Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lizard Point By Parkdean Resorts

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > Lizard Point By Parkdean Resorts Reviews

Lizard Point By Parkdean Resorts
Ruan Manor
Near Helston
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR12 7LJ
Tel: 0344 335 3548
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 255
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 39 Reviews
                5/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Judeobscure 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site during the May Bank Holiday Weekend, my review is both positive and negative.

It was actually very difficult to book a pitch, when you phone Parkdean Reservations you are instructed to contact the site direct, we kept phoning, and phoning the site for about 2 days and all we got was a message telling us the operator was busy and leave a message for a call back it never happened. Eventually I phoned Reservations to complain they emailed the site direct and they did phone later in the day.

When we arrived we had been booked on an inappropriate pitch for our motorhome, which was amended without charge (although hubby professional LGV, didn’t anticipate any access problems with the original pitch).

As with other reviewers, comments the touring fields are some distance from the facilities, my husband was not pleased, I found it easy on my bike and didn’t mind, as it was also nice and quiet. It’s difficult to find the hard standing pitches and where one pitch starts and another ends nothing is marked out. Our electric point was hanging off the stand and a definite H & S issue, but we borrowed next doors so not an issue.

The shower block has newly decorated, I think there were 4 or 5 showers in the ladies so for 100 pitches this might be a problem in high season, we didn’t use the showers so can’t comment, about 4 or 5 toilets leaked with big puddles on the floor not nice at all. My husband described the touring fields as bleak and I have to agree, I did take some photos if anyone would like them emailed.

The facilities were excellent, with a couple of suggestions for improvement; the pool was lovely with wonderful hot showers, but only 2 in the ladies for the whole campsite. Food was good but more expensive than average for campsites ie. breakfast £5.99 We went for an evening meal and the carvery was not appetising the veg had been on the hotplate so long they had become dried, I should think since lunch.

Would I recommend this site? Yes for a short break if you particularly wanted to tour this area and wanted good facilities and were prepared to accept its shortfalls. No, if coming to Cornwall for your annual holiday, most commercial sites far excel this one and you could find a much nicer alternative.  


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JAngHold 3 reviews from this member

 I know the rains have been bad but they were not doing anything about the moats of water around the site. Also there is no proper road round the camping site it is a dirt road. We noticed round the static caravans there were ridges of mud where the cars had parked. Surely putting concrete or 2 strips of slabs next to the vans would help this problem. The toilets were spooky as there was not very good lighting on the field in the night ! Showers were not good as you have to keep pumping the button or the water stops & it turns cold. For the money we paid we were very disappointed & if we hadn't have paid for the whole week in advance we would have moved as we had looked at other sites in the area & their pitches were not in the same state as Mullion so I am afraid they can only blame so much on the weather.

We loved the Area, so much to see & do on the Lizard & surrounding villages, the Cider Barn at Predannack with tasting facility is very recommended also the chocolate factory in Mullion does really nice chocolate. The cafe on end of the Lizard always does us proud, for anyone needing jewellery a visit to the Cornish stone shop is a must also the cafe in Lizard village is very good too. We were disappointed when we had a pasty from Anns Famous Pasty shop as we only had 2 bits of meat in them. The views are outstanding & if your lucky you will probably see a few seals. Visit Kynance cove you will not be disappointed.  


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 91 reviews from this member

 The touring area of this site is quite a way from the entertainment facilities. Indoor and outdoor pools were good, clean and well used.

The area does suffer in prolonged rain and some areas resembled a swamp. The toilet blocks can be described at best as adequate. We paid extra to have a serviced pitch which only turned out to be a tap that we had to share with the pitch behind us! The pitches are also quite small.

Mini mart at site entrance sells everything, but cheap it is not (They never are). Tesco at Helson is a short drive away, for a major town you need to drive to either Truro or Penzance (both about 20 miles).

Club house very hot and entertainment geared towards younger kids. Beware you have to walk through a huge arcade to get to it.

The site is sited on the Lizard peninsular and can feel quite remote, if you're going out sight seeing the daily traffic queues past the air base can be a grind. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moojooce 1 review from this member

 Ideal for children as there are plenty of things to keep them amused.  plenty of space on the pitches.  friendly wardens.  nice pool area.  good shop. Pretty area.
 
Site could do with better signs as we got very lost one night trying to get back to the tent!  Aside from that, can't fault the place.
 
Just want to add, re someone else's review.70 mile round trip to go to a town?!?!?!  Helston is about 7 miles away which has pretty much everything you will need, incl shops, lots of pubs, flambards (theme park) and a large supermarket.  Truro, Cornwall's city, is about 20 miles away - and that's not that bad considering you are in the countryside.  Not sure how you came to the conclusion that a town is 70 mile round trip, but I don't think it's fair to say that because it's totally wrong - and gives the impression the place is totally cut off from the world!  


