Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pound Farm Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Windermere > Pound Farm Park Reviews

Pound Farm Park
Crook
Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 8JZ
Tel: 01539821220
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Kim2001 1 review from this member

 We have recently stayed in a pod at Pound Farm. The pod had heating, lighting and plug sockets which was a benefit over staying in a tent. The owners were really friendly. The FREE shower/toilet block were the best we've ever experienced with a high standard finish with the slate tiles and cleanliness. And lovely warm water from the showers.

Great location in terms of being close to Kendal and Windermere too! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Suerat 1 review from this member

 This is our third stay at this camp site, this time in one of the pods and last year in a pod and in our tent. This camp site has new owners who are very friendly and helpful. The facilities are new (and always spotlessly clean) and each time we visit we can see the ongoing improvements that the owners are making. The site suits us well because it is very handy for the bypass to visit other places, it's quiet and very family friendly. We are hoping to book in again for the summer holidays, our children (7 and 9) love meeting other children on site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: PetenLou 1 review from this member

 We camped here last year in our trailer tent and loved it. This year we stayed in an apartment. This is a family run site which is being improved all the time. The owners never stop & are always friendly & willing to help or give advice on anything. Ratings would only let me mark Customer Service as 10/10 max. They deserve more. Pound Farm is only 4miles from both Kendal & Bowness and a village with shops is only 2miles away. We had three 7 yr olds with us who loved the space to play on their bikes. As a family site, maybe a climbing frame & swings might be on the future improvements. We will be back & recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suerey 3 reviews from this member

 Wow what a gem of a place! We have just returned from a fantastic 4 days here. This was our first caravan experience - we are hardened campers but fancied a change! The owners couldn't have been more helpful from booking through to departure. The site was both the quietest and the cleanest we have ever been to and the owners strive to ensure it remains this way. It was perfect for the kids - not too big, far from the road and with plenty for them to explore. Looking forward to our return visit! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andymck15 3 reviews from this member

 Pound Farm campsite is expensive, we paid 21 per night for 2 people in a small tent, considering there is no shop or any extra facilities but I have only given it 3 stars because the new owners are not child friendly. It is near a fast road and although it doesn't get too busy the traffic could still be heard, especially motorbikes and lorries.

It has a lot of space but mostly on sloping ground which limits the number of tents and even the caravans and trailers, on the electric pitches, required a lot of leg adjustments to level them.

The only facility is the toilet block, which is clean but only has 3 cubicles and two showers which meant queues in the morning, and the wash room (without a drying area). Both have free hot water but no extras such as driers, hand cleaner or towels, which would have been nice considering the high prices. I would also expect to see some waste re-cycling for plastic, tins and glass, which there isn't but the bins were emptied regularly and the campsite is kept clean.

There is no children's play area and owners put a stop to our children playing in the wide open grassy areas or near the surrounding trees but they do allow dogs, which was a shame because we were woken during the early hours of the morning on two occasions by other camper's animals barking - I guess that this is either a good or a bad point depends on whether you are a dog owner or not.

One of the biggest draw backs of this camp site is a lack of mobile phone signals (I did learn that some Orange customers could get a signal) and since the camp site doesn't allow day visitors we had to drive 3 miles up the road towards Kendall to contact our friends to arrange when and were to meet them.

The area provides a great starting point for the Lake District, the local village of Crook has a village pub but for other supplies you would need to drive to Staverley or Bowness.

I guess that I wasn't surprised that the day after the bank holiday the camp site only had 2 tents left on it, however considering the fantastic location and since the weather was perfect and there were still two weeks of the schools holidays left it should have been much busier. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Natasha Loveridge 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a wonderful weekend staying at Pound Farm in Kendal. Pound Farm is a small, family run site with log cabins, caravan and camper van pitches, tent pitches as well as two camping pods. The current owners of this site have only had the business for a year and have already made a number of significant improvements including a brand new shower and toilet facility. Along with our two children, we hired one of the new camping pods. This is the first time we have stayed in a pod and we very impressed - we had all the benefits of camping without having to put a tent up! The pod itself was nestled in amongst the trees and had an alpine feel. We had a small decking area which was sufficient size for our chairs and a small table. There was a small sheltered overhang which meant we could sit out in the Lake District rain without getting wet! As the site was so small it allowed the children to have quite a lot of freedom as we always knew where they were. The tents were all spaced out thus giving people privacy and allowing children space to play. The owners of the site were friendly and helpful at all times including fixing the window of my car which had broken on the journey to the site. We would definitely recommend this beautiful camp site and plan on returning again very soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Dot P 606 reviews from this member

 This is an absolute gem of a site. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Always working on the site keeping it clean and working on the ongoing upgrades.

We were a party with campervans, tents and caravan. All accommodated together, nice easy booking and arrival was just turn up and pitch. New toilet / shower block is open with piping hot showers, always clean and tidy.

Site was busy but plenty of space between everyone. Due to good weather most people sat outside late into the evening but no real noise just chatting and clinking of glasses. There are groups of Duke of Edinburgh teenagers pitching up most nights, no noise from them, probably as they are up and away at 6am.

The site is midway between Kendal and Windemere, about 4 miles either way. The only slight downside is no footpaths on the road as it is busy.

We thought this was a brilliant site in terms of facilities, customer service and location. Would highly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nantwichbill 2 reviews from this member

 Just an overnight stop, but they were the perfect, welcoming hosts, and the campsite offered great facilities. Not far from the motorway, providing a useful gateway to the Lake District.  


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pat s 1 review from this member

 Pound farm is an excellent little site in a very attractive location between Kendal & Windermere. It has a hilly aspect so tents can pitch wherever, which makes the site feel free and relaxing. It well suited the needs of all our family, a beautifully-appointed lodge for my daughter & family, caravan space for us, motorhome space for my sister, & space for small tents for other family members. We could also have had a very smart looking pod. The owners are exceptionally friendly and do everything they can to make your stay welcoming. The site is well maintained, easily accessible and with a smart new toilet block soon to open, this will be a little gem that I really prefer to keep a secret. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Tentastical 2 reviews from this member

 I don't normally write reviews, but we had such a pleasant stay here I felt I should tell you all!

We stayed in the new pods, after a fluff up on our booking by an online agent, they accommodated us brilliantly. The owners are warm, friendly and an absolute pleasure. They helped us out a lot from pub advice to washing up. They get the 10/10 rating :)

The new toilet block is not yet complete so if you stay at the moment, there are portaloos and portashowers! They were more than adequate and free. Always a bonus!

The site is quiet, clean and well maintained. Our pod was great! They don't have a shop so bring your own food.

It's about 3 miles from lake Windermere so we had a trip on the ferry. A lovely weekend and we will be back. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pound Farm Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pound Farm Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pound Farm Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Windermere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6109 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement