Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wallace Lane Farm Glamping And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Caldbeck > Wallace Lane Farm Glamping And Camping Reviews

Wallace Lane Farm Glamping And Camping
Brocklebank
Caldbeck
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 8DL
Tel: 01697 478188
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 caravans 7 tents 3 cabins
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoMarch 6 reviews from this member

 I'm a bit reluctant to give this site the glowing review it deserves, I want to keep it a secret! Fabulous setting on a hill overlooking Solway Firth, on a clear day you can see Scotland. The pitches are slightly sloping but not too much. The grass is neat and each pitch has it's own EHU point and tap. At the bottom of the field is a block containing 2 toilets and 2 showers, ok it's not many but they were spotless and the showers were the most powerful I've ever used. There were occasional queues but only for a few minutes and the site was full. Also in the same block is the washing machine and drier which we didn't use, and 2 outdoor pot washing sinks. There were meals available from the farmhouse, delivered to your tent but I can't comment on the quality because we didn't have them. It was quiet at night, I can't tell you what the owners do about noisy groups because there were none.

The site is a great base for exploring the area, Keswick, Penrith and Carlise are less than an hour away by car and you can be across the boarder into Scotland in half an hour. Lots of walking, climbing and cycling routes nearby.

All in all, a fantastic, quiet site. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gbunting 1 review from this member

 A really enjoyable stay on a 'get-away-from-it-all' site. Very welcoming greeting on arrival and given a choice of places to pitch. Toilet/washing/showering facilities were some of the best we have seen (we been camping for nearly 30 years). Caldbeck is a lovely village and we had great food at The Oddfellows pub. Mae's tea room at Uldale is also worth looking out. We didn't try the cooked breakfasts available on site but great to have that service available. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hoggie66 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this little gem of a site for 3 nights, mon - thurs, and loved it. We arrived in the pouring rain but we were left to sort our tent etc by the owners and there was no hurry from them, as at this site to pay when you actually arrive, Janet and John are a lovely couple and the area is stunning.

You are inbetween WIGTON and CALDBECK, which we visited both and 20 -30 mins into CARLISLE, which is great. They have a lovely shower/washing cabin, which is kept very clean and piping hot water, there are only 2 toilets and 2 showers but that made no difference to us, they were great. They site is immaculate and very well maintained, I have not got a bad thing to say about wallace farm except, I will definitely be telling everyone about it and will be staying again. 10/10 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Normski19 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping adventure with our new Outwell Nevada M Tent, for two adults and because of the locality to the lake district, we had a choice of two campsites, Wallace Lane Farm & Mains Farm.

Because of the Mains Farm high season price of 25 per night for a tent pitch with EHU, we thought that was a bit too expensive, so we opted for Wallace Lane Farm for 28 for two nights stay. I can honestly say, thank god we did the right thing.

This campsite is amazing. When we arrived, we were met with Janet, the owner. She made us feel very welcome indeed. She then showed us where to pitch our tent, and had a good choice to choose from, all with EHU & Water point.

The site has a 1st class toilet/shower block with everything you could ask for, absolutely spotless, and no faults to be found. The block also has a washing machine/drier facility but we did not use that. It did say wi-fi available but we couldn't get on it, but that didn't bother us one bit. This site has views to die for. You could see the Solway Firth in the distance. There's plenty of natures sounds to let you know where your at too. A few miles either way you have Caldbeck, & Wigton. We preferred Calbeck, a very picturesque village, with a pub. And the the lovely drive to Lake Bassenthwaite, & then Keswick.

I may have missed something out, but the reviews of 10/10 for this beautiful site, is exactly what it says on the tin !

Well done for an amazing site, we will definitely be back without a shadow of doubt. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MartinAndNessa 2 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site offering peace and quiet (excepting the birds and animals) and spectacular scenery, just what we wanted. The pitches are very gently sloping and come with EHU (if needed) and individual water tap, saving the need to go for a walk to fill the kettle. Two toilets and two (incredibly powerful) showers at the bottom of the field, which were kept immaculately during our stay.

No other facilities in the immediate location, although shops a couple of miles away in Wigton (including Lidl) with bigger supermarkets in Carlisle, approximately 20 minutes away. We found a cracking butcher in Cockermouth, which was a lovely little town, without the hustle and bustle the main Lake District has. That said, Keswick is about half hour away so if that's what you want this would make a perfect base.

We were lucky with the weather and spent a lot of time on site, simply relaxing and enjoying the countryside. The owners have clearly spent a lot of time and trouble making their site just so, in fact the only possible snag I found was the mirror above the sink could have done with being a couple of inches higher (for shaving). Given the incredible value for money I can certainly live with that.

We spoke with a lady who was staying in the cottage and she had nothing but praise to give. Additionally, a couple of cabins are almost ready at the top of the field, offering a slightly upmarket experience to our tent. They have a wood burner and are superbly appointed.

Great friendly owners with plenty of interesting information about the surrounding area and what to do, should inspiration be needed. There were a few younger kiddies staying whilst we were there and all seemed to be well occupied with nature.

If you want away from it all then I suspect this is as good as it gets. Wonderful site with all Cumbria has to offer on the doorstep. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bondy1966 1 review from this member

 We recently stayed at this campsite and found it to be quite a hidden gem. When we phoned to book the owners were extremely helpful and upon arrival were shown to the spot. It was picturesque and the facilities were spotless. The site only takes a few tourers and was so peaceful it was wonderful. We took our dogs and there were no problems they were welcome. The showers are the nicest I've ever been in on any site. We will definitely return soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stalkydog 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for four nights with family who were travelling in another motorhome. It is hard to fault this site.

It stands towards the top of a hill and offers excellent views over the Solway firth. The hard standings were level and had individual water taps. The electric hook up sockets were in pairs and within easy reach of each hard standing

The facilities are all excellent, and well maintained.

A great site, I would happily recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dreamline 3 reviews from this member

 My wife and I have just returned from a three night stay, a great find and will be definitely back. The facilities are probably the best we have had on a site of this standard and offered fabulous value, the views are stunning over the Solway firth into Scotland. The only comment (only due to our appalling weather)is the hard stand could be a little wider so you are not walking over the sodden grass, apart from that its 10 out of 10 a gem of a find. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thomclan 2 reviews from this member

 Great site views lovely, toilets clean, but hard standing sites very narrow. Poor drainage so no space to walk out without being muddy. No place for awning. Hardstanding needs to be extended plenty space to do this. This would enhance a lovely site. No wifi as advertised either needs sorted or taken off service provided, but all said would return again. Hope the criticism is helpful. Would recommend the place to anyone, thanks for a lovely stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gypsy75 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, even though a little off the beaten track, but that's what we were looking for. Lake District (lakes and towns / villages) easily accessible from site.

Good facilities on site, new toilet block is lush. Owners fantastic, very friendly and even helped jump start the car when the battery went!

Lots of wildlife to see (and hear). Site gently sloping but level at the top of the field. Plenty of electric hookups.

Just the ticket if you want a relaxing time, away from the hustle and bustle. Perfect location to explore the delights of the lakes.

Fantastic views over the Solway Firth and Dumphries & Galloway. Close to Fells.

Thanks to the for getting us back on the road 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wallace Lane Farm Glamping And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wallace Lane Farm Glamping And Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wallace Lane Farm Glamping And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Caldbeck      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


601 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement