Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brook Lodge Farm Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Bristol > Brook Lodge Farm Camping & Caravan Park > Reviews

Brook Lodge Farm Camping & Caravan Park
Redhill
Bristol
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS40 5RB
Tel: 07538055859
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 29
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (29)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linda Stephen 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 5 night stay, checked availability online, booked over phone, paid first night as deposit [non refundable]. Good pitch, slight slope but flat surface. Electric hook up worked fine. Facilities clean, soap and toilet roll and hand towels provided, very green site, solar energy and recycling. Good local info provided. Outdoor washing up and inside one too, only one sink but always hot water. Not packed so plenty of room for the cricket, badminton and rounders that our two older boys enjoy! A new wooden adventure climbing type thing was being installed while we were there. People with younger children might not find this sight user friendly.

The worst thing about the site was the noise from the road and the price. We never got an undisturbed night but then we don't live on a main road so not used to lots of traffic. We were a party of 3 adults and two children with tent and two cars and the costs was 32.00 a night, bit steep for my liking.

There was a good farm shop only ten minutes walk away that sold everything we needed - beautiful steak for the bar-b-que!

The site is in a good position for lots of site seeing. We had a day at the Fleet Air Arm Museum, Brunels SS Great Britain, Cheddar Gorge, the Cheddar Cheese Factory, Bristol Town Centre and boat trip on the river. We even managed a trip to Swansea for an evening meal with the relatives! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catty500 7 reviews from this member

 I was amazed by how much it cost for 1 night for a tent, 2 adults & a toddler - £23. The other 2 campsites we stayed at during the same trip cost £9 & £12.50). The owners seemed very nice & there were good facilities toilet-wise, & with freezer, etc but it's right next to a busy A road.  


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camnz 1 review from this member

 Excellent camp site run by a retired couple who were helpful and friendly and went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Tidy and clean facilities and always got a hot shower. Very green camp site which was great to see with separate bins for recycling of food waste, plastics, tin and glass. Farm shop very close by which was open 7 days. Close to the A38 and the site is well surrounded with lots of trees so we did not find noise a problem.

Overall had a great time, pool was a lovely bonus when the sun was out. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LesleyAB 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a long weekend. We were allocated a flat pitch with nice short grass. There were only about six units on site over our three night stay- this was good as there was only one working womens shower. The shower was clean with plenty of hot water. The washing up facilities, recycling, toilets and wash basins were kept clean and in good working order. The couple that run the site could not have been more helpful with local knowledge and directions.

On the negative side, the noise from the A38 was constant over 24hrs, as the airport is only a couple of miles away. The pitches are expensive at £25 a night- which is really double what we usually pay.

During our stay we visited, Wells, Glastonbury, Weston Super Mare and Bristol (HMS Great Britain). 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaymoid 2 reviews from this member

 Very enjoyable visit to Brook Lodge Farm.

This is a delightful campsite run by a friendly retired couple, who were very helpful and offered plenty of local advice, directing us to good local pubs and attractions.

The campsite itself is well kept, with nice pitches. The new toilet and shower block is great with free hot showers (and is also solar powered!) and clean toilets. Also there were lots of nice touches such as there was always liquid soap next to a sink to wash your hands and paper towels to dry your hands, always washing up liquid next to a sink (and dish cloth if you forget yours) and good toilet roll is also provided.
On the other side of the shower block is an information point with plenty of fliers for local attractions and road maps so you can find your way around. There is a fridge and freezer you can also use to put your food in if necessary. The site also employs recycling and has bins for most types of wate, something I was pleased to see.

There was a decent size nice pool that was great for me and my friends to have a swim and and cool down in the July sun.

It is located just off the A38, so its very easy to find. If you are a very very light sleeper you might want to bring some ear plugs if you suspect might be woken by the noise of the road, however no one in our party of 8 had any trouble sleeping!

In summary, delightful stay will be returning same time next year! Thank-you Brook Lodge :) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmasea 2 reviews from this member

 If you're looking for a basic this is fine. But very expensive for what's on site- expect to pay more than CaravanClub sites. Website says refurbished toilet block which turns out to be new tiles and two electric showers in ladies (one not working) but old toilets and fittings.
Website also says country walks direct from site which is not quite possible without walking along roads not at all suitable for young children. Electric hook up was dodgy. And lots of workmen living in caravans, even two living in a tent! quite odd. The position is ideal for travelling out and about but we didn't feel secure leaving our stuff. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LuvOutdoors 2 reviews from this member

 Road noise is a real issue as the site is right next to the busy A38.  We found it very expensive for an ‘out of season’ pitch.  We also paid £2.50 per night for an unreliable electricity supply.  Toilet block is clean though and not to far away. Recycling bins were full but at least the site recycles. Pool looks lovely but is very cold. Their is a small woodland type of play area for children to enjoy. More likely to look around for another site rather than return.   


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pepper1 1 review from this member

 We liked this campsite very much, it had good facilities and was friendly. It's close to some really cool stuff so good location! We found the owners welcoming and friendly. They couldn't do enough to help us!  Suited us v. Well. We'll definitely come back. Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Takisawa 16 reviews from this member

 We visited Brook Lodge for the Bank Holiday weekend, May 2006. The preceding 2 weeks had seen a lot of rain, so we called 3 days before leaving and were assured that the site was not waterlogged in anyway.
We were greeted on arrival by the owners daughter, who was very apologetic and explained that it had become very wet, but did her best to ensure we found the driest pitch she could.

The owners, quite rightly, were not allowing cars onto the grass, but this was not really a problem as none of the pitches were more than 20 metres from the site road. The site is along a short road / track, and there is no turning facility at the end. We had to unhitch our trailer to turn around, so I would imagine somebody with a large caravan might struggle. To be fair it might not be a problem when its dry as the owners probably direct cars over the grass.

The site is situated a short drive from Weston-Super-Mare, and is also handy for Bath and Bristol. Its location only 15 minutes from the M5 would make an ideal stop-over for the long journey to Cornwall. It is alongside a very fast stretch of the A38, so it has to said that road noise is a factor. The pitches along the bottom of the site, next to the stream, might not be affected as much, but I have to be honest and say that it was far from a quiet site.

The site is slightly sloping and runs down to a stream. There is a lot mature tree cover, however none of the pitches remain in the shade all day. The facilities are excellent. The showers are free, hot and powerful. They were very clean and well kept. The washing up facilities were again excellent. The site even provides a bowl, washing up liquid, washing up brushes / scrubbers etc, and even a tea towel; along with gallons of hot water for washing up. There is a fridge / freezer for your use. There was a washing machine, but I did not notice whether it was charged for. EHU is only 6 amps

On the site there is a dry barn that has seating and picnic benches, providing those with smaller tents somewhere undercover to eat etc. There is a small adventure type playground for older children in a small wooded area. The reception is accessed through a beautiful walled garden, this too has benches with a nice lawned area. To the side of this the owners have created a fantastic small area for small children / toddlers with mini play house, slide etc. They have even provided bats, balls etc.!

The owners are very friendly, and always helpful. They even fetched us some fish and chips as we arrived at tea time.!

To surmise, lovely small site, excellent facilities, nice friendly owners and very well located. Will more than likely go back at some point. 


Date of Visit: August 2004
Reviewer: Wannabeblondie 11 reviews from this member

 This is a small campsite run by a nice family. Facilities are OK - adequate for what you need but nothing more. It is opposite the Holiday Inn on the A38 into Bristol so is quite handy for Bristol.

They wanted to charge £4 to wash and dry one load of washing, which considering it was their own washing machine I thought was a bit expensive.

Didn't use pool as it was too cold and couldn't park next to my tent as it was too boggy (had been raining very heavily).

They did have a useful guide to local shops and restaurants which was appreciated. 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brook Lodge Farm Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brook Lodge Farm Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Brook Lodge Farm Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bristol      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2844 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement