Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Looe > Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
St Martin
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 1PB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 227
Open: 16/03/2022 to 05/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: CREAKY 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here again for a week at whitsun and what can I say, such a fantastic and friendly welcome from the wardens. It's a big site with an equal number of grass and hardstanding pitches and to top it all a pristine heated swimming pool. The facilities are fab, with 2 toilet blocks complete with piped music and even hand cream supplied free. We have stayed here several times before, but this year there is a different team of people who seem to go well beyond the extra mile. There's quite a few wardens work here but they all seem so happy in their work, always willing to chat, or offer advice on the local scene.

We are definitely returning here to this site in September to attend the Looe music festival, it is much cheaper than the surrounding campsites and you know you're getting proper customer service. A seven seater taxi is only a fiver into Looe so you can be assured of a great weekend.

In my opinion this is by far the best caravan site in east Cornwall. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Billy whizz 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a great stay at Looe. The wardens are very friendly and efficient and work tirelessly to keep. The site immaculate.

The facilities are stunning. Music in the loos, heated swimming pool, great library. Great local pubs. We will return for the Looe music festival in September 65 bands in town and on the beach. Can't wait. There are great views of the sea from lots of pitches and others have scenic countryside views. A good mix of hardstanding and grass pitches and some serviced pitches are available. The kids play area is second to none complete with crazy golf, basketball and a tennis court. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Itsyum 111 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a great week at Looe Caravan Club site and have got nothing but praise for the site !

Just a shame it poured with rain all week !

Its a very large site, very well maintained with two toilet blocks which were on par with the best we've come across large and immaculately clean ! there are plenty of facilities for families (swimming pool, kids play area, tennis courts etc etc. ) the Wardens were all very helpful always touring around the site on their 'lawnmowers & tennis buggy's'

During our stay most of the grass pitches were out of use due to the past 2 months of torrential rain and the wardens worked really hard to accommodate everyone on a hardstanding - well done to them !

The site is situated in a very quiet location on a hill about 2 miles from Looe with some pitches overlooking the distant sea and most looking onto the lovely Cornish countryside - if you get chance head for the bottom pitches !

There is a regular bus service into Looe (2 single) & Plymouth - the road past the site is busy & fast so not really a walking or cycling option into Looe

There are a couple of Co-op Mini supermarkets in Looe and a Morrisons in Liskard (about 7 miles away) and for fish & chips you must try Kelly's in Looe (yum) 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fuzzyfreak 29 reviews from this member

 I stayed here once before, around fifteen years ago and had wanted to come back since. Unfortunately, I found the place rather souless, but this probably had more to do with the weather and time of year. I could not fault the toilet block, warm and spotless but yet again, I find traces of pretentiousness among the CC wardens. Don't get me wrong, the warden was efficient and even stopped putting on her make-up to serve me (I had turned up at 5:30pm right before their staff party) but when I asked if the pool was open she replied 'You must be joking' - actually I wasn't but I suppose, with hindsight it was a silly question.

I'd probably come back with my daughter, but may have to start avoiding CC sites when on my own. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gatesy 20 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit - we came for a Whitsun weekend a couple of years ago, and this time we were using it as a stop off on our way home. When we came before, we managed to get a really nice hardstanding, but had we arrived a few minutes later we would have ended up on one of the grass pitches, which in places seem close together. For that reason, this time around I booked a serviced pitch so that I knew we would have a decent sized hardstanding, but I really wish I had done my homework beforehand! As a previous reviewer has said, the serviced pitches, ie the most expensive, are right next to the play area (which I don't remember as being so big, perhaps it's been extended?), and it was really noisy - not to be recommended unless you have young children you want to be able to keep an eye on. However, on the plus side, it taught me to be more careful in future! Aside from that, toilet facilities very good as usual, the pool is a really nice addition (not particularly large, but free and heated!), and Looe is in walking distance (but very steep hill coming back, which will at least burn off all the calories from fish and chips etc). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Slimseydy 33 reviews from this member

 Nice site as long as you manage to get a hard standing pitch, grass pitches very close together. We were lucky to get a hard stand as the weather has not been great so the grass pitches looked tired & soggy. Hard & grass pitches very sloping so bring lots of levelling blocks,

Staff helpful, good tennis court & clean pool,

Thought the price was a bit steep but still cheaper than your main commercial sites for this period,

Fully serviced pitches available but directly opposite all the play areas, so unless you have van full of kids avoid it like the plague. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lrr77 14 reviews from this member

 We booked this on the day as we were touring around Cornwall and needed a site in this area. The site had spaces and we arrived in the afternoon.

The mangers seem friendly and there is a small shop but has many various items for sale. The manager did not know what sites we could choose as they had not kept a record of recent arrivals which I thought was strange!

We found a pitch and sorted the campervan out. Unfortunately it did not stop raining from arrival to departure!

We find the Caravan Club a bit snobby and this is a put off really even though we are members we have visited various sites and encountered this snobby attitude so we plan to not visit their sites in the future.

The camp site is quite big with many pitches in a few locations and the facilities as normal are very good.

There is a pool but we did not use this during our visit. We drove into Looe and this took about 10 minutes. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mikemoss 18 reviews from this member

 I would like to have stayed here for two nights from April 8th but the quoted cost of 43 per night for a standard pitch put me off.

Have been before and the site is fine in typical Caravan Club style, but to charge peak season-plus fees in early April does not encourage me to come back this time.

In the past I have found the wardens to be friendly and helpful, and the site is well laid out with ample space between units. Shower blocks are to the Club's usual standard, but the dog walk is somewhat limited. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 639 reviews from this member

 When we stayed the grass pitches at the top of the site were all closed - so everyone on the lower areas of hard standings.

Spacious pitches, usual immaculate toilets / showers from the CC.

We did query why this site cost more than other CC in the area and warden advised it was because they have a swimming pool (which was closed!) and because they are one of the top CC sites.

We ate out in the evening in Looe (approx 3 miles) - good parking for campers / motorhomes across the river bridge to the right hand side.

No shops / pubs near the site so you need to be prepared to walk / drive the few miles if you want to eat out etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PIG-IN-A-WIG 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, pitches are spacious but the access to them is very very tight, was quite amusing seeing lots of attempts at parking the touring vans when the site was busy! Kids settled in immediately the play area very good with park and a ball court, crazy golf and tennis courts enough to keep them busy. Also the children were able to ride their bikes so that was good too.

The shower blocks were fab always clean and tidy considering how busy it was the wardens worked tirelessly to keep it all spotless. The outdoor pool was a great asset the kids loved it. It was a lovely quiet site, although it was busy it had a lovely ambience to it.

The dog walk was a little small and quite dirty, but that had nothing to do with the wardens and they supplied two bins and put up notices asking people to pick up after their dogs, they just didn't.

The nearest beach where you can take your dogs is Seaton, only about 5-10mins drive and really cheap to park. Nice beach couple of pubs and cafes so all you need for a day out!

Great walking here too, we downloaded details of a circular walk around Rames Head near Plymouth, wow what a fantastic experience, we had a gorgeous sunny day and the views were to die for. Also all through the hedgerows on the cliff top we were bombarded by butterflies it was amazing. Cawsand where you start and finish the walk is a perfect example of a cornish village, fabulous.

Polperro is a must too, on arriving at the massive car park (on a Saturday) we though oh no this is going to be so busy and touristy, but it wasn't, I don't know where everyone went but it wasn't overly crowded at all.

Polperro is a beautiful beautiful place - just Cornwall as it should be. We took a boat trip (doggy came too) along the coast line faboulous scenery. 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Looe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3133 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement