Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brook Lodge Farm Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Bristol > Brook Lodge Farm Camping & Caravan Park > Reviews

Brook Lodge Farm Camping & Caravan Park
Redhill
Bristol
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS40 5RB
Tel: 07538055859
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 29
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (29)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Istiawan 3 reviews from this member

 Wow! If there was an ideal campsite for us, then this is it!

Run by the charming Douglas, Janet and their daughter Debbie, this site was friendly, helpful and made our holiday really special.

We were due to stay 7 days, extended it to 10 and finally to 2 weeks! We felt part of the family and our children were treated so kindly.

Our pitch was easily found with plenty of space to erect our awning and a day tent. We had a paddling pool, that Douglas kindly offered us a hose for filling and the children had great fun in the spacious field area with balls, cricket, kites, nothing was a problem, unlike before on some sites where our children felt they couldn't even play!

The surrounding area is beautiful. Bristol & Bath on your doorstep, both stunning. Highly recommend the places we visited; Cheddar caves, Wookey hole and Glastonbury. Each evening would drive the scenic 15/20 mins route into Western Super Mere. A superb seaside town, with a gorgeous beach (free parking after 6pm or 5 all day) Ample space for kiddies to ride scooters along the Promenade. Lovely sandy beaches with donkey rides and swing boats.

Perfect fish and chips at 'Papas' and great fun had by all!

There is a handy Budgens supermarket less than 1 mile away and is well stocked with local produce. There is also a fantastic farm shop close by called 'The Story' which sells amazing local organic meat.

Douglas will lend you a BBQ if needed, hire you a bike for 5 and they have a washer and dryer reasonably priced at 2. 50.

The washing up facilities were excellent, with washing liquid, cloths and clean tea towels provided daily.

Showers were kept immaculate - lovely power showers without have the annoyance of pressing and holding a button like some places we have been in the past! Toilets were cleaned twice daily and well maintained.

The free wifi was a bonus too. With a well stocked information room, with plenty of leaflets with discounts vouchers or Debbie will always recommend somewhere to go.

Recycling is encouraged and there are plenty of areas clearly marked for you to partake in this scheme.

All in all this was an excellent site. We could not have asked for more. Thank you for listing this excellent site. So laid back and simple, giving us the perfect relaxing holiday. Brilliant! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Juejames 2 reviews from this member

 What an amazing site. We booked for ten days and ended staying a full two weeks, would have been longer if we didn't need to go back to work. The toilet and shower blocks were spotless and were a pleasure to use.

The owner Douglas was so helpful with so much local knowledge and his daughter Debbie was very efficient and run the camp so well, but also had time to chat and help out.

The grounds were very well kept and although we had a day or two of extremely heavy rain the site drained really well and we had no muddy patches anywhere. The pitches are a good size and it was nice to be on a site that didn't partition everyone off with big hedges.

There were lots of people stopping off on route but all were very friendly and our children loved the big space to play in and had great fun in the play area.

The washing machine facilities were brilliant and they even had outdoor and indoor drying area. The site is close to the main road and some of our friends who were in a tent said it was a bit noisy but as previous comments a glass or two of vino did the trick.

The site is ideal for Weston Super Mare, Cheddar Gorge, Glastonbury and Wookey hole. A wonderful site and cant wait to go back would highly recommend 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Loopyloo1974 2 reviews from this member

 Had a fantastic 3 night stay at Brook Lodge. Owner was very talkative and informative about the surrounding area.

Toilet and shower block very clean and never had to queue for anything. Older kids found the wi-fi invaluable!

Satellite dish worked a treat. Road noise not too bad but used to being on busy street.

Close to Bristol and Weston Super Mare where we had a fab day out, Will definitely go back again Thank you Douglas. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fizikal_rex 2 reviews from this member

 What a great little site. We arrived to be greeted by a very warm welcome with the owner giving us a lot of information about local attractions.

He then walked around the site to find the best area to pitch the tent, following heavy rain the previous few days.

All pitches have electrical hook up. Although not full the site had many one night visitors, but we never had to cue to use anything.

The toilets and showers were very clean and modern. Male and female toilets each had 2 showers with free hot water.

A fridge/freezer and microwave were available for use and the site had 2 washing up areas.

There was also and information area with leaflets and a covered outdoor seating area, useful if it rained and you wanted to cook.

Despite the previous heavy rain where we camped was dry and remained free of mud.

The only problem we had was that it is situated on the A38, so if you are a light sleeper this may be an issue.

The site was perfect for us for a 4 night stay and we will certainly look at returning next year. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: HappyVWcamper 7 reviews from this member

 Nice small camp site which has the potential to be great.

The toilets are immaculate but very cold - there is a heating system but it wasn't switched on, so we felt unable to use the shower facilities - very annoying when being asked to pay 20. 00 per night out of season!

The grass was not mown, and very long, making it feel like the site wasn't really open.

Because of this we were put on a tiny bit of gravel along with 4 other units, so it was extremely cramped and very like camping in a car park! Again at 20 per night in October we felt this was totally unacceptable.

Because the gravel was the nearest part of the site to a very busy road we didn't get much sleep.

As we said it has the potential to be great, a lot of money has been spent on the buildings, and a lovely park for the children. If the owners really were committed to being open out of season with the grass mown, so that we could stay away from the road, and the heating switched on in the loos we would go back, as it is we definitely won't. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LevOnTour 4 reviews from this member

 A pleasant site, with a very rural feel - all units are positioned on the outside of the field allowing children to play / make friends in the centre. If only it wasn't so near to the noise of the A38!

Facilities are very good - showers are free, and always clean.

Reception always manned and very helpful, but only sells a limited range of non-perishable goods and shops are 5 mins drive away. (Lots of farm shops nearby though so great scope for barbeques!) Lots of lovely pubs too.

There is a playground for older children (but sadly plagued by wasps and flies) and a lovely little play area for toddlers in the walled garden (play houses, sand-pit etc).

Although there is free wi-fi, you do have to sit in the porch of the reception or barn to get a signal.

Great position for tourists sites, easy access to Bristol, Cheddar Gorge, Bath etc and very near the downs for watching the ballons and Red Arrows during the balloon fiesta. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Schmorgie 9 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 nights at this site as a stop over when travelling from Preston, Lancs to St Ives, Cornwall.

The site is in a great location just off the A38 close to Bristol Airport, but a 15 to 20 minute drive takes you into Bristol city centre.

The site caters for touring caravans, tents and motorhomes and the owners are friendly, welcoming and helpful. There is a main field and then a smaller overflow field.

The main field is on a gentle slope and all pitches are grass. All the pitches are around the outside, leaving space for kiddies to play, however, there is a great adventure playground for older children and a toddler play area in the garden by the toilet/shower block.

Speaking of the toilets and showers, these were always immaculately clean. The showers are free and lovely and warm. There is also a washing up area, chemical waste disposal and a tourist information room located around the back of the shower block.

There is a small undercover area in between the shower block and reception, which has some seating, a vending machine and a table football to help while away rainy evenings.

Round the back of this, a doorway in the wall leads to a lovely garden area, again with seating and this is where you will find the toddler play area.

The owners gave us information on places to eat in the area when we arrived. We plumped for 'The Churchill Inn' in the village of Churchill, which was a 5 min drive (turn left out of the campsite until you come to it on the left hand side). Good pub grub and a warm welcome - would highly recommend.

Although the site benefits from being so close to the A38, this is also the only draw back because there is a lot of traffic noise both day and night. Having said that, I'm a very light sleeper but with the help of some good ear plugs and a couple of glasses of 'vin rouge' before bed, it didn't pose too much of a problem.

So to summarise, this is a lovely, family friendly site, close to the attractions of Bristol, Bath and Somerset and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site to family and friends. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spiderboy007 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site in late summer 2010 and we were so impressed we visited again early on this season. The site has very good facilities with clean and well kept toilet and shower areas, they looked recently refurbished with 2 showers in both male and female units and ample toilets. The site was quite busy and these units were always well stocked. There were 2 dishwashing areas and a large fridge/freezer supplied, also a microwave.

It's location was ideal for visiting Bristol area and Somerset. Shop nearby just a few minutes by car, and a lovely chip shop/ pizzas/ burgers about 5 mins drive. There were numerous walks in the surrounding area, and the owner gave us a very good map as reference for these and other local facilities.

The kids play area was great and generally felt that it was family friendly. Certainly a 'green' site with recycling of most items, which was good for the kids to be involved in.

We had choice of pitches with hook up available for all units this was ideal, so we pitched by the play area!

The only downside was the traffic noise at night as it's very close to the main road down to the west country. Possibly a bit overpriced but then again the facilities are of a high standard. Would we visit again? Yes 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Petersholland 1 review from this member

 We've had such a wonderful time at this place. We were here for one week and had lots of luck with the weather, one whole week of sunshine and at night wonderful clear sky with thousands of stars. We are a family of 2 adults and one son, age 6.

The site has 2 playgrounds which we found exceptional for such a small camp site; one is for the little one's and one for the older children with plenty of climbing frames and treehouses. Our son had a great time and also played a lot in the little stream next to the camp site. Mom and Dad also had a great time, because the camp site was small and separated from the nearby road so we didn't have to watch our son 24 hours a day.

The toilets were very clean, excellent showers and for people who don't have a fridge even a fridge, a freezer and a microwave is available.

The camp site is also a great base to explore the lovely Mendip Hills and other places like the Cheddar Gorge and Glastonbury. We had a beautiful walk around Clevedon's coastal path. And very nearby there is an excellent teahouse, named The walled Garden, on a beautiful spot.

A 24-hour shop is also close. The owners of the camp site are very kind and will do anything to ensure you and your kids have a great stay. Brooklodge Farm thanks very much, we felt very welcome. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yvonneuka 1 review from this member

 Visited site weekend of Balloon Fiesta in Bristol. Having contacted numerous sites, Brook Lodge were only ones with availability (was this a bad sign??) Not easy to find off busy A38 road to Taunton, drove past twice. Allocated tent pitch literally yards from main road. Toilet & Shower facilities clean & tidy with the added bonus of a socket for hair-straighteners! Re-cycling facilities for rubbish which was nice to see. 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brook Lodge Farm Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brook Lodge Farm Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Brook Lodge Farm Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bristol      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2737 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement