Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Derwent Park Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Derwent Park Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Derwent Park Caravan And Camping Site
Rowlands Gill
Gateshead
Tyne and Wear   (Browse area)
NE39 1LG
Tel: 01207 543383
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 25
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sid8 Camping 2 reviews from this member

Great location and could be a great camp site but severely let down by service levels and apathetic staff.

Arrived mid afternoon, Reception building shut and no indication of when anyone might return. Can't access the site because of security barrier. Rang the phone number and left a message. Tried the mobile number - 'This number is not accepting calls at this time. Press 1 to leave a text message'.

We were waiting in the car park to access the site for over an hour before a young man appeared to enter the reception building. Went to find him and he was on the phone and would be back to me in a minute. Ended up talking to him in his kitchen. Had no record of my booking and looked surprised that we wanted a space. Initial impressions were we'd be going elsewhere. After checking he said we could take a pitch for the 2 nights we wanted and he took our money. No receipt or paperwork and had to pay a deposit for the barrier and toilet keys.

It's a small site, mixed between statics, seasonal vans and tourers. Park is well kept and very private, located next to a public park by the river. Notice board has the site rules which seemed to suggest children weren't allowed on site which was contrary to the large number of them that were actually there. Bit odd.

Toilets are clean with ample loo paper but the showers are cramped and unsavoury looking. Facilities would benefit from a complete overhaul and refit. Water is very hot, ideal for washing up in the dedicated area.

Since it's a small site, it is quiet and reasonably distant from road noise. Location wise, it's difficult to beat. Right next door to NT Gibside, 20 minutes from Beamish and just down the road is the C2C cycle path.

It wouldn't take much to elevate this to Premier Park level. Completely refurbish the facilities block and have a manned reception. The local shops are within easy walking distance and there's lots of dog walking potential in the immediate area.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fatbird 9 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site run by a father and son who were so friendly, welcoming and helpful. We stayed here as we were visiting Beamish Museum. If you have small children it is perfect as there is a really nice park with a fantastic play area with a huge variety of play equipment. We walked to a great dog friendly pub called The Red Kite and got the bus back which stops right outside the site. We then got fish and chips from Maguires Fish Bar at the top of the hill which was delicious. We will definitely use this site again if we visit Beamish again.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 3Scotties 9 reviews from this member

This is a handy site for those calling at TVMH or NEMHR to drop off their vans as it is open all year round and feels secure with the park managers situated just outside the gate, cctv in operation. It was snowing with some roads in the area quite difficult to pass yesterday, however access to this site was not an issue, via good road from the A1. The site is situated in a hollow down at river level so peaceful. Unless the public areas are busy.

You are made very welcomed and shown to the available pitches by the manager. The hard standing pitches are quite narrow to access without going over the grass. At this time of year, the grass was soft and muddy.

This was our first time visiting at the site, we had visited it previously on a busy Sunny day a few years ago and the play park and recreation areas plus public Carpark was really busy with members of the public, which put us off considering this site on that visits. We found a quiet farm site instead.

On this occasion, it fitted the bill, met expectations and it was very quiet. The Wx was very wet, snow at higher levels. Just past Easter!

This is a beautiful part of the country. The site is situated in a valley and ideally situated for touring the area or accessing the various paths for walks and cycling.

Whilst he park was well maintained, I agree with others the toilet/shower block could probably do with a facelift, but it was clean and serviceable with hand soap and hand drier provided. There was ample hot water on demand to the basins and showers. The washing up area was outside under cover and clean.

The advantage of this site is that it has easy access and in a village with a Tesco, Chinese takeaway, fish and chip shop, Italian restaurant, pub and 2 ATM's within a short distance.

The park rules are common sense and common courtesy to other site users, perhaps established when full with lots of families where parents were not supervising their kids. This is no different to other sites, the sites we usually visit are usually quieter or less busy, through choice.

Would I use this site again, YES, but perhaps not during busy school holidays as we have found quieter locations nearby, further up and down and up and down th glens, which suit us better if we are staying a few days.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gaga1 1 review from this member

Excellent site, very well looked after. Our granddaughter loved the park, and the ice creams! Friendly staff to greet us, Kevin met us and showed us our pitch, he was very helpful. We will return, thank you.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Toontino 2 reviews from this member

Great little site with excellent staff and great facilities.

The lovely Joan checked us in and gave all the information we needed to start a few days break with the grand kids 1, 6 and a 7 yr old

Kevin directed us to our motorhome pitch and again he is a lovely fella who goes out of his way to help.

The motorhome pitches are hard standing and are well looked after so no worries there.

The toilet blocks although dated are kept very clean and have a good supply of hot water, in fact all of the facilities are obviously well taken care of and all worked as they should.

There are a few rules in place but this helps to keep the sight user friendly for a peaceful holiday(no banging music and late night rowdiness)

There are a couple of parks just outside the sight gates and our kids absolutely loved it sand, swings, slides and water great fun had by all.

The sight has a little cafe/shop which comes in very handy even though just up the hill is a small village with a good selection of shops Tesco, Londis etc a chippy(top of the hill) and also a couple of restaurants along with a social club.

This is a nice quiet sight in a great location with excellent staff and all at a good price. Many thanks see you again soon

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Happy Hobos 14 reviews from this member

I'm not sure that I'm on the same Derwent Park as the previous reviews as I found that at £25 a night this site did not meet my expectations. The pitch that we were allocated was that close to the caravan at the side of us it was impossible for them to hitch up without manually pushing their caravan to an angle. The pitch itself was so uneven that even with full air-suspension we could not get level! The showers were not clean and the shower curtain in the gents was covered in black mould. The water pressure was non existent and an air of seediness permeated the whole camp-site.

The only positives I could find were that there was a good bus service to Gateshead/Newcastle outside the site and the Red Kites were a pleasure to watch.

This site is not worth £25 per night.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisd47 1 review from this member

This was our first time in the area. Despite being close to the A1, Gateshead and Newcastle it is a beautiful part of the country. The site is situated in a valley and ideally situated for touring the area. It is small, quiet and peaceful. It is well maintained and yes the toilet/shower block could probably do with a facelift but it is spotlessly clean with soap and hand drier. The hot water both to the basins and showers was always hot and not timed or restricted. The washing up area was always spotlessly clean.

There is a Tesco, Chinese takeaway, fish and chip shop, Italian restaurant and pub within a short distance. We ate at the Red Kite pub and it was excellent. Yes there are rules but only common sense and common courtesy to other site users. We did not find them any different to other sites.

We had a 4 year old with us and there were several other children nearby but we did not find any restrictions and the playgrounds and large field next to the site was an added bonus. There is a small shop serving teas/coffees, hot and cold snacks and ice creams next to the site. We found everyone very helpful and friendly and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We stayed 6 nights and will certainly return. We found the site excellent value especially as site fees included electricity and showers. We have paid much more per night at other sites in the Midlands.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tarasmum 1 review from this member

Stayed for two nights last week at Derwent Park. We're welcomed by Kevin who directed us to the shop where Joan booked us in. Kevin and Alan directed us to our pitch. All the staff were really helpful and friendly. The pitch was brilliant, a concrete base, and the facilities were all nearby. Wildlife in abundance, wonderful. Watched from our motorhome door, red kites and goldfinches, what a treat. The facilities were all kept beautifully clean and the campsite was quiet. There is a bus service nearby which you can use for Newcastle or the Metrocentre. This site is a little gem.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mashley 1 review from this member

My wife and I visited Derwent for two nights as we were attending a wedding in Newcastle.

We found the site to be quiet, well manicured and the staff could not be more helpful or friendly. There are rules about dogs and children but we have neither so they didn't bother us. Whilst the facilities block could do with updating it functions perfectly well and was immaculately clean, no timers on the showers either, bonus, the washing up area was also clean and in good order.

Everyone has different requirements, for us, peace and quiet, a level pitch, electricity and good shower block with warm water were ours and they were met, the helpful and friendly staff were a bonus.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cheekydog 5 reviews from this member

We arrived late afternoon, nobody at reception so called the mobile number given to be told go to the barrier and call Al. It wasn't until we got to the barrier that we thought 'how do we call Al' So we sat in our van until a fellow camper walked by and we asked them. Fortunately they informed us where Al was, and we went to find him. Al showed us to our pitch and gave us a key to share for the toilet block. May I suggest a cordless doorbell for Al. The toilets were clean but had wooden seats which are a pet hate. The showers were small and the water pressure was a bit feeble although hot. My partner stated that there are large gaps at the bottom of the dividers between the shower stalls and as the shower trays are sunken, this may cause a lack of privacy. The whole appearance of the toilet/ shower block was a little rundown and tatty. If you are going to put fake flowers in a toilet block at least give then an occasional dust. There are some odd signs in the toilet which are a little disturbing, what has happened in the toilet facilities in the past? One sign tells me 'not to steal toilet paper' which I would never do and leaves me feelings insulted, but I'm sure that if you are the sort of person who steals things, a sign telling you not too will be ignored anyway. Get rid of these signs they are offensive to your good customers. There is a chinese takeaway and Italian restaurant to the top of the hill, bear left. We ate in the Italian and had a lovely meal at a very good price. This site is fine as a stopover but it is a little drab and needs modernising. Shabby without the chic. The best thing about this site turned out to be Al and his dog, who were charming and friendly.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Tyne and Wear

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2711 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019