Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Looe > Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
St Martin
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 1PB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 227
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 52 Reviews
                9/10 from 52 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 50 reviews from this member

 We arrived on site early afternoon and found it very busy. Ended up on a very sloping grass pitch near the exit but told we could move the next day to a much leveller hard standing.

The site is very steep in places and levelling blocks are needed on a lot of pitches. Very friendly and helpful wardens who were always busy on site and with swimming pool. Very hot weather so pool was used a lot

Excellent bus service from front entrance going to Looe and Polperro. Didn't sample takeaways on site this time but can recommend from previous visits to site.

There are two large toilet blocks which are kept spotless considering the amount of use they get.

Very nice site 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Glyn43 4 reviews from this member

 Good location especially for those who do not want to use their motorhome for local trips as there is a very good bus service outside the site entrance.

Superb walking area and a lovely beach in Looe. Nearby Polperro, not to be missed

Don't miss out on a trip, from Looe to Liskeard on the railway. Only £2.90 with a railcard!

The bus from the site stops outside the station and the Globe Pub opposite the station is worth a visit

Also excellent boat trips from Looe and Polperro.

The site itself has slopes that could possibly cause problems for anyone with a disability.

The site is basically made up, of two areas with a toilet block in each area.

The problem when we were there was that the top, facility's block was closed even though there were at least 40 units on the top site. The lower site( virtually all hard standing) was fully booked so the closure of the upper block was inexplicable especially as it clearly increased the pressure on the lower block.

The CDP, washing up area, and one unisex toilet were kept open but the staff were certainly not keen to open up the washrooms and showers.

The staff did however respond to comments about why the swimming pool, had been shut earlier than expected and re opened it for another week. Lovely pool and warm too!

Generally a very good site and well worth a visit but why shut a toilet block when there are lots of units on site!? 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 50 reviews from this member

 Arrived on site after 3 hours driving in relentless rain. Funny it stopped as we arrived on site. My first attempt to pitch on grass pitch, which I had requested on a lovely sunny day, went horribly wrong and I had to be rescued by the wardens who very swiftly restored my dignity and moved me to a hardstanding with views over the bay at Looe which could not be seen till the next day because of the mist. Levelling blocks are needed on most pitches.

The park and it`s two shower/toilet blocks were kept immaculate and were a real credit to the wardens. All of the wardens were friendly and helpful and always around keeping site up to scratch. There is a bus stop at the park entrance with buses to Plymouth, Looe, Polperro and liskeard running hourly. We were able to make full use of the buses with our bus concession passes.

There is a Fish and Chip van on site Thursday evening and Pizza van on Sunday. The latter I can recommend as we had eaten out on the Thursday and did not sample their wares. Overall this is a lovely friendly park in a lovely area coming a very close second to our favourite local site at Burford C&M Club. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 Lovely CC site situated at the top of the hill approximately 2 miles outside of Looe. Stunning views from some of the pitches over both the countryside and coast.

Plenty of both hard standing and grass pitches to choose from.

2 toilet/shower blocks both spotlessly clean at all times.

Bins, with recycling, and waste & water points all around the site.

Indoor washing up facilities and laundry in both blocks.

The site is kept immaculate by the very hard working wardens.

It's a bit of a walk down into Looe but nothing compared to back up to the site! We did both (and survived. Just!). We also caught a taxi back up from town one evening - £7! There is a bus that now stops right outside the site but didn't use it and not sure how often it runs.

We did a walk directly from the site down to Looe via Millendreath. There's a café and bar on the beach there for your half way rest! You then take the coast path up and then down into Looe, stunning views all the way along and well worth it. Can highly recommend Sarah's Pasties, a very small, but busy bakery in the town. Yum!

