Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Macdonalds Bught Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Site Reviews

Macdonalds Bught Caravan Park
Bught Lane
Inverness
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV3 5SR
Tel: 01463 236920
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 60 Caravan, 79 Tent
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 40 Reviews
                6/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Garz 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a few nights whilst I was taking part in a duathlon.

The pitch we were given was huge. It was so big family members of ours who were over from Ireland camped next to us and we still could have fitted in another 3 motorhomes.

The toilets were clean as were the shower. The site is secure with a automatic barrier at the entrance.

We would go back again as I was in too much pain after the race to enjoy it fully. So another visit will be required to fully enjoy the facilities

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pink Empress 8 reviews from this member

The owners were lovely and helpful. The site was lovely and flat. It was very close to town. Just lovely. Showers small but clean. Midges were a problem as the walk to town was close to water but that is Scotland in the summer!

Quite a small site and odd to be so close to main streets.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lacmac 2 reviews from this member

Very good site, I came here with my daughter. Close to city centre. There is no childrens area but there is a fantastic one 5 min walk away. You are right beside the swiming pool and ice rink which is great.
The owners couldn't make you feel more welcome and are always on hand for advice. There is a security guard that patrol reguarly. No hard standings and although it rained heavy I didnt have a problem with getting stuck. I would recomend this site as it is very central and has good cycle routes.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: David + Helen 1 review from this member

We stayed on this site in June 2007, we were a little put off by the reviews, but on arrival we found a friendly well set out and run site. Facilities were fine, not gold fittings but it is a camp site. As for the security in the evening the security barrier is in use. Being a city site we were not unduly concerned about the local housing- just a block of council flats. We have 2 children and didn't feel uneasy about security.

A good city site 15mins walk away from the centre of Inverness. Would recommend and will be returning soon.

Most pitches have hook ups. The site is next to a large park with a leisure centre. Toilets are fine not the best but always clean. A small shop on site, Reasonable price.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Thisisgibbo 4 reviews from this member

If you want to stay in Inverness then it has to be here. Lovely 20 minute riverside stroll into centre of town. Site is adequate and seems reasonably secure but we did feel a little uneasy about security. Some not too good housing around and security could be better particularly after early evening.

Reasonable price for town centre site and adequate facilities.
Wouldnt return for the site itself but it is great for visiting Inverness.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Derek may 14 reviews from this member

I stayed at this site in September There were quite a few commercial vehicles with twin axle caravans ,which spoiled the look and feel of this site although their pitch was kept tidy. Apart from that ,a very well located site within walking distance of the city centre. The facilities were basic but clean, although only one of the several toilet blocks available was open. There is a barrier at the entrance to this site for obvious security, but it was never lowered during my stay and we were told, that when it is lowered it is not locked

Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alan Dykes 9 reviews from this member

The tent area is a field adjoining the main caravan area and doesn't have its own facilities - you have to go through to the caravan field to use the lav. Also, the tent field is quite near the main road out the Loch Ness so there's quite a bit of traffic noise. The situation isn't great - over the road from some not very pretty low rise blocks.

On the plus side there is a beautiful walk along the River Ness into the city centre (20 mins). There's a small supermarket about five minute's walk back along the main road but I didn't see any pubs nearby.

Reviewer: d.dave 1 review from this member

July 2004
My wife and myself camped here, the site itself is well kept and the toilets & showers are ok. This is the second time we have stayed here and my advice would be is to ask to pitch next to the fence or that side of the site, away from the road.
The site is close to the town centre ( 10 mins ) and the walks are excellent and the rates are good value.

Reviewer: Fiona Duncanson

22 May 2003
The Bught Caravan Park has been recently refurbished and it is hoped that all visitors to the site will see a big improvement.

Reviewer: VInce Summers

Aug 2002
We thought it was a handy place near centre of Inverness, but toilet facilities were pretty grim, especially having the washing up sinks inside the toilet area - hygenic or what! Although cleaned they had that 'public toilet' smell

It's council run and we wrote and complained - they did admit the facilities were ' a bit tired and would be thinking about doing sosmething.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


726 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019