little noisy one evening but after a number of people mentioned it they went and had a chat and all was good.

It really is close to lots of things to do, you can spend a week there and not go further than 5 miles from the campsite.

Thoroughly recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Patbill 10 reviews from this member

 A lovely spacious site.

There was a pleasant walk from the site into Coleford and also walks from the site into the forest.

Monmouth is a short drive away

Don't follow the sat nav it takes you up a very narrow road 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Susie Sedgwick 6 reviews from this member

 It is a lovely site, no traffic noise. Set in the forest of Dean it has some lovely walks.

The showers and toilets were all very clean and well maintained. Jess who welcomed us on arrival was very friendly and really helpful in answering our questions.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Greenacres, I will definitely be returning, there is so much to do round about. 


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Greenacres Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenacres Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Greenacres Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Coleford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


51980 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement