Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Landguard Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Shanklin > Landguard Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Landguard Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Landguard Manor Rd
Shanklin
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO37 7PH
Tel: 0843 309 2591
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 67
Open: 22nd March - 4th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 42 Reviews
                6/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Mirabelle 36 reviews from this member

Not great I'm afraid. Caravans are very close together, so close we could hear our neighbours cough and their tv/music. We paid for an upgrade but unit very basic, not that comfortable and such a small fridge we couldn't even chill our cold drinks and had to have warm lemonade. We had to ask to be swapped as first van was dark and dingy and smelt horrible. Car park a nightmare, no views. Not to mention whole site feels tired and club house is dire. Cheap and cheerful but not for us

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pmc03 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Languard. After reading reviews I was worried about our decision to 'risk' booking the site. However I was pleasantly surprised as the site although dated was relatively clean (considering the volume of people) and the staff very helpful.

The toilet blocks where basic and at times dirty (due to some people abusing the facilities) but we saw them cleaned everyday and on the whole they served their purpose perfectly well. The site is a little dated but again is fully functional and pitch sizes generally large but again sometimes this is abused by people spreading their camp set up to create personal spaces which encroach on others. We did see some people really taking advantage meaning others had to squeeze in. If everyone stuck to the rules the site would work even better.

The location is great and is a short 20 min drive from fishbourne. It's an easy drive so not difficult to access with the caravan in tow. Also great for visiting sites on the island.

The pools where great and clean with friendly staff. The club house again a little dated but great entertainment for our 2 (3 & 4 years of age).

We liked it so much we took advantage of a special offer to rebook next year at a price match! Just £102 for 5 nights. Cannot beat the value for money.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrskeating 17 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to IOW, and we stayed at the sister site Lower Hyde last year as Landguard site closed early and park resort transferred us to Lower Hyde.

We had a fab time at Lower Hyde but still fancied the quieter site Landguard and so booked to stay on there this year.

The campsite was very busy when we arrived as it was bank holiday weekend, but we were able to choose our own pitch from several which were left. We did take a lions share of room as our tent is quite large and has an extension on the side for the 2 teenager girls we had with us.

IOW is a fantastic holiday destination and Shanklin in particular is beautiful, quiet and has lots to offer.

Languard site is smaller than Lower Hyde, but the swimming pools are bigger and cleaner than Lower Hyde, we swam at least once a day, sometimes twice.

The campsite facilities were on occasion dirty and messy, but this was in general due to campers with children letting them play in and around them, often leaving them littered with leaves, fir cones and general litter and dirt.

The Park Resort team were losing a battle at keeping them clean and I feel that was due to irresponsible parents. We also witnessed other campers letting small children walk their dogs around the camping field and fouling without picking up which resulted in issues for all, again failure on parents part. Such a shame as the campsite is a woody, peaceful site and was on occasion spoilt by others.

All in all we had a fab 12 days at this site, and no camp site can take responsibility for families who had no respect for their surroundings or others, we would stay again though and hope that the showers get updated in the near future.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Elenas2004 4 reviews from this member

Our first impression was of a clean site however the pitches were on the small side and we did feel crammed in, particularly when it got full over the bank hi day weekend For the scooter rally which seemed to attract a lot of enthusiasts to the site.

The toilets were basic and dated but they were functional.

The site has a lot of facilities you would expect from a big commercial park, the pool was lovely, the club house nice, there were also outdoor cinema nights, Greese was shown whilst we were there.

I probably wouldn't return, mainly because I didn't feel that we got enough space to not feel hemmed in.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alison hinkley 1 review from this member

The Isle of Wight was lovely, site was in a good location, close to Morrisons, co-op, beach and pub. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

The shower block/toilets were very dirty which let it down so much. You feel like you need to keep your shoes on whilst showering. The showers were temperamental. Just needs updating but reading the reviews even from 2011 it was said then but noone seems to be listening.

The pitches were close together all round, very noisy.

The pool both inside and out were lovely and clean and my daughter really enjoyed it.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Fife-bloke 12 reviews from this member

Isle of Wight is a stunning island with some amazing places to visit. I personally would say just avoid landguard when you do visit.

Statics are dated to say the least and are sited too close together in my opinion, so much so you can hear your neighbours talking when the windows are open.

Also on arrival our static had several defects which while rectified quickly, still put a dampener on our first day, first impressions etc.

The main car park is an unmitigated disaster, spaces are too small and on three separate occasions, the one way system was blocked by cars too long for the spaces or on one occasion just abandoned by an inconsiderate owner, meaning I has to reverse all the way back the wrong way round the one way system, as did some other people.

However in fairness the staff seemed polite and professional.

Then to cap it all, park resorts managed to totally muck up our return ferry booking, meaning as opposed to the time we wanted, we then had to be on the boat at 9. 30 which we didn't really want, but that's life I suppose.

We will come back to this gorgeous island for sure, however we will NOT be staying at landguard or any other park resorts site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: McConachies 4 reviews from this member

Quite a mixed verdict of this campsite. We've stayed with Park Resorts before but found this to be very outdated on the whole. Don't know if this is to do with it being in the IOW, but feel there was room for improvements. The reception staff were lovely and helpful, very flexible letting you pitch where you wanted. They did inform us that one of the shower blocks had NO hot water, to go to the other.

The toilets/showers/washing area was not good. Showers were very temperamental and we had to walk a way to use the laundry facilities.

We were able to use the facilities on the next campsite as it was another Park resort which helped.

If it wasn't for the beautiful swimming pools and the sun was shining it helped our holiday at Landguard. The entertainment at night was hit n miss. We didn't go to the children's facilities scheduled during the day so we cannot comment on them.

The IOW is a beautiful place, with lots to do close by to wherever you stay. I was a little disappointed with Landguard.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mclouis 3 reviews from this member

Picked this site for it's location on the Island, which was an ideal base for visiting many of the attractions available.

We have a twin axle tourer and called in advance to check the site was suitable, and booked a hardstanding electric pitch. Access to this site is via a single track road, with one passing place, our holiday started meeting a car which wouldn't reverse! Although with arrival and departure times not adhered to because of ferry crossings I can image this can be quite hectic.

When we made it to reception, there was no stopping places, so we stopped, blocking the road, to find out which pitch to go to, we were told to choose a pitch and report back. We chose pitch 147, the only hardstanding available and backed the caravan on, it was tight and the roads are very narrow. Our caravan covered the hardstanding completely, so if your tourer is over 23ft don't pay the extra for a hardstand.

We found the park to be generally run-down, and unkept. The rubbish bins were overflowing and all the units seemed very close together, within a few steps of our awning was a windbreaker marking off the motorhome pitch next door, we felt we had no space.

The shower blocks were extremely old and not reasonably clean, the floor was muddy. Staff on site tried to keep them up together but they are worn out, with no entrance doors and tiles missing. The water was hot, and pressure good although you had to keep pushing the button.

After two nights staying, we moved to an alternative site, units pitch at this park at all hours of the night and listening to an awning being put up at 2:30am was not for us. They really need a late night arrival area.

Overall great location, but site needs better access, pitching, and toilet/shower block.

Will return to the Island next year but not this site. Recommend Robin Hill, and the electric woods are fantastic, our children loved Seaview Wildlife encounter.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Thekilpins 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at Landguard again as the site is within easy reach of the beach.

The site is quite basic and is one of Park Resorts smaller locations, which means it doesn't get any money spent of it (same faults year after year).

Cleaning of units is rushed and more attention is needed, but first thing we usually do is wash everything we are likely to use and put it to one side!

The car park is not big enough for the number of units on site, and you can not park by your van, which is nice as its quieter and safer for children to play.

The entertainment is ok, Bingo rules most of the time, and the schedule is non-existant, would be better if they published times for things asi don't want to be sat in the clubhouse at 9:30 waiting for the children's games to finish before the adult acts begin.

Children love the sites mascots and the staff know how to get the kids involved.

Great location to explore the Isle of Wight from!

We have requested certain plots before and these have always bee honoured, have always paid at least 50% less than advertised and will continue returning until its too expensive! Looking at sites in France, and many are less per week in August than uk locations (not just Park Resorts locations)

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carlosthecaravan 6 reviews from this member

We camped in our touring caravan at Landguard for the first fortnight of the summer hols (they also have an extensive site of statics and lodges). We paid mostly using Tesco reward vouchers, making it very affordable for a 2 week, high season family holiday. Bearing in mind this is a Park Resorts location, you have to recognise that it is marketed in a certain way & run to a formula. If that formula doesn't happen to suit you then maybe you should be looking elsewhere. Having said that, Landguard was a private site up until a few years ago so also has a 'pre-park-resorts' legacy which marginally takes the edge off the naff-ness of some of that!

All in all, we really enjoyed our week, felt it was good value, and are likely to go back. We have had friends who stayed in the lodges / log cabins - also had a fantastic time and couldn't fault it.

Positives - for camping the pitches were well spaced (more space than other Park resorts sites we have used) and with sufficient hedging, trees etc to give shade, some privacy & a pleasant atmosphere, and the site was well maintained (tidy, grass cut, bins emptied etc)

The touring wardens were very helpful & hardworking (constantly seeing them litter picking) and responded to reports of showers not working etc

The camping field felt very safe for the kids that week, and they made loads of friends and learnt to ride their bikes on their own on the tarmacked roadways

It was about a 20min walk to the beach and a 10 min walk to Lidl's (which was actually excellent), 15 mins to a large Co-op. You could probably walk to the Morrisson's as well - about 5 mins by car.

The entertainment on site isn't much of a draw for us, but you could use the larger Entertainment complex at the neighbouring site at Lower Hyde if you like that sort of thing.

The site had a nice indoor pool which was bath-water hot, and an outside pool in need of some TLC

Negatives - for touring - the shower/ toilet blocks need a major refurb - they were a bit grim, also needed more regular and thorough cleaning

For touring - the roadway down to the site is narrow & you wouldn't be able to pass 2 caravans by each other (I guess hence rule about departures by 10am and arrivals after 2pm)

Also trees on the touring field were close to the roadways making manouvering caravans when pitches were full a bit more awkward.

The entertainment is fairly naff (but not our sort of thing, anyway) and bar prices are shocking (£4. 50 for pint of Magners).

Food at the cafe/ restaurant is edible and cheap but not nice - seek out a decent pub & enjoy a view at the same time!

The pool was a bit murky, the changing rooms were tiny and I wasn't that impressed with the lifeguards - didn't seem too interested in stopping physical horseplay between adults & big kids happening in the shallow / baby end.

- Summary - we have been to the I of W about 6 times now and WILL go again. If our budget means that we have to book using Tesco clubcard vouchers again, then we will return to camp at Landguard. Otherwise I have to say that we have grown out of Park resorts and will probably look for a privately run site with no 'entertainment programme' and spend the week enjoying what the ISLAND actually has to offer, rather than what Park Resorts seem to think people are into.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3594 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019