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: New-again 1 review from this member

 Have Just returned from mullion went with a new Outwell cygnet 6  having returned to camping after a long break holidaying  in foreign climes
The site is on a fairly well run holiday park and the camping area had  quite  a lot of area's that had suffered from the long spell of rain preceding our holiday
The main field for the site was closed and we were transferred to the static side  i didn't take a electric hook up so no use
I will remember in future though
Still parts were a mud bath and we had a couple of days of walking on "Jelly" under our ground sheet have just spent 2 hours washing and drying mud off ground sheet.
 
Despite all this  had a great holiday
 
The kids club was great( 8yr old daughter) the entertainment was OK good beaches nearby poldhu cove church cove  etc
 
Met some great people
My daughter cried all the way home wanting to stay 
So can't have been that bad
Toilets were clean most of he time water hot all the time 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brasso600 6 reviews from this member

 Me, the wife and our 2 boys spent a week here over Easter 07. There is nothing actually wrong with the site (apart from too few showers) but it really is geared up for the statics and looks a little tired in my view. Pitches were unmarked and random - a good thing some might say.
There also seemed to be little control over who came onto the site. On Easter Monday there were kids on quads and mini motorbikes on the sports field. The next day a van load of people showed up in the field, bbq'd, drank lager, then piled back in the van and went. We had a good time but that was down to location - we wouldn't go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Alison Collier 24 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fortnight on this camp and have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.  The camp was brilliant, the facilities great, the staff were wonderful and really friendly.  There was a shop, pub, restaurant, take-away and pizza bar on site.  They even showed films for the kids when the weather was poor!  The indoor and outdoor pools were great and there were lots of other activities on site.  The only things that let this holiday down for us were that the kids weren't allowed to play ball by the tent and had to use a sports field, which was some distance from the pitches and the camp site was out in the middle of nowhere.  We have spent a fortune on petrol because just to visit a town is a 70 mile round trip but there is Mullion and Lizard villages within a few miles of the camp and several small beaches nearby, although your own transport is essential if you want to stay on this camp.  We have really enjoyed ourselves but would not go back again just because of how isolated the camp is. 


Reviewer: June Day 12 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Have just returned from a week at this site. Having read the two Aug 2004 reviews was a bit worried but need not have been. No complaints about the two toilet / shower blocks not very pretty but usable, and unlike others sites at this time of year did not have to wait to use the showers once.

My only suggestion made to site was to section some basins for hand washing, had to queue to wash my hands as people had blocked the sinks to use the mirrors for make up/hair etc. Did not use the entertainment as the room was far too hot, sat in bar on several nights.

Bar/resturant food very good. Found every member of staff we encountered very helpful and friendly.  


Reviewer: Jangelames33 2 reviews from this member

 July 2005
The facilities of this campsite are of a reasonable standard! Plenty of hot water but you had to queue for a shower at certain times! My only complaint being children not flushing the loo!!!

However the park is geared towards the statics and chalets and the campers are a little bit of an afterthought being tucked away at the end of the site, with a little wooden cabin as the reception.

The pitch we were allocated was on quite a slope! which made cooking and eating quite a challenge, saying that there were pitches which seemed reasonably flat!

The "Holiday Park" is exactly what it says, if you like plenty of evening cabaret, bingo and kids clubs, this is the place you should go. The pool areas looked clean, but we never used them due to the awful weather and the indoor pool had a problem with the heating!

If you want a campsite in easy reach of all the cornish attractions, this would not be ideal as it is a bit far out it would take at least 20 minutes to walk into Mullion village along a road without any pavements.

All said, we did have an enjoyable week despite the weather and we are going back to Cornwall next year again, but not to this site as we prefer something a bit quieter and just for Campers and Caravans.
 


Reviewer: John gardner 1 review from this member

 August 2004
We towed our own caravan for a two week break and ended up staying in just about the worst weather cornwall has seen for that time of year. The pitch that we were allocated was occupied by someone else so we were told to find a spot in the caravan field ourselves??? Given the weather the area soon turned to a mudbath but that did not stop the few nutters doing rally spins in their cars. Resulting in one torn guy rope and a brown mud caked awning. Quite a few reports of theft while we were there mainly from the cold store room and awnings.

Managed to find some real caravanners/campers and had a few laughs. Everyone we spoke to said they would not return. It seemed to be geared up for the statics, the caravanners and campers are a bit of an after thought tagged on the end of the site. The toilets and showers had a lot of problems and even when they were not shut there was not enough for the amount of people in this pile them in and stack them up site. The pool and other indoor amenities were soon overbooked due to the weather but what there was seemed ok apart from the drying rooms, they work on a token system and are very expensive. There was a shortage of tokens while we were there as people were hoarding them as it was the only place to dry your cloths, also two working machines for that amount of people was ridiculous.

On the whole a good base for your holiday if you can go out and about, not good if you are stuck on the site. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lizard Point By Parkdean Resorts child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Lizard Point By Parkdean Resorts have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lizard Point By Parkdean Resorts?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lizard Point By Parkdean Resorts dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4225 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement