Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Landguard Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Shanklin > Landguard Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Landguard Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Landguard Manor Rd
Shanklin
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO37 7PH
Tel: 0843 309 2591
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 67
Open: 22nd March - 4th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 42 Reviews
                6/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tomo50 27 reviews from this member

Was expecting great things form this site. 1st impessions were not as expected - BUT READ ON!

Pictures on website show Static park - not touring area - looks very different!

Touring area accessed down very narrow (6'6') lane - only 200 mtrs or so. Pitches size are HUGE but very tight roadways around site to navigate 1st! Kiddies play area very small but tree swing kept my 2 (age 5) happy all week. Loads of space for children and adults to play! Toilets/showers seem dated but are cleaned regularly - take your own loo roll! Water points , elsan , bins etc at regular intervals. You then have to walk back down this narrow unlit lane to access facilities on static area - scary at night! Pool much smaller than looks in picture and SO COLD AND THATS JUST THE INDOOR POOL! Didn't risk the outdoor 1! Club is adequate size - although if you want to enter talent comps take your own backing discs or you have to sing acapello! Good kiddies entertainment although lacking in variety. Restaurant average - frozen chips etc. Now the Isle of Wight! WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW - what a beautiful place. No vandalism, no grafitti, no police, no rubbish just unspoilt counrtyside, seaside and towns. The water at Freshwater bay is as clear as tap water. As a family (2 adults, 1 teenager and 5yr old twins) we fell in love with all of the Island and have looked at house prices there since we got home 4 days ago!

I did grow to love Landguard as I realised what a lovely place it was. Mature trees, no noise at night at all, safe for children and cheaper than most sites on the Island - we have already booked for 2 weeks in August. It is not the best site I have ever stayed on - but as a base for touring is excellent - if you are prepared for the little things that are lacking at this site. Very mixed review I know - I think this is a 'Marmite' site - love it or hate it. Once last bit of advice - Pay and display carparks everywhere! On arrival buy a tourist parking permit for the week £20 - unlimited parking. (2 hours on own costs £1.90 - so you definitely will save).

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Not2clean 2 reviews from this member

Our tent is 7ft square and only just fitted, we had to park the car in front of the tent as no room at the side otherwise we would of run over the next tents guy ropes. The park for the children was ok if they were under 3, there was no space in the camping area for the kids to place ball games without them disturbing other campers. We were pitched on the main thoroughfare between the two sites so at 11.30 when my kids are sleeping you got all the families walking back from the club. Only 5 showers to service over 100 pitches if not more queuing became an unwelcome pasttime, glad they are putting in new showers soon.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tony+sue 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a stay at Landguard and I can definitely say that we wish we had found it earlier. The pitches are plenty big enough approx. 7m by 7m and no one had any complaints. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Having just been taken over by Park Resorts the ageing showers so we were told are being rebuilt at the end of the season but were still adequate for the purpose. Being next door to another Park Resort (lower hyde) its well worth using their clubhouse as its a bit bigger and for the small ones has better playgrounds. But I can say we will probably return in the very near future.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mason1copsey 2 reviews from this member

Second time at this site this time in June. The only change was the owners. The site is now owned by the static site next door. No extra charge to use their facilities. This included Bar, swimming pool, indoor and out. Site was as clean as my last visit, new warden but just as friendly as before. Can't really ask for a better site for camping, Shanklin is just a walk away, plenty to do, places to eat and places to drink all very friendly and child friendly. Bus and train travel all over the island. Will be going back next year.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mason1copsey 2 reviews from this member

I stayed here in May 2007, The site was very clean and the staff very helpful. This seems like a good time of the year to visit the site, as it was only about 50% full and we could chose any pitch we wanted, Showers were clean and tidy always had hot water, maybe something to do with the site not being full. Wardens very polite and helpful. If you are after the mod cons of some new sites this site may not be for you but if you want a nice quiet site to use as a base camp for your holiday then you can't ask for any place better. Some campers seem to think that the pitches are on the small side but we found the pitches to be on the large size compared to some sites and overall flat.

Site is only a 10-15 mins walk into Shanklin town, and there is everything there you could ask for.

Will be back next year to see what the site is like in June.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Taffybongo 1 review from this member

Stayed at Landguard for 5 nights.  I took advantage of a Red Funnel offer and it went like clockwork from start to finish.  I found the campsite to be spotless, the showers and toilets were excellent and the washing up area was also very clean.  The staff were very helpful, showing me to my pitch and coming back to check that all was well. 
I found five days was not remotely long enough to explore the island and will be going back in the not too distant future. Food shopping is easy with a Morrisons and a Lidl not too far away, and the railway station is a ten minute walk away.- £3.20 return to Ryde.  

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TonyBarrett 8 reviews from this member

See my 2006 review - nothing has changed it is still a good site.
 
Why pay £38 to use the bar in the adjacent static site - Morrisons 5 mins away sells booze.
 
Due to weather - not as bad as everywhere else in the UK if news reports are true - did not use the pool this year I need hot sun to get me imersed in water, in fact only had 1 day on the beach.
WHY? - because the wind even with a windbreak made it cold but this site is very sheltered. To explain - 1 day the weather was sort of OK sun but quite a few fluffy white clouds so decided to go to Sandown to fish the pier.
Based on fact that it was not quite a sitty on beach day. Dressed in shorts and T shirt off we went. 30 mins on pier did us - gale blowing - back to site - no wind! Sun loungers out - bottle of wine open - heaven.
 
This site would not suit people who want activities on site but those who want the quiet life on site will appreciate it.
 
TV reception is cronic but Daughter stayed on a different static site on the island and their reception was just as bad so me thinks the island has poor reception in general.
 
Going to IOW - there are lots of sites but for our requirements this is the site to use - others may disagree but then their requirements are not the same.
 
SANDOWN IN GENERAL.
 
The beach bar must have a new cook this year - rubbish breakfast.
 
Shore fishing rubbish - probably the weather.
 
Flanigans - by the pier - still a great place - 10 oz Rump £7.95 and it is very tender.
 
Beach - still one of the best we have visited.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ashes24 2 reviews from this member

After staying at Landguard campsite twice in 2006, high season & low season, and after reading the comments from other campers I felt I should put pen to paper.

The majority of campers seem to know what they are talking about; observably they must have been camping before. This campsite must be one of the best on the I.O.W. For location, being a motor home owner the pleasure of parking on pitch and not having to move it for the full stay is a big bonus, Everything is in walking distance i.e. The beach, busses, trains, and a lovely stroll along the beach to Sandown, p.s. We are both in our 60s.

And the comment of the pitches being too small is a laugh, I would say the pitches are about 30ft x 30ft, but if some campers insist on bringing everything and the kitchen sink, it soon looks small, i.e. Awnings, gazebos, windbreakers, BBQs. And car. But this is a minority.

And my last comment must be the staff and management. Pleasing every body is impossible but I must give them 10 out of 10 for effort, toilets and showers may be ageing a bit they are kept to a high standard of cleanliness both in high and low season, P.S. See you in 2007.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Joy+harry 4 reviews from this member

Staff were friendly and helpful, but very disappointed with the site.  Friends had recommended it to us, but to be fair they had been a few years ago and in June.  I wouldn't recommend it in August - very crowded.  Not enough toilet and showers to go round for the number of people crammed on this site, hence not very clean at anytime. The pitches appeared a reasonable size, until our unit was up and found there was very little space after all.  The amazing view we had was of a toliet block, which got very noisy with children running in and out with water pistols - the tiny playground being next door didn't help. No laundry facilities to speak of, just sinks and one very old spin drier!  After doing a pile of washing by hand, someone told me of the launderette on the static site up the road - an option I could have taken had I known beforehand.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gemma1675 46 reviews from this member

This is a lovely campsite; the location is good for walking into Shanklin - where the Old Village is lovely and has plenty of pubs.  Wardens are nice and flexible about how you setup within your pitch - no regimented lines here.  The loos are dated but very clean.  The takeaway is useful.
We would definitely return.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Shanklin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5895 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019