Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Landguard Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Shanklin > Landguard Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Landguard Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Landguard Manor Rd
Shanklin
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO37 7PH
Tel: 0843 309 2591
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 67
Open: 22nd March - 4th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 42 Reviews
                6/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Chakota 2 reviews from this member

I cannot agree with your members regarding this site. I have just returned from a 10 day stay there and I found it very cramped and very noisy (children) perhaps that may be because I was about 20 yards from the play area. The toilet and shower blocks are a bit dated along with the shower water running cold every other minute.
The shop was poorly stocked and it combines with a brasserie. Must admit food was good makes a change from fish & chips.
If you want to visit the bars at adjacent site it costs you 38 per week for family pass.
As for the walk to the beach add another 10 mins onto the 10 mins. To shanklin town. Coming back is uphill all the way so not as easy as described by others. Shanklin beach is fine when tide is in other wise its rocky .
Yes the staff were friendly and helpful.
Sorry but not my cup of tea.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TonyBarrett 8 reviews from this member

Still a good site, there is a better shop on the static caravan site at the start of the drive. This is also where the laundrette is - quickest washing machines we have used!, and you can wait in the bar for the drier to do its bit.

Take away is good & they do proper bread pudding, just like the only thing British Rail got right.

Contact the site before you book and ask for a plan showing which pitches are free for your holiday and pick one is the best option. They will normally fill the centre bit 1st - You do not want that! Pitch 139 is good for caravan. Looking at the plan pick one to the right end of the site - furthest from reception. Best to have one of the outside pitches. Suspend normal thoughts of reversing onto the pitch and leaving the van perpendicular to the road - swing the van round so it is at the back of the pitch (except 139 - see plan & you will realise why) and parallel to the road.

Everything others have said about the facilities stands.

Parking on the island is all run by the same council 3-4 hours is 3, 4-6 hours is 4 & 6+ hours is 6 - charges only apply 10 am till 6 pm. However - U need to work this out for yourself - from tourist info shops you can buy a 7 day parking pass for 30 which may or may not be a saving but remember you can move car parks. A 14 day pass costs 40 which will be a saving for anyone I should imagine. I just regret that I did not discover this till well into our holiday!

Sandowns bar on the beach does good food - great breakfast/brunch.

Flannigans - near the pier - is good for evening meal - Service with a smile and food is excellent.

Shanklin Chine - Be warned - If you are thinking of going up or down and spending time at the other end then returning - forget it! If you leave at the other end you cannot return without paying for a second visit. It is a much longer walk by road than via the chine to get back to your car.

For those interested in sea fishing from the beach - I have fished the Bass hot spots of Wales & the West Country and had little success - at Sandown I only had 1 day where I did not land a Bass and on 4 days landed pairs large enough to keep and provide our evening meal - That's 80 at restaurant prices!

Nothing to do with the site but despite the adverts there are no White Tigers at the zoo any more, but still worth a visit to see these beautiful cats at close quarters.

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Ljtibbs 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site for 2 weeks july this year. On the whole a good site though we were disappointed with the shower blocks. Though they were always very clean they are a bit dated, with lots of cobwebs and a prefab roof! Never the less nice level pitches but a bit on the small side. Excellent swimming pools both indoor (extra charge)and outdoor. Site is in excellent location shanklin has fantastic sandy beaches with lots of cheap parking! Good choice of supermarkets close by but is down a narrow lane just off a bend so keep your eyes peeled so you dont miss the turning!

Date of Visit: August 2005 Rating:
Reviewer: Mike1971 3 reviews from this member

Landguard is a great little family campsite. We had a warm welcome when we arrived and were shown to our pitch by a very helpful warden. The site is very sheltered in between some mature trees that made the site amazingly peaceful in the evenings. This was surprising for a family site. As for the facilities, the outdoor pool is nice and the shop/take away is adequate. The shower blocks were exceptional with large cubicles and seats in the dry areas. All the sinks had hooks to hang my towel on and shelves to put my razor on! (Many other campsites should take note!) The location of the site is very good with a wooded path running through Lower Hyde and into Shanklin. If you are looking for a nice place to camp on the I.O.W. Without the clubs and arcades then this is the place to stay. The only grumble with this place is that the pitches are a bit on the small side. Most campers used windbreaks to create their own space between pitches. The site has 150 pitches, in my opinion it should be nearer 100 for it's size. There really is no space to kick a football. (apart from on a small field next to the pool.) But this would not put me off from staying here again as it was so peaceful and well managed

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Oblivion 1 review from this member

We've been to Landguard twice now, both times in August. As the reviewer Ratty said, it's quite pricy, but they seem to be able to fill it. We got the last available pitch. Generally it's pretty flat, with maybe a gentle slope at one end of the field. As far as I know every pitch has a hook-up. You can hire a fridge for 7 a week - worth it to avoid daily trips to the shop.

Toilet blocks OK, but getting a bit shabby now, and not enough showers to cope with morning demand. Generally the site feels a bit cramped, with every available bit of space used. Plenty of trees for shade. There is a small kiddies playground in the middle, and an outdoor heated pool just off the main site, well-fenced to avoid toddlers wandering into it. There is a pizza takeaway.

Lower Hyde Holiday Camp right next door has plenty of facilities including a bar with entertainment (pretty corny stuff but it keeps the kids happy!), indoor pool, shop, restaurant, and run-of-the mill takeaway.

Generally can't fault it if you're looking for a family site close to amenities. Shanklin generally has everything you'd expect from a British seaside holiday. But if you're looking for space, and peace and quiet, best go elsewhere.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Andy C 3 reviews from this member

Just had a lovely 6 day break at this site - weather was hot, hot, hot. This site is well situated for access to Shanklin town (10 mins walk) and the Old Town (a little further, but highly recommended for pubs, restaurants, etc) and the beach. We found the wardens to be very friendly and helpful.

As per previous comment, the pitches were a little cramped - we struggled to find room for the windbreak once the tent was up. There are larger pitches on this site, so in hindsight we wished we had asked for a larger pitch.

The showers and toilets are indeed clean and spacious, but we found them to be scaldingly hot, with no temperature adjustment. On several occasions we had to queue for a shower, but then the site was at capacity. One note, the water pressure is high, you get drenched when washing up.

The onsite pool was excellent and the shop very useful - pizzeria and even specials each night to order. There is a clubhouse in the adjoining static site, but couldn't comment as we did not use this, but noticed plently of campers did!

In all, we would definitely use this site again if returning to the IOW.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Bnmuk 2 reviews from this member

I agree with all the other comments it a nice site, I have just returned from landguard. The pitches are a good size but every tent seemed to have a gazebo, windbraker plus car, some of tents were almost touching, making the site look overcrowded. Driving round the site with a caravan was also dificult because the turns are 90 degrees with trees on every corner, and tents pitched almost to the road

Reviewer: Ratty 199 reviews from this member

July 2005
This is a great site with some of the friendliest owners that I have ever had the pleasure of being welcomed by to a campsite.

I found that the pitches were a litte cramped for my normal liking, but for people who do not mind regimented pitches then this would be ideal for you. The pitches, in parts, can be quite sloped, so don't forget your levellers or ask for a flatter pitch if in a tent!

There is a swimming pool onsite, open from 9 am to 7pm daily, which was a nice size and everyone, whilst I was there, respected the rules and made for a pleasent swim.

The site has lovely showers and toilets and the showers were more than big enough for me and my daughter to comfortable shower, move around and stay dry while the other was under the water. 100% for the showers. The toilets and rest of the blocks were very clean and very well maintained. However they did have a tendancy to clean the facilities when it took their fancy and did not seem to have a set time on when they shut, one day they were all shut for 2 hours!, however there is a smaller block on site which is open when the main ones are being cleaned.

There is a small site shop open from around 8am until 10.30 offering hot snacks, milk, ice creams and basic essentials. The take away is also open from 5pm until late during the height of the summer holidays.

The site is a 1 minute stroll to Shanklin and well located for visiting the East side of the island.

There is a large Safeway / Morrissons about 5 minute drive from the site where you can also get reasonably priced petrol / diesel. There is a chip shop and curry house, chinese etc. in Lake and we got a curry delivered from one of them.

The site itself is very poory signposted if coming in from the ferry. Once passed Safeway the turning is on the right, bu be warned the sign is very small and very easy to miss, as we did!

The driveway in is a little tight and if you meet someone coming the other way whilst towing, could prive somewhat difficult!

Overall a good site but at around 23 a night for 2 adults, 2 kids and hookup I found it very expensive especially as there was no space for us to even kick a ball about.

Reviewer: Fiona karen 21 reviews from this member

July 2004
We went to Landguard camping for 3 summers with my 2 boys aged 11 and 15 at the last visit. We had a fabulous time, the campsite is really children friendly and the owners are really nice and helpfull. We spent a lot of time in the swimmingpool as the weather was good.

The site is within walking distance of Shanklin it takes about 15/20 miniutes walk down a country lane and comes out near the station. If you dont fancy the walk back from the beach or old village there are 2 very good taxi firms which are really reasonable.

Shanklin is really nice with plenty of shop's, returants, the old village, chine, beach, station, park, takeaways, and we love the fishermans inn on the beach, tucked away near the chine.

The Isle of White has so much to see and do thats why we had to go for 3 Summers and still didn't see it all. I would definatly recommend Landgaurd camping for a great family holiday

Reviewer: Lui7585 1 review from this member

September 2004
My family and I have been coming to Landguard, Shanklin for nearly 10years, in one of their own caravans. Last year we purchased a trailer tent, and decided to try Jersey, we stayed for one week and left, and came home and booked to come back to the Isle of Wight. We booked on the Friday and came to Landguard on the Monday for one week. If we could have stopped longer we would, unfortunatley we had to come home. The staff we brill, the site was lovely, and on some days we had the outside pool to ourselves, we had entertainment every night, and the weather was fantastic, we feel as though we have had a very relaxing holiday, and I would recommend coming to Landguard camping,on the Isle of Wight to anyone, its a beautiful place.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Shanklin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3929 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019