Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pound Farm Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Windermere > Pound Farm Park Reviews

Pound Farm Park
Crook
Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 8JZ
Tel: 01539821220
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Honeytone10 1 review from this member

 We are seasoned campers, but very new to touring caravans, and this was our first trip away in our new 'van.

We have a few favourite campsites in the Lake District, but as we'd left it very late to book up for the Easter Bank Holiday, we couldn't get a pitch with EHU at any of them. After searching high and low, we came across Pound Farm.

Pound Farm is exactly the type of site we looked for when camping - small, secluded, sheltered and quiet. We got a very warm welcome on arrival, and profuse apologies that due to so much bad weather over the winter, the new shower and toilet block was still under construction. No matter, the existing facilities were adequate. We were offered help to set out van up, if we needed it, but as it happened we managed just fine and had a very pleasant and relaxing stay.

I have to give a special mention to the friendly and rather handsome pheasant that came to visit several times a day, looking for tasty titbits. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris Layton 2 reviews from this member

 This is our third visit to Pound Farm and we keep coming back because we can pitch our tent close to our friends who are in a caravan. There is no segregation of 'canvas cretins' and 'tin tenters' which creates a really great atmosphere around the site.

There are lots of comments in these reviews about the state of the toilets. Whilst I would have upheld them in the past on this occasion the toilets were spotless without a spider or cobweb in sight.

The site has been purchased by new owners and they were keen to show us the plans for the new toilet block that will be built in the touring field. This addition to the facilities at Pound Farm will make this site one of the best we have stayed at. The new toilet block is planned to have 2 wc's and showers for the men and 3 wc's and showers for the ladies along with disabled facilities. Laundry and washing up areas are also included.

The location of the site lends itself to exploring the lakes, especially the area around Bowness and Windermere which are no more than 15 minutes drive away. I cannot comment on the quality of the local pubs and eateries as we have never used them.

From our perspective Pound Farm is an ideal location that can only get better with the building of the new toilet block and the infectious enthusiasm of the new owners.

We are already looking forward to next year's visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EllieCrane 1 review from this member

 Well-kept and attractive campsite, friendly welcome from the owner. Great price - 20 GBP for two people camping for two nights.

The toilets/ shower block were basic but clean and tidy, and the owner has plans for brand new facilities. There were problems with the hot water supply on our first morning and the owner very kindly offered us use of the showers in one of the vacant chalets, but the boiler was fixed later that day so it wasn't necessary.

After that the showers were good - nice hot water. The location is very convenient for Kendal and Windermere is a short drive away. The only thing I would say is that the road the site is situated on is quite dangerous for pedestrians and cyclists, since cars go fast along it and there are lots of blind corners with no verge to walk on.

Therefore, although it's not a busy road, we tended to take the car whenever we left the site rather than go out on foot. But all in all, it was a nice, peaceful campsite offering a very affordable break - we had a great time and I'd definitely recommend the site to others. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flippsy 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 3 nights during the Spring Bank Holiday week. We were using it as the best base we could find to walk the final 2 stages of the Dalesway walk (using 2 cars).

It was a picturesque grassy site surrounded by trees and shrubbery, with a range of options for pitching our 4 man tent on the flat, as there were not a lot of other units there. The camping field is indeed a bit hilly, so that if the site had been busier, it might not have been so easy to find a suitable spot for a largish tent. Small tents would have no problems.

Booking this site was easy and no deposit was required. We were made to feel very welcome by the new proprietors.

There is no playground on site, although there are plenty of safe space for children to run around in. Older children would probably not find too much to interest them. This being the case, the site is therefore ideal for child-free adults seeking peace and quiet! AND they accept dogs.

There was a convenient water tap and waste disposal area in the field and we did not find the walk to the toilets any more arduous than on most campsites.

The site is well managed but the toilet block is indeed, in need of updating (concrete flooring, and the quite small washbasins are only available within the toilet cubicles. We felt this was reflected in the pricing of our stay however - 17. 00 a night for 2 people, a dog and 2 cars. The toilet block was however kept very clean and well stocked with toilet paper and liquid soap. (no spiders etc). There were also unisex shower cubicles, a single washing-up sink, a laundry sink, washing machine and tumble drier available in the block.

Kendal was the most useful local town for food shopping for us. Bowness/Windermere are also relatively close by but we found them much harder to park in on a bank holiday ! (easier later in the week however).

There was also a pub nearby (not far in a car) that offers good quality food at prices you perhaps might not want to pay every night.

The site suited us perfectly, in many ways and we think it might be good for weekending trips to the southern Lakes as it is quick to access from the M6. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MissPiggy99 2 reviews from this member

 I think this site has come under new management since most of the reviews below were submitted.

Site consists of a gravel drive with permanent holiday cabins/chalets along either side, at the end of which is the camping area for vans and tents.

Toilets and showers are at the top near the entrance hence some reviews say that they are far from the tent area, but we didn't feel it was too far at all, not even a 2 min walk.

The toilets and showers / washing up area have been described in other reviews as 'outdated' - they're within a concrete structure with farmhouse style doors so fairly basic but we found them clean and tidy, bins emptied every day etc. Plenty of lovely hot water. There is also a coin operated tumble drier (don't know if it works, we didn't use it. Maybe useful in wet weather though!)

The camping area is quite hilly and I'd say there are only about 5 or 6 decent flat plots to camp on but it is a pretty site with nice scenery, within walking distance of a local pub.

Just 4 miles east is Kendal which is a pretty town with all necessary facilities, 5 miles west is Lake Windermere.

The warden and his wife were friendly, they didn't appear to live on-site but seemed to be around every morning from about 8 or 9am. We felt that 16 a night was perhaps a tad expensive but the location and the fact that it was a quiet site and not full of caravans made it worth it for us.

Good location for some lovely (hilly) cycle rides which suited us.

We enjoyed Pound Farm as it was a small, out-of-the-way, quiet site in a good location and would definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S+Jingles 1 review from this member

 First time campers. It was a beautiful location, very quiet and friendly.

You can pitch where you like and there is more than enough room (even for little tents like ours).

There is a choice of flat or hill pitches. The toilets are not far away at all (probably a 2 minute walk at the most). However, the shower and toilet area is a little bit dated but more than usable and clean.

It's a great location if you want to explore the rest of the lakes or even just to relax.

Would definitely book again! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sharon99 3 reviews from this member

 Nice and friendly site, you are allowed to pitch where you like, the wardens are lovely. If anyone was too noisy etc, they were approached by the wardens. We were not rushed off on departure day as they were not busy which is really helpful. But tourers are far away from toilets and showers. These are unisex and are very old and in need of updating. They were not very clean, and a bar of soap to wash hands is not hygienic! the road outside of the camp is full of maniac drivers and you cant really walk safely to the local pub which serves food. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leisurelady 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived on a very wet windy day to a warm welcome. We had booked four nights after having tried dozens of other sites in the area who were all fully booked. After putting up the tent we found out why we were the only campers on the field. The showers/toilets are delapidated, walls are peeling, the roof is corrugated sheeting and there are spiders, flies galore. The toilet bowls themselves were clean as were the hand basins but the floor was concrete and dirty. We had to take the car to the loo as it is so far away from the camping field.

The site itself is in a beautiful spot with lots of trees for privacy and the grass was lush and green but it is very hilly. We were sliding down the bed all night! This site has great potential and the Managers were a really nice couple however the lack of facilities and the price 22 per night with EHU would stop me coming back again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camperhappy 1 review from this member

 A beautiful site. Very warm welcome. The hilly tent area is very quiet and we had a huge choice of spots - I chose the wrong spot as there were too many stones. A long walk to the toilets - took the car once and I love walking!

The toilets / showers/ dish sinks were covered in bird poo and wildlife. 16 a night is very expensive especially when there is no playpark but I'm told this is the going rate for this area. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ajcamping 4 reviews from this member

 We've been visiting this site for the past 10 years so I've decided it was time to leave a review. When we go camping we like to camp. We never have an EHU and find being away from the T.V etc is just what you need to recharge your batteries every now and again. Pound Farm is the perfect place for this. It's in beautiful surroundings and although you don't get your modern 'underfloor heated showerblock' its very clean. Pound farm is very much 'does what it says on the tin' its a campsite! It's in a good location for site seeing in the lakes. We've also found it one of the best child friendly sites. Fair enough it doesn't have swings etc but to be honest the one thing it does have which all children love is space. As long as your kids don't go running down the gravel drive when a cars driving towards them then its an extremely safe for them to explore.

When we visited last year they site had new managers which we found very friendly and helpful.

On that note however I would also like to say prior to that visit the 'pride' of pound farm for us had been the previous managers Greta and Eddie who I believe have now retired. They gave 110% to all who camped there as I'm sure the new managers will. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pound Farm Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pound Farm Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pound Farm Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Windermere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6754 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement