Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Macdonalds Bught Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Site Reviews

Macdonalds Bught Caravan Park
Bught Lane
Inverness
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV3 5SR
Tel: 01463 236920
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 60 Caravan, 79 Tent
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 40 Reviews
                6/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CLeslie 1 review from this member

Campsite is just out of town centre but in middle of park near some houses, so is initially off putting slightly! However, the location is perfect as a base to explore Inverness and the area and is only a 15 min walk from the centre so there is a chance to ditch the car and not have to drive into the town.

The showers etc were older but very clean and well-maintained/looked after. The water was always hot. The owners and staff were very helpful and friendly. The park was very tidy overall. We thought it was good value at 18 per night for a large tent with electric hook-up (4 people. I would definitely go back and would recommend it.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Coastcamper 19 reviews from this member

Unplanned stay of one night - first site we came to on a very wet day, having travelled down from Orkney. Toilet block we used was clean but old, due to weather didn't venture to the shower block! Flat, good sized, grass pitches. Lovely walk, even in the rain, through Ness islands to centre of Inverness. Caledonian Canal with cruises next door to site.

Felt quite separate from the sports centre (unlike another site we stayed on during our round Scotland trip).

Interesting site rules which seemed to be excluding travellers - no washing lines, car washing and large gas cylinders, all of which we noticed at a few caravans.

Housing estate behind as previously commented on, site has high perimeter fence and security (one girl) on gate.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stainmore 1370 4 reviews from this member

The owners were very nice and friendly, very helpful. This an excellent base to see Inverness, as you can leave your car at the site and walk into Inverness city centre.

The toilet block passes, but needs a revamp. You get plenty of room for your pitch. Its a nice grassy site.

There a lot of rules on this caravan site, but as stated in other reviews,the rules are often broken, washing hanging out, big red gas bottles everywere. Trade vehicles on site.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 77 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a couple of nights in early October just before the site closed for the year. This was an ideal site for the start & finish of the Loch Ness Marathon which ends up at the Sports Centre next door and is only ~1.5 miles from the City Centre. The owners were friendly and accommodating and the all grass pitches well tended.

On the other hand, the toilets are past their sell by date and washing up areas weren't lit at night. The Site itself is near a housing estate and, if you were too close to the road, I guess that it could be quite noisy with passing traffic.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tony + Marg 43 reviews from this member

Site easy to find on the edge of Inverness. The grass pitch was firm and level, right next to the hook up point and mixed in with tents and caravans but plenty of space between everything. Service facilities for the motorhome fine and well located.

Pleasant walk along the river to Inverness which took about 30 minutes to get to the centre.

Toilets, showers etc adequate and clean.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cosmic1uk 6 reviews from this member

This was our last stop on our club trip to Orkney.

On arrival we were not that impressed but things got better,think it was because all the other sites we had been to were small and relatively quite.

The site was very busy, I think there might have been some show on!

It is right next to a swimming pool and ice rink,not that we got the chance to visit these.!

The amenities are old but clean.

Site is well situated to explore Loch ness and surrounding areas!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flored 3 reviews from this member

We enjoyed our trip to Inverness, the site facilities were fine, although it is only our second time camping so not much to compare against. The problem for us was the pitch was overlooked by housing and the road ran along side which was very noisy with cars racing at night.

Would go back but request a central pitch away from road. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the barrier was down at night, needed a code to get in.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Worldoftofuness 15 reviews from this member

A fairly bog-standard site. I only stayed 1 night so can't really comment whether the slightly insalubrious appearance of the surroundings would be genuine cause for concern. Sanitary block a bit dingy, not really an issue but the bizarre shower heads (only a couple of inches from the wall so you can't get underneath properly) are slightly irritating.

The big downer for me was that there seemed to be some kind of late-evening and LOUD festival going on next door when I was there (Bank Holiday weekend): live mediocre rock covers till gone 10.30pm then piped music from 7.15am. OK, that's not the site owners' fault but you might want to check whether it's a regular event before going there to catch up on sleep.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jack_igm 30 reviews from this member

Excellent campsite, right next to Aqua dome and ice rink, short walk to Whin park children's play ground, miniature railway and boating pond, lovely walks along the banks of the river Ness.

Wardens / Owners very friendly and very accommodating, nice clean site, with loads of toilet blocks, although they could do with a bit of modernizing but they are very clean. Have stayed here several times and have booked to come back again in August.

Ideal campsite for visiting Inverness

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daifire 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here beginning of June, excellent site for visiting and sight seeing in Inverness. Just a short walk along the river in to city centre.

Security barrier and night time patrol made you feel safe.

Staff were welcoming and friendly, received plenty off information from reception.

Toilets and showers a little old fashioned but lovely and clean with plenty of hot water.

The only downside we found was 3 for use of washing machine and 3 to dry them, a little over the top for the dryer.

We would use this site again but not for washing clothes.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3647 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019