Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Cheddar > The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park
Rodney Stoke Inn
Wells Road
Cheddar
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS27 3XB
Tel: 07383575887  or  07923552561
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 26
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 39 Reviews
                8/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Reido 5 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant week spent here, with lots in the area to do.

Toilet facilities clean and warm. Washing machine and tumble dryer available for £5.

Site kept clean and tidy

Will definitely be returning.

Road noise noticeable at time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rocking 3 reviews from this member

 Nice little campsite with pub close by,

Location good on bus route, cheaper than local taxi,

Showers and toilets block clean,

Tom the manager pleasant and helpful,

Roads a bit scary if you walk on them no footpaths,

Overall pleasant stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vanessa L 1 review from this member

 Itís our second visit to this wonderful

Little campsite. Tom the manager is a lovely chap, so helpful. The site is biker friendly (we were on bikes) and dog friendly. Itís also an adults only site so lovely and quiet.

The only downside is the Rodney Stokes Inn. We originally booked our first visit because thereís a pub right by the siteÖbut they only seem to open when they feel like it so you never know when you can pop in for a pint (well, book, just for a pint).

They seem to be open weekends but not all day, and if you fancy a pint on a sunny weekday evening you wonít have much luck!

Fortunately the fabulous cider barn is a walkable 1 mile away, where they have local ales, ciders and other drinks and sell lovely food and are open 7 days a week.

There is also a friendly little pub about half a mile away called The Strawberry Special, but again the opening hours are sporadic.

But I give Rodney Stoke campsite 10/10 for everything.

We will be coming back a third time soon as itís a great base for touring the area on our bikes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Nlead2 1 review from this member

 Great little find here. Tom is lovely and friendly and we felt very welcomed.

Perfect location to walk to cider barn and go to cheddar from here.

Campsite was ideal and very well kept.

Toilets and showers lovely and clean too. Will definitely be going back there again and would highly recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: AL53HX 22 reviews from this member

 Stayed here to meet some new m/home friends,

The manager Tom was very helpful and friendly,

This small site is on slightly sloping grounds at the rear of the Rodney Stoke pub (sign is very easy to miss), I passed it and had to turn around, as you have to go through the pub car park to access the site,

Toilet facilities are modern but limited to two showers and sinks, water point near reception/toilet block, as is the waste water point, pub ok but a food a bit expensive, and they are strictly adhering to the covid rules at the moment (good thing really)

We have re booked to go back for the new year to meet with our new friends again,

If you want a lively site, then this one is not for you, but is good for us as we want quiet sites nowadays. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Danny2 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed our 1 night stay on our way to Cornwall

We have stayed before and Tom has really improved the site with the new washroom facilities.

The pub can still be recommended for a good meal and a nice pint

COVID restrictions were in place and all worked fine 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wendys 1 review from this member

 This is an amazing campsite. Tom the manager, is excellent- on the ball, friendly, & very helpful

Cheddar village, with supermarket, is about 3 miles down the road, & the lovely little city of Wells is about 10 miles.

We have 2 dogs, & there was easy access to walking them, also fabulous dog walks on the beaches at Sandy Bay, & Burnham on Sea. Many other woodland walks nearby.

The pub, at the campsite does meals- but would suggest booking before arrival, if you'd like to eat the day you arrive. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Chris9 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful little stay on this treat of a campsite.

It was small and very friendly and Tom the manager was also very friendly and helpful. He took great pride in the place and seemed to work hard all day long.

The facilities were great & we would certainly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tina T 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived at Rodney Stoke on Bank holiday weekend. I'm afraid social distancing is not in evidence. Tom was really nice but totally oblivious.

We were shown to our pitch which was nice. It took some levelling to get us anywhere near level. The site is small but nice pitches, each one looks like hard standing apart from the tent ones at the bottom of the field.

The shower/ toilet block is new this year and was perfectly clean although trying to be a little too modern. The taps don't quite cover the sink and the shower curtains don't prevent water spilling everywhere. Maybe a little more thought could have been put into positioning?

We decided to try the pub for lunch as that was a big pull to the site for us. How disappointing. The food was lack lustre, tasteless and expensive but we gave it a go.

Back to the site and there were issues with the electricity. Luckily we seemed to just have intermittent problems.

The next day after a very long walk over the Mendips we thought we would give the pub the benefit of the doubt and try again. Bad mistake! £70 down and came away with horrific tummy aches. Never again.

Would we use Rodney Stoke again? No sorry. Okay for a stop over and nice area but not for us I'm afraid. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jureddin 2 reviews from this member

 Very welcoming, clean & we'll maintained site. Very good pitches. Ideal location. Pub on site serves lovely food with very generous portions, staff were lovely.

Tom the site warden always greets you with a smile. Showers served a purpose, but a new shower block & laundry facilities are being installed at the end of the season.

Looking forward to going back next year! 
via mobile


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheddar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4333 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement