Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Cheddar > The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park
Rodney Stoke Inn
Wells Road
Cheddar
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS27 3XB
Tel: 07383 575887  or  07923 552561
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 26
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NicciMac 58 reviews from this member

 We stopped here for 1 night on our way to a friend's party/festival just up the road. At 18 per pitch for the night (including EHU) it was definitely towards the higher end of our usual budget - we made sure we all had nice long showers in a desperate attempt to get our money's worth.

Pub is nice but pricey and we got takeaway pizzas.

The toilet/shower block (unisex) is v. Odd - 4 cubicles, each of which has both a toilet AND shower in it. I really can't work out the logic, must be a nightmare if you need the loo during peak shower time in the morning. Clean though, and they will give you a code for the door when you check in.

Nice and quiet spot, and secluded if you take one of the pitches at the bottom.

No washing up point that I could see - pretty poor show for 18 a night, they really could do with putting a hot water tap and sink/ draining board somewhere.

At this price I don't think we'd come back again. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MrsCathyJ 1 review from this member

 Excellent site for visits to Wells(by bus) and Bath. Spent 4 nights, lovely spot for site, we'll looked after, good showers and loos. Can recommend to motorhome user's. Adult only Site.

Parked in riverside carpark in Bath, no access for motorhomes in Park and Ride areas. Bus service every hour into Wells as no parking there.

Pub food on Site acceptable but pricey. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Craig381sara 11 reviews from this member

 This was not our intended site but due to bad weather in the area the week before our original site could not take us due to the field flooding.

We were a little sceptical about using this site due to some of the feed back, but due to getting the van ready and taking time off work we took the plunge and went down.

Wow so glad we did, it is a quiet park and so close to most attractions in the area. The site is a little basic but you don't go caravanning hoping to use the Hiltons showers and toilets, like I said a little basic but they are clean and tidy.

The chemical waste is again just a man hole cover with a water tap on hand. The site is on a slight hill but nothing to get exited about. The local farm supplies a great array of alarm clocks ranging from the Bull bellowing to the chickens squawking.

The pub well what can I say great ale and a nice array of dishes on the menu.

Will we be going again Hell yes 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Foley799 16 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week there. Very quiet, near Cheddar and Wells and Axbridge which is beautiful, so location is excellent.

The welcome is non existent really - you turn up, pay at the bar, and find yourself a spot to pitch. No one to point out where anything is, they are all working in the pub. This wasn't a problem to us though, so no matter.

The pitches are all gravelled and fairly flat, plenty of room between each one.

BUT - the shower block. It's one room with four separate wet rooms, each having a shower, toilet and washbasin. Paper thin walls, and it's unisex. This isn't to everyone's taste - certainly not mine. There are no other toilet facilities except the pub which isn't open all day.

Another problem is the wetrooms were poorly built, resulting in the water from the shower not draining into the drain. So the floors are flooded half the time. Each has a squeegee but I wish people would squeegee their own shower water before leaving.

One night there were about 27 people on site - 4 toilets isn't enough at 8 or 9am, especially as people go in and are there 20 mins showering.

Another minus is the chemical disposal point. Stinking dirty, no water supply to flush/clean.

The pub itself is nice, food good but a touch pricey, very popular.

All in all, not a bad site, but 21 a night is a bit expensive given the facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JROwners 2 reviews from this member

 We have just visited the Rodney Stoke site over the bank holiday weekend. Really nice site with electric hook up available for both caravans and tents. Nice hard standing area for the car and grass for your tent or caravan. Clean toilets and showers nearby. Pub food reasonable.

Good location for visiting Wells, Cheddar and Glastonbury. Downside to this site was the noise from the pub function room - 3 wedding parties on all 3 nights we stayed and they did not finish until 12 midnight on each occasion.

When you choose an 'adults only' campsite you do so because you expect a certain level of tranquillity. We understand from other campers who have visited this site before that this was the worst noise they had experienced. We all agreed that the owners could have warned us before we booked!

Would urge anyone using this site to check before booking if they want to get to bed at a reasonable time! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Surferjon 10 reviews from this member

 Good value site (17 including electric) which is in he grounds of a pub/ restaurant but also far enough away to not hear any noise from the pub.

The site was well looked after and the showers/ toilets more than adequate, clean, and within 30 seconds walk of all pitches.

The pub was very busy on the night we stayed but the menu varied and not bad value.

There was also a couple of decent local ales worth trying before strolling back to the van with a full stomach and a smile. Would use the site again when next in Somerset. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Keithnkay 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived here after leaving another campsite early. The owners are absolutely amazing and so charming and helpful. They took an extra days booking for us without any notice.

Lovely clean site, Warm and welcoming bar and the food was wonderful. I would recommend this site 100%.

One piece of advice about the shower / wet room they provide. Wash your hair before anything else as the water tends to go off before you have finished which isn't a problem if you don't mind waiting a while for it to come back on.

This is an adult only site so was also very relaxing and peaceful. We hope to return again when we are next in the area.

All in all very well done for an excellent service provided. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morticia69 1 review from this member

 We picked this site as it was adults only and near Cheddar Gorge, arrived at lunch time and picked our pitch with electric, very nice size pitch,

Toilets and showers combined (unisex) had a shower every morning and the water was lovely and warm, but only 4 toilets/showers so if campsite was busy may be a problem. Could do with a washing up area as currently doesn't have one!

The Rodney Stokes Inn it's self did some lovely food, I celebrated my birthday there and the food was superb, we didn't come away hungry, people may think it is a bit expensive, but when you look around everywhere is about the same price. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

A word of warning we walked to Cheddar from the campsite only 2 miles, but there is hardly any paths and the road is not very wide with blind bends, take the bus from Rodney Stokes bus no: 126 they run every hour.

The site is very central to travel to Wells, Weston Super Mare, Bath and Minehead. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jamesfh 5 reviews from this member

 Great location and lovely site. Situated at the back of the Rodney Stokes pub. Nice level pitches soft ground for pegs and screened.

Could be a really excellent site if the owners put washing up facilities in place. Also little things like no soap in the toilets - a simple dispenser is all that's needed.

There is no electric in the shower blocks for use of hairdryers / straighteners etc. My partner was not impressed,

Its all basic stuff that could really improve this site and fill the pitches. Its got fantastic potential, a bit basic at the moment for tents. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happy Camper 84 2 reviews from this member

 A quiet Adult only site, great pub and very friendly staff.

Pitches are fantastic, most with electric and one shared drinking water tap.

Dogs made very welcome both on site and in the pub.

4 Large unisex wash rooms, always clean, include shower, toilet and basin within cubicles. Downside, lack of washing up facilities.

Prime location, close by are Cheddar Gorge and Wookey hole, also only a short drive to Weston Super Mare and the City of Wells.

Will be visiting again & recommending to friends.  


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheddar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3443 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement