Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Derwent Park Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Derwent Park Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Derwent Park Caravan And Camping Site
Rowlands Gill
Gateshead
Tyne and Wear   (Browse area)
NE39 1LG
Tel: 01207 543383
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gailk 18 reviews from this member

 The site is next to a lovely little park and handy for visiting Newcastle\Metrocentre with a good bus service.

We found the reception staff helpful, and Frank who shows you to your pitch is a font of knowledge. There is a good chippy and a CIU club at the top of the bank - the site have an arrangement with the club to allow campers in. We went there for a drink and it was friendly place with a good pint!

The toilet block was clean and there was a hot water whenever we tried. There was proper undercover dishwashing facilities and a laundry with magazines and books to borrow.

A couple of 'glitches' - the toilet block is on an automatic lighting timer which doesn't work if people are in the shower! Consequently unless someone else comes into the block when you're in there you shower half in the dark as the light goes out! The water pressure was poor and the showers not really big enough to get dressed without soaking yourself.

However, it's in a good location, ideal for a short stay and we would use it again. It's a bargain for tents as well - £10 a night. We visited the Italian restaurant a short walk away and it was excellent. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mick-Hind 2 reviews from this member

 After a short stay on this site, I feel I must add, this site is, well to be fair, brilliant.

Shower blocks and toilets are spotless, plenty of hot water for a shower, no matter what time of day. A local community playground is only a minute away on foot, with football fields and bowling, crazy golf too.

Plenty of local shops, Tesco, and a post office is only half a mile away, with only a short drive to some spectacular views and history.

I don't feel the need to criticise this site as it is one I will revisit without a second thought. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lorrainerobson316 1 review from this member

 Absolutely lovely site,very clean toilet & shower block, site & nearby park very well maintained. Owners extremely helpful and friendly as are the more permanent site users I met. Everything you need either on site or within 10 minute walk, Tesco, fishshop, booze shop, shop on site sells hot & cold sandwiches, ice creams etc kids were never away. We decided to stay an extra night we liked it that much and we will certainly be returning very soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Coalhog 12 reviews from this member

 Well we mostly stay on ccc sites but we had to get to Newcastle for our Daughters graduation so looked at all the sites and picked out Derwent.

What a gem of a site the showers where clean and tidy not ccc standard but nothing wrong. The site itself was kept very well indeed Frank was on hand to get us to our pitch and anything we wanted to know he was on hand . Well been only a short bus ride from the city which are now my fav' places I found myself at the side of the river. The site was sat in the middle of major cycle routes and loads of wildlife. From red kites to deer all sorts of things on offer then on the other side of the water is the N,T, area. Fish shop at the top of the hill, Tesco another five minutes on and the bus with seem to run every 20 mins goes past the metro centre before stopping in the city 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Youngish scots 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic time at this site. Toilets and showers were spotless, as was the surrounding park.

Although there were no shops in on the site the local ammenities were just a 5 min walk away including tescos, post office a fantastic chip shop, a booze shop and there was a social club at the top of the hill which camp users could get access too.

The people running the site were helpful and the more permanant users were very friendly.

The buses into newcastle itself were fairly regular going straight to town or the metro centre and giving its location a taxi back from newcastle at night was very reasonable.

This small site was also gay friendly.Something that is rare to come across.

Me and my partner will definatly be visiting derwent park again.

If you ever meet frank.Not sure what he does. He is always helpful and always has a smile for you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Red Rooster 1 review from this member

 We have visited this site about 4 times now because of its easy access from the South and the bus service to the Metro Centre and Newcastle City centre. Never had any problems booking and always found a decent pitch with the owners help. The facilities were good, not exactly CC club standard but all you need.

Despite the previous review we have taken 2 dogs on 3 occasions and never had a problem. The site is too small for walking dogs but no one minds if you do, however there is a huge park 100 yards outside the gate, (no busy roads to cross, just along the approach road to the site).

The dogs loved this place. One of our dogs was an escapee twice and all it managed to do was give everyone a laugh at us trying to catch him. One lady in a static did moan but when we told the site owner he wasn't fussed and told us not to worry about her. We found the owners to be polite and helpful, in fact it was the site owners nickname for my wife that has prompted our username. He gave her that nickname on our first visit and remembered us every year since. When family visit us, the park has a huge car park just outside the site gate. We wouldn't look for any other site when going to Newcastle. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Banjoman_6@yahoo.co 1 review from this member

 It was sometime around 1999 or 2001. We cant quite remember as it was so long ago. It was during the time our friend bill was alive. He unfortunately died in the April of 2003. So it would have been some time before that. We stayed for a week and enjoyed our stay. We drove up from Stevenage in Hertfordshire, some 250 miles, which obviously took several hours. It is always a good run. We both enjoy the north east so much. The site was fairly quiet, although there were a few football rowdies there that week. Luckily they didn't stay for too long, as they had to go to work on the Monday. It is a lovely site right beside the river Derwent. We had good weather at that time, and a very enjoyable week. We used the site as a base to go and see my son who lives in the north east, and also went to visit some friends who lived in Newcastle. All in all we found it to be a very good site, and thoroughly recommendable. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mohican 6 reviews from this member

 We booked for a week at this site, so that we could meet up with family, when we arrived found a beautiful site, but was soon disillusioned, it states dogs welcome, - we were not allowed to walk the dog on the site, only in the children's park! now that isnt right even though we clean up after the dog.  The person who runs this site for Gateshead County Council, nit picked at everything we did nothing was right  I would like to state at this point that his dog was allowed to roam off a lead, as were the other dogs on the site, the family came to visit he complained, only two to a unit, but the family were only visiting so that we could meet the new baby, we live 200 miles from my daughter and thought we had found a great site close to where she lived, but we certainly wont be going there again, we left early so lost out on money we had paid but it was worth it to get away from there. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Malloy 1 review from this member

 This small caravan and camping site is really good place to visit. As we went for a night camping the facilities are very good the toilets and showers are very very clean. And the owners and site manger are very helpful. There are two play areas near by and woodlands and stream which my child loved so much. As for shops there is one on site, a fish shop, shop and social club 10 mins away. Going back to the site it is really quiet and has a family feel which is nice. I recomend this site to you all as I will be going back very soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bassdrummer 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site, very quiet and with friendly staff. Toilets kept clean and no slot machines in the showers.

In the main this site seems to be taken up with statics and seasonals, not many touring/camping pitches, but we had no trouble booking a pitch.

My only criticism would be the water pressure which was woeful, it took around 15 minutes to fill a 40 litre aquaroll.

Not much in the way of facilities, but this doesn't matter because right outside there is a lovely public park with play areas for children, sports fields and walks by the River Derwent.

Recommended for those wanting a quiet stay (as we were)! We would definitely stay again. 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Derwent Park Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Derwent Park Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Derwent Park Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gateshead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Tyne and Wear

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4141 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement