Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Cheddar > The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park
Rodney Stoke Inn
Wells Road
Cheddar
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS27 3XB
Tel: 07710 609010
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 26
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 29 Reviews
                7/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jureddin 2 reviews from this member

Very welcoming, clean & we'll maintained site. Very good pitches. Ideal location. Pub on site serves lovely food with very generous portions, staff were lovely.

Tom the site warden always greets you with a smile. Showers served a purpose, but a new shower block & laundry facilities are being installed at the end of the season.

Looking forward to going back next year!
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nannalynda 1 review from this member

Loved the site. Very peaceful and restful. Loads of bird life singing away and nice to see varieties of bats flying at night. Pitches are very Good, level and good sized grass and hardstanding to choose from. Site clean and tidy. Shower/toilets a little dated but clean and warm.

Bus stop a few mins walk which is nice if you don't fancy driving. Pub on site has good food (bonus) and all are welcomed there. Small local roadside fruit veg butter cream shop a few mins down the road, all locally produced and very tasty.

Nice little adult only site. Feel refreshed after our stay and would definitely return!
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: ReallyNiceBruce 1 review from this member

Very peaceful adults only campsite next to a fantastic pub and with a bus stop giving easy access to Cheddar and Wells.

The campsite and pub are under new owners as of March/April time and as such the site is not longer a CCC site nor is it run by the people who run the pub.

We stayed with friends and were left to our own devices by the on site warden, the pitches are daily level (we didnít need levelling ramps but our friends did) and had electric.

The toilet block is uni-sex and is functional. It could do with an update however if fellow campers used the mood and squeegee after showering it would help. Being an adults only campsite we were surprised at the lack of care people took of the facilities.

We ate at the pub and all had fantastic meals served by very hospitable staff.

For £20 a unit it was excellent value for money.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonbaz 1 review from this member

Lovely site. Very peaceful once cows have been milked!

Gravel pitches fairly level but very large (room for 9m van) Easy access to EHU

Once checked in left to it. All facilities that are needed.

Wash room great though showers very hot.

Secure access and large pub car park to pull up in whilst registering.

Staff very friendly and pub very nice. Great food.

Will visit again if ever in the area

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Erskinmajor 6 reviews from this member

Nice peaceful site with decent sized hard standing/grass pitches. Decent Grey/Black water service point.

Friendly welcome by staff in the pub on arrival.

Facilities are perfectly adequate (given this is a campsite not a hotel) consisting of four large, clean wet rooms.

The fact there is no hot water at the wash up was fairly easily negated by boiling a kettle.

Pub menu was varied, the food was excellent and reasonably priced. (3 x starters, 3 x Mains, I x bottle of house red £60)

Would use this site again without hesitation and would most certainly recommend it.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: INGERMAY 1 review from this member

Nice site next to a field of cows in the middle of the country side with both grass and hard standing pitches.

After registering we did not see anyone at all connected to the site.

There is a washing up sink but it has no hot water and the toilet/shower block is in the main pub car park and leaves a lot to be desired.

The pub serves average pub food but on a positive note their is no late night noise.

Would probably not visit again

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Benfold1 11 reviews from this member

Went here with friends so we each took a motorhome. The site is easy to access coming from Shepton Mallet, the way we travelled. Hardstandings mainly level, grass inbetween and hedges for privacy and adult only.

Toilets and elsan point in pub car park with fresh water tap on site. Didnt use the toilets but our friends did and they said they were perfectly adequate. Lovely and quiet with cows in the field behind us and country lanes all around - lots of walks.

The pub was great and we had a superb steak with stilton sauce. It seemed to be the same sort of price to pubs where we go to eat at home - not the same maybe as large chains though, but the quality of the food was reflected in the price.

Owner very friendly, as were the locals. Asked for an extension which was no problem at all. Would definitely go again!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tinajrw 1 review from this member

Stayed recently for a few nights. Campsite was lovely. Toilet block kept clean and showers were always hot.

Only draw back no washing up facilities so we just boiled water and cleaned pots in the tent so no major hardship. All pitches have electric hook up and cost included in pitch fee.

The pub itself was a bit pricey forfood and drink. Surrounding area was easily accessed Cheddar Gorge, Wells and Glastonbury all worth a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Oddfellow23 7 reviews from this member

On arrival we booked in at the pub and were told to pick any pitch we wanted. Pitches were nicely spaced out and fairly level. Unisex Washrooms were more than adiquate with a shower, hand basin, box seat and toilet in each.

Only down side was the cleanliness. The shower walls were grimy, toilets needed a good scrubbing as did the box seat.

It's a shame that these nice facilities were not cleaned on a regular basis as all in all it's a lovely campsite

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NicciMac 48 reviews from this member

We stopped here for 1 night on our way to a friend's party/festival just up the road. At £18 per pitch for the night (including EHU) it was definitely towards the higher end of our usual budget - we made sure we all had nice long showers in a desperate attempt to get our money's worth.

Pub is nice but pricey and we got takeaway pizzas.

The toilet/shower block (unisex) is v. Odd - 4 cubicles, each of which has both a toilet AND shower in it. I really can't work out the logic, must be a nightmare if you need the loo during peak shower time in the morning. Clean though, and they will give you a code for the door when you check in.

Nice and quiet spot, and secluded if you take one of the pitches at the bottom.

No washing up point that I could see - pretty poor show for £18 a night, they really could do with putting a hot water tap and sink/ draining board somewhere.

At this price I don't think we'd come back again.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Cheddar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4020 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019