Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Irthing Vale Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Brampton > Irthing Vale Caravan Park Reviews

Irthing Vale Caravan Park
Old Church Lane
Brampton
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA8 2AA
Tel: 01697 389111  or  07715 904321
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
                8/10 from 45 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alliemack 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely friendly and clean site. Stayed here with two children who loved being able to ride their bikes. There's also a little shop that sells your basic needs. Great walks and little town near by. The staff were great very helpful and were always there if needed. Toilet block is lovely and clean. Great little pubs not to far to walk to, close to shops. We also went to the tarn which is a lovely walk with our dog. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mogs70 12 reviews from this member

 This has the potential to be a great wee site. Ideal location for a 10 min walk into town with the usual facilities - like most places just now, Brampton has clearly seen better days, but we had a nice meal in the Howard Arms hotel, and there are other options available.

Needed the blocks to make us fairly level, site does slope. No hardstanding. Statics and caravans clearly there long term, we were the only tourers.

Hubby said the gents were fine, but the ladies had 3 toilets of 5 working, and 2 showers of 3 working. Showers weren't very clean - one had a squashed beetle in it, there all 3 days we were! I opted to wash in the van, Plenty hot water in sinks though.

Owner/warden was pleasant. Nice quiet site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samsung79 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic little site, we stayed over the August bank holiday weekend and the weather was beautiful. The site has a friendly feel and the on site warden was helpful and friendly. The site itself only has a small shop and toilet / shower facility's so if your looking for swimming pools, amusement arcades this probably isn't for you. We ran out of gas for our burner and one of the static caravan owners gave us boiling water on a few occasions which was no problem! Overall great base to explore and relax! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Superdy09 3 reviews from this member

 We turned up on a sunny weekend to be greeted by the friendliest warden I have ever encountered. I have to agree that your not here for the views at the park itself, but the surrounding area makes this a fantastic base. Local Pubs are great, good butchers, bakers, I'm sure I counted 3 toy shops. We quickly pitched up on the flattest pitch I have ever known, and got walking directions into town, about 10 mins leisurely stroll. We also visited the talkin tarn, but it was so hot we just sat around!

When we got back to the tent we were welcomed back, and when I asked about using our fire-pit was ready to be disappointed - but no, we just got a flag stone to cover the grass and everything was fine.

The next day the warden let us borrow a paddling pool and we couldn't get the kids off site.

Use this site as a base to visit the beautiful area, use the warden's and owner's vast knowledge of the area and they will put you somewhere great. Their new shop has odds and sods from ice creams to pop and loo roll. There are co-op and Spar's near by in walking distance or 2 mins drive.

Toilet and shower block do exactly what they should and are clean and presentable and there is a small laundry area. Great value site and welcoming to tents even though there are statics there. No snobbery here!.

(Thanks for the great weekend Jim and Glenn) 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyB1969 5 reviews from this member

 I booked this campsite based on the reviews of the others I'd read and I was not disappointed. Actually, its reaffirmed my love of camping which had been dented by staying in packed, crowded and often expensive campsites. Not here!

We turned up on a Friday evening around 8. 00pm and were greeted by a v friendly warden who told us that we could pitch almost anywhere we fancied. No marked out lines or barriers here and loads of open space.

If you're looking for wonderful views from the campsite then you won't find one here, but you will find a tidy, quiet and v friendly level pitch. The static caravans surround the grass area and shower block. Yes, the toilet area is a bit old fashioned but so what, its clean, completely functional and guess what - you are camping after all. Loads of really hot water and free electric showers. It felt like we had the place to ourselves, it was great. Plenty of space for the kids to play football, tennis and badminton.

There is also a little shop which sells the basics, we didn't use this however. There is also electric hook up points but didn't use these either.

We stayed the weekend of 12th July which was a really hot weekend, our family two adults two kids aged 8 and 10 totally loved it. There is so much to do nearby, Brampton town which is only a 10 minute walk away has loads of little shops and a fantastic Antique centre. There is also a v friendly tourist information centre and good butchers for the BBq. Just up the road 2 miles away is a gorgeous lake called Talkin tarn which has a 1. 3m circuit. We hired a rowing boat for 5 and also had a lunch there. Further away but not too far is The Roman army museum which for a family of four cost 15. Excellent museum which brings to like the Roman life on the wall with its superb 3d cinema and artefacts. There's also loads of other Hadrians Wall museums within a 15 to 20 minute drive away.

I would definitely return to this site and if you're new to camping or were beginning to tire of packed loud camping then get yourself over to hear. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stingobingo 1 review from this member

 Our family stayed at this site during the Stepping Stones Festival. Basic facilities, but very clean and well maintained. Very friendly and welcoming people. We would definitely stay at this site again and would highly recommend for the peace and quiet.

Brampton is a lovely little town with a very nice chip shop, and some nice cafes. We were pleased we packed the bikes for the children because there was a new skate park which is just a few minutes walk from the campsite, that our kids loved and the locals there using it were very friendly. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Apilking 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 5 nights - enjoyed our stay very much. Site is quiet and clean and tidy. Very friendly people in residential vans. Loos a bit basic but clean and looks like they are cleaned every day. Lots of public footpaths around if you like walking.

The Cumbria recycling depot isn't far away but was quiet with the occasional beep beep of reversing vehicles but not a problem.

Quite near to Brampton for pubs & takeaways but we found The Blacksmiths Arms at Talkin for great Beer and food (approved by CAMRA) 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bean1 1 review from this member

 This is a very basic, quiet but fantastic site. The Toilet block is always clean and the showers are fine. The people in the static caravans are extremely friendly and helpful( we were there the jubilee weekend and were invited to join in with the BBQ etc they had organised)

You just Pitch up on arrival and the Warden pops round to take money.

The site is very close Nayworth trout lake which is perfect for me and my lad to go fishing. Also Brampton is a lovely town with plenty of pubs/takeaways etc.

If your having a BBQ, the local butchers is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: PVC72 1 review from this member

 I don't own a caravan but visited my brothers' several times during this year, they have a static caravan at this site. I was quite impressed, it's a lovely site, just a stroll into Brampton (a lovely little village, with plenty of shops and all the shopkeepers are very friendly. The grounds are kept beautifully and the toilet/shower block is very well kept, clean and plenty of hot water even in October when there aren't many tourists about. I would certainly recommend it to anyone and I intend to visit as often as I can this coming year. Even in the Autumn. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Miffin 7 reviews from this member

 First the surrounding area. Nice little town with several pubs. Plenty of takeaways. Some nice walks in the area. Site did not rate as well. It does not have a proper warden now. Just arrive and find a pitch. Not many electric hook ups. Does take tents. Nearly all grass and it is flat. Toilets just about adequate as are the showers. Few taps scattered around the site. A guy who is not full time appears now and again and will take your money. Council yard over the back that can be noisy. 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Irthing Vale Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Irthing Vale Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Irthing Vale Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4374 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement