Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wallace Lane Farm Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Wallace Lane Farm Certificated Site
Brocklebank
Caldbeck
Wigton
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 8DL
Tel: 01697 478188
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 caravans 7 tents 3 cabins
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 29 Reviews
                10/10 from 29 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona f 2 reviews from this member

Stayed in cabin, very clean & comfortable

Toilets/showers heated, good supply of hot water, again, spotless

Lovely views

Plenty of room for the dog on/off lead

Very chatty & helpful owners

Good information available regarding the area

Ate at the Old Crown Inn in Heston Newmarket; wonderful food & great service

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Frostyfamily 1 review from this member

Little gem of a campsite. Great location and lovely environment for a young child - felt very safe and just overall settled in quickly. Facilities were very clean and in good condition. A quiet haven if you are looking to escape it all. Already planning a return.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Jamanda 6 reviews from this member

We stayed in the lovely Treehouse cabin, which has two bedrooms, one with a comfortable double bed and one with bunks. A tiny, but very clean bathroom with a good hot shower. Good cooking facilities, comfortable sofas and usb charging points at every turn (useful for plugging in teenagers). We used the hot tub in the evening under the stars which was nice (we turned the bubbles off so we could hear the owls and the brook). Lots of birds in the apple trees right outside, Clydesdale horses in the field next door. Good walks straight from the site (the nearby gorge at Caldbeck is wonderful). Nice pub (Oddfellows Arms) also in Caldbeck does good meals - enormous portion so order widely. Friendly, helpful people. We will be back.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Seanfdh 12 reviews from this member

We stayed in their Treehouse Cabin rather than properly camping ourselves but took the opportunity for a good nose around. Our son went and used the showers in the camping field as they were roomier than the bathroom in our cabin. The cabin was warm, well-equipped, reasonably spacious and had excellent beds. We only lit the log burner once as it wasn't cold enough to need it. We were able to lie out in the hot tub gazing at the moon and had a firepit in the small private garden area one evening. Would certainly return, probably camping if at a warmer time of year.

Don't really have anything to add to the other supportive reviews of this site.

The portions of food in The Oddfellows Arms in Caldbeck are enormous. We were all defeated even after building up an appetite by walking there.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 22114 11 reviews from this member

Campsite itself 5/6 hard standing pitches, plus room for tents set in the field adjacent to farmhouse.

Facilities are a modern wooden building with 2 showers and 2 toilets, with dishwashing sinks outside. There is also another 2 toilets and sinks at the top of the field.

You can walk to the village of Caldbeck, either over the fields, or along the country lane (not very busy), about 3 miles. Has a pub, village shop and a few other shops. Going the other way you have the town of Wigton (about 5 miles), you have pubs, shops etc.

Overall a great site and a good find, would definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JoMarch 6 reviews from this member

Our 3rd visit here and it won't be our last. The site is peaceful and beautifully located. The views are amazing. Pitches are well mown and well drained with EHU and a tap close by. The toilet block is clean and the showers are really powerful. There's plenty of hot water for pot washing and a washing machine and dryer on site if you need them. Lots to do close by, walking, climbing, exploring, eating and drinking, it's the Lake District!.

We ate at the Oddfellows arms which I wouldn't recommend, the food is ok but the service is appalling. It shouldn't take 30 minutes to serve ice cream to children.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charlyj75 1 review from this member

We have all. Just been and stayed here (9of us) for a 3 night Easter break and for most it was there first time camping, we found that the toilet/showers facilities where fantastic, especially the spa like showers. There was Ample room for our tents and vehicles, we enjoyed the very long walk to Wigton town for a pub lunch which wasn't available, but the kids wasn't for walking home, there was no taxi service available neither, weather was very good most of the time, we would definitely return again, The proprietors where really friendly and welcoming, especially when we needed information and a helping hand with towing our van out of the field which was soggy as when we arrived. But on the whole a fantastic site. With amazing views, really chilled n relaxed, . We all really enjoyed the whole adventure and hope to return again in the near future

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Milomc72 15 reviews from this member

February isnt the best time to go camping it has to be said, having that in mind we did appreciate the following good points.

Fantastic toilet block. Very easy to get to the site from the M6. It is very peaceful.

However, the pitches weren't very big, it is out on a limb and in february the area is very bleak. The free wifi was not great which when you have two teens is very important!

With two teens we found this site to be very basic however I am sure in summer it might be a little different.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Taffymotorhome 29 reviews from this member

What a lovely site this is, the views over the Solway Firth are breathtaking ( On a clear day ). My wife had a bad migraine on the last day of our stay so we stayed on an extra day. I walked into Caldbeck to stock up on provisions ( Couldn't use the van, as she was asleep ill ). Blimey what a trek that was ( 4 miles approx ). In the village shop I asked Martin if there was a taxi or bus back to the farm. After he stopped laughing, he said I have just missed the bus, by 20 mins, the next one will be in one week. Knowing I faced a long walk back with extra shopping bags, he offered to drop me off, . What a decent man and a life saver as well. We went back the next day a bought a lot more shopping, but it was worth it. You must try their ice creams. 1. 50 For TWO scoops, the best I have tasted in years.

On the camp site, we found the showers and toilet block spotless, but our only bad word was they were mixed, which is not to every ones taste. Good job there were only two other vans on site.

Janet & John made us feel welcome from the off, and were a good laugh, ( someone should write a book about them, . Oh they already had, I remember reading them at school. :-).

Would we recommend this site, . ?. Yes we would, but not sure in high season. As the block is not huge. So that is why I have marked them down on facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pedrorfc87 3 reviews from this member

Just back from 4 night stay at this site in good location just outside of lake district national park. Would definitely return here in the future. Good facility's that were kept clean at all times. Warm welcome when we arrived and site was very family friendly. Great views of the solway firth.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3150 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938