Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Macdonalds Bught Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Inverness > Macdonalds Bught Caravan Park Reviews

Macdonalds Bught Caravan Park
Bught Lane
Inverness
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV3 5SR
Tel: 01463 236920
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60 Caravan, 79 Tent
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 43 Reviews
                6/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Fraser Gardiner 30 reviews from this member

Love staying at this site, easy access to Caledonian canal boat trips, and a 15 minute walk into Inverness,

Site is always clean with good clean facilities and a small shop on site as well.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Big Frank 31 reviews from this member

This was a stopover on our way home. It's a city site with older facilities so don't expect peace and quiet. There are permanent /long term residents.

The toilet blocks are old and run down and painted in weird dark colours but the one near the office has modern electric showers.

The staff we encountered were friendly and when we were there the place was spotless with someone out litter picking at 8am.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: H mcguigan 1 review from this member

Hi we have visited Bught Park caravan site both in may 2018 and 2019 and we are returning in August

the park is situated in Inverness a 15 minute walk along the river ness to the town centre

the staff are very pleasant and helpful

the site has all you need for a young family or elderly couple

I would recommend this site for good value and friendly service
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fraser Gardiner 30 reviews from this member

A lovely quiet site within walking distance of Inverness. Facilities are very clean and always a warm welcome whenever I stay here. It is one of my favourite sites in the highlands.

The local bus service stops just outside the site and takes you into the city centre.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Runrig13 2 reviews from this member

Having stayed there 4 years ago we decided to return to bught park, what a mistake. We were put next to the fence which backs on to the leisure centre constant noise day and night.

From early morning til late at night children from the apparently permanent vans were allowed to run screaming and shouting unchecked. Although the chap who works from the portacabin was very nice, another one whom we didn't know arrived at our tent and demanded we move our car.

This was on our last night, he was abrupt and rude. We won't return. Also toilets and showers outdated and often dirty.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gerry Gaffney 3 reviews from this member

Was easy enough to make a phone call booking with no deposit required.

There isn't much to do on the site, no real provisions for children.

It is situated conveniently for the leisure centre, the Caledonian canal & the city centre. However it is situated in a built up residential area and was quite noisy.

The staff we met were pleasant and helpful.

The let down was the main toilet block which were really quite poorly maintained and quite dirty, so much so, we really didn't want to use them.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gone2Fish 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site a year ago for 3 nights and was disappointed that things hadn't changed since, as we re-visited with a view to stay last week and subsequently didn't.

Although staff were pleasant, the facilities were clean though basic and convenient to town it was the laughable use of large signs for 'No Commercial Vehicles' etc. Many were parked on the outside of gate and some plain coloured ones on site (most quite new!).

Yet again it was so obvious to see the long-term/permanent community of families based on the site and a feeling that you were 'on their patch'. As stated previously by others it would be noisy 1st thing in the mornings when they were going to work and on return, whilst domestic chores would go on throughout the day, having monopoly of the facilities.

A funfair was setting up in the field opposite and related vehicles were on site, hence due to the potential noise decided not to stay.

This could be such an excellent site with an upgrade of facilities, a few hard standings and only leisure campers to warrant the charges and could even charge a little more as a result.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fraser Gardiner 30 reviews from this member

A great location, with a 10 minute walk to inverness centre and a few minute walk to the caledonian and loch ness boat trip boarding site. Facilities are excellent and well kept.

A friendly and helpful welcome always. Walking the caledonian canal banks is an easy and pleasant walk with plenty of wildlife on view. The site is flat and pitches are well marked, with easy access to all the facilities.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: PHolds 8 reviews from this member

I think this must be a municipal camp site run by managers rather than owners. This does not mean that this site is poor by any measure. It is big and extremely well organised. The tent field if you're cycling or hiking is huge and separate from the motor homes, caravans and vehicular campers.

Shower block I used was very dark and strange, water hot and plentiful but a bit cramped.

Pumping techno music from the adjacent leisure centre spinning class hovered over the site until about 8:30ish, but this was not unpleasant. In fact I missed a bit when it stopped.

All in all a good site for a stop over.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark Dunn 10 reviews from this member

We love Inverness and this place is part of the reason. Welcoming, convenient and well tended. We noticed no unusual traffic so the 'problem' has evidently been dealt with.

Don't be put off- easy to find and a twenty-minute cycle from town through pleasant parks by the Ness.

If we ever find ourselves six hundred miles from London again we'll be back.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Macdonalds Bught Caravan Park?   There is a shop on site    View all facilities

Is Macdonalds Bught Caravan Park dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Inverness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3766 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020