Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lizard Point By Parkdean Resorts

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > Lizard Point By Parkdean Resorts Reviews

Lizard Point By Parkdean Resorts
Ruan Manor
Near Helston
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR12 7LJ
Tel: 0344 335 3548
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 255
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 39 Reviews
                5/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Maddy Old 14 reviews from this member

 Bad start when we arrived to be told the booking had been cancelled as the payment had been declined, this has been paid in full March 2020 and held over due to Covid as we couldn't take it in 2020, and then didn't get a star pitch which we had paid for. Tried to get a refund but they weren't having any of it although I persisted & finally got £50 + £19 which was the booking fee they charged when we were eventually found a pitch.

The difference of price in the pitches for the same 2 weeks in 2022 is £97.

Shower/toilet block, toilets ok but the shower cubicles certainly weren't big step up & no handle so dangerous when the floor was wet to get out.

Shower tray was painted with gloss paint which was all peeling away. After cleaning the floors were left wet through so very slippery. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: HOSPITALWORKER 32 reviews from this member

 Came here with family who were staying in the static vans. Lovely open field/pitch although rather on the small side.

The washroom/toilet facilities could do with some major work. We felt the site wasnít cheap but this didnít reflect with the facilities which although werenít dirty were tired and out of date.

We liked the area but wonít be returning o this site due to the above. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J0GG 6 reviews from this member

 We camped for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. The kids LOVED it! There was plenty to keep them busy and was good value for money. They attended the kids club both days (the under 4's club wasn't as good as the 5-10's club as it didn't seem to have the same enthusiasm and quality of activities as the older group did).

The pool was nice and warm (but did find it to be quite dirty the first day as we came to swim at 2 when it re-opened after a break and my 2 year old picked up a dirty plaster-not ours and we were the first ones in! Toilets were also quite dirty) but much better the second day.

We only attended the kids disco in the eve which they really enjoyed but we found the the drinks prices very expensive and long queues to get to the bar. Shop on site was handy, reasonably priced and well stocked. Pitch sizes were nice and big but if you have small children I would suggest not having pitch 10 or 11 as they're close to the road and many cars were coming down over the speed limit.

Also found it quite noisy when people were passing the tent late at night to get to the caravans on the other side. Sure this wouldn't be a problem with the other pitches. Toilets were clean, and plenty of sinks to wash dishes-although too high for my son to use which he was very pleased about! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marks61 1 review from this member

 Having read some of the reviews for this campsite I have to think some people would not be happy wherever they went.

The wardens were very welcoming and helpful and overall the park was very clean and well looked after.

The biggest problem with this site is actually the visitors especially the ones that used the toilets and wash facilities, the notices couldn't be clearer to close doors but some people seem to think this is beneath them and just love to leave a trail of destruction wherever they went.

This is a very well looked after site and I would highly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KatMat 8 reviews from this member

 We arrived on the campsite and were met with a nice warm welcome from a couple of staff which was nice. The warden walked us to our pitch, explained some rules and provided a welcome pack. We were informed that our pitch was a sheltered area.

Unfortunately, the day we arrived and for the following 24 hours or so the weather was extremely windy, nothing like my partner and I have ever experienced before. Consequently the pitch didn't shelter us at all. Presumably, due to the weather any other tent arriving over the weekend was also directed to a sheltered area and therefore unfortunately, we found ourselves quite alone!

The shower cubicles were fair, but dated. The sink taps were frustrating as water came from the joins as opposed to the tap itself. We had been informed the toilet block would be cleaned daily 10. 30-11. 30. I was just finishing off in the shower dead on 10. 30 and was not met with a happy warden at all for being there. I appreciate they have to be cleaned, but the confrontation was unnecessary.

The Parkdean wardens obviously patrol the site regularly, which is reassuring, however we did one morning feel very observed during breakfast as the van must have patrolled our area every couple of minutes, unnecessary we believe!

The use of a freezer for ice blocks was great.

We didn't use the other facilities, shop, pool, amusements, bar etc.

This area of Cornwall however, is well worth the visit. We enjoyed days out to The Lizard, Mullion, Sennen Cove, St Ives and Lands End. This made our trip worthwhile. Unfortunately, when we visit the area again we wont opt to stay here. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Toni Endersby 7 reviews from this member

 Warm welcome from the warden was very good explaining where we where to pitch and what facilities there was. They must have refurbished the toilet/ shower block as there was no mould as said in previous years reviews in fact they are spotless, the warden does shut the block every morning for half hour for deep cleaning.

The pitches are all grass unless you pay extra for a few hard standing and all are spacious and level. Usual club house trash with various acts in the evening thankfully we don't have to do that any more as are kids all grown up. Hugh grass games field for playing rounders ect. Good shop on site Lidl I think. Both pools adequate and very warm like stepping into a bath!

Lizard is a lovely area to visit Kynance cove is a must only a few miles from site and its one of my favourite places in the world, the car park attendant sents you down quite a steep path but for the less able of you ask for the cafe service road. The seal sanctuary at Gweek is ok for half day visit. Great pub in Mullion called The Old Inn serving nice food at a reasonable price.

We had a great week yet again in Cornwall and worth the seven hour trip 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Collied 10 reviews from this member

 We were very disappointed with this site as it was a return visit after 5 years, the site had got a bit neglected in those 5 years. This time we stayed in a 'Bungalow' as opposed to the previous static caravan.

The bungalow had adequate facilities, however is smelt of damp, there was mildew in the kitchen area, the shower/toilet was dated, damp and smelly. We ended up with a couple of fleas crawling up our legs.

Dont bother with the shop it is limited and pricey, go into Mullion just down the road, there are some nice shops there or Helston for the usual supermarkets.

Never again and very disappointed with this once lovely site. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: J9withdogs 6 reviews from this member

 We received a lovely welcome and given a full briefing about the site and surrounding area. We were allocated a pitch for our motorhome which was reasonably flat and we checked out the on-site facilities.

The public areas were perfectly adequate and wi-fi was available in the bar area. The ladies shower block, however, was disgusting with mould growing up the walls of every cubicle despite a 'tick chart' saying that they had been regularly checked and approved by the staff. Won't be going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mustang_Sacha 2 reviews from this member

 We booked at Mullion in 4 parties, 17 people in total and we couldn't have been in further corners of the touring pitches despite numerous requests to ensure closeness! The touring warden was less than helpful and said there was nothing that could be done. 3 of the pitches were available when we arrived at 8am following our 8 hour drive however the warden didn't rise from her slumber until 9am, an hour after the supposed touring reception opening time. The final pitch was eventually vacated at 11. 30 with no effort from the warden to hurry the occupants up nearer the 10am deadline, typical of the day it would seem!

The pitches were reasonably flat and had good access to the electric points, the toilets and showers were in an acceptable standard on arrival. This was not the case throughout the week though, it turned out they were only cleaned once a day and invariably by 5pm it was a veritable swimming pool across the sink units and floor. The showers flowed hot and cold and very rarely anything but providing you can find the button with soap in your eyes!

Once everyone had pitched and unloaded the cars we headed off to explore the park and on the surface all looked quite impressive, indoor and outdoor pool, shop which is, as expected, over priced (but then aren't all holiday parks?), the arcade is well stocked for all ages and abilities with video games and 2p cakewalks etc. The bar and grill looked clean, tidy and inviting, crazy golf looked a little tired but playable.

On entering the indoor pool the chlorine fumes hit us like a brick wall and it became unbearable stopping just short of inducing tears of blood.

Following the busy day we decided to have dinner in the Kynance bar and grill on site, 12 out of the 17 of us ordered. The first order came out fine, my children's starters arrived and the third party had nothing. Then the third party's food all arrived at the same time (starters and mains!) and my wife and I were still waiting! We asked the manager who was going to ask but then disappeared for 15 minutes, we tracked him down again and within 5 minutes the food materialized, however it was badly cooked and stone cold so had to ask for a refund. Later that evening we went to the takeaway service on site only to be told they had run out of food! This was the first day of the school summer holiday, woe betide anyone going in mid season! It took 2 days for the general manager to see me following my initial complaint and request to see him on the Sunday!.

The clubhouse is tired and in desperate need of a refurbishment, the bar is too small and the staff need a rocket to motivate them at times.

The Troupers are by far the hardest working people on site tirelessly performing numerous acts and shows throughout the week to entertain the masses.

The imported acts were not up to standards in my opinion, a girl playing saxophone, a comedian who's satirical jokes are around 2 years out of date, please Parkdean, give the paying public some credit!

The site is well placed for visiting and fortunately there are several places out and about which are outstanding for food! Such as The Regent in Lizard which I will highly recommend, not only on here but Trip Adviser and the like.

The reception staff were more than helpful as was Liz the waitress who tried so much more than the catering manager Gary to placate us following the horrendous dinner service.

All in all the weather was great, the area was fabulous but the site, in general was unacceptable as was the overall customer service and guest experience.

We will not be going again, to this site or any other Parkdean for that matter! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Smelly12 2 reviews from this member

 Sadly we turned up here for our Easter break in a static and had to leave almost straight away. I hate having to write a poor review but our static was filthy :( there was the last occupants food on the kitchen floor, hairs in the sink and also on the bed. We gave them the option to reclean but it was still mucky when we went back later. Due to it being the Easter weekend they had NO spare vans to move us into so we were given a full refund and travelled home, luckily for us we live in Cornwall.

From what we saw of the site it looked like they have good entertainment for the children etc but on the whole we felt the place needed a good clean and they seemed unprepared for visitors-running out of linen etc.

The nicest part that we saw was the bar area but felt it was small.

The site location is good for exploring the local area.  


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lizard Point By Parkdean Resorts child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Lizard Point By Parkdean Resorts have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lizard Point By Parkdean Resorts?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lizard Point By Parkdean Resorts dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4382 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement