Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Looe > Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
St Martin
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 1PB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 227
Open: 16/03/2022 to 05/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stu_art 5 reviews from this member

 First the good points.

Toilet blocks are excellent, clean, plenty of room, clean and ideally placed.

Kids playground is great, tennis court and mini golf all very pleasant.

The swimming pool is nice and warm, even on cold wet days.

Now the bad points.

We delayed our arrival until just before 12 noon as it said in the book no admittance before 12 noon, we the found out that other vans had been admitted as early as 9am.

There were lots of pitches with a sign Allocation by wardens and we were told that we could not use these pitches, later after we had set up we saw a warden and asked about these pitches, she said that they were allocated to large outfits, Mine is 7.96 meters I would class that as large.

Don't get a service pitch as all of these are alongside the playground and very noisy from early till late.

Over all the site is very nice with a very nice quite beach at Milendreth, left off the main road on the way to Looe. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacqueline1 7 reviews from this member

 Just got back from this camp site and would certainly go back. Weather not very good but the site was lovely. Out door swimming pool and was told it was like a warm bath.

New toilet blocks and they were very nice with very hot showers. Bottom end of the site was much quieter than the top, super pitches was much bigger but right next to the children play area.

Looe was a 5 minute drive and a visit to fowey is a must with a ferry going straight over from about a 10 minute drive from the site. Lovely area just a shame about the British weather 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Martins16 8 reviews from this member

 This was a return visit for us having stayed here last year and I must say the new toilet/shower blocks have made a huge difference they are excellent there are now a few hard standing superpitches as well.

I had posted last year that the commercial site next door did let you become temporary members for the week for 5.00 a week per person but on checking this year they have put the price up to 15.00! pp so gave that a miss.

A good find was that during July and August the local bus service do run late buses (last bus back to the commercial site next door was 11.35pm) so it was nice to go into Looe in an evening there was also a very nice pub on the Barbican which was a 20-25 minute walk from the site.

We used to walk into Looe from the site, it was a good 40-50 minute awalk and quite steep in parts so the bus back up made it easier. Taxi from Looe to the site was 7- 9 so quite expensive.

We really enjoyed our stay at Looe and found the wardens very helpful and friendly. Would definitely come back again 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MANDYH01 10 reviews from this member

 Our stay at Looe Caravan club site was very welcoming and enjoyable. The warden was very pleasant and he was always smiling and happy to help us. The toilet block was quite immaculate and the shop sold chocolate bars, games, crisps and ice cream so that it wouldn't take up extra space in your car! The swimming pool has sun loungers to relax and also the magnificent pool for kids, mums, dads, friends and other holiday - makers to enjoy.

The town of St Martians is brilliant for everyone's taste and the kids can run wild playing football, cricket or badminton on the beach and under control of their mums and dads!

The site is also very dog friendly too!

By Emma Hurd. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rdyeovil 4 reviews from this member

 Made booking for this one line and they were expecting us on our arrival. Good choice of hardstands available but understand a few days before they were fully booked.

Like all Caravan Club sites, very tidy clean etc, only minor complaint being only 3 showers to each block so waiting was necessary and the water pressure a little low.

Staff very helpful with details of buses into Looe (using our bus passes) and ways into Looe walking avoiding the main road, as nearer Looe, where there are no footpath.

Tennis court, crazy golf and swimming pool all free but cannot say we tested them.

On last night weather forecast, expected gale force 9 and my Mrs does not like being in the van when being blown about so found some empty hard standings protected by a high bank. Staff happily let us move there. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Martins16 8 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site, the wardens were very helpful. The pitches are a good size we were on the hard standing at the back of the site and they seemed a bit more roomier than the grass ones, the swimming pool was an added bonus, the only thing that let the site down was there was not enough toilet and showers but the warden did say that planning permission was going through for new toilet blocks - this would make the site perfect. You could get the bus to Looe either outside the gates for the hopper bus (we never did manage to catch that) or just up the road at Looe Bay Holiday Park just a pity that the buses stopped back up to the site quite early, so you had to drive into Looe if you wanted to go down for the evening. My husband found out that Looe Bay the site next door did let you become temporary members for 5.00 each per week, that was money well spent as it had a large amusement arcade for my son and also some quite good entertainment in the evenings. There was also a nice quiet bar, a supermarket and restaurant, we never ate there but it did get very good reviews. I'm sure we will come back to this site especially if they get the new toilet blocks. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Neil+Barb 20 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 16 nights June/July 09. We originally booked for 4 nights, but the weather was lovely and we liked the site, so we stayed for 16 nights and saw much of the Cornish coastline.

We arrived early, but they kindly let us pitch up. The site is easy to find, but please follow the site's instructions, as there is a very tight bend from the other direction.

The site is generally sloping. We had a grass pitch. The hard standing were flatter, with better views, but were fully booked. The grass pitch was fine, but they are a bit close together and most will require blocks. Moving a twin axle around this site needs some care when the site is full.

Well stocked shop, with very friendly and helpful staff. The outdoor pool was lovely and free. It is heated was very warm. Plenty of sun loungers. Just perfect for relaxing.

The toilet blocks were very clean and well maintained, with good facilities, but there were the normal queues for the showers at peak times. I believe they are putting in extra facilities.

Reasonable sized dog walk, with stunning veiws across the valley. Pitch and put and tennis available.

Lots to see within 1/2 hour drive. Looe is a few minutes drive away and has plenty of pubs and restaurants. It's a pretty fishing village. Polperro, Patstow, Megavissy etc, all easy to get to from Looe.

You need to drive virtually everywhere from this site, no little country pub within easy walking.

Overall a very nice and well maintained CC site, but the plots are a bit tight. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RigLee 7 reviews from this member

 We arrived on 22 May. Loads of pitches free and because of the impending glorious weather we went for a grass pitch with electric hook up. Lovely. This site has both grass and hard standing although the hard standing are further away from the reception and pool etc.

Fantastic staff. Your newspaper saved for you daily and of course being in Cornwall. The cream teas were on sale.A lovely shop with all emergency supplies !

There is a farm shop approx 200 yards away. That is worth a visit as well.

A lovely heated pool and crazy golf and tennis for the more active. We had 9 nights here and had only one bad day with the weather.

Looe is only 2 miles from the campsite. We also visited Polperro and Fowey. Two other beautiful Cornish villages. We also drove to St Ives about an hour and 20 mins away. Worth the effort. Lovely place.

On the wet day we went to Plymouth approx 30 mins away. Lots to do here.

We loved it here. Obviously the weather always helps and we are now looking forward to our second trip to Cornwall in July. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jayarbee 33 reviews from this member

 This is a typical Caravan Club site. The wardens were pleasant and the site was clean. We were allowed to pick our own pitch and we didn't have any trouble setting up. Only one toilet block was open but this didn't cause us any problems and the toilets and showers were clean. We set up at the bottom of the site and thought it excellent. There was electric hook-up and plenty of space.

If you turn left out of the gate there is a nice farm shop and further on turn left at the boats with the flowers and you come to a small parade of shops with a very good bakers. There's a spar shop further on. Looe is nice to visit with beaches for the kids. Park next to petrol station or over the bridge on the right. Make sure you get pasty and cake from the 'Looe Bakers'

If you visit Polperro check parking charges! Polruan is pretty with a ferry across to Fowey. Try 'Brown Sugar' for coffee and 'Kittow's deli' for unbelievable local made quiches and pies. Or the lovely lady there makes up french sticks while you wait.

We're boring old people who like walking on the cliffs but there are plenty of beaches and family things in and around the area. We'll certainly be going back. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tony.cliff 12 reviews from this member

 This wonderful site has all the usual Caravan Club benefits but also happens to be sited in one of the nicest places ever. The views are fantastic, walking is superb and if you need it there is plenty of public transport. Facilities are spotless and the wardens friendly and helpful. Looe has a wide variety of shops, restaurants and cafes. The best traditional pasties are from Sara's pasty shop. One word of warning. If you venture to Polperro avoid the Chip Ahoy fish and chip shop. Overpriced, unfriendly staff and I swear my camper has a more regular oil change. 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Looe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2916 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement