Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Balbirnie Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes > Balbirnie Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Balbirnie Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Markinch
Glenrothes
Fife   (Browse area)
KY7 6NR
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 91
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mandy MacP 7 reviews from this member

Situated in a wooded area on the edge of a large park, a smallish site but an absolute wee gem.

Pitches are a mixture of hard standing and grass, the grass pitches tended to have more room around them. All have ehu but none are superpitches although there are plenty water points. Toilet block is spotless with enough showers and plentiful hot water, pretty much the standard you’d expect. Also the usual dishwashing and laundry facilities.

There are some dog friendly hostelries within easy walking distance and a couple of well-stocked supermarkets. Plenty of dog walking around the site too, a large park straight across the road, I’d also recommend the short stroll to Balbirnie House Hotel, pooch welcome there too.

It should be noted there’s no children’s play area here although it didn’t seem to detract from the enjoyment of some small children playing happily on their bikes whilst we were there. Great site, we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Greg M 35 reviews from this member

Well after a very friendly welcome we were told to find a pich on site.

A bit of a surprise to be in a town and enter into a wooded park area with some small areas of pitches amongst the trees and then a lower tier backing onto houses.

We found a pitch near the facilities block in an area with about six other units.

Even though there were high winds and heavy rain at times the wardens were out clearing the massive amount of leaves that were falling. The site was a credit to their hard work.

The shower and toilet block were excellent, spotless and accessed by a key code.

The town itself had a Coop, an extremely well stocked Nisa and a pharmacists and a speciality wine shop all within easy walking distance.

We did not eat out there or use the pubs so can't comment on that side of things.

TV reception was excellent on my Avtek aerial as was my Virgin Mobile signal.

As Vangoman previously stated, this is a little gem and extremely peaceful.

Despite the weather we enjoyed a very pleasant stay.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: VangoMan02 21 reviews from this member

I can't believe the lack of reviews for this wee gem of a site.

Or maybe folks don't want to share how good it is?

It was fully booked for the 3 nights we stayed.

I live 30-40 minutes drive away but have never really had need to travel to the area.

A friend of mine suggested we should give it a try. So we did for 3 nights with our caravan.

Its a woodland site on the edge of a large park, Hotel and Golf course.

The pitches are dotted throughout the site amongst the trees with a couple of more open areas which get the best of the sunshine when it appears.

One area on the lower level backs on to some housing but does not seem to detract from the ambience of the site.

Our hardstanding pitch was on the right as you enter the site in a small sort of cul de sac with only 3 pitches which got the sunshine from midday onwards. Looked like there were around 20 pitches in the area we were in and all well spaced.

Mostly hardstanding pitches but grass pitches are also available.

All facilities and services are within easy reach as far as I could see.

The showers and toilets seem to have been refurbished quite recently and are the usual club standard.

I got a really good TV signal just using my old Status roof aerial, not sure how it would be in the lower level.

Friendly and helpful wardens who also keep the site in excellent condition.

Dog friendly eating/drinking places in Markinch, also Co-Op and one other supermarket which seems to stock all you would need food/drink wise. Bakery and coffee shop will be the first place you come to on the left. Its a 5-10 minute fairly level walk from the site.

It really was so quiet and peaceful

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beadsbyfiona 4 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site. Under tall trees. Tarmac roads, so mobility scooter safe. Set on the edge of 400 acres of parkland. Easy access into the town. Within easy walking distance from the campsite, couple wee stores a co-op and pubs, and couple restaurants. Immaculate place, no graffitti, no rubbish. The locals were friendly. The wardens on this site were so friendly and so hard-working. Flowers everywhere. The grass kept cut short everywhere. The disabled toilet was very clean and toilet block very clean. Would certainly return. A great break away and so relaxing. Well lit at night and we felt safe.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

Ideally located in the middle of The Kingdom of Fife, especially if you love golf, castles and beaches.

Lovely wardens with a small shop selling milk etc and local wood carvings, Markinch is a 10 minute walk away with a good sized COOP, the COOP has a Post office, cafe.

The village also has a good chemist, dog groomer, a couple of the local hotels are offering all day Scottish breakfasts with black pudding and haggis.

The shower/w/cs look new and kept spotlessly clean, nice laid out site within woodlands with some open grassy areas.

Plenty of water/waste service areas and a good sized motorhome service area near the entrance, worth another longer visit to come back and see the rest of the town and try a breakfast in town.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mike13 5 reviews from this member

Set in a lovely country park but within 5 minutes of a small town. Variety of pitches, we chose under some trees, one disadvantage is the houses behind us have a cockerel which starts crowing at about 4 am. Excellent toilet facilities, we have no kids so took no note of facilities for them. Friendly staff

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Lovly welcome from the relief wardens and quickly booked in.

We found the pitches at the bottom of the site a bit dark and very overlooked by the flats behind, we therefore chose to stay at the top of the site amongst the trees. As previous reviews state site itself is very well kept and the facilities are immaculate, good piping hot showers.

There are several seasonal caravans on site, many of these looked a bit dirty and uncared for - appreciate the trees cause this with leaves and sap but would look much more pleasant if the caravans were cleaned (the one next to use had a professional in to clean the roof the weekend we stayed). It probably doesn't bother many people just for us it was one of the first impressions of the site.

We would use as a stopover if in the area again but not for longer as we found the trees made it a bit too dark.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weelisa 1 review from this member

First time on this site and it was lovely. Very relaxing, site was immaculate as were the toilet and shower block, the wardens were really very nice and very helpful. Would recommend this site to anyone who wants to just get away and relax. No club or restaurant on site but there is no need for it as it only takes five minutes to walk into town. There are two shops, two Chinese and a few pubs and hotels. In laws recommended this site and go there frequently, now we understand why. We will without a doubt be back, two very happy campers :0)

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: IainM 22 reviews from this member

What a difference a new warden team can make! We were getting worried over the last few years that Balbirnie was looking rather down at heal. But the new warden team have worked wonders with little money but lots of hard work and Balbirnie is back to its splendid best.

Toilet block was updated in 2010 and still looks and feels new.

If the CC would commit just a little more money to refurbish some of the hard standings. And perhaps add more at the bottom of the site then it would get 11 out of 10 from me.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Roons 5 reviews from this member

We were traveling with family in two vans and took a while choosing our pitches - we started with ones beside each other but ended up moving as we were in full view of a housing estate that looked right onto that part of the site. Without any problems at all we changed pitches to a couple a bit further back that were surrounded by trees and offered a bit more privacy - the wardens were more than helpful in letting us chop and change. The site is nice and there are a choice of shaded areas and more open areas on different levels. The pitches were spacious enough and a bit messy with leaves but this was not really a problem. The site is very quiet after about 9pm - this is fine if you like peace and quiet but we felt a little noisy staying up til late but we tried not to be rowdy! The toilet block was our first experience of Caravan Club toilets/showers and indeed they were spotlessly clean with lots of hot water. A great site for a base for touring Edinburgh etc. The site sits in the bottom corner of a massive and beautiful park - brilliant for dog walking, cycling etc. Friendly wardens. Handy shop on site for essentials. Great little information 'shed'.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3242 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019