Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Macdonalds Bught Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Inverness > Macdonalds Bught Caravan Park > Reviews

Macdonalds Bught Caravan Park
Bught Lane
Inverness
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV3 5SR
Tel: 01463 236920
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60 Caravan, 79 Tent
Open: 27/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 52 Reviews
                6/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hazym9 1 review from this member

 This site is ideally situated for the Ness Railway, Botanical Gardens and easy access to the town by foot.

The check in was a wee bit wobbly but we got there in the end😊.

However the facilities are in dire need of an update/revamp. I have no problem using older facilities but would really like them to be clean, wash basins were fine but loos needed a proper clean in all the nooks and crannies, edges needed brushed and cleaned and cobwebs /dust really needed to be dealt with.

I really donít like giving negative feedback, this was a nice wee site but could have been oh so much better. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Hippycamper 10 reviews from this member

 I didn't actually stay overnight here, but they were so nice I wanted to leave them a positive review.

I was walking the Great Glen Way with a friend, we parked my car here for a charge of £5 per day.

When we got back after our walk we booked in for the night and used the showers, then decided to go wild camping instead. The very nice man in reception insisted on refunding me £20, so we were only charged £5 for using the showers.

The facilities were adequate. Perhaps in need of a lick of paint, but everything functioned well.

There is some road noise and a leisure centre next door, not a remote rural location, but great if you want easy access to Inverness.

A typical caravan park, with a slightly less regimented field for backpackers. Lovely helpful people. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dodand 2 reviews from this member

 The site is excellent for access to the Botanic Gardens and Swimming pool. It is also easy for walks along the river into Inverness.

The welcome is friendly and helpful.

However, although the toilet, shower and wash up facilities are always spotlessly clean, they require a vast amount of upgrading. Block 1 has been redecorated but need a big facelift. Block two only consists of showers which are the best in the site but there are no toilets. So, you have to use two blocks to use the toilets and the best showers. Block 3 needs at least a redecoration.

Spacing of vehicles is far less than the recommended 6metres. There are over 30 pitches and a motorhome was placed beside us and another motorhome with roughly 5 meters between. There were at least 17 other grass pitches available. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tonyjhc 4 reviews from this member

 I stay here one or two times a year whilst travelling between London and the NW Highlands.

Always a friendly welcome and the site is in a lovely location near the River Ness and about 20 mins hike from Inverness City centre.

I tend to use it as an overnight stay when bus and coach timetables do not mesh. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dodand 2 reviews from this member

 There was a friendly and helpful welcome to this very well situated site for visiting Inverness.

The pitch was good but the the toilet and shower facilities were well below standard.

The actual sinks, toilet bowls and shower trays were clean but Blocks 1 & 3 are in great need of decoration and removal of heaps of insects needed. Block 2 is the best for showers but only has these. These facilities are in need of upgrading.

The cost here equates to 2 nights with the Caravan & Motorhome sites and they have far superior facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tonyjhc 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely location near the River Ness Islands about 20 min walk into the city.

Friendly and helpful staff.

Toilet block could do with an update, showers had plentiful hot water and powerful flow

Some noise at night from adjacent fun fair and leisure centre.

I have used this site a couple of times this year and will do again 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lnmjoh 1 review from this member

 Having been going to this campsite numerous times for 32 years we will never be back again.

The toilet and shower blocks were disgusting, walls round the bottom of the toilet and toilet brushes were black. Shelves were dirty our whole stay. Spiders webs never cleaned away.

Very disappointed in the cleanliness in the site, it used to be spotless, not anymore. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Djcleckie 1 review from this member

 I agree with previous comments regarding the toilet blocks and commercial vehicles on site so I will not repeat them here.

However it had for me 2 plus points.

1 Location very handy for the town and the canal tow path

2 Price very reasonably in August 2021 we were £24 per night including ECU but no awning.

Despite its short comings (see above) in 2021 it offered good value for money.

Today I went to book this site for 2022. Prices have risen a lot.

£22 for pitch plus £6 for ECU so its gone from £24 to £28 in one season a 16% increase.

If the facilities have not improved then it no longer offers good value for money.

Dave 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tonyjhc 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely friendly staff.

You can arrive late, pitch a tent, and pay in the morning which is useful if arriving outside office hours.

Toilets and showers a bit dated but unbelievable high power showers with ample hot water.

Convenient location about 20 min walk into Inverness vi the islands and along banks of the river.

I have used this site several times now and recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Fraser Gardiner 30 reviews from this member

 Love staying at this site, easy access to Caledonian canal boat trips, and a 15 minute walk into Inverness,

Site is always clean with good clean facilities and a small shop on site as well. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Macdonalds Bught Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Macdonalds Bught Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Macdonalds Bught Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Inverness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3693 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement