Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Balbirnie Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes > Balbirnie Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Balbirnie Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Markinch
Glenrothes
Fife   (Browse area)
KY7 6NR
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 91
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 31 Reviews
                9/10 from 31 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marybeare 7 reviews from this member

We enjoyed 4 days at this friendly wooded site with all the normal caravan club facilities and lots of wildlife.It can be dark under the trees so chose your pitch with this in mind.

Set in Balbirnie park which is perfect for walking or relaxing.

We had car problems which meant we spent two days carless!The site is close to a good bus service to glenrothes,a railway station with direct line to Edinburgh.Short walk to Post office, and shops close by selling food,papers etc.Two local hotels serving food.The restaurant in balbirnie park hotel is expensive but their bistro is excellent and good value

A ideal site if you don't want to use your car.And enjoy peace and quiet

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blondie1289 4 reviews from this member

Relatively nice campsite, small areas for vans. Pretty hilly and lots of trees which means lots of flies, midges and bugs!

Nothing for the children to do, but surrounding area nice.

Ground sheet needed to be lifted regularly which can be disruptive with small children in the wet weather.

Strict rules about cars and parking, wardens extremely focused on enforcing the Caravan Club rules which even as members did spoil our holiday a bit.

Not sure if I would recommend for children, couples maybe.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wagonlad 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here over easter and had a great time, the site while sarting to show it's age was of the top CC stanards and the wardens were very welcoming and helpful, the wardens support the guide dog society and my daughter won a little soft guide dog puppy many thanks she still takes it to bed now.

While there we visited the so called 'Secret Nuclear Bunker' it was well worth a visit, very interesting. There is a farm shop with some good proudce for sale and things for the kids to do (small animals and peddle tractors etc) also worth a quick visit, it's 5 mins up the road at a village called Balmalcom ask the wardens they will point you in the direction.

While others on here have showed concern over the estate next door we had no problems while we were there and we did not notice the road noise others talk about.

Well worth a stay and will be returning in the futre.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Booyaa 8 reviews from this member

Nice park, only a very small area for tents and do not take booking apparently. Warden was helpful when we eventually found him.

Tent pitches are under trees with not much flat ground, but as there are normally no other tents you should get the area to yourself.

Site suffers a bit from the noise from the main road, thought it was oddly loud at night. No problem from the housing estate which is right next to the tent pitches, as said below, it is mostly screened off by trees.

Toilet and wash block was very clean and tidy, also plenty of bins and taps round the site.

Lots to do in the area, a walk round Balbirnie PArk is a much, very pleasant and quiet, even on a very sunny day!

Overall I would recommend this site, probably for a quick stay, no more than a couple of nights though.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: IainM 22 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site many times.

Wardens friendly and helpful. Lower portion of the site can flood in very wet weather - as it did in July of 2007, but soon drained.

Tend now to head for higher parts of the site.

Facilities old but spotless.

Loads to do locally. Shopping in Glenrothes nearby.

Edinburgh, Glasgow, Stirling, St Andrew's and Dundee all within easy striking distance.

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Raffik 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here with our Eriba over the Bank Holiday Weekend.
Sited in the lovely Balbirnie Park, lots of trees and nature walks in the park.
Couldn't have asked for a better reception from the site wardens. Managed to get a grass pitch (not keen on the gravel pitches). 
Markinch, just up the road, is not the nicest place we have visited- a large council estate runs along side one wall of the site but it generally sheltered by the trees.
 
The site was charming. Clean toilets, clean laundry room and the bins were emptied throughout the day. The wardens were extremely friendly.
 
We would go back!

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frequentcamper 4 reviews from this member

A site I have visited several times. Admittedly the first time I visited I was slightly put off by the housing bearing down on one side (and it is only one side) of the site, behind a screen of tall trees. However I need not have worried. In all the times I have visited, there has never been any anti-social behaviour emanating from that area. So my snobbish attitudes really were something I should have been ashamed of. After a while you don't even notice , and they are well distanced from the site by long back gardens. 

The site itself is very clean, and well-kept. The grounds, the toilets, are all well-kept. The only downside to the site is that it has lots of sloping areas. Most pitches are level but a few require a bit of expertise on levelling your van on a sloping pitch. There is a well-screened-off area at the back of the campsite for children to play their ball games. I would accept what one reviewer said about over-fussy wardens, but I suspect this may be because the sloping nature of the site lends itself to more pitching problems than other sites, and the wardens are simply worn out with the additional help required. 

Don't let anything I have said put you off. I have been several times and will go back again. It is in a very handy location for visting Dunfermline, Perth, Stirling, etc. Nearby Balbirnie Park makes an interesting walk, although you need to watch out for the dog-dirt. 

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PCI75 9 reviews from this member

This is a nice site although it does seem to be overlooked by a housing estate, and most of the pitches are under the cover of trees.  The toilets were clean and there are recycling bins on site.  You are right on the park and there are loads of lovely walks, there is even a hotel and golf course.  We had a hard standing pitch with electricity and plenty of room for an awning if needed.  There is a nice gap between the pitches so you don't feel that you are crammed in.  There is a main road running alongside the camp site and there was a bit of road noise from that.  I'm not sure if you could park up where you couldn't hear the road of see the housing estate but we didn't have anu trouble form either.  The village is nice and close and there is also a bike park nearby.  We saw lots of wild life both on the camp site and in the park.  We have booked to go again.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Darren Padley 5 reviews from this member

Very good site, toilets etc spotless . Site was up to the normal caravan club standard. Only dissapointment was the attitude of the male warden. He clamped down immediately on any slight violation of the rules. Be warned if you have visitors who park their car for longer than a minute in the wrong place, order a taxi who dares to turn round in the visitors car park (Taxis not allowed on site - but no notices up telling you), have a plastic groundsheet down even if you lift it every day. It did slightly spoil our stay there

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Vince Prince 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a weekend as a base - nice wee site, in wooded area on edge of Balbirnie park. Site very pleasant - bit of road noise at night on the weekend - had no problem from the houses nearby. As usual with CC sites facilities and wardens excellent

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Glenrothes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2224 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019