Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Cheddar > The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park
Rodney Stoke Inn
Wells Road
Cheddar
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS27 3XB
Tel: 07710 609010
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 26
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 29 Reviews
                7/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 21 to 29                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Troyka 3 reviews from this member

Toilets/showers

The unisex toilets and shower block has 4 cubicals each containing a toilet, basin and shower, along with a plastic box/stool. 2 hooks in each stall for hanging towels etc (poorly positioned )

Mirror with light and shaving point.

Obtain the key code for the showers and toilets from the pub staff when you book in

On our visit only 5 other couples were camping so the limited facilities were often available although if the place was full I imagine it would be a difficult to get to use the facilities especially if you just need the toilet.

The showers were a reasonable standard, preasure was good and height of the shower head was fine for a tall 6.4 man.

The drain away from the showers was very slow and wet the whole room, and as the hooks for dry things were so close to the shower it was hard to keep things dry.

Cleanliness was not great, the plastic bench in all 4 cubicles and the corners of the floor were grimy. Taps and sinks were however clean.

Chemical disposal : right outside the toilet/shower block and was very smelly and evidence long term drain of overflow was obvious.

Water

A stand pipe in the hedge in the central tree line provided cold water. But the soak away was not very good.

Washing facilities not provided, this is a serious shame as it makes tent camping here more difficult.

Pitch: there are 25 spaces, ours was near the gate at the bottom of the field furthest away from the pub, good level pitch, easy to peg out the tent and nice shade in the evening.

Signage: one small sign advertising the campsite which is easy to miss. No signage to instruct the first time visitor of the place to book in and obtain the key code for the toilet shower block (go into the pub during opening hours)

Pub: nice enough place, a little expensive

Rubbish disposal: one large bin, no recycle facilities and no gas disposal point. On our visit the bin was very full and much rubbish was piled next to it and was smelly.

The area is very nice, and the bus to wells / Weston-super mare is very close by.

Cheddar village just 2 miles away has a few cafes and shops and a hardware shop to buy camping gas / fuel, and several pubs.

Wells 6 miles away is a busy market town with great places to see, good cafes (good earth is excellent) shops and easy bus links to lots of other places.

We stayed at the site for 3 nights and very much enjoyed our time, despite the issues with shower/toilets and lack of washing facilities.

The price is a very affordable one and as its a adult only site its generally quiet (apart from the next tent who watched TV all evening in the tent)

We are planning a return visit next spring and would on the whole recommend this budget site to tent campers and small vw campers type campers.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stubbsy 4 reviews from this member

Really liked this site.

Nice level walks from the rear gate, and hill walks from over the main road.

Loved the pub. Food really nice, good selection of beers, ciders etc. Reasonable prices.

I do agree with the comments about the lack of a washing up area, and the chemical disposal point is not to good, but nothing in life is perfect.

Pitch was nearly level, but I used a levelling block anyway. Didn't feel cramped in at all, and this was Bank Holiday weekend.Lovely relaxed site.

Will go back again, and again

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peterchapman374 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a long weekend in July to try out our new tent.The owner was a lovely man very easy going,not rushing you off site on day of departure. The pub was handy for meals and the site close to Cheddar,Wells etc.We were able to choose our own pitch which was lovely.The drawbacks were:

Only 1 tap for fresh water.

We didn't like the toilet / shower block being unisex! I know it was wet rooms once inside with toilet / hand basin and shower,but I did not feel comfortable being in there at the same time as men! i would imagine that when the site was busy you would be waiting a long time in the mornings if you only wanted to spend a penny. Other people on the site with us also picked up on this point. We also found them to have a smell that was not pleasant.

There was no dish wash area and we had to wash up in the tent which was a bit of a pain.

All in all,we did have a lovely weekend but I wouldn't want to stay for any longer due to lack of facilities compared to other sites for the same sort of money.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: craiglyn01 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend break at this site.

Lovely site with beautiful surroundings but the only items that let it down are as follows:-

No hand soap in toilets/showers

Considering it was a adult only site and very peaceful most of the time, children playing in the play area at the rear of the pub (during opening times) could be heard especially in busy periods.

No separate washing up area.

Other than the points above we had an enjoyable stay and could pitch up our tent where we wanted.

A perfect location for touring Somerset.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richlou6063 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a few days here.

The site is very quiet (due to adults only I expect). We were able to pitch our tent easily as the ground was quite soft. The pitches were laid out well with plenty of hard standing and hook-up points.

As with other reviews, the wet rooms were kept clean, but did remain wet around the loos most of the day. One thing we did notice was that the paper towels ran out quite quickly, so take a towel when you want to wash you hands!

The nearest reasonable shops were in Cheddar, but at this time of year there are plenty of roadside stalls selling fresh veg and especially strawberries.

We didn't use the pub as the meals were pricey.

One major downside was that when the pub was shut i.E. During the day after 2.00pm and before 6.00pm, you couldn't find anybody around to help if something went wrong.

NB. You can get ice packs frozen if you ask, although they don't advertise this.

Overall though, for peace and quiet the site is perfect.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lofts 2 reviews from this member

Although the site was quiet the facilities let the site down.

It would have been better if the toilets were separate to the showers as the drainage was very slow and the water went around the toilet

The waste disposal point was not very pleasant to use either.

We had a meal in the pub which was very nice.

Although not too far from cheddar we could not walk to any shops

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Plc jennings 1 review from this member

Great site with great pub /restaurant food. Will return here. Only downside was that the unisex loos (x4) caters for 20 units and although great facilities (essentially a wet room with a basin and toilet in a private enclosure) found that the acco drain couldn't always take the quantity of free red hot shower water and tended to partially flood the room despite the owners providing a swimming pool style mop to direct the water and clean up (nice touch!). Could however have been a minor blip while we were there (site was however, only half full)!

Otherwise a nice relaxing place in great clean surroundings.

Congrats to the owners for a great job (pub, gardens outside pub patio with tables, and camp site)

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peter49 7 reviews from this member

Visited during May 2009.

Fundamentally, an OK site - but could be a Very Good OK site if the following were addressed:-

1) Found Wet Room literally that if all showers in use at once - drainage not very good in lower cubicles.
2) Rotating pegs can deposit clothes in 1 above - try fitting 3 or 4 pegs across the door or side panels - much better.
3) Waste/ elsan disposal point - move the cover to pour away waste, but don't look down at other users deposits.
4) Pitches needed a bit of weeding to make tidy.
5) Could do with separate washing up area, and not use cubicles as others were doing.

Very good location for Ebor amd Cheddar Gorges, plus Wells, Glastonbury etc.

However, enjoyed the stay here very much - just felt a little disappointed at the issues above.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kontikiman 10 reviews from this member

This is a small quiet site located behind the Rodney Stoke Inn comprising of 24 pitches 22 of which are hard standing. One fresh water point is provided on the site whilst waste water and elson disposal are made available adjacent to the toilet/shower block at the rear of the pub. This block contains 4 complete wet rooms which at the time of our visit were clean and warm. Dogs are made welcome on the site and nearby foot paths and lanes provide exercise areas.

The site provides an excellent base for visiting Cheddar, Wookey Hole, Wells, Glastonbury and the Somerset coastal resorts. There is no on site shop so provisions must be obtained else where but Tesco is only a 15 minute ride away in Wells. A farm shop just along the road provides gas exchange during the day time along with fresh fruit and veg.

The pub provides excellent food in large quantities at reasonable prices(sweets are expensive) together with real ales and ciders.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 29     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Cheddar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3591 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019