Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pound Farm Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Pound Farm Park
Crook
Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 8JZ
Tel: 01539821220
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
                8/10 from 45 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Santos16 4 reviews from this member

Stumbled on this site as it was half term and the lakes was very busy, the site was actually shut but took us in along with a few other campers. Facilities very good loads of hot water. No road noise as nestled at back of site, WiFi and phone signal near reception only.

Walks near by on very quiet country lanes, pub 10 mins walk away with decent food although a little odd service.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MarthaH 2 reviews from this member

I've just spent two night camping here with my dog Henry and meeting an old friend to catch up. Pound farm was a little revelation and don't be put off by the drive through the cabins to get to the pitch site. I was in a tent, my friend in a caravan and we got pitches next to each other. I say its small, enough pitches for about a dozen tents and a dozen caravans, most of which are serviced with electricity.

I didn't need this as me and the dog was happy just camping and sleeping at the site, though for a longer stay or a stay with kids I would heartily recommend this site to visit the lakes. Great site, great staff and small but fantastic facilities. I will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnb54red 1 review from this member

I stayed here 9 days. Good site. Very helpful warden and co worker. Toilets and showers very clean. Hope to come back this year to this great site. Keep up good work. Very close to kendal and all lakes. Thanks again for all your help.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Amber86 12 reviews from this member

Site good location for Windermere/Kendal, 15 minute drive from both. We used it for visiting relatives in Kendal.

Best things about this site - small & quiet, friendly welcome on arrival. Good washing up facilities and toilet/showers (all looked new & clean).

Not so good stuff - toilets lacked hand dryer/paper towels & became a steam room where other campers were drying towels etc on the radiators. No walks nearby, & no dog walk area. Camp site

On a fairly fast road, so hard to find somewhere to walk the dog/toilet her. Campsite was full on the saturday night so a trailer tent was squeezed on to the site next to us in front of the camping pod which wasn't being used, making it feel cramped & over crowded. Not sure where the panoramic views were, as there were only views of fields nearby from one part of the park, & certainly no mountains or iconic lakeland views (they could of course have been obscured by the poor weather).

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rowland H 1 review from this member

This is a tranquil secluded site with friendly staff. We stayed 6 nights and the site was a perfect base for exploring the lakes. The toilet/shower block was clean with piping hot showers. One downside is that the site is quite isolated with nowhere to walk or cycle. The staff were very helpful, assisting to us manoeuvre our van into a more than generously sized pitch. Big thanks to all the staff for making us feel so at home.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kaylib 1 review from this member

This is a lovely little camp site. The toilet block and cleaning facilities were excellent, they were always clean and tidy.

The owners are very friendly and helpful and even offered us an upgrade as when we turned up it was pouring with rain.

I have already booked our next holiday with them.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FrTed 4 reviews from this member

Pound Farm is a relatively small site with some holiday flats and lodges at the front of the site; leading to the touring area with mainly caravans / motorhomes & 2 camping pods to the left and tents in the area to the right of the road. We visited during the recent Ĺ term break & although the site was full for most of our 5 night stay, it never felt crowded with no queues for showers / toilets.

We received a good welcome & were shown to the pitch with an explanation of where everything was. Nothing was too much trouble which was a great start, with the owner chopping some overhanging branches to accommodate our tent. Important to note that not all pitches are flat (one of which we ended up on for the 1st night) which wasnít great with a large family tent but thankfully we were able to move on the 2nd day which was a relief.

Bathroom facilities were close by & of an excellent standard but we found it odd though that there were no hand-drying facilities. The 2 showers are good (push-button) but one of them (furthest from door in gents) only lasted 6 seconds before the flow stopped which was a mild irritation. The site is well situated in a beautiful part of the Lakes & is bordered by a working sheep farm which can occasionally get a bit noisy in the early hours but thatís to be expected for where it is I guess Ė wasnít a massive problem! Thereís a pub a few hundred yards down the road (nice but prices pretty steep) with Kendal & Bowness are only a few miles in either direction for shops / tourist attractions.

It is very clear the current owners have worked hard on this site & have real gem of a place! Itís a great site for families / couples & they donít seem to allow large groups which means things tend to go quiet by around 10:00 to 10:30pm. A really friendly place to be & we shall be back without a doubt.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bromelini 1 review from this member

The owners of this campsite could not be more helpful and friendly - this truly is a tranquil and welcoming site.

It was very busy when we arrived - during half term - without a booking and the owners found space for us.

We were so grateful because the facilities here are excellent.

The pitches are flat and great for pegs- the view from our tent was lovely- sheep, trees and fells- what more do you want from the lakes ?

Excellent location and straight into the heart of the district.

A picnic bench for us campers without our own table and chairs was very welcome.

Excellent showers - washing and freezing facilities.

Recycling bins would add to the site - but we brought ours home with us so no problem.

Would definitely recommend

PS - Thank you for the jump start!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Danthevan 1 review from this member

Stayed for two nights at this lovely site. Staff were fantastic and friendly. Showers excellent and spotlessly clean, only slight downside is the push to operate tap in the shower.

Will definitely come back again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaclucy 2 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite, nice location owners very friendly. Excellent Toilet/shower block all kept very clean. There is a utility room washing up sinks, washer, & freezer. Having no fridge I found the freezer very useful for my ice blocks. There is nice pub about about 5mins walk away, you will need a torch if walking in the dark !

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1758 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!