Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Balbirnie Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes > Balbirnie Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Balbirnie Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Markinch
Glenrothes
Fife   (Browse area)
KY7 6NR
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 91
Open: 04/07/2020 to 05/11/2020
           16/03/2021 to 05/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 34 Reviews
                9/10 from 34 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sadkate 9 reviews from this member

 I visited here with a tiny tent, travelling by bike.

The staff were helpful if a bit difficult to locate at times.

It's a small site and seemed to be populated by long term visitors. The only other residents I met were very friendly, taking pity on me in my tiny tent with my tiny stove and bringing me boiling water.

The pitch I was given was in an area under some trees. Bearing in mind my tent is about 2m by 1. 5m I struggled to find a flat when it was quite empty. The ground wasn't very flat and there were quite a lot of roots.

The park is in a good location for exploring Fife. Falkland Palace, East and West Lomond hills for climbing, Pillars of Hercules organic farm cafe, nature reserve at Loch Leven, etc. All nearby and it's still near to the coast if you want to go to the beach.

It's a 5 minute walk into the village of Markinch where there is a pub or two. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Raithfanz 7 reviews from this member

 We were visiting family in nearby Kirkcaldy as well as having a few tourist days in Edinburgh and along the Fife coast so this was a virtually ideal location for us.

The wardens were friendly (but difficult to find sometimes due to it being a busy site). The site was fairly full on our arrival and although we found a pitch fairly quickly others who came after us found it harder to find a pitch they were happy with.

We pitched on the side nearest the road and the housing mentioned by others. We had absolutely no problems with any noise - as far as we were concerned we might have been in the middle of nowhere.

The site is on a hill and there was often a strong smell of burnt clutch so beware if you are pulling a heavy van!

The facilities were spotless and included recycling bins and a laundry room which was great as it rained a lot and my family (my son in particular) were running out of clean clothes!

Its a good location for exploring the beautiful Fife coast including Pittenweem and Anstruther (which has Britains Best Chip Shop). It is also a good location for Edinburgh as Markinch Railway Station in only a few minutes walk away.

There was no playground but the children amused themselves and Balbirnie Park (to which the caravan site is attached) is huge with plenty of area for the kids to let off steam.

We would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stephendufton 10 reviews from this member

 Excellent facilities, and a warm and helpful reception from the staff. The thing that I enjoyed most was meeting the people of Markinch. At first sight this does not look a promising town, but everyone we met, in shops, in pubs and even out walking were extremely friendly and helpful. There are also regular trains from the nearby station to edinburgh or Perth. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marybeare 7 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed 4 days at this friendly wooded site with all the normal caravan club facilities and lots of wildlife.It can be dark under the trees so chose your pitch with this in mind.

Set in Balbirnie park which is perfect for walking or relaxing.

We had car problems which meant we spent two days carless!The site is close to a good bus service to glenrothes,a railway station with direct line to Edinburgh.Short walk to Post office, and shops close by selling food,papers etc.Two local hotels serving food.The restaurant in balbirnie park hotel is expensive but their bistro is excellent and good value

A ideal site if you don't want to use your car.And enjoy peace and quiet 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blondie1289 4 reviews from this member

 Relatively nice campsite, small areas for vans. Pretty hilly and lots of trees which means lots of flies, midges and bugs!

Nothing for the children to do, but surrounding area nice.

Ground sheet needed to be lifted regularly which can be disruptive with small children in the wet weather.

Strict rules about cars and parking, wardens extremely focused on enforcing the Caravan Club rules which even as members did spoil our holiday a bit.

Not sure if I would recommend for children, couples maybe. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wagonlad 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here over easter and had a great time, the site while sarting to show it's age was of the top CC stanards and the wardens were very welcoming and helpful, the wardens support the guide dog society and my daughter won a little soft guide dog puppy many thanks she still takes it to bed now.

While there we visited the so called 'Secret Nuclear Bunker' it was well worth a visit, very interesting. There is a farm shop with some good proudce for sale and things for the kids to do (small animals and peddle tractors etc) also worth a quick visit, it's 5 mins up the road at a village called Balmalcom ask the wardens they will point you in the direction.

While others on here have showed concern over the estate next door we had no problems while we were there and we did not notice the road noise others talk about.

Well worth a stay and will be returning in the futre. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Booyaa 9 reviews from this member

 Nice park, only a very small area for tents and do not take booking apparently. Warden was helpful when we eventually found him.

Tent pitches are under trees with not much flat ground, but as there are normally no other tents you should get the area to yourself.

Site suffers a bit from the noise from the main road, thought it was oddly loud at night. No problem from the housing estate which is right next to the tent pitches, as said below, it is mostly screened off by trees.

Toilet and wash block was very clean and tidy, also plenty of bins and taps round the site.

Lots to do in the area, a walk round Balbirnie PArk is a much, very pleasant and quiet, even on a very sunny day!

Overall I would recommend this site, probably for a quick stay, no more than a couple of nights though. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: IainM 22 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site many times.

Wardens friendly and helpful. Lower portion of the site can flood in very wet weather - as it did in July of 2007, but soon drained.

Tend now to head for higher parts of the site.

Facilities old but spotless.

Loads to do locally. Shopping in Glenrothes nearby.

Edinburgh, Glasgow, Stirling, St Andrew's and Dundee all within easy striking distance.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Raffik 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with our Eriba over the Bank Holiday Weekend.
Sited in the lovely Balbirnie Park, lots of trees and nature walks in the park.
Couldn't have asked for a better reception from the site wardens. Managed to get a grass pitch (not keen on the gravel pitches). 
Markinch, just up the road, is not the nicest place we have visited- a large council estate runs along side one wall of the site but it generally sheltered by the trees.
 
The site was charming. Clean toilets, clean laundry room and the bins were emptied throughout the day. The wardens were extremely friendly.
 
We would go back! 


Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frequentcamper 4 reviews from this member

 A site I have visited several times. Admittedly the first time I visited I was slightly put off by the housing bearing down on one side (and it is only one side) of the site, behind a screen of tall trees. However I need not have worried. In all the times I have visited, there has never been any anti-social behaviour emanating from that area. So my snobbish attitudes really were something I should have been ashamed of. After a while you don't even notice , and they are well distanced from the site by long back gardens. 

The site itself is very clean, and well-kept. The grounds, the toilets, are all well-kept. The only downside to the site is that it has lots of sloping areas. Most pitches are level but a few require a bit of expertise on levelling your van on a sloping pitch. There is a well-screened-off area at the back of the campsite for children to play their ball games. I would accept what one reviewer said about over-fussy wardens, but I suspect this may be because the sloping nature of the site lends itself to more pitching problems than other sites, and the wardens are simply worn out with the additional help required. 

Don't let anything I have said put you off. I have been several times and will go back again. It is in a very handy location for visting Dunfermline, Perth, Stirling, etc. Nearby Balbirnie Park makes an interesting walk, although you need to watch out for the dog-dirt.  


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Balbirnie Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Balbirnie Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Balbirnie Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glenrothes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1679 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement