Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Looe > Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
St Martin
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 1PB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 227
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 15 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: MSV4 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site, well managed by the team of 8 wardens.

Campsite outdoor swimming pool was really enjoyable even in the inclement weather we had.

Tennis court and crazy golf an added attraction, enjoyed by young and old. Great football/basketball enclosed area. Playground was well used.

Some pitches seemed on the small side and you may struggle to get an awning with annexe up on them.

We had a hardstanding pitch and as the site wasn't busy were able to find a good sized pitch for our use.

Bus service to Looe from next door camp site, we didn't make use of it.

Would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jayarbee 37 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit with a big gap between, still thought it a good site

On arrival there was the usual pleasant welcome by wardens.

This is a CAMC site so no surprises. Good clean facilities and site generally well looked after. There is a shop with some bits and pieces.

There is a dog walk and a really good kids playground.

We were left to choose our own pitch and found a hard standing with EHU.

Our stay was in the unbelievably scorching weather so after the setting up palaver I was very hot sweaty and uncomfortable so shorts on and up to the on site pool. To my great surprise I found I’d forgotten how to swim! There is a lifeguard. Still able to float so no drama plus THE BOSS is a certificated lifeguard so hopefully she’ll come to my rescue.

Looe is a nice place to visit but busy. Has all the shops you’re likely to need. Had a couple of meals there including burger and chips from Kelly’s which was good.

A pleasant trip is by ‘bus to Polperro. Spent a nice day there.

Highly recommend the boat trip to Mevagissey. We went from Looe to Bodinnick and parked there. (very small car park, be early. ) Went across as pedestrians on the car ferry to Fowey then by ferry from Fowey to Mevagissey. Saw some rare dolphins on the way over. Then reversed the journey for return.

Also worth a visit is Whitsands Bay and the cafe on the military road at Freathy. Look out for Tregantle fort. Carry on east to Kingsand and Cawsand end up at the hermitage at Rame.

There is also Antony House and gardens. Not open every day so check.

Lots of other local info on site.

Still amazed I’d forgotten how to swim, thought you couldn’t do that.

You can even hear the sea lions at night. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 56 reviews from this member

 Large spacious site with great views from many pitches.

Immaculate facilities.

Bus stops from adjacent site, £10 all day for a family. £20 for a weeks pass.

Plenty of rabbits to watch playing.

40 minute walk to the beach,

Site is close to coast path. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: DavetheIV 16 reviews from this member

 A very clean and well managed site.

Staff very helpful when approached.

Will certainly return at some stage.

WARNING however, don't follow a sat nav, choose instead all A roads to approach site. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 15 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madasaman 57 reviews from this member

 We booked this site early on in the year after deciding to cancel our French trip again due to Covid. We picked this site as it had a pool which would be great for the grandkids who were also coming.

A few weeks before our due date we had a message from the CAMC that they were unable to open the pool and a £4 a night reduction would be made. Whilst this was appreciated the reason for booking was the pool. The notification came too late to rearrange to another site with pool as with the staycation boom we couldn't find another site with 2 pitches for our dates.

The site itself was fine, facilities very good and spotless mostly as expected. Whilst you can walk to Looe, it is a good walk and very hilly, with no pavement for a lot of it.

There are no pubs within a safe walking distance.

Enjoyed our time, but this is one crossed off our list for the future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hlwarn 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site and very well maintained. Facilities are great with fantastic power showers and a baby/toddler room with bath, which we found invaluable as our toddler hates showers!

Very friendly staff who were always happy to help!

The local area is lovely, Looe is a short drive away for those with little children who can’t manage the walk, and there’s a huge car park over the bridge with plenty of spaces!

Lots of little food and deli shops and the beach is great! Hannafore beach is great for crabbing too! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: HOSPITALWORKER 51 reviews from this member

 A beautiful site with sea views in the distance. As others have mentioned it’s on a hill (as is expected being in Cornwall)

There’s a bus stop right outside where you can travel to Polperro or Plymouth and buses run regularly during the day.

Excellent shower/toilet facilities.

The following are well worth a visit

Van just past the Looe Holiday Park- sells the most amazing home baked Cornish Pasty’s

The Coddy Shack about a 10 minute walk towards Looe - great choice of meals in the restaurant and offers a takeaway menu lunchtime and evenings.

Would be happy to visit this site again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 51 reviews from this member

 We arrived on site early afternoon and found it very busy. Ended up on a very sloping grass pitch near the exit but told we could move the next day to a much leveller hard standing.

The site is very steep in places and levelling blocks are needed on a lot of pitches. Very friendly and helpful wardens who were always busy on site and with swimming pool. Very hot weather so pool was used a lot

Excellent bus service from front entrance going to Looe and Polperro. Didn't sample takeaways on site this time but can recommend from previous visits to site.

There are two large toilet blocks which are kept spotless considering the amount of use they get.

Very nice site 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Glyn43 4 reviews from this member

 Good location especially for those who do not want to use their motorhome for local trips as there is a very good bus service outside the site entrance.

Superb walking area and a lovely beach in Looe. Nearby Polperro, not to be missed

Don't miss out on a trip, from Looe to Liskeard on the railway. Only £2.90 with a railcard!

The bus from the site stops outside the station and the Globe Pub opposite the station is worth a visit

Also excellent boat trips from Looe and Polperro.

The site itself has slopes that could possibly cause problems for anyone with a disability.

The site is basically made up, of two areas with a toilet block in each area.

The problem when we were there was that the top, facility's block was closed even though there were at least 40 units on the top site. The lower site( virtually all hard standing) was fully booked so the closure of the upper block was inexplicable especially as it clearly increased the pressure on the lower block.

The CDP, washing up area, and one unisex toilet were kept open but the staff were certainly not keen to open up the washrooms and showers.

The staff did however respond to comments about why the swimming pool, had been shut earlier than expected and re opened it for another week. Lovely pool and warm too!

Generally a very good site and well worth a visit but why shut a toilet block when there are lots of units on site!? 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 51 reviews from this member

 Arrived on site after 3 hours driving in relentless rain. Funny it stopped as we arrived on site. My first attempt to pitch on grass pitch, which I had requested on a lovely sunny day, went horribly wrong and I had to be rescued by the wardens who very swiftly restored my dignity and moved me to a hardstanding with views over the bay at Looe which could not be seen till the next day because of the mist. Levelling blocks are needed on most pitches.

The park and it`s two shower/toilet blocks were kept immaculate and were a real credit to the wardens. All of the wardens were friendly and helpful and always around keeping site up to scratch. There is a bus stop at the park entrance with buses to Plymouth, Looe, Polperro and liskeard running hourly. We were able to make full use of the buses with our bus concession passes.

There is a Fish and Chip van on site Thursday evening and Pizza van on Sunday. The latter I can recommend as we had eaten out on the Thursday and did not sample their wares. Overall this is a lovely friendly park in a lovely area coming a very close second to our favourite local site at Burford C&M Club. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Looe Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Looe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55007 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement