Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Derwent Park Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Derwent Park Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Derwent Park Caravan And Camping Site
Rowlands Gill
Gateshead
Tyne and Wear   (Browse area)
NE39 1LG
Tel: 01207 543383
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hutchinsonfamily 5 reviews from this member

 It was our first time at this site and was an excellent choice for our family. It is a small site with a mixture of statics, tourers and tents. On arrival site wardens were very helpful and helped to pitch the caravan.

We have 3 young children and with 2 parks and mini crazy golf it had plenty to keep them entertained, also next to site is basket ball and tennis courts.

The positioning of the site is lovely, next to gibside hall. Excellent for walking the dog by the river derwent and spot of fishing. There is also a big picnic field.

Up the hill from the site we were told was a nice chip shop and social club with a spar down the road and on site is a small shop selling snacks, ice cream.

The criticisms we had were of the shower block, it was clean but very tired and dated, also we found clean and waste water taps where not signed when filling water bottles. Pitches are a little cramped when the site is full.

We had an enjoyable stay and would definitely come again.  


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 683 reviews from this member

 We used this for a one night stopover.

Reception staff friendly and helpful - the reception office is slightly outside the site amongst the play park areas.

As before 10 for key for the barrier - however you can just walk in and out through the side gate without a key so the barrier keeps vehicles in / out only.

The site is clean and tidy but has the feel of a former corporation site. The pitches are mainly taken by seasonals and would guess quite a few people live here full time. The toilets / showers were ok and soap and hand towels were supplied.

On the rules not sure they caused any concerns - rightly they are asking for everyone to take care of the site - with so many play areas, fields within 1 minute walk then its fair to ask for children not to play on site.

The site is just off a fairly main road with housing so there is some traffic noise. The playing fields / recreation area is obviously popular with locals as there was a constant stream of cars to the car park next to the site.

Not our cup of tea and we wouldn't use again but to be fair we are all different and others may find this site to their liking. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LoremIpsum 6 reviews from this member

 Our visit was inspired by the rave reviews this place has received and by our requirement to have a convenient base for visiting Vindolanda and so on.

I confess to being puzzled as to why the site is so popular. The overwhelming impression is of a site trying to make a financial killing because of its location adjacent to Derwent Park, with its various facilities for the entertainment of small humans.

The site itself is a mass of prohibition notices: Nobody under 18 on the site unless accompanied by an adult; nobody under 14 in the toilets without an adult; no cycling; no ball games (this rule makes sense, since the site is so tightly packed it would be impossible to kick a ball in a straight line without it hitting one caravan and you stubbing your toe on the next).

The layout of the pitches has been devised to cram as many units into the area as possible. It is not the usual layout of road, grass and line of vans; it is almost a work of geometrical genius. This means that there is very little room for swinging a cat, let alone parking a car.

If you're going to the loo, take your own paper. The stuff supplied is the flimsiest, cheapest rubbish I've ever come across on a site. Oh, and take your own soap, since none is provided. And a towel, because the hand-dryer doesn't work.

Grossly over-priced for what it is - charging Lake District prices for a very cramped site with the most basic of facilities. As I said at the beginning, the overwhelming sense is of a site cashing in on its proximity to the park next door. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Connor 28 1 review from this member

 stayed at this site for three nights, it was the royal wedding weekend. We were greeted by the owners, they were very helpful and very friendly. Ivan sorted my caravan on the pitch, nothing was to much trouble and we got a very warm welcome form the people on the site with a party had a fab time. There is a play park. and crazy golf. There is a stream and a fish and chip shop at the top of the hill next to a c.I.U/ club. The toilets and shower blocks were spotless. I could not fault this site, planning to got back very soon; thanks again 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Liamd 2 reviews from this member

 Great camp site, everything that you would need, clean and hot showers, washing machine and tumble dryer. Washing up area, chem toilet emptying area. Mains hook up and level concrete base to park on. Security gates and real nice managers who go that extra mile. Ideal place to catch a bus into Newcastle or to the metro centre (20 min bus travel ). At the top of the hill there is a chip shop and a working mans club which I believe any one on camp can use. There is a hill that you have to walk up but it is not to bad and to the rear of the site when we where there they had two donkeys in a grassed area. It is a good price and well worth a visit ,me and er indoors loved it and will be going back.( I can not comment to much on the kids area as we did not have any with us but from what I saw they looked ok and had something for most ages). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hoylek 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site after a 4 night stay for the weekend of the Great North Run.

The Location is very pretty, set in a park location. There weren't too many outfits crammed onto the site, which is unusual for the GN Run weekend.

We were met at the secure gate by Frank who showed us to our pitch, you need to have a 10 deposit for the zapper and toilet key but this is given back when you hand your key in at the end of your stay. Frank very friendly and helpful.

Although a few miles from Newcastle it is an ideal location as there are plenty of bus routes and even a taxi on site! It was an 8 seater taxi and cost 20.00 for the trip to Newcastle, we were dropped off just before the start line of the GN Run, which was excellent.

There was plenty of room on the pitches, as it had rained, we were asked to park 'sideways' on the pitch to ensure our awning was onto the concrete base. We did this and found we still had room on the concrete to park the car.

There is a very large carpark available just outside the secure gates for guests, or to park your own car if you want more space.

If I had to have a criticism about anything on the site, it would be the shower/toilets, they are kept clean but are a little 'tired' Other than that we had a great stay at this lovely well run site.

We will return again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Cheekilee 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a test of our first trailer tent - couldn't have picked a better campsite to try it - from the first moment we got there and I got myself stuck in the ample car park (how do you reverse a trailer tent?) 'ivan the terrible' or that's what he told me his name was came to our rescue and from then on helped us all through out our stay.

Toilets clean and tidy - security key for private gates - kids will love it as there is at least 2 play areas with sand and water a shop etc - bonus for us with 2 young children aged 6 and 3 is that the rule of 11pm quiet is observed

Also there is a spar 10 mins away - take away and even a ciu club - lovely walks by the river - only slight downside was the river was dirty near the bridge - but that is not the fault of the caravan park - derwent council take note! Will definitely go back 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dh8david 8 reviews from this member

 Great site close to home.

Warden a really friendly guy who will help you with anything. The site has a mixture of statics and tourers, some tourers are seasonal.

Showers a little dated but always clean. Great park for the kids next door to the site and a public car park. The good thing is the site always looks locked and secure even though its right next to a public playground, The play park is locked off late at night and there are council wardens patrolling the park area to make sure there is no trouble.

In Rowlnds Gill is a small tesco, but a few miles away is the Metro Centre for all your shopping needs.

The site is great for seeing Red Kites, The birds of prey. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ashfp 1 review from this member

 The camp was very well secured, you received a key fob for entering the gate and a key for the toilet / shower blocks. The camping spot had mixed tents and caravans and also had pick nick benches dotted around and a paver to put BBQ's.

The shower blocks were very clean / tidy, there were 2 normal showers and a disabled shower, and the same for toilets and about 6 sink basins and a urinal for the mens (not sure what facilities the women's had, but didn't hear any complaints!). There was also a washer / dryer that could be used (didn't look closely, just looked like the one there, that was operated using coins)

There was an on store shop / cafe (basic sandwiches available) / reception on site. Then at the top of the site there was a fish and chip shop and a bookies. A ten minute stroll up the road there was a post office, off license, sandwich shop, tesco, Lloyds TSB, and few other small shops.

Right next to the site there was a lovely walk leading up to a national heritage kept grounds that contained monuments and historic buildings etc.

All in All a great little park, would recommend.

The cost was 12.50 a night for our tent (which was a 4 man, but just two of us in). 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AlanHardware 17 reviews from this member

 Easy to access site, close to the A1 and major shopping centres. Ideal for Tynemouth which is 20 minutes away and why we went to the site. 16amp hook up. Lots of hot water available in older,

Well cared for, roomy enough shower rooms. Good TV reception if you want it. Nice owners. Reasonably level pitch, no blocks needed and enough room for larger units with an awning.

Other reviews cover local facilities and child friendliness. This site is barbecue friendly, quiet by 11pm. Small shop on site for snacks and ice cream. Possibly a little overpriced compared to the three others I have been to this month but then it is very near major cities. 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Derwent Park Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Derwent Park Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Derwent Park Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gateshead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Tyne and Wear

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4598 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement