Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Cheddar > The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park
Rodney Stoke Inn
Wells Road
Cheddar
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS27 3XB
Tel: 07923552561  or  01278783475
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 26
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Danny2 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed our 1 night stay on our way to Cornwall

We have stayed before and Tom has really improved the site with the new washroom facilities.

The pub can still be recommended for a good meal and a nice pint

COVID restrictions were in place and all worked fine 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wendys 1 review from this member

 This is an amazing campsite. Tom the manager, is excellent- on the ball, friendly, & very helpful

Cheddar village, with supermarket, is about 3 miles down the road, & the lovely little city of Wells is about 10 miles.

We have 2 dogs, & there was easy access to walking them, also fabulous dog walks on the beaches at Sandy Bay, & Burnham on Sea. Many other woodland walks nearby.

The pub, at the campsite does meals- but would suggest booking before arrival, if you'd like to eat the day you arrive. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Chris9 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful little stay on this treat of a campsite.

It was small and very friendly and Tom the manager was also very friendly and helpful. He took great pride in the place and seemed to work hard all day long.

The facilities were great & we would certainly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tina T 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived at Rodney Stoke on Bank holiday weekend. I'm afraid social distancing is not in evidence. Tom was really nice but totally oblivious.

We were shown to our pitch which was nice. It took some levelling to get us anywhere near level. The site is small but nice pitches, each one looks like hard standing apart from the tent ones at the bottom of the field.

The shower/ toilet block is new this year and was perfectly clean although trying to be a little too modern. The taps don't quite cover the sink and the shower curtains don't prevent water spilling everywhere. Maybe a little more thought could have been put into positioning?

We decided to try the pub for lunch as that was a big pull to the site for us. How disappointing. The food was lack lustre, tasteless and expensive but we gave it a go.

Back to the site and there were issues with the electricity. Luckily we seemed to just have intermittent problems.

The next day after a very long walk over the Mendips we thought we would give the pub the benefit of the doubt and try again. Bad mistake! £70 down and came away with horrific tummy aches. Never again.

Would we use Rodney Stoke again? No sorry. Okay for a stop over and nice area but not for us I'm afraid. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jureddin 2 reviews from this member

 Very welcoming, clean & we'll maintained site. Very good pitches. Ideal location. Pub on site serves lovely food with very generous portions, staff were lovely.

Tom the site warden always greets you with a smile. Showers served a purpose, but a new shower block & laundry facilities are being installed at the end of the season.

Looking forward to going back next year! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nannalynda 1 review from this member

 Loved the site. Very peaceful and restful. Loads of bird life singing away and nice to see varieties of bats flying at night. Pitches are very Good, level and good sized grass and hardstanding to choose from. Site clean and tidy. Shower/toilets a little dated but clean and warm.

Bus stop a few mins walk which is nice if you don't fancy driving. Pub on site has good food (bonus) and all are welcomed there. Small local roadside fruit veg butter cream shop a few mins down the road, all locally produced and very tasty.

Nice little adult only site. Feel refreshed after our stay and would definitely return! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: ReallyNiceBruce 1 review from this member

 Very peaceful adults only campsite next to a fantastic pub and with a bus stop giving easy access to Cheddar and Wells.

The campsite and pub are under new owners as of March/April time and as such the site is not longer a CCC site nor is it run by the people who run the pub.

We stayed with friends and were left to our own devices by the on site warden, the pitches are daily level (we didnít need levelling ramps but our friends did) and had electric.

The toilet block is uni-sex and is functional. It could do with an update however if fellow campers used the mood and squeegee after showering it would help. Being an adults only campsite we were surprised at the lack of care people took of the facilities.

We ate at the pub and all had fantastic meals served by very hospitable staff.

For £20 a unit it was excellent value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carolynjw 2 reviews from this member

 We loved this site. Quiet and close to nature whilst having access to the pub and clean facilities.

We had booked to return in 2020 but unfortunately were scuppered by covid!

Can't wait to return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jonbaz 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Very peaceful once cows have been milked!

Gravel pitches fairly level but very large (room for 9m van) Easy access to EHU

Once checked in left to it. All facilities that are needed.

Wash room great though showers very hot.

Secure access and large pub car park to pull up in whilst registering.

Staff very friendly and pub very nice. Great food.

Will visit again if ever in the area 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Erskinmajor 6 reviews from this member

 Nice peaceful site with decent sized hard standing/grass pitches. Decent Grey/Black water service point.

Friendly welcome by staff in the pub on arrival.

Facilities are perfectly adequate (given this is a campsite not a hotel) consisting of four large, clean wet rooms.

The fact there is no hot water at the wash up was fairly easily negated by boiling a kettle.

Pub menu was varied, the food was excellent and reasonably priced. (3 x starters, 3 x Mains, I x bottle of house red £60)

Would use this site again without hesitation and would most certainly recommend it. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Rodney Stoke Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheddar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1704 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement