Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Irthing Vale Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Brampton > Irthing Vale Caravan Park Reviews

Irthing Vale Caravan Park
Old Church Lane
Brampton
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA8 2AA
Tel: 01697 389111  or  07715 904321
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
                8/10 from 44 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Firstclass67 38 reviews from this member

 We needed to be near Carlisle this weekend as my husband was helping our daughter with her final film for her degree. We decided to try this site as we liked the sound of it from past reviews.

At first sight it looks a little run down, but its a good disguise! Although it is near an industrial park it was quiet and very pleasant. We were lucky enough with the weather to sit outside and the park did not impinge on our enjoyment.

I wanted to go geocaching and there were lots to choose from, including one literally next door, and many within very easy walking distance. My son and I had a nice afternoon caching up on the ridge that runs above the town and views were to die for!

I definitely recommend walking along the lane to the fascinating little old church at the end above the river. I walked along the lane to the sound of church bell ringing practice - it went perfectly with the scenery and the sunset!

At the moment it is only 6 amps which means either the kettle, or the water heater, or the room heater, but not more than one or you'll trip it, but Glenn said they are going to be upgraded to 16 amp soon.

The toilet block was clean, although I don't think anyone had used the showers recently as I had to evict the wildlife before I could have one. I can't say the shower was good as the water wasn't very hot and the block was freezing, but that was my fault for having a shower in the morning in April!

We shopped for some bits and pieces in town - there is a Spar shop and a co-op as well as lots of little shops. We bought sausages from the butcher in the town and they were gorgeous!

We also bought chips from the chippy near the motte which were very tasty, but we didn't visit any pubs.

We would definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Coffeys 1 review from this member

 Where do I start? We stayed at this caravan/camping site by invite of a family friend. The site is located on the outskirts of Brampton itself on the river Irthing. The site holds approx 24 residential caravans, but leaving plenty of room for tourers, campers and tents. The site holds a small shop at the entrance which stocks the essential items you may forget to pack. A large shower and toilet block, the showers are free and not on a timer, very clean and definitely looked after. Washing and drying facilities for a small charge, 1 for a one load wash and 20p per 15 minutes drying time. No large groups or rowdy behavior is tolerated as the site is a quiet site aimed at couples, small families and the retired, which is very clean, well maintained and certainly cared for by the owners son Glen and the site warden Jim, who will go out of their way to help in any capacity they can to make your stay an enjoyable and pleasant one. The site is approx a 10 minute walk from Brampton Village which has just about everything you could need, grocery shops, butchers, post office, several pubs and bistros, and some lovely gift and antique shops. Talkin Tarn is only a 5 minute drive where you can hire a boat, sit and feed the ducks or laze around with coffee or ice cream at the cafe overlooking the lake.

We stayed at Irthing Vale Caravan Park over the August bank holiday weekend, a small band and hot food had been arranged by Glen and Jim at no charge to those camping that weekend. The residential owners and the campers all participated in a 'sing a long' get together around the camp fires, with bunting, fairy lights, blankets and comfy camping chairs, everyone was made welcome and a great time was had by all. We will certainly be back and we reckon this deserves to be in the top 100 sites for 2015 so get voting: http://www. Surveygizmo. Com/s3/1619931/PRAC-Top-100-Sites-2015 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ciaralouise 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic visit with 3 of my best friends. Everything you could need or want is very close by with a small village just up the road and the extremely helpful Glen and Julie (currently running the campsite) and the campsite warden, Jim, who were all there to offer a helping hand if needed. A lovely atmosphere, highly recommended to any age. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Monkey hangers 1 review from this member

 Would highly recommend this campsite, had a brilliant weekend all 13 of us, the warden and his wife are very friendly and helpful, also on the site is laundry room shower block with piping hot water and a little shop, also would recommend the garden centre which does great food at reasonable prices 5 mins walk from site. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lorraine m 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely weekend camping at Irthing Vale, lovely, well run little site. The warden, is very friendly and helpful, if you forget something he'll probably be able to help out. The toilet block may be a bit dated, but very clean and excellent showers, there is also a laundry room with washer and drier at a small cost, also in here you can use the kettle and toaster if you don't have your own electric supply. Brampton is about a 10min walk but there is also a local taxi which costs about 3. There are a few shops and pubs some of which serve meals. It's about a 20min ride to Carlise and approx. The same to Gretna, both of which are lovely places to visit. Hadrians Wall is only about 3 mile from here. Will definitely return for another weekend stay 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Finchylad 1 review from this member

 Paid 13 per night for our campervan + awning but without electricity, which I thought was really good value. The toilet/ shower block was very clean with as long a shower as you wanted. Convenient for nearby town of Brampton and surrounding area, just a ten minute walk into town. Wardens very helpful and friendly and run the place with an iron fist; no messing about allowed by any chavs! All in all would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campingdubs 2 reviews from this member

 Just posting our thoughts and findings about this lovely site! Where to start. The warden Jim and his wife Liz were great company and were on hand for anything we forgot to bring! Saucepan love? They gave us loads of info for the surrounding area, including 3 handy takeaways, if its too much hassle to cook one night!

Showers were lush as previous post mentioned, no timer.

What we found, which was really handy was a toaster in the laundry room. Once there used to be a microwave and a kettle, the warden had told me, but unfortunately they had been stolen! Some people eh?

We tried out the butchers and the well stocked spar in Brampton. Recommend them both.

We found this site to be clean, quite and in a handy position, definitely will return! See you soon Jim and Liz 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisa Clark 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend camping at this site. We only had one full day on the site and it feels like we have had a proper holiday! It is such a laid back, friendly site and the owners were very helpful and friendly without being intrusive. The facilities were clean and tidy with constant hot water and free (proper) showers that weren't on timers. We will definitely return to the site the next time we are in the area. Its a little gem! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachellabella 2 reviews from this member

 Well don't know where too start!

Myself and my partner just needed a little break and we can honestly say we couldn't have enjoyed it anymore! The service provided by Jim and his wife was outstanding, they really couldn't have done enough for us!

The toilets were clean the showers were hot and anything else you didn't have they did!

We will be going back for sure with our little girl and hopefully soon!

Well done to a pair of hard working passionate people! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alliemack 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely friendly and clean site. Stayed here with two children who loved being able to ride their bikes. There's also a little shop that sells your basic needs. Great walks and little town near by. The staff were great very helpful and were always there if needed. Toilet block is lovely and clean. Great little pubs not to far to walk to, close to shops. We also went to the tarn which is a lovely walk with our dog. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Irthing Vale Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Irthing Vale Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Irthing Vale Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5123 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement