Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Holt Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Site Reviews

Holt Farm
Napton, Southam
Napton On The Hill
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV47 1NJ
Tel: 01926 812225
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Watermonkey 11 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a lovely weekend away at Holt Farm. Just off the canal, this is absolutely ideal if you have friends on the Oxford Canal. There is mooring available just at the other end of the farm.

The site itself is split over 4 fields with a central field with electric. If you wish to use this field, I believe that there are a number of on-site caravans so it is rather limited. Certainly in early September, whilst the other 3 fields were less than half full, there were few hook-ups available (maybe 1 or 2)

The facilities are exactly as required: Toilets are cleaned every morning at 11 am and there are on-site wardens. It is a working farm so expect to see the free-range cockerel wandering around pecking. Probably not ideal for young children to wander about as there are some rather large farm vehicles.

If you wish to have hook-up, I would suggest not buying too many cards. We stayed 2 nights and had the heater on the second night. We barely used 1!

On weekends, between 3 and 6, they serve cream teas which I am told were excellent. They also serve Buffalo burgers (lower fat I believe) on a Friday evening between 6 and 8 which is nice if you are just arriving and don't wish to cook.

All in all, very pleasant and very quiet.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bugster 4 reviews from this member

Wow! We loved this site. We stayed with our 3 children and they thought it was great. We pitched our tent in the back corner of the field, which as a gap to look through to the next field with several horses in. The children were very pleased with this, but it did mean we regularly had other children tramping past the tent to see the horses too.

There is no play park for the children, but there was plenty of room for them to play ball games, ride bikes etc down the field. The 3 year old loved walking around the farm looking at the very large collections of old tractors and farm machinery.

We arrived just after 2 of the farm chickens had been killed by a dog, but despite the owners very obvious distress they were very courteous and helpful. They don't take credit cards, but were quite happy for us to set the tent up and come back later in the week with cash.

Whilst the showerblocks are old, it was great to be at a site where you can adjust the temperature of the shower, and run the water for as long as you like rather than pushing a button every 20seconds.

The washing up sinks aren't undercover and we did occasionally have to queue for them.

It took us a while to find the water, which was at the other end of the field and hidden behind a caravan.

The site was very quiet at night, we went to sleep/woke up listening to sheep baaing and birds singing, although there was a small amount of road noise in the morning rush hour.

We used the site as a base to go to Cadbury World (about an hour drive), Warwick Castle (about 1/2 hour) and Stratford-upon-Avon. There is a small supermarket (Budgens) in Southam along with a couple of takeaways.

Cream teas (weekends only) are definitely worth trying, although beware of the wasps if you have the jam, and we were very pleased that they sell children's squash for about 20p a cup!

If we return to the area, we will definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mkarlr 5 reviews from this member

Just come back fom Holt farm. Owners were very friendly, good facilities, nice walk by canal and felt very safe taking three children.

Facilities were very clean.

Will be back again. This would not be a place for people who want pubs and noise.

This is a definite chill back, with families looking to enjoy the camping / caravaning experience in peace.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jezzyboy 2 reviews from this member

Visited twice in July, first one was with the wife as a sighter for a group booking of mainly adults wanting to get away and let thier hair down. First visit was early July when we picked a cracking weekend, didn't see much of the owners but hey, I don't go away to talk to campsite owners all day, they were there when we needed them. I don't fish but the lovely little fishing pond was very popular and well cared for.

Booked us for the Rally field even though I said I couldn't gaurantee the numbers but they said its not a problem. On arrival (6 tents)we were given the choice of the rally field, we chose the bottom end as we intended to drink a lot, stop up late and play ball games during the day. Superb setting, toilets as stated in other reports, dated but they were clean! And cleaned regularly. We didn't take small children but it is a working farm and this should be remembered as there are open barns with equipment in. A walk along the towpath into the centre of Napton brought us to the Crown pub (40min slow walk)Great pub, put 18 good meals on in short notice.Normal good pub grub but fine tasting and priced accordingly. Worth noting he dosent take credit/debit cards. Recently took over from his parents, please support these pubs. The first pub on the bridge is half the distance, it offers a smaller menu and has a nice outside seating area but didn't seem as interested in our custom.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: YVONNE130 18 reviews from this member

A nice farm based site in a good area!

Close to Leamington and Stratford (Park & ride in stratford 1.50 return)

Nice walks along the canal. Horses, sheep and guinea pigs live there too.

Nice owners, agree that the wardens didn't seem to do much - I assumed it was their weekend off!

Price excellent - 5 pppn & 2 for electric for the whole weekend (refundable if you don't use all the cards)

It was full due to school holidays, but the children seemed well behaved.

As said before, facilities could do with upgrading, but we have seen far worse - although the ladies loos were clean, the floor in the toilet cubicles didn't appear to have been swept the whole weekend.

I think the men's toilets were not too clean - if my OH moans about them, they must be dodgy.To be honest a twice daily clean would improve matters greatly.

There are not many rules as such, but please do keep dogs on the lead - there was an incident where a dog killed 2 beautiful chickens from the farm because they were let off the lead. As far as I am aware the owners were removed from the campsite.

A nice, open plan site. They do cream teas, but we didn't get chance to try them.

All in all, it was a nice site and I would not hesitate to go back again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Orchideya0 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the weekend and had a fabulous time.

The field we were in had plenty of room, with pitches round the edge. Lots of room, really lovely friendly family site.

Loved the pay as you go electric, we used a lot less than we thought.

Toilets and showers are basic, but fine. Could be a little cleaner, but usable; Gents did seem to have a lot of water on the floor though.

Main problem we had, was it was pouring with rain when we arrived, the pitches were water logged. Farmer very helpful and advised us to pitch forward of the general pitch area, but even so big puddles around the field.

The water buffalo burgers available on fridays were wonderful.

Would stay there again for a weekend.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ken_platt1954@hotma 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our 2nd weekend at Holt Farm and we feel we must comment on this lovely site. The location is beautiful, facilities good but could do with upgrading. The cream teas are as good as it gets. The hook ups require a card which you can buy from the site at 1.00 each, which encourages you to think about your use of electricity.
The wardens don't seem to do an awful lot but were very pleasant to talk too. Well worth a visit if Warwickshire is an area you would like to visit.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trikkidikky 1 review from this member

We have used this site on five occasions, and as with all the previous reviews I would just add that it is well worth the visit. Superbly run, and the wardens are very friendly and helpful. Even the dog enjoys herself! As it is only 10 miles from home, we use it for relaxing weekends away from the jobs! We would stay much longer if we were travelling any distance.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vlad1963 1 review from this member

Can only repeat what has already been said. Lovely site for a short stay. Facilities basic but clean, lots of hot water and well looked after.

The site itself wasn't too hard to find from Southam, but beware there are a couple of Holt Farm's in the area. This is the one on Holt Rd not Welsh Rd East as stated on website (follow the signs)

Only minus point - no ice facilities if planning a longer stay under canvas.

Will definitely Recommend and Return!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CliveF1 1 review from this member

I stayed for 2 nights with my son George whilst visiting the Grand Prix at Silverstone. The site is excellent with friendly owners, clean facilities and good flat pitches. It's a lovely, rural location and the evening walks along the canal path behind the site were a real bomus.

I would definitely visit the site again and will recommend Holt Farm to friends.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3326 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!