We loved the site but felt it was a bit far out for motorhomers who rely on walking to/from places. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kavs 9 reviews from this member

 What a stunning site. Well kept and really nicely laid out with excellent facilities. The children's play area looks amazing although no children on site as they are all in school. Nice dog exercise area which has been enjoyed by many dogs on site this week. Very friendly and hard working wardens. A good location to tour the many attractions Cornwall has to offer and a peaceful site to return to following a busy day. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kippy123 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, toilet block always spotless, staff so helpful, outdoor swimming pool lovely facility to have on a touring site + tennis court. Smashing fish restaurant just down the road (does other food) licenced, think it is called the coddy shack definitely worth a visit. I would recommend this site to anyone. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cdkerr 2 reviews from this member

 Looe clubsite is a very nice and quiet base from which you can investigate loo and the surrounding area. Its on several levels but reasonably compact for trips to shower block and recycling points. Staff are lovely and very helpful.

There's a bus stop right outside the entrance from where you can access loo and polperrot (car parking at both is difficult and no concessions for disabled badge holders.

Parking for 3 hours cost just over £3

There's more parking over the bridge but it will be a difficult walk back for pushchairs due to the steep hill you need to negotiate. )

Site itself is as mentioned good, telephone reception is good but poor mobile internet (ee in this case)

Site WiFi works to a reasonable standard but can suffer from lag at times (slow running)

Towing access is ok, follow the instructions given but those new to towing should know that the last few miles to site are tight and may quicken the pulse rate.

Those who like to indulge in some people watching while on site may like to know that the layout is such that your opportunities are limited due to the layers between pitches.

You have a view of your row but it's a limited view.

Would I stay here again? There's certainly nothing stopping me but if I were looking for better views from the van I may look at alternatives 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TEENAR 5 reviews from this member

 Myself and my husband have just returned from Looe Caravan Club site where we stayed for the Looe music festival. The location of the site is ideal, as there is a bus stop literally just outside the entrance of the site which takes you into Looe, but what's even better is for the music festival a courtesy bus runs, it stops at the same stop as the normal bus, and it only cost £1 each way. The journey is 10 minutes and runs until 1 in the morning.

I will tell you about the site first. It's lovely ! Very clean ! Great shower blocks. Plenty of showers, toilets and private hand basins, there are also 2 hair driers in the ladies toilets. There is a dish washing room, again plenty of sinks. They have clothes washing/drying facilities. Good ELSAN point and grey water disposal. There is a small shop on site, selling the basics. The is good WIFI on site. The site is laid out really well. Each unit has plenty of space. The views are great over the rambling hills. The wardens are very friendly, helpful and humorous.

Now, as I mentioned earlier the reason we were in Looe was for the music festival. It's a really fab weekend. Lots of music, not only at the dedicated venues, (2 of which are on the beach, what a great backdrop to watch music), but around the town in the pubs and in the winding streets. Looe really is a quaint place. There is music for all tastes.

If you like music, food and beer then this festival is for you. 2016 the dates are 16th to 18th September.

Get yourselves to Looe Caravan Club site where you will be made very welcome ! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kate w 54 reviews from this member

 Myself, my daughter, her friend and our 2 dogs have just had a lovely week at this very well kept site, a treat for my daughter after finishing her GCSE exams. The wardens are friendly, facilities clean and plentiful. Pool is excellent, with plenty of sunloungers and separate paddling pool for little ones. Playground, sports courts and mini golf all good, clean and safe for children.

A fish and chip van calls on a Monday night, chips were good but not as good as those from 'The Coddy Shack' just down the road.

Looe and Polperro are lovely places to explore, take a trip on the ferry at Fowey, lots of narrow lanes to navigate when satnav directs you around the countryside.

A lovely site that I'd definitely return to when in the area. We had a great holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SaucyMinx 6 reviews from this member

 Fantastic quiet site with well stocked shop. Really peaceful too with no road noise. The couple who run it are really friendly and helpful too. The toilet block is very 'posh' and very clean. Good chip shop just up the road, the Chinese take-a-way delivers and there is a good local pub to drive to. There is a children's play area but it's not massive and but ok but as we don't have children that was fine. Black Rock beach and café is also local but is quite a walk, especially coming back up the hill - only for the fit, but is accessible by car also. The Monkey Sanctuary is also within walking distance. I would definitely return to this site as we loved staying there. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Looe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6890 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement